Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scarlets vs Leinster Sat 6.30pm S4C/TG4

• 31-08-2012 11:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

LEINSTER:
    15: Isa Nacewa
    14: Andrew Conway
    13: Brendan Macken
    12: Noel Reid
    11: Fionn Carr
    10: Ian Madigan
    9: Isaac Boss
    1: Heinke van der Merwe
    2: Richardt Strauss
    3: Jamie Hagan
    4: Damian Browne
    5: Devin Toner
    6: Dominic Ryan
    7: Shane Jennings CAPTAIN
    8: Leo Auva'a
    REPLACEMENTS:
    16: Aaron Dundon
    17: Jack McGrath
    18: Martin Moore
    19: Tom Denton
    20: Jordi Murphy
    21: John Cooney
    22: Collie O'Shea
    23: Darren Hudson
    REFEREE: Neil Paterson (SRU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Tim Hayes, Martyn Lewis (both WRU), TMO: Nigel Whitehouse (WRU)

Not too bad a team for a first outing. Pretty weak bench though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I think our biggest worry could be Madigan, as opposed to the bench.

Can't wait though. Bring on the rugby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Browne from left field. Aside from that, it's the exact team I expected. Scarlets have named a very strong side with North and Scott Williams in the back line and a number of Welsh internationals in the pack. Two teams set up for open, running rugby but I hope Leinster don't entertain that tactic as they'll lose. Need to carry close in through the likes of Hagan and Auva'a and keep a steady set piece. If they can get a couple of three pointers on the boards, Scarlets could struggle but with Easterby now in place, I don't see it happening.

Scarlets by 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

You dont fancy Madigan away from home to grind out a game?
    I kind of agree, most of the time I've seen him is home matches obviously, where he's more free to have a go rather than control the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Madigan is probably exactly the type of 10 that Scarlets want to face. If he tries to play his natural game, Leinster are going to come off second best. This is the type of match that will be a serious examination of his credentials as a game manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Anyone know what the story with Leo is?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

15 Liam Williams, 14 George North, 13 Gareth Maule, 12 Scott Williams, 11 Andy Fenby
    10 Aled Thomas, 9 Tavis Knoyle, 1 Rhodri Jones, 2 Ken Owens, 3 Deacon Manu, 4 George Earle, 5 Richard Kelly, 6 Aaron Shingler, 7 Josh Turnbull, 8 Rob McCusker (capt)

Replacements: 16 Matthew Rees, 17 Phil John, 18 Samson Lee, 19 Sione Timani, 20 Kieran Murphy, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 Jonanthan Davies.

I think we're stronger up front but would worry about Carr against North. Hopefully he won't get the ball though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY

Sorry bit excited about rugby being back

GerM wrote: »
    Madigan is probably exactly the type of 10 that Scarlets want to face. If he tries to play his natural game, Leinster are going to come off second best. This is the type of match that will be a serious examination of his credentials as a game manager.

I would hope Boss is too experienced to let him get away with playing into their hands. I just worry that he doesn't have much to offer outside of that, maybe it's something they've been working on though.

When the game breaks up in the second half and Cooney comes on I'm looking forward to seeing our fresher guys open them up. If we can get away without falling behind until then I think we have the potential to pull away from them a bit. But the first half is crucial.

If we can hold them off I think we'll win it. But that sort of gameplan takes a lot of cohesion and focus... and very few teams display that in round 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

The match is live on TG4 as well, with coverage starting at 6.15pm.

RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY.....

when you're quite finished would you mind amending the thread title to add in TG4?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

So much for seeing Roux in the mix anyway. Hopefully he'll be involved next weekend.

Decent looking team, but that's also a strong looking Scarlets side. Can't see us breaking the opening game voodoo this season. Madigans kicking from hand in particular leaves a fair bit to be desired, as some of us saw in Tallaght a few weeks ago! That could be an area that costs us. And our bench is seriously inexperienced compared to the Scarlets bench. If we start making changes we'll see a lot more disruption to our game than they will.

Still though, I'm excited we're finally back into rugby season proper.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I'm not as pessimistic as everyone else. We've a good pack which is better than theirs and we played three good quality pre season games with little changes in the backs to get them up to speed.

Lanelli lost to Narbonne, lost to Worchester, and beat London Welsh. While it's hard to read too much into the pre season game all ours were against better opposition and the inexperienced players featured heavily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Is Cullen injured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

I still see Scarlets beating us. Interesting that he's playing Reid and Madigan at the same time.... I don't mean that O'Shea should be picked ahead of Reid at 12 (though I think he's a more solid option), but that he's running the risk of playing either for the full 80 and thus the percentage of risk to our limited stock of fly-half option goes up....

durkadurka wrote: »
    when you're quite finished would you mind amending the thread title to add in TG4?

Done - JSB has probably hyperventilated and passed out....

I'm sure he'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

.ak wrote: »
    Done - JSB has probably hyperventilated and passed out....

I'm sure he'll be grand.

Will S4C have it in English? cant be listening to opening match in Irish!!!! don't mind after that!!!

• Big Nelly wrote: »
    Will S4C have it in English? cant be listening to opening match in Irish!!!! don't mind after that!!!

red button on S4C for English commentary.

They're hilariously biased. It's good craic.

The abuse Shane Byrne got last year was brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

I want to record commentary in English for this match but as I will be out of the house at the time it will be impossible to do this. This is the problem with red button options. For some reason with Sky sports red button you can record directly via Sky + but with other channels you can't.

Yeah watched a few games as well last year, it was funny at times.

I want to record commentary in English for this match but as I will be out of the house at the time it will be impossible to do this. This is the problem with red button options. For some reason with Sky sports red button you can record directly via Sky + but with other channels you can't.

AFAIK you can preset the channel's language options. There's some trick to it, but I've read you can do it. If I find out how to I'll drop you a PM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY

First time I have come across someone who when excited just has to cut and paste repeatedly.

But what ever you're into.

Looking forward to the season myself: can Leinster do it again; will the HC survive at all; end of an era with the demise of the BOD/Dorce midfield and will we see its like again (and on the internation front, joy of joys, the end of the Kidney era at last).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Almaviva wrote: »
    [SIZE="3"]RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY, RUGBY[/SIZE]

First time I have come across someone who when excited just has to cut and paste repeatedly.

But what ever you're into.

Looking forward to the season myself: can Leinster do it again; will the HC survive at all; end of an era with the demise of the BOD/Dorce midfield and will we see its like again (and on the internation front, joy of joys, the end of the Kidney era at last).

Get invited to many parties?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Ah lads, bit of faith in Madigan wouldn't go astray! I think he'll be fine. Schmidt isn't going to send him out their to fling the ball around carelessly , and it'll be a good time to examine his game management

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Madigan was superb last season. He has faults in his game at the moment but look at what he can do. With ball in hand he is top class and a pain in the ass to defend against because he has those long passes as well as speed.

It also looks like he has a long kick out of hand. Thats a big bonus in my book.

profitius wrote: »
    Madigan was superb last season. He has faults in his game at the moment but look at what he can do. With ball in hand he is top class and a pain in the ass to defend against because he has those long passes as well as speed.

It also looks like he has a long kick out of hand. Thats a big bonus in my book.

No one is questioning Madigans ability to do what he did last season. We're questioning his ability to do what he couldn't do last season.

I think people are focusing on what he can't do too much. Its that Irish rugby attitude that we need to change. If Joe Schmidt wasn't in charge Madigan would be a 3rd choice fullback and Reid wouldn't be anywhere near the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

I'm surprised at the lack of faith in Madigan here. I obviously am not watching the game as closely as some. What exactly couldn't he do last season?

There's no doubt that Madigan has serious talent, and was a deserving winner of the province's Young Player of the Year award. However, he doesn't have the complete game you'd expect from a fly-half. His short-comings would include his defensive abilities - he's a small lad and so his technique needs to be on the money to be anyway effective. His kicking from hand has always been questionable, he doesn't have the territorial skillset you'd expect from a traditional out-half, especially his touch finders. Which is peculiar because he land a crossfield kick on a penny. His general game management when the pack is going backwards has always been in question also.

These are all fixable imo, and hopefully we'll see improvements this season. As good as he is he's still no where in the same league as Sexton.

profitius wrote: »
    I think people are focusing on what he can't do too much. Its that Irish rugby attitude that we need to change. If Joe Schmidt wasn't in charge Madigan would be a 3rd choice fullback and Reid wouldn't be anywhere near the team.

That's not true at all. Not even slightly. Game management is critical in NZ as well. Madigan has played 10 since long before Joe Schmidt even knew who he was. Even before he played 15 for Leinster he was getting looks at 10. Noel Reid has looked great since he arrived at UCD, he was always going to push his way through.

You're just confusing an outdated southern desire for a stand-off with the need for a 10 who can manage a back line as well as manage field position and length of possession. Madigan can control a back line as well as anyone in the country, but that is irrelevant away from home if you aren't in control of everything else. Leinster haven't had a 10 like youre suggesting for a very long time (Holwell maybe?).

Although Boss' strengths overlap with Madigan's weaknesses, which is ideal. So I'm really looking forward to how they work together. And even if Madigan gets caught out in possession there's Reid to step in at fly half. It's a great axis to have.

That's not true at all. Not even slightly. Game management is critical in NZ as well. Madigan has played 10 since long before Joe Schmidt even knew who he was. Even before he played 15 for Leinster he was getting looks at 10. Noel Reid has looked great since he arrived at UCD, he was always going to push his way through.

You're just confusing an outdated southern desire for a stand-off with the need for a 10 who can manage a back line as well as manage field position and length of possession. Madigan can control a back line as well as anyone in the country, but that is irrelevant away from home if you aren't in control of everything else. Leinster haven't had a 10 like youre suggesting for a very long time (Holwell maybe?).

Although Boss' strengths overlap with Madigan's weaknesses, which is ideal. So I'm really looking forward to how they work together. And even if Madigan gets caught out in possession there's Reid to step in at fly half. It's a great axis to have.

My own preference would be to have a running threat at 10 if you want to play running rugby. It makes things harder for the opposition to defend and its more positive.

Of course if Madigan turns out to be a poor game manager after another year or two then he won't make the Ireland team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

I imagine this is the first game Madigans started where looking at the respective teamsheets Leinster aren't expected to win, so its a step up for him. A big performance from him tonight would be more impressive than 5 try scoring cameo's at home against weak opposition. I think he started away against Scarlets last season in a game Leinster won.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Anyone have English radio commentary tonight? Can't see any sign of it on rte radio and I don't have access to the red button atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭circos

Very quiet thread for the first League game of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

There was one match 2 seasons ago, think it was the latter scarleets game, which was over as a contest after 20 minute, they gave up watching the match and basically bantered about last Saturday nights scandal / which of the welsh players sisters look alright etc ... sound like a great bunch.

Went with my heart over my head and backed Leinster.

I see Simon thinks they have the stronger team on paper, seems fairly confident.

Thank god rugby is back, now for the welsh guy to shut up and English commentary to begin!!!

Right here we go. First win of the season coming up...

Toner playing well so far

Mr T looking good again this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Madigan kicking

Leinster lead 3-0 but the display on TG4 shows Scarlets 3 -0 up

First time I've seen him kick ahead of nacewa.

Scarlett's should've had that scrum. Scottish refs are always so crazy!

Hopefully it continues to suit us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

Anyone got a good source for live text updates?

https://twitter.com/leinsterrugby obviously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Did not know this was on telly. There I was watching soccer....................

Away support is fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

ref is letting advantage run on a little long

Haha very long advantage there. Thank you mr. Paterson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Strauss you beauty, as soon as he was over the ball you knew he had it

That was very poor from Jenno, lovely pass for him... C'mon!

Going for the corner?

That was to easy.