Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nicolas Roche Classic Sportive

• 30-08-2012 8:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭

October 6th 2012 - Family cycle, 50km and 90km. Starting at Tayto Park in Curragha (Ashbourne), Co. Meath

http://www.nicolasrocheclassic.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Surinam

Postit wrote: »
    October 6th 2012 - Family cycle, 50km and 90km. Starting at Tayto Park in Curragha (Ashbourne), Co. Meath

http://www.nicolasrocheclassic.com/

I'm well used to the roads on the 90km but they've chosen an unusually convoluted route and many of those roads aren't in great nick. But should be fun! :D Skryne and Tara roads in particular are really narrow.

Btw are there food stops?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭MPFG

Doubt the road will be as bad ( or as tough) as Cuitu Negru

Maybe an opportunity for cycling enthusiatics to quiz NR about Saxo, Bertie and his lack of a winning streak

Should be a good opportunity to support a top Irish cyclist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

Started cycling a few weeks ago. Considering doing the 90k as my first sportive. Is it a tough course?

I can't imagie its that tough ...it's meath
    Maybe you should start with 70k and work your way up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

I might spin over from Swords for it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

MPFG wrote: »
    I can't imagie its that tough ...it's meath
    Maybe you should start with 70k and work your way up

There is no 70k

I've done a few 40km training spins and I'm thinking of doing the 90km one. I gather its relatively flat?

godtabh wrote: »
    There is no 70k

I've done a few 40km training spins and I'm thinking of doing the 90km one. I gather its relatively flat?

Sorry you are right ther is no 70Km -
    shoudl be ok for 90km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 SpaceGerbil

I cycle around some of the roads on the route, it is relatively flat and if you can do 50K you should be well capable of finishing this ride. I had a go at mapping it and you can see there are no real killer hills. From the map it also looks like it is only 82Km as well.

I'll be signing up to to do it also....

220296.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

Surinam wrote: »

Probably not if AG2R have anything to do with it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

Surinam wrote: »

Yes, at Dunsany GAA club, looks like about 60k into the 90k route. Or maybe 35k from the start for both 50k and 90k routes, it's not too clear from the website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭666bxg

Thanks for the reviews. I'll be signing for the 50k ride, unless inclement weather is expected!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Having never been at one of these before what goes on at the food stops? Last break to have their lunch?

godtabh wrote: »
    Having never been at one of these before what goes on at the food stops? Last break to have their lunch?

Generally get a sambo, fill up the water, and some soup or tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭luapenak

Just signed up to this, only really started cycling this summer and wondering what to expect:
    How many riders would be out on the day for something like this?
    What sort of pace are people likely to ride at?
    What size groups do people tend to cycle in at these events?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

For a big name event like this then hopefully there will be a few hundred people of varying speeds. You will definitely find a group that will fit your pace and push you to go faster. Don't worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Felloffmebike

Can't quite make out from the map if there is a climb up the narrow road from Bellinter to the Hill of Tara. Doesn't look like there is. It's a fairly flat course so. If you have a few miles in the legs you'll make the 90km. Take your time and enjoy it.. Plenty of food and keep the bottle topped up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Congo_Dub

I was only cycling a few months and done a cycle from Dublin to Galway. About 220k. It was way above my figness level but i still managed it. Just keep the belly full of timber and the bottle full of water and dont try burst off with a breaking group. Just enjoy it! And do plenty of strecthing, that was my major downfall!

Really looking forward to this now. Hope we get some decent weather!
    Seems to be turning cold out there at the moment and this mornings rain doesnt bode well. Stay away winter, your not welcome here!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Maciej_D

Congo_Dub wrote: »

I was only cycling a few months and done a cycle from Dublin to Galway. About 220k. It was way above my figness level but i still managed it. Just keep the belly full of timber and the bottle full of water and dont try burst off with a breaking group. Just enjoy it! And do plenty of strecthing, that was my major downfall!

Did you cycle to Galway in one go (one day)?
    How long did it take you and could you share the route you took?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Congo_Dub

Did you cycle to Galway in one go (one day)?
    How long did it take you and could you share the route you took?[/Quote]

Ye, done it in One day. Took us about 10 1/2 - 11 hours. It was absolutely fantastic to do. Rain, wind and strong hailstones the whole way over. 1 casualty (a guy passed out on a roundabout!!). My left calf muscle kinda gave in at Ballinasloe (about 50-60k from finish) but we all arrived at the Radison in one piece. I'll see if any of the guys has the route on Stravia. You interested in doing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Maciej_D

Congo_Dub wrote: »
    Ye, done it in One day. Took us about 10 1/2 - 11 hours. It was absolutely fantastic to do. Rain, wind and strong hailstones the whole way over. 1 casualty (a guy passed out on a roundabout!!). My left calf muscle kinda gave in at Ballinasloe (about 50-60k from finish) but we all arrived at the Radison in one piece. I'll see if any of the guys has the route on Stravia. You interested in doing it?

Thanks Congo_Dub, I suppose I'd be interested in doing it in the summer next year. Strava route would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Lashtown

can you register at the start for this one?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

From the map it also looks like it is only 82Km as well.
    I also mapped it on bikeroutetoaster and it looks like 82km alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭shaka

Hard to know luapenak how many will be there , first time this sportive being held but being so close to Dublin and that its nico Roches there could be a good crowd. If its your first sportive maybe stay away from the front where the faster guys generally congregate, you will find there will be many different groups and you will often fall in and out of different groups with different paces , go at a pace that suits you and don't go out too hard- pace is often very fast at the start but generally levels out. Probably average 25km plus for your first one but don't be too worried about it . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

Was hoping to do this but I have to work on Saturday. :mad:
    Hope it goes well, forecast looks good.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭macnab

The weather forecast is looking good for this event.

09:00am: Overcast, 7 Degrees Celsius, Light breeze, 3 m/s from west-northwest, no rain.
    13:00: Sunny, 12 Degrees Celsius, Light breeze, 3 m/s from west-northwest, no rain

The 90km route is actually 81.6km according to my map.
    Hills are max 7.1% with 650m of climbing so nothing much to worry about.

So...how was it, any reports?

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭andy69

furiousox wrote: »
    So...how was it, any reports?

Fast! Right from the off! We were brought off course by the lead car and ended up miles off course. Got back on track at bottom of Tara and got ourselves back up through all the groups to the front again but coming back then near the finish we all got stuck at a junction with no one knowing which way to go.
    So it was a bit all over the place but I still really had a great day out, lovely weather, good group.
    Muffins at the finish were lovely, and a nice touch having all the photos ready for everyone.
    Nice also to meet the man himself as we were riding along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭luapenak

That was a great morning-perfect weather. Pity about starting so far back and my friend getting a puncture in the first 5k. Felt like we were chasing to find a group which suited us all morning after that and never did. It was handy that it was so flat for my first event, so no worries about blowing up and not making it home

I had a brilliant day, did the 90km in 2hr44min, it was actually more like 83km though so 29.7kmh average. I cycled most of it with a couple of lads I met on the day (cheers David and Sennan)
    I wore my blue and yellow "Hill Ringers" jersey. I had a chat with a good few lads along the way including a few lads from the Navan Club.
    I started in the middle of the pack so all the marshals were well up to speed by the time we passed.
    All in all a very enjoyable day.

andy69 wrote: »
    Fast! Right from the off! We were brought off course by the lead car and ended up miles off course. Got back on track at bottom of Tara and got ourselves back up through all the groups to the front again but coming back then near the finish we all got stuck at a junction with no one knowing which way to go.
    So it was a bit all over the place but I still really had a great day out, lovely weather, good group.
    Muffins at the finish were lovely, and a nice touch having all the photos ready for everyone.
    Nice also to meet the man himself as we were riding along.

So was the signposting poor, no direction arrows etc at junctions or sprayed on the road?

CPL 593H

The signposting was great, direction arrows etc at all junctions and NRC sprayed on the road with arrows also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

The lead car went straight at a junction wher he should have turned left. But after that it was very well signed. Civil defence were excellent. The muffins at the finish were yum!

07Lapierre wrote: »
    The muffins at the finish were yum!

Do you meen the 2 birds in the red dresses ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

Burned over 2000 calories, then ate 2 yummy muffins. Way to loose a some weight. D'oh

About 7 of us got mis directed by the marshals just exiting the food stop for 90k. Added 15 k to the trip. Avg was 28k which I was happy with but felt good the last 10k and bombed home ( by my standards)

Funniest arse print I read was 'the rubber rippers'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭Briando

macnab wrote: »
    07Lapierre wrote: »
    The muffins at the finish were yum!

Pics!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

macnab wrote: »

Im a gentleman. I wasnt looking at there muffins! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭andy69

furiousox wrote: »
    So was the signposting poor, no direction arrows etc at junctions or sprayed on the road?

...:o no it was all fine, just that the lead car went straight on and we all followed him. The junction was actually marked and i saw it, and mentioned it to a few in the group, but we thought maybe that turn was for the 50k or something and trusted in the lead car. We had Nico in the group with us, so between him being with us, the lead car and ambulance ahead of us....we just followed along!

The confusion at the last main road crossing was just because the marshals weren't sure of the direction we were to take and the lead car had to phone someone, and he told us then to go straight on. that one junction was a bit light on the markings alright, but everything else was ok. a few in the group had decided to take a right on the main road back to base camp, but we were supposed to go straight. took us a few minutes and some head scratching but we got back on track after the lead car guy phoned for directions.

was still a great day out now - I'll be back next year for sure. and them Tayto's in the goodie bag were savage! ;)

Have to agree, a great day out. Weather was perfect and the route was flat enough. Well marshaled at most junctions, one or two caused a little confusion. Great groups along the way with friendly banter. Big crowd alright, I heard 2000 in total, could be wrong though. Got attempt first time around, they will have learned a little on event management this morning as queues too long and a 35 delay to start. Made it back to the park in 2.50hr. Would do it again next year....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭eoghan84

sounds like a good day out, any idea on the numbers who did it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

eoghan84 wrote: »
    sounds like a good day out, any idea on the numbers who did it?

804 according to Nico at the start of the 12km cycle.

I ended up doing that one having planned to ride the 50km with my younger brother but unfortunately the straps on the car rack snapped on the way up causing his bike hit the tarmac at 100km/hr. Luckily it was only his front wheel and saddle which were damaged so we headed for the bike shop in Ratoath and made it back for the 12km.

Nicholas cycled the whole thing and made his way up and down the groups to chat to all the kids, it was great to see. The weather definitely helped too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Limestone1

Zipp101 wrote: »

Nicholas cycled the whole thing and made his way up and down the groups to chat to all the kids, it was great to see. The weather definitely helped too.

great to hear he made the effort like that - fair play c......

7BB46F90-2C98-4C5E-BBBF-32487A3FA026-7441-00001433DFE57FBC.jpg

Was at this yesterday, proof above, :-)

Was a great day out my only regret was not doing the 90km. The 50km was pretty easy bar a few hills. Easy the wrong word, short is what i mean, would have liked to kept goin is all. Didn't bother stopping at the food stop, did I miss out?

Oh and the best part was definately the muffins at the end or maybe it was the bag of Tayto. Damn it I can't decide. Both were great!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

Food stop in dunsany was ok, usual are. Bananas and jaffas and a cuppa. It was a short enough run home from there. Had a great day and pinned on a few extra km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭larry1

First one of these and enjoyed it immensely. Very well run event and not too difficult roads. Team Wheels Couriers looked the part too :)

NicolasRocheClassicOctober6th2012.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭cornerboy

Glad it was a good day.....will pencil it in for next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Fathead

New to the cycling thing and living in Ashbourne i'm very close to Tayto park. I was out for a 30K spin on the day with my route passing Tayto park. As i approached the area people started clapping and congratuating me (cue very confused look on my face).

So by my reckoning i either won it or came dead last... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 WHEELSX2

I have to say i dont agree with most of the posts and thought the organisation was somewhat chaotic. Firstly the park wardens filled the first two carparks as you enter the Park rather than filling the car park closest to the registration area and work outwards thus avoiding cars driving through where people were attempting to register and indeed at the time I arrived (8:50) there was a queue of roughly 50 people in the PRE-REGISTERED! and a wait time of up to 15-20 minutes before being acquiring your number for the event - so with the added bonus of cars trying to get through this did not help the already irate cyclists (and i heard quite a number of people voice their displeasure at such disorganisatoin on the morning to the people manning the desk(s)) - this delay is of course what resulted in the 30 minute delayed start.

We arrived at a very basic food stop 65k later which seemed to have the tea/coffee station manned by 2 people and again consisted of queues. jaffa cakes/twix and bananas on a table further on. This is not a big issue for me but i though it was a very poor food stop. In fact tea/coffee, sliced brack and bananas would have done the trick for everyone.

We left the food stop and headed in the 90k direction and was advised at the bottom of the hill that if we had already been to the food stop we in fact had headed the wrong way and that apologies but we were sent astray somewhere earlier in our route. Ok we didnt mind at this stage only 25k to go.... off we headed...13k later we see a sign for Tayto Park 5k - deciding it was for people going to Tayto Park from a particular direction I said sorry lads we still have 12k to go... 2k later another sign Tayto Park 3k - 3k later we were in Tayto Park... just over 83k...hmmm what was that all about.

I would say the marhsalling (except for the poor person who clearly got his directions mixed up) was top class, the roads are poor but that is to be expected, if you improve on the very basics of swift registration, and a start which doesnt entail a few hundred cyclists on the exit route from Tayto park and cars trying to get through for the next leg being the 50k or 12k... you might be on to something but as it stands it was not a great event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Kop Idol

Found these pics from the day on the Wexford Wheelers site.

Did someone mention the "girls in the red dresses" ? ;)

http://www.wexfordwheelers.com/index.php/2012/10/some-photos-of-wexford-wheelers-at-todays-nicholas-roche-classic/