Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pro12: Edinburgh vs Munster, Sat 1 Sept 8pm; BBCALBA/RTE

• 30-08-2012 12:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Munster:
    D Hurley; D Howlett capt, C Laulala, J Downey, L O’Dea; I Keatley, D Williams;
    W du Preez, D Varley, BJ Botha; D O’Callaghan, B Holland; P Butler, S Dougall, J Coughlan.

Replacements: M Sherry, D Kilcoyne, S Archer, D Foley, B O’Mahony, P Stringer, S Deasy, I Dineen

Provisional Edinburgh Rugby squad to play Munster at Murrayfield Stadium on Saturday 1 September (kick-off 8pm) - live on BBC ALBA.

Backs:
    Greig Tonks, Tom Brown, Mike Penn, Lee Jones, Nick De Luca, Ben Atiga, John Houston, Tim Visser, Gregor Hunter, Harry Leonard, Greig Laidlaw, Chris Leck, Richie Rees.

Forwards: Allan Jacobsen, John Yapp, Ross Ford, Andy Titterrell, Geoff Cross, Willem Nel, Grant Gilchrist, Robert McAlpine, Perry Parker, Sean Cox, David Denton, Ross Rennie, Roddy Grant, Stuart McInally, Dimitri Basilaia.

Not selected: Ben Cairns (knee), Steven Lawrie (knee), Matt Scott (pre-season), Netani Talei (hamstring strain), Steven Turnbull (shoulder).

First competitive game of the new season, but given how badly we played against London Irish (I was there!), I'm not too hopeful of a win. Edinburgh also hockeyed in a pre-season game last weekend but they have a few internationals back in their squad for this.

Edinburgh are a side that are expected to seriously improve this season, given their cup run last season and their strong recruitment in the summer. Granted, some of the signings like Yapp and Richie Rees are probably only Pro12 level players, it will certainly help their squad depth when their internationals are unavailable. This is a game they will definitely expect to win. It's also a little preview to when these sides meet again in the Heineken Cup in October.

In terms of Munster's team selection (good call on the backrow by emmet02), it's great to see Luke O'Dea in ahead of Johne Murphy but Duncan Williams and Keatley were hopeless last week and seriously need to up their performance. Keatley's best form last season came when he got a run of games, he's played all 3 pre-season games so hopefully we'll see the best of him this week. Both Mike Sherry and DOC are back in rightaway since their NZ tour, it certainly does our chances for a win here no harm at all.

If Edinburgh select their strongest possible side, I think they will have too much for Munster.

Who will win? 29 votes

Edinburgh
    0%
    Munster
    44%
    [Deleted User]FeederPeadar06pappyodaniel782378LEINthomond2006profitiusjjj2903unplayablecivilnugQuint2010mrpdap 13 votes
    Stephen Donald
    55%
    dregintommycahirAkrasia[Jackass]fguinanDigifriendlyBenny CakewillitTomtom364granty1987Landoflemonambidormond ladNinjaKHigherpadraig29 16 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Munster
    Predictable team apart from LOD starting ahead of Johne Murphy. It looks like Penney is going for stability which is fair enough. DOC will give the pack a boost.

The backrow battle should be interesting. Its a big season for Butler. One of the stars in the Ireland U20 team a few years back he needs to start showing it at a higher level now. His weight could still be a problem but he looks to have bulked up over the summer.

Dineen must have also impressed recently to make the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Backline looks good, bar the half-backs, they'll need to up their game. We should have a decent scrum too.

The inclusion of DOC should make a big impact, will bring experience and work rate to the engine room.

Munster
    Decent first 15, the squad development this season will be very important in making certain that when internationals are away, and some fringe players are injured that it won't all fall apart though.

Tight 5 is underwhelming and the replacements even more so (and at the extremes of experience too!)

Best back row available picked. Hoping Dougall can get about the park and cause some angst for the Edinburgh lads, but they'll be under the cosh from the off in that regard.

Edinburgh a horrible place to go play rugby, and I think this could well be one of those typical "first season games" with dropped passes, poor execution all round. I think Edinburgh will shade it, but would expect Munster to earn an LBP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Great team considering who is missing. Looking forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Stephen Donald
    Will be interested to see the new Munster centre pairing play together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Munster
    profitius wrote: »
    Predictable team apart from LOD starting ahead of Johne Murphy. It looks like Penney is going for stability which is fair enough. DOC will give the pack a boost.

The backrow battle should be interesting. Its a big season for Butler. One of the stars in the Ireland U20 team a few years back he needs to start showing it at a higher level now. His weight could still be a problem but he looks to have bulked up over the summer.

Dineen must have also impressed recently to make the bench.

Dineen was busy when he came on and made a few carries. It's interesting to see him ahead of Barnes, who afaik is fit.

I hope Munster don't ditch naming extended squads, they give an indication of who's in the frame for selection.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

half-backs concern me greatly - but did munster have any other options there? Stringer is better than Williams but maybe Penney is focusing on the younger man

what youth prospects at half-back do munster have? Williams has been around for a while and never really made it, i fear Penney is investing in these two guys and they probably won't ever hit the level required although i wouldn't rule Keatley out completely yet - i think he might be better served trying out even younger prospects if there are some there of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Stephen Donald
    Hope Keatley ups his game...
    Would love to see Munster kick off the campaign with a win but it unlikely tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

donfers wrote: »
    half-backs concern me greatly - but did munster have any other options there? Stringer is better than Williams but maybe Penney is focusing on the younger man

what youth prospects at half-back do munster have? Williams has been around for a while and never really made it, i fear Penney is investing in these two guys and they probably won't ever hit the level required although i wouldn't rule Keatley out completely yet - i think he might be better served trying out even younger prospects if there are some there of course!

Sheridan-Hanrahan are the UL Bohs half-back pairing, and next in line really. Well they have Deasy at 10 aswell.

And Murray is still young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

donfers wrote: »
    Is Stringer better than Williams. I haven't seen a lot of his rugby in the last year but the few games that I did see when he was in England well he was looking like a spent force.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I wonder what the attendance will be like!

They've a scheme going just for this game:

'Try before you buy' means the supporters who have enjoyed getting closer to the high-octane action can use their ticket stub to redeem the cost of their ticket against one season ticket in the same category.

http://www.rabodirectpro12.com/news/14480.php

This will be an interesting to game to watch. Not just to see how Munster get on but also how Edinburgh get on (in 2012 they've only won 2 out of 11 Rabo games).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 jjj2903

Munster
    new user so apologies in advance(munster supporter), worry for munster. half back combination has been awful in pre-season. centres are new so will take a while to click. excited about about back three, Dea is exciting talent, howlett is howlett and hurley has been playing some rugby that won himself a heineken cup. excited about seeing the backrow with mcdougall but feel we lack a bit of oomph until stander arives and wallace unretires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Munster
    jjj2903 wrote: »
    new user so apologies in advance(munster supporter), worry for munster. half back combination has been awful in pre-season. centres are new so will take a while to click. excited about about back three, Dea is exciting talent, howlett is howlett and hurley has been playing some rugby that won himself a heineken cup. excited about seeing the backrow with mcdougall but feel we lack a bit of oomph until stander arives and wallace unretires

???

Is Stringer better than Williams. I haven't seen a lot of his rugby in the last year but the few games that I did see when he was in England well he was looking like a spent force.

Williams was ahead of Stringer last season, he's ahead of him again this season.

Stringer played a couple of good games in England, most of it was quite poor though. I was hoping he'd have a bit of a resurgence this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭budhabob

Quint2010 wrote: »
    ???

I read it as being wishful thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Williams was ahead of Stringer last season, he's ahead of him again this season.

Stringer played a couple of good games in England, most of it was quite poor though. I was hoping he'd have a bit of a resurgence this season.

He seemed to be liked by the fans from what I saw, particularly at Saracens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ormond lad

Stephen Donald
    Edinburgh Rugby team to play Munster in round one of the RaboDirect PRO12 at Murrayfield Stadium on Saturday 1 September (kick-off 8pm)
    http://www.edinburghrugby.org/news/edinburgh-news/4370-bradley-wants-statement-of-intent
    15 Greig Tonks

14 Lee Jones
    13 Nick De Luca

12 Ben Atiga
    11 Tim Visser
    10 Greig Laidlaw CAPTAIN

9 Richie Rees

1 John Yapp
    2 Ross Ford

3 Willem Nel

4 Grant Gilchrist
    5 Sean Cox

6 David Denton
    7 Ross Rennie

8 Stuart McInally

Substitutes :
    1 Andy Titterrell
    17 Allan Jacobsen
    18 Geoff Cross

19 Perry Parker
    20 Dimitri Basilaia
    21 Chris Leck
    22 Gregor Hunter
    23 John Houston

Munster
    very strong Edinburgh side.

Wow that is a strong side. Tempting to back Edinburgh here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

durkadurka wrote: »
    He seemed to be liked by the fans from what I saw, particularly at Saracens.
    There's huge goodwill towards Peter Stringer, but I don't think he played that brilliantly for them. I was in a pub in Bath full of Leinster fans watching his debut against Ospreys and a huge roar went up as soon as Stringer was introduced. Everyone loves the guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

smurphy29 wrote: »
    There's huge goodwill towards Peter Stringer, but I don't think he played that brilliantly for them. I was in a pub in Bath full of Leinster fans watching his debut against Ospreys and a huge roar went up as soon as Stringer was introduced. Everyone loves the guy.

I hear David Holwell sends him a Christmas card every year.

*lobs grenade into thread*

Munster
    GerM wrote: »
    I hear David Holwell sends him a Christmas card every year.

*lobs grenade into thread*

GMQJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Munster
    Off topic but is any of this evening matches going to be televised?

I really want to get into this rugby lark again :pac:

Ulster will be on BBC NI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Tomtom364

Stephen Donald
    Marcus Horan out with a minor back injury for Munster. Dave Kilcoyne takes his spot.

http://www.munsterrugby.ie/news/10753.php

Tomtom364 wrote: »
    Marcus Horan out with a minor back injury for Munster. Dave Kilcoyne takes his spot.

http://www.munsterrugby.ie/news/10753.php

Dont like to see any injuries, but I'd rather see Kilkoyne on the bench anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

http://www.rabodirectpro12.com/matchcentre/fixtures_list.php under TV\Att you will find out which channels are showing what games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Stephen Donald
    Ulster will be on BBC NI

BBC2 NI and Treviso vs Ospreys on BBC2W.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Higher

Stephen Donald
    Excited to see how Munster's centre pairing for the year get on together. Also interested to see how Dougall gets on, I've only heard good things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Looking forward to this. I'm concerned about Williams as back up 9 but he's well able for Rabo rugby so tonight shouldn't be a problem

Butler at 6 is an interesting one, McGahan seemed to see him as a specialist 8 I reckon, but I always felt he's a more natural 6

Can't wait to see Dougall too

Nearly time.

I'm really looking forward to seeing the centre partnership for the first time, Dougal too. I'm also looking forward to seeing more of LOD, looked really good in his opportunities last season. Roll on 8.

and as if I wasn't looking forward to this enough, Munster +4 is the last match of a 22/1 accum I have after Man City won there

Munster
    Fishooks12 wrote: »
    and as if I wasn't looking forward to this enough, Munster +4 is the last match of a 22/1 accum I have after Man City won there

Best of luck fish!

I have Leinster/Munster double to save my weekend,
    not looking too good on the Leinster front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

Looking forward to the next 80mins. Hopefully there will be some positive signs.

Some offload by Casey.

Munster
    That was beautiful play out of Edinburgh

Jaysus Keatley

Are you Leinster in disguise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Great try!

Munster
    Why did Dougie come infield? Gorgeous play tbf.

We look great when we spread it wide. But unfortunately we look awful when they do the same

Duncan Williams isn't related to a raboo 9, I take back what I said earlier. I fear for an injury to Murray

Munster
    Lualala has just broken himself

Munster
    Casey KOed. :(

The speed of the Edinburgh backs off setpiece is fantastic, they look very dangerous.

He should go off for his own sake, he was out cold.

Munster
    Fishooks12 wrote: »
    We look great when we spread it wide. But unfortunately we look awful when they do the same

Duncan Williams isn't related to a raboo 9, I take back what I said earlier. I fear for an injury to Murray

If Stringer is one dimensional, Williams is no dimensional! We really need him to improve...

Lovely front foot ball from Downey. How badly we've needed that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Casey should be taken off after that

He should never have even tried to continue.

That was a bit of an amnesiac hit there. He looks completely unaware of who or where he is!

A stronger ref would have sent him off the pitch.