Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda No Insurance Disk In Window.

• 29-08-2012 9:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13

So I bought a car Monday, Got insured on it and was waiting on the insurance disk to come out, Yesterday i came up to a check point and the Garda took my car off me because i had no insurance disk in the window, He told me once i get my insurance cert and disk and go the Garda station I can get my car back without paying anything, Is this true, I got told by some friends that it is 120euro to get your car out & 20euro everyday your leave it there, I'm still waiting on my insurance cert to get sent out to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I'm in the same position but was driving around with no insurance disc.thanks for posting this I was lucky not to be caught. I better stop driving it until I get the disc sorted. Sounds a bit over the top as you are actually insured just don't have a disc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Did you have any documentation to prove you only had the car a day, or was there anything else amiss or reason why he would have taken it off you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Every car I've had, Ive had to wait a few days for the disc to get to me after swapping over. I've been through checkpoints and I was only asked if it was insured and they were happy enough with "yes".

It seems OTT to me for him to have taken the car from you. If it was during the day, you could have simply contacted your insurance company on the phone there and then.

EDIT: What should be done is when you insure a car, your insurance company should send you a confirmation email which you print off and keep in the car until you get the disc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 IIHEFTYII

I got stopped before on a different car without an insurance disk in the window, But the guard gave me 10 days to produce insurance cert to the Garda station, It all just depends on the guard you get stopped by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

I had no disc and tax disc 6 months out and they let me on my merry way.

I did have documentation and receipts to cover me though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I call shenanigans. You would have been given ten days to produce your insurance in your local station.

Or else you are not telling us the full story.

I call shenanigans. You would have been given ten days to produce your insurance in your local station.

As I said before, I got stopped before on a different car without an insurance disk in the window, But the guard gave me 10 days to produce insurance cert to the Garda station

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

I didn't think they could take the car for no insurance unless you admitted it to them? Always thought you were given 10 days to show proof of insurance.

So what can they take it for?
    Dangerous
    No tax
    VRT not payed
    They feel like it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Fair enough. But I can't see you getting your car back free of charge. The person who recovered your car will have to be paid for his/her time.

What I really want to know is will I have have to pay to get my car out, As the Guard told me I wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Seems a bit OTT. I have been driving a sales car from work for the past week or so due to my own car being "borrowed" without my permission. It has no insurance disc in the window even though it is insured. I had better stick a spare disc in it tomorrow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Most unusual

What kind of car is it?

I honestly couldn't believe him when he told me he was taking the car off me, I was very nice to the guard and I explained to him that I was only after buying the car and was waiting on the insurance disk, I even asked him could I get 10 days to produce insurance cert or could he ring my insurance company up to prove I was insured.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Most unusual

What kind of car is it?

Nissan Almera Sport

I would have asked under what legislation are you taking my car from under me and asked for it specifically in Irish in the style of Martin Luthor King

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

IIHEFTYII wrote: »
    I honestly couldn't believe him when he told me he was taking the car off me, I was very nice to the guard and I explained to him that I was only after buying the car and was waiting on the insurance disk, I even asked him could I get 10 days to produce insurance cert or could he ring my insurance company up to prove I was insured.
    So this was during office hours and he refused to check with your ins co that you were covered?

How old are you if you don't mind me asking?

The last time they caught you, did you actually have insurance?

Anan1 wrote: »
    So this was during office hours and he refused to check with your ins co that you were covered?

Yes.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    How old are you if you don't mind me asking?

The last time they caught you, did you actually have insurance?

I'm 18 but look about 12 haha. Yes the last time I got stopped I was insured and everything was fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 656 ✭✭✭bobin fudge

3 weeks ago I was stopped at a standard check point in ballybough in the afternoon, as I dont drive my car often I had the new insurance disc to place in my car but I forgot and left it on the table in the kitchen, sure enough I get stopped as the insurance disc in the window expired in July,my tax was also out by 4 days

I Explained my case and the female guard said she actually believed me and gave me the 10days to produce, felt very embarassed over it and went in taht day with the insurance document

In over 17 years driving that was the first time I had driven with the wrong insurance disc in my car -wont be doing that again

Yes.
    Did he have any grounds for believing you to be uninsured? Have you any previous history with the Gardaí that might have led him to this conclusion?

Nope never in trouble with the law in my life,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭one2one

I'd presume the grounds for the seizure (S41 RTA) were failing to display a vaild insurance disc (S69 RTA afaik!). Perfectly legal.

IF you are insured, bring the cert & disc down to the Guard in question, explain to him there & then and see what he can do.

Nissan Almera Sport

maybe the car has been flagged in the past to watch out for?

one2one wrote: »
    IF you are insured, bring the cert & disc down to the Guard in question, explain to him there & then and see what he can do.

this is what the guard asked him to do

I'd presume the grounds for the seizure were failing to display a vaild insurance disc (S69 RTA afaik!). Perfectly legal.

Thanks, I'm still waiting for my insurance cert to come out to me. Hope it doesn't take too long as friends were telling me that its an extra 20euro for everyday you leave your car there.

I'd presume the grounds for the seizure were failing to display a vaild insurance disc (S69 RTA afaik!). Perfectly legal.
    Is it legal for the Gardaí to seize a car simply for non-display of an insurance disc? I had a quick google of S.69 RTA and I can't see anything to back this up?

Thanks, I'm still waiting for my insurance cert to come out to me. Hope it doesn't take too long as friends were telling me that its an extra 20euro for everyday you leave your car there.

There is a charge, can't remember what it is but it may be more than €20/day.

Get onto your insurance company in the morning, tell them you NEED your certificate & disc asap, and they should email/fax you a copy of it until you get the hard copy. I had to do the same before although my vehicle wasn't seized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

This is bizarre. What happens if your car is in the garage and you swap your insurance to the garage's loan car for the day!

TheChizler wrote: »
    This is bizarre. What happens if your car is in the garage and you swap your insurance to the garage's loan car for the day!
    Exactly. I'm having trouble believing that the Gardaí have to power to take a car purely for not having the disc up.

I lost a disc a few months back and was lucky to be able to walk into AXA on mary street and get one printed out infront of me in less than 5 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Car was siezed under S.41 RTA. it's up to the driver to prove he's insured and he had no documents to prove same. The guard obviously had enough doubt in his mind to believe that the car wasn't insured.

Here's a thread from back in January. Same question.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056531375

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Thats so unlucky I have many times left disc in another car even 1 day forgot wallet and van was dropping off was out tax 3 years said to the guard and couldnt stop laughing he just goes come on the tax out 3years I was of course insured but he was sound and honestly wish more were like that now I would have fully understood if he took it cause I couldn't prove had right insurance mad world out there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭dougie-lampkin

Not necessarily. A friendly Garda would allow you 10 days to produce, but he is well within the law to lift and detain a car if you can't prove on the spot you are insured. This doesn't mean non display of an insurance disc, once you can provide some other documentation. It's all down to the opinion of the Garda.
    41.—(1) The Minister may, after consultation with the Minister for Justice, make regulations authorising and providing for the detention, removal, storage and subsequent release or disposal of a mechanically propelled vehicle in use in a public place where—

(b) the vehicle is or a member of the Garda Síochána reasonably believes it to be registered in the State and the member is of opinion that the vehicle is being so used in contravention of section 56 (1) of the Principal Act, or

The detention charge is also waived if the car is lifted for no insurance and you can show that you were insured.
    6. Where a vehicle has been detained, removed and stored in accordance with Regulation 3 and the owner of the vehicle establishes to the satisfaction of the member of the Garda Síochána in charge of the place at which the vehicle is stored—

(a) in the case of a vehicle referred to in section 41(1)(a) of the Act of 1994, that the vehicle—

(b) in the case of a vehicle referred to in section 41(1)(b) of the Act of 1994, that an approved policy of insurance was in force in respect of the use of the vehicle at the time it was detained,

the charges in respect of the detention, removal and storage of the vehicle shall be waived.

It's not really so hard to believe, why should a Garda let you drive away on nothing but your word that you're insured?

Is it usual for the garda to take the car rather than calling the ins co to check?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

What a load of crap. Half the time on these forums you hear Gardaí not accepting insurance certs out of the glovebox and to "produce it at the station".

Then when they feel like it they ask you for it and pretends it means something. Where's the consistency?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Media999

Someone who looks 12 pulls up to a traffic stop with a sports car with no discs. Garda takes car off him and your all surprised. Are ya serious?

Car probably isnt even registered in his name yet! Imagine how much of an idiot the guard would look if it turned out to be nicked.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Media999 wrote: »
    Someone who looks 12 pulls up to a traffic stop with a sports car with no discs. Garda takes car off him and your all surprised. Are ya serious?

Car probably isnt even registered in his name yet! Imagine how much of an idiot the guard would look if it turned out to be nicked.

I'd agree to be honest

Why do you feel that letting the OP drive on regardless and taking the car were the only two options open to the Garda?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Almera isnt a sports car:eek:

Lol Sports car

The guard could of easily gave me 10 days to produce insurance cert, I had my license with me and everything.

Imagine if your car was nicked tonight by a twelve year old.

He drives it straight through a checkpoint and is waved on after giving an excuse anyone could give.

fair play to the guard i say. Why is it so hard just to have a copy of a reciept. He says himself he looks 12 for ****s sake.

He couldnt even take out as much as a smartphone with an email saved never mind a printed receipt and your all surprised the guard thought it was suspicious.

**** what law he was able to take it. He used his ****ing head.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

The guard could of easily gave me 10 days to produce insurance cert, I had my license with me and everything.

I'd suspect it was a combination of your age, your baby faced ness and the lack of insurance that all contributed.

Add to that a cop having a bad day, a cop new to the scene, one who is overly cautious and it all adds up to having the car seized to be honest.

How long was the insurance out when you bought the car?

I'd relate it to when I was in my early thirties and driving on a provisional and the new laws came in about being accompanied, I'm female, and was usually in a suit driving home from work, never got asked for my licence, but loads of younger people did and got fines.

The cops tend to have stereotypes in terms of what they expect and act accordingly

I guarantee you the thought came into your head to say you shouldnt be driving without proof of Insurance but you took the risk.

Dont try bull**** everyone. Ya knew well what you where doing so dont act all surprised when the car gets taken off ya.

Imagine if your car was nicked tonight by a twelve year old.

He drives it straight through a checkpoint and is waved on after giving an excuse anyone could give.

fair play to the guard i say. Why is it so hard just to have a copy of a reciept. He says himself he looks 12 for ****s sake.

He couldnt even take out as much as a smartphone with an email saved never mind a printed receipt and your all surprised the guard thought it was suspicious.

**** what law he was able to take it. He used his ****ing head.

I hardly look 12 now, It was a joke, I showed the guard my old insurance disk I took out of my old car, I also told the guard I was stopped before and the other guard rang up my insurance and everything was fine, He said "sure I could be talking to your mam on the phone"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭Elfinknight

Should tell you, Nissan Almera "Sports" are actually the bog standard issue Almera in this country. It's only a title to pull in the punters. Should know coz I own one too

I hardly look 12 now, It was a joke, I showed the guard my old insurance disk I took out of my old car, I also told the guard I was stopped before and the other guard rang up my insurance and everything was fine, He said "sure I could be talking to your mam on the phone"

Did you listen to the conversation? Did you not have to verify to the insurance company that you were happy for them to discuss your policy details with a third party?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

How much did the Almera cost to insure? My cousin who is the same age is looking at one and just curious?