Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need a new pair of wellies

• 28-08-2012 3:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭

I need a new pair of wellies, the soles fell off my old wellies after 8 years and my Meindl Dovre Extremes are developing a hole after 2 season, FFS!:mad: so they're going to be badly neded as every field I've been in is full of water.

Need a pair of welies that are light, good thick sole, comfortable and give good support as I have suffered with pains in my arches from wellies in the past.

Was thinking of Aigle, Le Chameau or Muckboots.

Have heard the muckboots get too hot, is this a problem? I don't know.

Your advice , opinions, experience please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭Browning2010

I've a pair of ' Tay' (I think) muckboots, I find them great, they are really comfortable and I never had a problem of them been too warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

High end Dunlops are the best wellie I've had (I'll check the model this evening). They're goldilocks wellies :D just right. Not too hot or cold, not heavy but are durable and very comfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

Dunlop Purofort.

€55 in the local co-op, best value for money I could find. They have an extremely comfortable fit with good arch support and they are not too heavy either.

S2K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

aigles all the way man , you are right about the muckboot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭mixerbarcoe

i have a pair of dunlop endurance wellies for last 8 years and there still going strong...most comfortable wellie i ever had fit like a glove.. cost €50 when i got them.. when these ones give up will be going for another pair of them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

I need a new pair of wellies, the soles fell off my old wellies after 8 years and my Meindl Dovre Extremes are developing a hole after 2 season, FFS!:mad: so they're going to be badly neded as every field I've been in is full of water.

Need a pair of welies that are light, good thick sole, comfortable and give good support as I have suffered with pains in my arches from wellies in the past.

Was thinking of Aigle, Le Chameau or Muckboots.

Have heard the muckboots get too hot, is this a problem? I don't know.

Your advice , opinions, experience please.

TriggerPL will be along soon!
    He's a bit of a wellie connoisseur :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Invincible wrote:
    TriggerPL will be along soon!
    He's a bit of a wellie connoisseur :)

Right not sure if that's a gud thing !

Wellies all depend on budget needs and so on .

Hunter belmorals neoprene are the best I've ever put on for comfort and support and for keeping feet warm in ice water conditions . I have walked mountains in these wellies .

If you farming and wearing wellies everyday in cow dirt then the high end dunlops are the wellie to go for . 1 million farmers can't be wrong . And my father lives in dunlops for his job . But has tried them all . He wears hunter when shooting, but what ever effect cow dirt has on high end wellies the acid eats away at the joints and they start to Crack. This happens with aigle as well he has tryed them all .

Had a look at a pair of aigle new to the market in birr and was impressed with them but couldn pay 170 euro when hunter belmorals are about 110 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Right not sure if that's a gud thing !

Wellies all depend on budget needs and so on .

Hunter belmorals neoprene are the best I've ever put on for comfort and support and for keeping feet warm in ice water conditions . I have walked mountains in these wellies .

If you farming and wearing wellies everyday in cow dirt then the high end dunlops are the wellie to go for . 1 million farmers can't be wrong . And my father lives in dunlops for his job . But has tried them all . He wears hunter when shooting, but what ever effect cow dirt has on high end wellies the acid eats away at the joints and they start to Crack. This happens with aigle as well he has tryed them all .

Had a look at a pair of aigle new to the market in birr and was impressed with them but couldn pay 170 euro when hunter belmorals are about 110 euro

Hunter balmorals it is so where can they be gotten?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭E. Fudd

Can't recommend the Dubarry boots highly enough.

I have a pair approximately 6 years and they've never failed me. Theyre all I wear when I'm stalking.

Costly, but definitely worth it.

i got them in home feild and stream enniskillenfor 99stirling , dad got his in roscommon for 120 euro .serch the web see where is close to you ,

as e fudd said dubarry would be top class but your looking at 300 to 400.
    as the nice lady in dubarry tent at birr kindly told 4200fps needless to say they were slowly put back on the shelf , and we made a quick exit .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭slim223

Le Chameau, the way to go, warm when its cold and cool when its hot. you can wear these all day and wont get sweaty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭staghunter

le chamue best wellies on market

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Deeks,
    I brought a pair of these back from the states and love them. A bit much imho for muck boots, but they are great.

Have you considered hip waders? I have too often found that even the tallest muck boots love to take on water when you're leaning forward crossing ditches.

If I were you, I would think about a pair of these.

The only brand of wellies that ever hurt my arches was Hunter. Parents bought me a set for Xmas, they were waders and very expensive. Worst footware I've owned, killed my arches and stripped my heels :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭howya mike

Has anyone tried the Dunlop Purafort? I have a pair of leaky hunters myself and could do with a new pair but don't have hundreds to spend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭sako75 hunter

Used to wear them in the abbitoir before it closed. Great to wear, very soft and light and hard wearing too. Thats all any of us used to wear. Calling into the local co op friday for a new pair. :)

Vegeta wrote: »

The only brand of wellies that ever hurt my arches was Hunter. Parents bought me a set for Xmas, they were waders and very expensive. Worst footware I've owned, killed my arches and stripped my heels :(

There are many different types and I give a certain type for a reason I had light pair of hunters and they were the worste I've worn and waders are a different story altogether .

I've never found a comfortable pair of waders

Waders are not an option, tis shooting I want them for not fishing.

My last pair of wellies were a pair of dunlop wildlife and they lasted a long time but the soles were a bit thin and my feet used to be sore from them. Thats why I got the meindls but they just weren't up to the kind of water, briars, ****, muck, sludge and bog they were being subjected to.

The old hunters look like crap but the new ones look good. Was also considering a pair of Le Chemeaus, I'll have a look at the weekend I don't want to spend anymore than €100 for them. I'ld be worried that the purafort would get left behind in a boggy hole, I want a proper shooting boot that fits tightly around the calves.

Buy the purofort and tie them to your legs with bailing twine and bobs your uncle!!!!!! :)

I have a better idea, the inner tube from a car tyre, just roll it up over the top of the boot.

Cut off the circulation to me toes and gangrene for christmas:D

I have a better idea, the inner tube from a car tyre, just roll it up over the top of the boot.

Cut off the circulation to me toes and gangrene for christmas:D

Tho old hunter were dirt but the new ones were taken over by another company . If ya can try a pair of balmorals neoprene you will see that they are a tight fitting wellie with the clip on the side for adjustment . But you will pay that 20 euro over your budget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

At my back door Aigle, Chameau and 2 pair of Dunlop.

The one that fits you best. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Deerspotter

Hunter balmorals neoprene are the best wellie I have ever had. They are my most comfortable shoes. I'd live in them if I could. I can assure you I am a fussy fooker when it comes to what I put on my feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭50cal

Dunlop Purofort at 57 euros in the co op.They get my vote and they replaced a pair of 150 euro Aigles that pretty much perished to death after 4 years.
    I cant comment on Hunter wellies as ive never owned a pair?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭howya mike

Which co op did you get them in 50cal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Was only discussong this with a shooting compadre the other day..fair dues to the fellas that spend good money on wellys.ive nothing against ye but imo its utter madness.i was given a loan of an expensive pair of wellys last year to try out...in my size...
    To be honest, i found that the dunlop wellys i got 3 years ago for 20 quid in the creamery are no different.if you can walk around the shop a few times without pain or discomfort, the boots fit
    but as i said, thats my 2 cents

and if you really think about it, your spending your money on a layer of rubber to keep the feet dry and clean while walking through pure and utter sh!te!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Knucklebreaker

I would be one of those more particular with footwear; suffered from all sorts underage playing sports.

Currently using Abu Garcia, and find em great only have them a year now and no complaints so far cost 70euro.

Forgot em once and had to use a buddies spare pair of dunlops, only cheep pair but wouldn't fancy them all them time. I wouldn't buy a pair online as good fit is important,unless same make etc. I could be 9.5 to 10 in football boots and these are a 42 (8)and fit very snug.

I shoot on the lake a lot and waders were a must for some of the land we shoot. I had a cheap 25 euro pair from the local angling store and they were brilliant, I wore them everywhere. Up the mountains, on the bog, at the lake. They were a great yoke. Ripped them one day on a barbed wire fence and a patch wouldn't take to the area because of a crease, kept lifting. Have yet to see a pair of waders that can match them for functionality and comfort.

I must try on the Balmoral the next time I see them. I usually find neoprene wellies heavy and warm so they might not suit but the pictures of them online show that at least Hunter have improved the soles on their boots.

The Dunlops I have are these

dunlop-unisex-wildlife-deluxe-wellingtons.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Robotack

Hunter were previously made in Scotland. They moved their operation to China about 2 years ago and I can safely say they are now garbage. Please do yourself a favour before you buy hunters. Google something like "HUnter wellies problems" and see the thousands of hits.

I only had a conversation in a gun shop about this last week and three other customers in there agreed, the new ones are very poor. I currently have Balmoral Neoprenes. The are about the best of the new ones but still the neoprene inside has falen apart at the heels. My retailer has plenty of pairs the same having been returned and he's now decided not to stock them anymore as hunter will not stand over any problems.

I also have the highly expensive leather / goretex Hunter Hawsworth... Never again. The rubber rand on the sole peeled the first time I wore them and the leather looks like crap after just a few months light use. And I'm very particular about cleaning and waxing them etc.

About 2 years ago I bought my girlfriend a pair of red "Tall Originals". They suffer the white "blooming" problem and turned white over the summer when they were boxed under the stairs. They were replaced and guess what, the new ones are the same after this "summer". Again, hunter does not acknowledge this as a problem.

I have an old pair of Scottish made Hunter Soverigns. Great quality boots. Bottom line, Chinese Hunters NONONO... Scottish ones... lovely. Rant Complete.

I hear Jack Pyke Wellies are good BTW.

Just back from a trip from the shops the only wellies in my price range were the Aigle Parcours they also had the Aigle Parcours Neopren lined ones, but not in my size.

What are they like they seem to be a good boot with a decent sole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Bring back Silverkings! :-D:-D:-D

Robotack wrote: »
    I currently have Balmoral Neoprenes. The are about the best of the new ones but still the neoprene inside has falen apart at the heels.

I would luv to see a photo of them . My pair are 4 years old and not a mark on them I'd wear them in evening and most weekend during hunting .

Dad on the other hand wears his from 7 in the morning till 9 at night 7 days a week and the neoprene is perfect the only thing as I pointed out is that cow dirt eats away at them and they Craic but the neoprene has never budged .

And how old are your balmorals ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

If you've a bit of a wide foot get yourself a pair of Aigle Parcours, you should get them for a stiff €100.

The Best Price I've seen them for is €110 for the standard boot and €140 for the Neoprene. They seem to be the most common boot around.

Lads just back from the co op with my new dunlop purofort wellies, im like a young lad in the snow! Honestly lads give them a try, go try them on in the co op and run around the store (like i did). There aslight as a pair of runners. I paid 60 for them. There were two different kind, ones that were all a lightish green including the sole and the dearer ones that were dark green with black sole with red up the centre, think that sole is just a bit more resilliant to more stuff is all. Anyway im happy out with them! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

i have a pair of toggi the last 3 years,ist pair only lasted first season then the neoprene started to peel away from the inside but the shop replaced them. used them for shooting, farming and work so they have been in concrete a hell of a lot of time.
    bought a pair of bekina ones in co-op and there still going strong, there not as warm as toggi so use them in summer but they comfortable,cheap and they fit me well, but there not looking so good with all melted holes from weld spatter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

Hunter balmorals neoprene are the best wellie I have ever had. They are my most comfortable shoes. I'd live in them if I could. I can assure you I am a fussy fooker when it comes to what I put on my feet.

=+++++11111111

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Longranger wrote: »
    Bring back Silverkings! :-D:-D:-D

Also useable for commercial divers weighted boots!:D:D
    Had a pair of them in Ag college.By the end of the first semester my calf muscles had muscles!!Tough as nails and weighed a ton,but a pity their soles wore down so quick.Was like walking on ice on sh88y concerte with them.:(
    Have to say the Co Op "Baudaou"brand isnt too bad either.Light enough and cut tighter on the leg,with a good sole.
    Anyone any experiance of the "gumleaf" brand of wellies??

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

I find my le chameau great, tight at first but stretched well. had them 4 years now.

But never had another pair so difficult to compare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭kenneths

Deeks where in cork did you see the Aigle parcours as i need a pair of them.
    i could only find online but i wanted to go to a real shop and try them on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

I have a pair of the neoprene lined Aigles and they are superb. I've used them stalking last year and wore them in the snow in Hungary in January too. Great boot, especially for the money.

kenneths wrote: »
    Deeks where in cork did you see the Aigle parcours as i need a pair of them.
    i could only find online but i wanted to go to a real shop and try them on.

It was in Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭kenneths

where in waterford....

John O'Briens, Angling and Outdoor

Got a pair of the Hunter Balmorals 87 euro in TW Murrays in Cork, bargain.

That for nothing are they the neoprene ?

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭mauser77

i got them in home feild and stream enniskillenfor 99stirling , dad got his in roscommon for 120 euro .serch the web see where is close to you ,
    Where in roscommon did he get them trigger?