Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Gathering 'Pep Rally' Concert - RTE ONE/RTE Youtube 9:35pm - Friday 31st August

• 27-08-2012 5:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭

This 90 minute concert will be broadcast a day before the American Football game between Notre Dame vs The Navy. The concert will be broadcast from the O2 in Dublin.

The event will be hosted by Miriam O'Callaghan.

I just got the time of the event which airs at 9:35pm.

This concert is to be the launchpad for The Gathering for 2013.

Musical guests include The High Kings, Brian Kennedy, Damien Dempsey and Eimear Quinn.

I am told that the audience will be comprising plenty of seven charities as they will be getting the majority of the tickets.

This looks like a great event to go and watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

what this got to do with the football match, is the gathering going to start off with foreign miltary pr campaign?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

what this got to do with the football match, is the gathering going to start off with foreign miltary pr campaign?

The Emerald Isle Classic in The Aviva taking place on Saturday 1st September has a lot of Irish connections established within one of the teams that are playing, namely Notre Dame.

It is one of the events taking place as part of The Gathering initiative as this concert on Friday Night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

The Emerald Isle Classic in The Aviva taking place on Saturday 1st September has a lot of Irish connections established within one of the teams that are playing, namely Notre Dame.

It is one of the events taking place as part of The Gathering initiative as this concert on Friday Night.
    https://twitter.com/efferal/status/240135460414967808

Poor Navy it's their home game but RTE are treating like it's Notre Dames homecoming @GatheringIRL

46m TheGatheringIrelandGatheringIRL
    @efferal RTÉ are filming the Notre Dame pep rally as it's in The O2. Am sure news reports will reflect both sides of the excitement!

i'll let harry browne lay it out for you as better writer then me http://politico.ie/social-issues/8035-keith-duggan-irish-times-militarism.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

i'll let harry browne lay it out for you as better writer then me http://politico.ie/social-issues/8035-keith-duggan-irish-times-militarism.html

Yeah, thanks for the anti-american diatribe :rolleyes: , I'll enjoy the American Football game thanks very much. You can invite the taliban over to play a game against Al Qaeda if you like, I'm sure they'd bring over their burkah clad cheerleaders an all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Yeah, thanks for the anti-american diatribe :rolleyes: , I'll enjoy the American Football game thanks very much. You can invite the taliban over to play a game against Al Qaeda if you like, I'm sure they'd bring over their burkah clad cheerleaders an all.

Just because they fight bad people doesn't necessarily mean they are good people.

Good evening all. How is everybody?

I notice a few empty seats at this event.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Look at them cheerleaders:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

For our "up for the final" we get Marty, they get this. So unfair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Paddywhackery-o-vision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

This is kinda "up for the match" US style?:pac:

This is a nice tune being played atm.

It's off westlife's fourth album

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I love good trad but this is a bit samey and lifeless.

Hope the Yanks know not to give Brian wine.

Brian's back with the longer hair.

This is how Moondance should be sung, Mr. Kennedy :(

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I love good trad but this is a bit samey and lifeless.
    I don't think this is the type of gig where they break out the experimental jazz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Only a matter of time before someone sings a Clancys number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Arrest Brian Kennedy for murder

Where all the gangster rappers at y'all?

Enda ya bollix:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Where all the gangster rappers at y'all?
    Here he is now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Endinium Kennedy, what's the story with his JFK accent tonight, are we sending a chap to the moon or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭DuckStab

Freshly graduated from the James T. Kirk School of Elocution.

He left Rathkeale to go selling tarmac drives.

And out next guest is............ Clint Eastwood.

Jaysus, he's embarrassing.. could he be any more cliché..

He told them to rock the town, cant wait for Liveline on Monday.

SkyHD can be very scary sometimes :(

Note to Enda

You need to trim the hair in your ears, Sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Kurz

Ugh this is like Live Aid for Ireland. I was enjoying it before all the corporate whoring.

Good on ya Martin, god bless America.

Our paralympians are doing well already.

Congratulations to Bethany Firth who a paralympic gold medal in her swimming division. A huge surprise to us all.

did somebody tell Martin Sheen that this is Self Aid Part 2?

Oh i like this, lights turned off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭OU812

Much as I dislike FG, thi is huge, it's going out in the states & it's a massive opportunity.

His speech was short & susinct & said what needed to be said.

I don't like him, but he's our leader (of the moment) & is doing what needs to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

DuckStab wrote: »
    Freshly graduated from the James T. Kirk School of Elocution.

he may be full of ****e, but he's a pretty good orator, unlike the 3 bollixes that preceded him. john brutals laugh was his downfall, biffo never looked up, and bertie was just a shytebag.

I hope there's no rainbows out, the leprechaun guild must be under fierce staffing pressure what with most of their personnel being required at the point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Our paralympians are doing well already.

Congratulations to Bethany Firth who a paralympic gold medal in her swimming division. A huge surprise to us all.

should've seen jason smyth in the 100m heats, new world record of 10.54, and he was easing up at the end. just pure class.

What bleedin language is this supposed to be

The yanks love this auld craic, god bless em.

I'd say after a week of practising that song you are fit for an institution.

He has Irish roots, no way:rolleyes:

Is this guy gonna show us how the Magic Paintbrush "paints better than any other paintbrush on the market"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Burkatron

GO 1914 WOOOOHHHH!!!
    This is awful! It's almost as boring as going to watch an actual American Football game sober!!!

A occasion like this calls for a few verses of 'An Puc Ar Buile' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Cheesy and perhaps as paddywackery as this whole thing may appear it's exactly what the audience wants, fair play to the organisers.

Miriam trying to interview someone is bound to kill any passion that's being felt in the room. Bring out the cheerleaders!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

This a disgusting display of selling out for the sake of some American dollar. This pep rally plays up to every Irish stereotype that Americans have of us, which is incredibly embarrassing to those of us who live in the civilised parts of the country. This means that we're going to be mobbed by fat cnut Americans saying things like "brogue", "you guys have much better Guinness over here" and "I'm 1/17 Irish, my second name is O'Callaghan". Fcuk off you fat elephant.

All for an American football game! After an hour of the game tomorrow, any Irish person watching out of curiosity will be bored out of their minds and have changed over to Premiership football. It is painfully slow and drenched with ads, as a sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Anyone know why that chap is holding a guitar?

Fcuk off you fat elephant.
    I'd rather talk to a million americans over here trying to have a good time & be nice to us than spend two seconds talking to someone like you.