Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motors meet at C&C Cherrywood, Sunday 2nd September.

• 27-08-2012 3:34pm
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 265 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Lots of cars.
    Lots of coffee.
    Sunday 2nd September in Cherrywood.

Who's there?

Map: http://goo.gl/maps/GGhyX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

I tend to be around at the C&C in Cherrywood. Haven't made it to the last few ones, but should be there on sunday.

/M

OSI wrote: »
    Marlow - ??

Most likely something big. :D

/M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

OSI - GTI
    Marlow - ??
    dgt - Farmers spec 406

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

OSI - GTI
    Marlow - ??
    dgt - Farmers spec 406
    Tallon - IS200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

What time is this on at?

Dr.Rieux wrote: »
    What time is this on at?

Tends to be 10:30 / 11am.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

OSI - GTI
    Marlow - ??
    dgt - Farmers spec 406
    Tallon - IS200
    Franksm - XK8

Main FB page: https://www.facebook.com/#!/groups/152175304881334/

FB event for Sunday: https://www.facebook.com/groups/152175304881334/#!/events/221014874692181/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Oooooh this is tempting :)
    Working sunday but I think im starting to feel a lil under the weather!!!!
    Actually yes, im going to be really sick sunday,
    Count me in! :D

Just noticed where this is, coundlt be any handier for me! 40 mins ish :)

OSI - GTI
    Marlow - ??
    dgt - Farmers spec 406
    Tallon - IS200
    Franksm - XK8
    Dr.Rieux - Passat 1.6 FSI

I'll turn up for a bit, I won't be there long and the Passat will be in a not clean state unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭testarossa40

Pardon my ignorance (I actually work in Cherrywood :o) but who/what/where is "C&C"?

I'll turn up for a bit, I won't be there long and the Passat will be in a not clean state unfortunately.

Doesn't matter. Anything goes. It's just a bunch of car enthusiast meeting up for a gander around the cars, a chat, a bit of coffee, etc. And you'll find it's very mixed. What I'll most likely bring has NOTHING to do with performance. Hell, it's not even fast.
    Pardon my ignorance (I actually work in Cherrywood :o) but who/what/where is "C&C"?

Dell's carpark. The C&C means "Cars & Coffee". It's organised mainly on Pistonheads, via Facebook and originally on Octane.ie, but has nothing to do with the forums. It's a good way to get out on a sunday and meet other petrolheads.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

OSI - GTI
    Marlow - ??
    dgt - Farmers spec 406
    Tallon - IS200
    Franksm - XK8
    IrishZeus - Car TBC

Oh. And let me just add to this .. and this is VERY important:

please leave flamboyant driving style at home or at least behind you when you enter the area. Don't throw trash around the place, like coffee cups and the likes and leave the place as you found it.

The organisers of the event have been working hard to secure the location for the C&C and we really don't want to loose the venue. This has happened in the past and it's not tollerated.

Whoever can't adhere to these simple requests will be asked to leave and never to return.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭testarossa40

Ah, thanks Marlow - thought it was a company or something :D. Hope to make it but won't know for sure 'til towards the end of the week.

No, this is an event that has been running for years now and has nothing to do with a company. Also, traders are not allowed at the event. Well, they are allowed, but they aren't allowed promoting their business.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Can someone add me to the list pls, stuck on my phone here :-/

I'll be in my dc5 if I get the finger out & have her sparkling on Saturday (weather permitting!), otherwise in the OH Rx7 :p

Usually some lovely metal for those that have never been before no matter what you drive pop along, something different on a Sunday morning! :D

OSI - GTI
    Marlow - ??
    dgt - Farmers spec 406
    Tallon - IS200
    Franksm - XK8
    IrishZeus - Car TBC
    Jemmy - Integra DC5

Nice mix between the DC5 and the RX7 there now. How do you like the rotary ?

/M

Marlow wrote: »
    OSI - GTI
    Marlow - ??
    dgt - Farmers spec 406
    Tallon - IS200
    Franksm - XK8
    IrishZeus - Car TBC
    Jemmy - Integra DC5

Nice mix between the DC5 and the RX7 there now. How do you like the rotary ?

/M

I don't admit it to him but it's a whole load of fun! Had it for the first half of ATWR this year :)

I can confirm ill definitely be there in the pink GTi :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

gollywog wrote: »

Finally! You have let yourself believe the truth!!!!!

I was on a bus in Blackrock the other day and the girlfriend spotted a pink Golf. I instantly thought of you gollywog.

pink

Pink is the old red :)

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Wisesmurf

Lads. Just a heads up.

Be very careful coming down the hill as you exit the m50 towards the car park. It's a 60 kph zone and the Gardai have had a speed trap there for the last 3 or 4 C&C's. It's hard to keep below 60 on that particular stretch.

You've been warned:D

Wisesmurf wrote: »
    Be very careful coming down the hill as you exit the m50 towards the car park. It's a 60 kph zone and the Gardai have had a speed trap there for the last 3 or 4 C&C's. It's hard to keep below 60 on that particular stretch.

That's actually always been a honeypot spot for the garda since that motorway exit been build. Both for speeding and for checking tax.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

OSI - GTI
    Marlow - ??
    dgt - Farmers spec 406
    Tallon - IS200
    Franksm - XK8
    IrishZeus - Car TBC
    Jemmy - Integra DC5
    Voodoomelon - 728i - TBC

I was on a bus in Blackrock the other day and the girlfriend spotted a pink Golf. I instantly thought of you gollywog.

Ha was it actually sprayed proper pink?!
    I regularly see an impreza like ShadowHearth's driving around here that's been sprayed baby pink.... It's just wrong!!

@ MetzgerMeister,
    Will you be gracing us with your presence dude?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

@ MetzgerMeister,

flyingpig.jpg

I regularly see an impreza like ShadowHearth's driving around here that's been sprayed baby pink.... It's just wrong!!

@ MetzgerMeister,

Nope, I'm in a transitional period car-wise at the moment.

Tal, give me a break! I was at ever Motors@Midway since January!

Tallon wrote: »
    @ MetzgerMeister,

flyingpig.jpg

Ha, that makes gollywog happy!! :p

@ MetzgerMeister,

Nope, I'm in a transitional period car-wise at the moment.

Tal, give me a break! I was at ever Motors@Midway since January!

Ah go on, ya still have a beast! That doesn't change because your changing it...

Ah it does though ;) I'm going to be up and down to Dublin a few times this week already.

Suppose... Were you up there Saturday after??

Yup, and I'm going up again tomorrow and if all goes well, I'll be up again sometime this week :D

Oh do tell?!!

Jemmy wrote: »
    Oh do tell?!!

No :P

No :P

Oh go on!!

Sure what difference would one more trip up make! Maybe there's somewhere you could just stay up here after your many trips!!? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

That's almost to Katie Taylor country.

Hmm not sure if i will go tbh, day booked off but that's a hell of a drive from Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Would love to make this but i'm not sure i can do it this weekend :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

As I'm only down the road, is this open to casual boards.e motor forum users like me?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

glynf wrote: »
    As I'm only down the road, is this open to casual boards.e motor forum users like me?:)

You need at least 1000 posts so that's just over 30 a day between now and Saturday night. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

And you have to bring a selection of cakes!

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    You need at least 1000 posts so that's just over 30 a day between now and Saturday night. ;)

That's too bad then...next one I guess:(

Ah jaysus lads will ye let the lad off with just the cakes? Come on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Get posting - you'll be grand! :)

I'm only kidding - you'll be very welcome but will need to bring cake though. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

And you have to bring a selection of cakes!

But...but...cakes!?!:(

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Get posting - you'll be grand! :)

I'm only kidding - you'll be very welcome but will need to bring cake though. ;)

Thanks MCMLXXV, had a niggling feeling urine was being extracted, I will go along so and see what I can manage to scrounge up on the cake side as well. My car is an A5.

Well im definitely going to come if there is cake.

Clearly that changes everything, you might even get MM coming along with that kind of talk

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    Well im definitely going to come if there is cake.

Clearly that changes everything, you might even get MM coming along with that kind of talk

Only if there's Meguiar's Microfibre cake :D

Thanks MCMLXXV, had a niggling feeling urine was being extracted, I will go along so and see what I can manage to scrounge up on the cake side as well. My car is an A5.

You drive an A5 so i atleast expect a slice of Black Forest in fairness

Us poor poverty spec hatchback drivers can barely scrounge up for a feckin battenburg between us :pac: