Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What tdi car to buy, budget 2500

• 27-08-2012 1:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭

Just wondering, not a major car expert and I'm looking at buy a cheap tdi for travelling around, doing around 500 km per week, needs to be fit for family use but need something that's not going to cost the earth after, what's best to look at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Are you using the term TDI as term for any diesel car, or is it specifically a vw you're looking for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Dan82

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Are you using the term TDI as term for any diesel car, or is it specifically a vw you're looking for?

Any Diesel Colm

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Thread carefully, cheap tdi's will have the life gone out of them.........check them well and have someone who knows their way round a diesel car mechanially to look/check over any potential car you've identified.

MidlandsM wrote: »
    Thread carefully, cheap tdi's will have the life gone out of them.........check them well and have someone who knows their way round a diesel car mechanially to look/check over any potential car you've identified.

I'm just trying to get something cost effective with the price of petrol at the moment, would you think I could be better going petrol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I'm just trying to get something cost effective with the price of petrol at the moment, would you think I could be better going petrol?
    no way at 500km per week!

Idbatterim wrote: »
    no way at 500km per week!

That's what I taught too, but what to buy then

some of the small peugeot hdi's were meant to be very fuel efficient. is it mainly motorway or national road driving you are doing? otherwise a 320d, a4 or passat would be the typical responses...

A little mix of both but mainly national roads, the 320s I heard cost a lot to run, A4s seem very pricey and the passats that I see are all driven into the ground, be afraid of the French cars but I do agree heard there great on fuel

i reckon one of biggest reasons they are great on fuel is that they would be considerably lighter than the German cars mentioned... the 320 is a 2 litre engine, the audi and passat are 1.9L, there wont be virtually any difference in tax or insurance, difference in fuel would be fairly negligible between them. ford mondeo or focus could be other options...

I hear maintains on the 320 can be unreal, bills of 600 wouldn't not be out of the norm when visiting the garage, yes we have a petrol focus at the moment and it's like new, petty to be getting rid of it but it's petrol only has 115,000 on it and it's 00,

Main thing is to get something clean at this stage and not owned by a hell razor

What are best sites to check out cars, I've only been using carzone but peopel say cars are deer on that site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

vectra wrote: »

Seems like clean car but it's up more than 60 days, is there a reason, what's the best it'll be bought for?

Dan82 wrote: »
    Seems like clean car but it's up more than 60 days,

true, and google the no 0877734681 ;)

I'd want to see a full serv his to verify milage.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Go onnnn, venture into the dark side.... :D

Full?id=13828869

Interesting amount of cars for sale when you google that mobile number,you really don't know who you are dealing with when it comes to cars,

Seems like clean car but it's up more than 60 days, is there a reason, what's the best it'll be bought for?

Fresh NCT,
    Bring someone with you to give it the once over,

I don't understand what difference it makes if someone sell a few cars on the side?

Easy to verify mileage if you know someone with vcds. ;)

IF that passat is straight, it looks like a good option... looking at the stats passat has 100bhp, bmw 150bhp, yet bmw is only 100cc more and would have better spec... it also has 6 years, as opposed to 5.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3650968
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3660298

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

A diesel Toyota is very thirsty in most cases. My dad had an avensis not the best on mpg, back in the good days the company he worked in had a ford focus TDCI and a golf tdi for some of the workers, he took both of them for a week when his car getting serviced and other bits done, he found the Ford to be a little better than the golf for mpg. I didn't listen to him I bought a golf tdi and find it a really good car I average 50+mpg on most trips.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

A diesel Toyota is very thirsty in most cases. My dad had an avensis not the best on mpg, back in the good days the company he worked in had a ford focus TDCI and a golf tdi for some of the workers, he took both of them for a week when his car getting serviced and other bits done, he found the Ford to be a little better than the golf for mpg. I didn't listen to him I bought a golf tdi and find it a really good car I average 50+mpg on most trips.

Very thirsty????. I have a mk1 Avensis for work and I get 550 miles for a full tank of juice..

IF that passat is straight, it looks like a good option... looking at the stats passat has 100bhp, bmw 150bhp, yet bmw is only 100cc more and would have better spec... it also has 6 years, as opposed to 5.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3650968
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3660298

Two nice cars, the 02 is the one that would most interest me but the price is more than I want to spend, the 01 isn't bad but not mad that it isn't original colour, and still a little pricy, 01 in this day and age couldn't be making more than 2 k????

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Very thirsty????. I have a mk1 Avensis for work and I get 550 miles for a full tank of juice..

Think it does depend on way you drive them too, the focus and golf being smaller car you will get better milage from them,

What age one did you buy, would I get one that's clean for 2 k mark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

What about pug 406 2.0 Hdi. A tank of you ask me, but take your time looking for decent one.
    Those are reliable, comfortable, nice too look at and nice to be in. Will be under your budget too.

What about pug 406 2.0 Hdi. A tank of you ask me, but take your time looking for decent one.
    Those are reliable, comfortable, nice too look at and nice to be in. Will be under your budget too.

I want to have something in the next two weeks, would I get one cheap enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I want to have something in the next two weeks, would I get one cheap enough?

For 2k you should be looking at "mint" flavoured one. You could find even cheaper. Always seen a few around donedeal, which don't look in bad condition. Don't be pushed away by everyone who will moan about French cars being ****. 406 is a fantastic car. Still there could be a lemons out there, so get as mechanic to check one properly,

Edit... Ffs I can't even imagine how my ****y phone could have spelled Janice out of mechanic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭wilson10

I would advise sticking with the VW TDI engine for reliability and economy but it doesn't have to be a VW OR Audi car.

The Leon is not a big car but I had one for years and got great service from it, very lively, small car, big engine.

This is just an example, I reckon you should get up to 03 for your money.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3664479

PS. Just realized that one is northern, there are plenty out there

wilson10 wrote: »
    I would advise sticking with the VW TDI engine for reliability and economy but it doesn't have to be a VW OR Audi car.

The Leon is not a big car but I had one for years and got great service from it, very lively, small car, big engine.

This is just an example, I reckon you should get up to 03 for your money.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3664479

PS. Just realized that one is northern, there are plenty out there

That sounds good, haven't looked at them but I have to say the Vw or the BMW is what I wanted , only issue being the price to run it after with the garage with things going in it

Fresh NCT,
    Bring someone with you to give it the once over,

I don't understand what difference it makes if someone sell a few cars on the side?

Easy to verify mileage if you know someone with vcds. ;)

a yoke like that ..........Naaaaaaaa, it's a ball of shye being knocked out a sideline dealer ..... I'd not cross the street to view it.

You obviously know something about that car that other don't?
    Or are you basing your judgement on pure speculation or past experience?

You obviously know something about that car that other don't?
    Or are you basing your judgement on pure speculation or past experience?

your missing something??? come on.......think???:D

Do we have history lads???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I'd have a look at the skoda Octavia 1.9 tdi . Great family car huge boot. We have a 2011 one and a 2005 one. But even the older model was a great car reliable economical and comfortable. Just be careful to get a mechanic to look it well over. Have an uncle with one with 200k miles a 2001 I think and still going strong so they are a good car. Have a look at a few anyway I don't know whether you would like one or not but I think there worth considering.

Bpmull wrote: »
    I'd have a look at the skoda Octavia 1.9 tdi . Great family car huge boot. We have a 2011 one and a 2005 one. But even the older model was a great car reliable economical and comfortable. Just be careful to get a mechanic to look it well over. Have an uncle with one with 200k miles a 2001 I think and still going strong so they are a good car. Have a look at a few anyway I don't know whether you would like one or not but I think there worth considering.

That's what I want to hear, need something that won't let me down, and nice to drive that'll go all day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

turbo diesel avensis, not a d4d, if you want something reliable that will still return 45+mpg.
    more reliable than a tdi, may not do as much mpg but you won't have any problems with it and for your budget you could get a good one and have a bit of change.
    or you could just get a tdi and wait for the flywheel to fall out of it as a lot of tdi owners don't know how to drive them correctly or to service them properly with the correct grade oil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

+1 on the Octavia, had one and couldn't fault it 60+ mpg. Have a vectra at the min and find it to be a grand car also.

wesf wrote: »
    turbo diesel avensis, not a d4d, if you want something reliable that will still return 45+mpg.
    more reliable than a tdi, may not do as much mpg but you won't have any problems with it and for your budget you could get a good one and have a bit of change.
    or you could just get a tdi and wait for the flywheel to fall out of it as a lot of tdi owners don't know how to drive them correctly or to service them properly with the correct grade oil

Why do they drive them so wrong? And the oil wrong too, are they that badly looked after?

+1 on the Octavia, had one and couldn't fault it 60+ mpg. Have a vectra at the min and find it to be a grand car also.

What age was Octavia you had, did you put much milage on it?

you get idiots that rev them out too much, they are not made for that, flywheels give bother in them also due to the afore mentioned idiots, very very hard to find a vag tdi in good condition and if you do it will be expensive. the wrong grade oil isn't good for them at all.
    the avensis will return good mpg and run forever once kept serviced, speaking from experience having owned a lot of diesel toyotas, they are near indestructible. so maintanence costs will be very low.
    flywheel goes in a tdi you are looking at 400+ parts and labour and that'd be cheap, and while your in there you may aswell do the clutch, so another 200 at least on top of that.
    edit: friend has one with 250k miles on it and not a bother, i had a carina td with over 200 and i had a straight diesel corolla with 320k miles on it and still flying

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

... I don't understand what difference it makes if someone sell a few cars on the side? ...

If the guy is registered as a motor trader, can provide after-sales service, takes care of post-sales consumer issues, pays taxes etc then there is no problem. The majority of traders operating from a mobile number are allegedly seen as passing themselves off as private sellers, thereby avoiding the issues that genuine motor traders must face and depriving buyers of their legal rights when dealing with a trader.

mathepac wrote: »
    If the guy is registered as a motor trader, can provide after-sales service, takes care of post-sales consumer issues, pays taxes etc then there is no problem. The majority of traders operating from a mobile number are allegedly seen as passing themselves off as private sellers, thereby avoiding the issues that genuine motor traders must face and depriving buyers of their legal rights when dealing with a trader.

Such is the difference between buying private and buying from a dealer yeah?

Makes no odds if a guy sells a few on the side or if you buy from a guy that sells his own car on. Still a private sale at the end on the day.
    Plain and simply put you have no comeback,
    On the other hand.
    If you want to look on Carzone or elsewhere you will find many dealers that will take care of post sale issues.. BUT,, At what cost?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Wicklowandy

2000 will buy a good octavia tdi, if your in the market for a vag tdi, its a golf in drag with a big boot and hatchback, i found it more practical than a passat

Shop hard, if it needs a clutch and dmf fit a solid one, still a good drive.

Dont believe all the horror stories. I ran one from 58k to 400k (miles) over a number of years in a past life as a taxi driver with less servicing than it should have got . During that time needed 3 clutches / dmf ( before the solid flywheels became popular) 1 starter and the usual wishbone and arbs.

Even with poor servicing, was an easy car to test every year, and used around a liter of oil every 2000 miles.

Also when buying a cheapish car, dont worry if its private sale or garage. If your not competent to judge the car yourself, bring someone you trust.

People seem to have unreasonable expectations. If a car is 10 years old, how could you expect any trader to put a warranty on it?

Not an exciting machine, but safe, reliable and economical and cheap to fix if you know where to look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Hope you don't mind me butting in. I'm also in the market for a diesel with a similar budget of around €2500.

I was looking at the BMW 320d, touring model in particular as I need the extra space.
    However when I google their faults they seem to be plentiful and expensive to correct.
    Are they are bad as google would dictate? I would previously have thought of BMW as being a pretty bullet proof car.

I won't touch Renault having being stung repeatedly with a Scenic II & it's weekly problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Something like http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3760129 ? The 2.0dti is slow as hell but very reliable and frugal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

mondeo and focus could be worth a look too

sean1141 wrote: »
    mondeo and focus could be worth a look too

Ya not a bad idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Tully86

i found once vectras got up in miles and age they arent that easy to run. a 306 hdi would be a good shout. cheap, easy run, and from what i hear can go on forever. uncle once had a 405 diesel. 350,000 when he gave it to a mate. she is still running 7 years later

Tully86 wrote: »
    i found once vectras got up in miles and age they arent that easy to run. a 306 hdi would be a good shout. cheap, easy run, and from what i hear can go on forever. uncle once had a 405 diesel. 350,000 when he gave it to a mate. she is still running 7 years later

the old dturbos are not the same as newer hdi's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

As mentioned earlier in the thread the best value for money diesel cars out there would probably be the 406hdi. I reckon they are superior to the Passats and A4s in comfort, reliabilty and running costs.