Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Considering a new Breitling Navitimer

• 26-08-2012 1:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭

Folks,

First ever post on Boards.

I have spent the last few days reading many of the posts on this forum.

I am going to London on Tuesday and am looking to buy a new Breitling Navitimer World with the black dial and with the steel strap (sorry don't know how to upload the picture).

I am looking to buy it in the retailer "watches of Switzerland"

I have always had an interest in watches but could never afford a decent one. (although I know feck all about them technically)

I know watch selection is a subjective thing, but I would like some feedback/input on my choice and if anyone could suggest alternatives (in the same sort of style).

From reading some previous posts I see the moderator "Wibbs" doesn't seem to be a fan of Breitling, and I was wondering was this a personal preference or a performance/mechanical issue.

Thanks in advance for any input or suggestions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

There is a few pre-owned ones here: http://www.watchfinder.co.uk/Breitling/Navitimers/Watches

Have you considered a good quality pre-owned? From what I have seen Breitling don't hold their value as well as other watch makers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Thanks Bullseye1,

I had thought about it, but then decided for peace of mind to buy a new one.

Didn't want any hassle with repairs or faults that might be associated with a pre owned one.

Appreciate you posting the link.

There is a couple of members who have owned Breitlings but not sure that particular model. Best of luck with your purchase and be sure to ask for a discount.

BTW with regards pre-owned most come with boxes and papers so can be repaired by the manufacture. With all good mechanical watches it is recommended that they be serviced every number of years. Be sure to price that into your purchase.

Thanks again Bullseye1,

I will ask for a discount.

I see from previous threads that you can discounts of 10-30% on list price but that some brands try and protect their margins, do you have any idea what discount I should press for on the Breitling?

I am a bit of a Luddite but I'll try and post a picture once I decide/buy.

Look forward to seeing pictures. Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭blindsider

It's a big watch. 46mm case and 15.5mm thick. You may be surprised how chunky it is when you try it. A friend of mine has one and he's a big guy - 6'4" and solidly built - it doesn't look small on his wrist.

Try Selfridges as well if you can - there may well be other places worth looking at.

In fact, if you have time you should look at a pre-owned watches - e.g. http://www.watches.co.uk/about-swiss-watch-company (WWW says you need to ring first) you might be pleasantly surprised, as well as saving a few quid.

I reckon there are several places like this in London so if you have the time, it'd be worth scouting around.

Finally, FWIW, I bought a Breitling Aerospace nearly 20 yrs ago, and I wear it 2-3 days per week - I still love it, and although it wasn't cheap, I' m still happy that it was a good buy.

Good luck with it.

Thanks Blindsider,

I have fairly skinny wrists but I like watches that are chunky and have a fairly big face, I owned a couple of Fossils that had big faces and really liked them.

Hopefully it won't look ridiculous when I try it on.

Anyone any idea of what sort of discount I should look for on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

I gauge cash discounts by these guys who supply new watches with oem warranties. 25% initial offer for the model you chose. (Personally, I would go for the white face!)

http://swisswatchesdirect.co.uk/swisswatches/a2432212_b726_443a-mens_watches.html

Thanks Marcusm,

That's a tidy discount and would save a fair few euros (I could put that saving towards a Tag Heur that I had relegated to second place in favour of the Breitling!!)

Apologies but not sure of acronyms, what's an oem warranty?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I have fairly skinny wrists but I like watches that are chunky and have a fairly big face, I owned a couple of Fossils that had big faces and really liked them.

Hopefully it won't look ridiculous when I try it on
    FWIW TBL I've wrists like an 8 year old girl and the Navitimers I've put on(both original vintage 1950's yokes up to present day models), though a big watch are one of those watches that kinda shrink to fit, so I'd not be too concerned about that. Other not so large watches by contrast looked wrong on my wrist.

Apologies but not sure of acronyms, what's an oem warranty?
    Original manufacturers warranty I presume?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Thanks Wibbs.

I see from the "wish list" that you "usually hate Breitlings with a vengeance"

If you wouldn't mind, any particular reason?

I would like to start a small watch collection and becoming more knowledgable around the technical/ mechanical working of watches.

Only found this forum recently and already have had some useful pointers.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Ah that's just me and my vintage watch snobbery coming into play TBL. :o:) I dislike their hijacking of the "aviator" market because of more recent PR stuff to align the brand to that. Outside their hype, historically other marques had far more aviation heritage. Longines(in a big way), Zenith and Rolex to name three(with a side order of Omega and even Cartier. Cartier came up with the first aviators wristwatch in the Dumas tank watch waaaay back in the day).

That and their overly busy dials which can irk me at times. That said TBL the "classic" style navitimer is a very nice watch in form and function.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Thanks again Wibbs,

I can live with that, (as long as it wasnt a performance or service issue) I am probably a victim of the said PR (although I know feck all about aviation), I always liked the look of the Breitling Navitimer.

I can relate to the fussy dials especially in the Montbrillant range.

Hopefully I be in a position to post a picture of my new purchase next week, unless someone dissuades me in the meantime!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,475 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Folks,

First ever post on Boards.

I have spent the last few days reading many of the posts on this forum.

I am going to London on Tuesday and am looking to buy a new Breitling Navitimer World with the black dial and with the steel strap (sorry don't know how to upload the picture).

I am looking to buy it in the retailer "watches of Switzerland"

I have always had an interest in watches but could never afford a decent one. (although I know feck all about them technically)

I know watch selection is a subjective thing, but I would like some feedback/input on my choice and if anyone could suggest alternatives (in the same sort of style).

From reading some previous posts I see the moderator "Wibbs" doesn't seem to be a fan of Breitling, and I was wondering was this a personal preference or a performance/mechanical issue.

Thanks in advance for any input or suggestions

Are you looking at the new version of the navitimer with breitlings in house movement, if so RRP is £6k, which imo is gone too far. Id be trying to get one of the last versions based on the 7750 movement which were nearly 2k less. They look pretty similar anyway, and are a little more manageable size wise.
    blindsider wrote: »
    It's a big watch. 46mm case and 15.5mm thick. You may be surprised how chunky it is when you try it. A friend of mine has one and he's a big guy - 6'4" and solidly built - it doesn't look small on his wrist.

What navitimer is 46mm in diameter?

Maybe some montbrilliant or something but not the std navi, even the new bigger one is 'only' 43mm

In my exprience, Selfridges hate to discount and are usually slow and put barriers to negotiate. Watches of Switz is a big AD network and may not be as accommodating as a smaller AD with stock or one who is willing to source a watch for you (incl watches.co.uk which is not an AD but who is generally willing to source to sell - I have bought from them inlc picking up).

Sterling has gained Against EUR over the past couple of months. It's well worth comparing prices before you go and establishing the realistic cost of conversion.

WoS have airport branches which discount by an amount equal to VaT (effectively 17% off) if you're not up for work/negotiating. The discount is available to intra EU passengers as well usually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Anjobe

Cyrus wrote: »
    What navitimer is 46mm in diameter?

Maybe some montbrilliant or something but not the std navi, even the new bigger one is 'only' 43mm

Navitimer World is 46mm, according to the details on Breitling's website.

Marcusm wrote: »
    In my exprience, Selfridges hate to discount and are usually slow and put barriers to negotiate. Watches of Switz is a big AD network and may not be as accommodating as a smaller AD with stock or one who is willing to source a watch for you (incl watches.co.uk which is not an AD but who is generally willing to source to sell - I have bought from them inlc picking up).

Sterling has gained Against EUR over the past couple of months. It's well worth comparing prices before you go and establishing the realistic cost of conversion.

WoS have airport branches which discount by an amount equal to VaT (effectively 17% off) if you're not up for work/negotiating. The discount is available to intra EU passengers as well usually.

Good point from Marcus actually, heathrow could be the best place for your purchase, you are already 17% or so off before any other haggling.
    Anjobe wrote: »

Fair point,

i think the OP is looking at the std navi though

Marcusm wrote: »

Good point from Marcus actually, heathrow could be the best place for your purchase, you are already 17% or so off before any other haggling.
    Anjobe wrote: »

Fair point,

i think the OP is looking at the std navi though

Thanks lads,

Appreciate the feedback.

I am flying into Heathrow this afternoon, so thanks for the heads up. Does anyone know what terminal the shop is in?

Cyrus, I have a budget of €7k, is an in house movement not "desirable" in a premium brand and something that should help the watch depreciate less quickly?

Apologies but I'm new to all this.

It is the Navitimer World that I am looking at, I couldn't post a picture.

Thanks again for all the help

Thanks lads,

Appreciate the feedback.

I am flying into Heathrow this afternoon, so thanks for the heads up. Does anyone know what terminal the shop is in?

Cyrus, I have a budget of €7k, is an in house movement not "desirable" in a premium brand and something that should help the watch depreciate less quickly?

sorry didnt realise it was the world that you were looking at :o

sorry all,

anyway, the world doesnt have an in house calibre, only the new Navitimer 01 has the new chronograph calibre.

Obviously an in house movement is desirable, but the price differential between the new and old model is too much, for watches that look very similar.

Also, if you want to protect an investment, a new breitling, even at 20% off, isnt the watch to buy. If you are buying a watch to keep then its a different story.

If i were you id try one the various models and see which suits best, the navi world is very big, the bracelet is very blingy, and the dial is even busier than a normal navi, which is very busy as it is!

Wow you have a great budget if I were you I'd look at IWC pilots range or even the portugese. There is an 8 day Porto pre-owned here.
    http://www.watchfinder.co.uk/IWC/Portuguese%20Automatic/IW500109/4266/item/19824

You would nearly have change in your pocket to buy this along with it.
    http://www.watchfinder.co.uk/IWC/Pilots%20Chrono/IW3741002/2027/item/20708

Thanks lads,

Appreciate the feedback.

sorry didnt realise it was the world that you were looking at :o

sorry all,

anyway, the world doesnt have an in house calibre, only the new Navitimer 01 has the new chronograph calibre.

Obviously an in house movement is desirable, but the price differential between the new and old model is too much, for watches that look very similar.

Also, if you want to protect an investment, a new breitling, even at 20% off, isnt the watch to buy. If you are buying a watch to keep then its a different story.

If i were you id try one the various models and see which suits best, the navi world is very big, the bracelet is very blingy, and the dial is even busier than a normal navi, which is very busy as it is!

Thanks Cyrus,

I'll try on a few, take my time and enjoy the experience

Thanks Bullseye1,

That IWC Portuguese watch is a beautiful piece, that watch was on my radar (I have also seen many on here extolling it), new it is beyond my budget and I see that the one you kindly posted doesn't have papers, is that something that should be a serious concern?

WoS apparently do pre owned and I'll enquire about that IWC also.

This watch chiosing business isn't easy!!!

If I had a budget of €7K, I'd look very carefully at this:

http://www.watches.co.uk/watch/12930s/breguet-type-xxi-flyback-chronograph-3810st/

and this

http://www.watches.co.uk/watch/12395s/iwc-fliegerchronograph-iw3706/

and I'd make sure I had enough left over for one of these:

http://www.stowa.de/Ikarus,i6.htm

I would be very happy and I wouldn't stop smiling for at least a year.

Thanks Blindsider,

That Breguet wouldn't be to my taste.

Out of the 3 l liked the cheapest one the best, those Stowas are really really nice? I'd like to pick one of them up, if I have any money left over. Can you pick them up pre owned as well?

Almost decision time, and really appreciate the inputs, ye guys have been great

Have you considered a Zenith El Primero Chonomaster?

Hi Bullseye1,

Is this the watch you referred to?

http://www.thefinestwatches.com/zenith-el-primero-36000-vph-steel-watch-p-13627-20243.html

Sorry, can't seem to post a picture from a web link.

Thanks, TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Zagato

Out of the 3 l liked the cheapest one the best, those Stowas are really really nice? I'd like to pick one of them up, if I have any money left over. Can you pick them up pre owned as well?

They do, but if they are in good condition they tend to come up for pretty much the same price as new, as there is a 3-4month wait for new ones as they only build the watch after you order it.

I just ordered myself a Stowa Flieger at the weekend, says I'll get it in mid November, but I'll be happy once I get it by Christmas - that way I'll just call it a present from my wife ;)

That is a nice example. They have a nice line.
    Hi Bullseye1,

Is this the watch you referred to?

http://www.thefinestwatches.com/zenith-el-primero-36000-vph-steel-watch-p-13627-20243.html

Sorry, can't seem to post a picture from a web link.

Thanks, TbL

Thanks Blindsider,

That Breguet wouldn't be to my taste.

Almost decision time, and really appreciate the inputs, ye guys have been great

Fair enough about the Breguet - if you get time it might be interesting to read about the history of Breguet - they really are one of the most important watch-makers. (I think I have mentioned somewhere here before, that what's good enough for Dr Stepehen Maturin, is good enough for me! ;)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Breguet_%28watch%29

As for the Stowa...they're just gorgeous. Buying a new watch is not top of my list at present - there are far more important things for me to spend my small disposable income on....but I think a Stowa Ikarus will be winging its way to me in the next 12 months..... I'll worry about the divorce later!

The Breguet though, will just have to wait! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭CarltonBrowne

I realise that it's probably a little late but here are the contact details for Watches of Switzerland at Terminal 1.

wosterminal1@watches-of-switzerland.co.uk

Normally best to ring; I've had a few emails ignored in the past.

Lads,

Bought the Breitling, it was however a very close thing, I came within a whisker of buying an IWCchroni, paying the difference on interest free credit! Stuck with the Breitling in the end.

Thanks to everyone, your inputs were great and really appreciated.

I post a brief update and photo later.

Really really like those Stowas though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

Lads,

Bought the Breitling, it was however a very close thing, I came within a whisker of buying an IWCchroni, paying the difference on interest free credit! Stuck with the Breitling in the end.

Credit via the watch place?

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

Lads,

Credit via the watch place?[/

Deep Thought,

They have an interest free credit plan that allows you to buy the watch over 36 mths (I think), so if the watch costs 2k you can spread that evenly over 36 payments, I think the plan was underwritten by hitachi finance. It almost tipped me into buying the IWC, maybe next year!!

And they would allow you to take the watch with you?

Yes Bullseye,

it did seem a bit odd, but I was dealing with the store manager himself.

Apparently Tag Heur have been doing it for a while, and I saw TH advertising this in the shop window (should have taken a photo I guess)

Surely some of ye guys have come across this?

Just home with my purchase.

Really enjoyed the experience and thanks all for the great advise (I saved almost a grand by haggling)

I tried on some great watches and am bitten by the bug bigtime.

I tried on a Zenith and it was a beautiful watch but they only had it in a blue strap and secong hand, I thought it cheapened the look of the watch.

I then tried on a IWC Portuguese, it was a fantastic classy watch. I usually prefer "sporty" type of watches but this was pure class. This will probably sound like heresy around here but I didn't buy this watch only because it didn't have luminous hands. [I wera a watch in bed and have to be able to see it at night]

I put on an IWC Chrono [I was so taken by this watch that I can't even remember the model] I really really wanted to buy this watch, budget be damned, but in the end financial sence took hold and I reverted to the Navitimer.

The security screeners in Heathrow must have thought I was nuts as I almost followed the watch through the x ray machine!!

On the plane home I promised myself I'd have that IWC within 2 years [let the saving begin]

Blindsider I really realy like those Stowas and with the discount I'm going to buy one tomorrow! Thanks for directing me to it.

Crappy photo of the new arrival [on my Wibbs like wrists!!] below.

The saga ends thanks all.

Very nice wear with good health. Yeah it's my ambition to own both an IWC and Zenith myself. Alas they will be pre-owned but with plenty of patience I should BR able pick up some nice examples. There was a stunning Zenith sold for under £2500 on TZ during the week.

Just home with my purchase.

Really enjoyed the experience and thanks all for the great advise (I saved almost a grand by haggling) Excellent!

I tried on some great watches and am bitten by the bug bigtime.

I tried on a Zenith and it was a beautiful watch but they only had it in a blue strap and secong hand, I thought it cheapened the look of the watch.

I then tried on a IWC Portuguese, it was a fantastic classy watch. I usually prefer "sporty" type of watches but this was pure class. This will probably sound like heresy around here but I didn't buy this watch only because it didn't have luminous hands. [I wera a watch in bed and have to be able to see it at night] Understandable - it's a lot of money = the watch needs to be right for you!

I put on an IWC Chrono [I was so taken by this watch that I can't even remember the model] I really really wanted to buy this watch, budget be damned, but in the end financial sence took hold and I reverted to the Navitimer. Oh well! Still, the Navi isn't exactly slumming it :D

The security screeners in Heathrow must have thought I was nuts as I almost followed the watch through the x ray machine!!

On the plane home I promised myself I'd have that IWC within 2 years [let the saving begin]

Blindsider I really realy like those Stowas and with the discount I'm going to buy one tomorrow! Thanks for directing me to it. You're very welcome! And much as I'd like to claim all the credit, I can't. I read about Stowa here in W&T, and thanks are due to several posters incl. Wibbs, Peasant and others (sorry I don't have names to hand, but you know who you are!)

Breitling on Tuesday and a Stowa on Wednesday...? How bad!!! (How's the rest of the week looking?! ;)

Crappy photo of the new arrival [on my Wibbs like wrists!!] below.

The saga ends thanks all.

Congrats again!

BTW - I bought my Breitling Aerospace nearly 20 yrs ago in Selfridge's on Interest Free Credit - I wore it home and was afraid to check the time on the Tube!

Yes Bullseye,

it did seem a bit odd, but I was dealing with the store manager himself.

Apparently Tag Heur have been doing it for a while, and I saw TH advertising this in the shop window (should have taken a photo I guess)

Surely some of ye guys have come across this?

Did they know you didn't live in the UK; once that came up, I suspect it woudn't have been available. Did you get more than 17% off?

Congrats, am a breitling fan, currently have a skyland avenger and have owned a navi in the past :)

on a separate note, i dont ever remove my watch at security gates and never had an issue, its too much of a risk imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

may have missed it...where did you buy it

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

Marcusm,

I believe that he knew I was from the Republic, I have a UK bank account, but you may be right, it could be for UK residents only.

I'll try and find out and report back.

I didn't get a discount of 17% but it was close enough that I was happy.

Deep Thought,

I got it in Watches of Switzerland in Bond Street.

By the way they seemed to have a very poor selection of pre owned watches.

Maybe all their middle eastern customers don't do trade ins!!!

Blindsider,

Called the Stowa number on the web site, the woman said that she couldn't take an order and that I had to fill in an online order form.

I filled in a form but I'm not sure was it a general query form or a purchase order form.

Could anyone help with pointing me in the right direction.

Was also surprised to hear that I couldnt pay by credit card, only bank transfer or PayPal.

Don't have a PayPal account so only option is a bank transfer.

I presume that these guys are legit and no one has had problems with payment/receipt of goods?

Blindsider,

Called the Stowa number on the web site, the woman said that she couldn't take an order and that I had to fill in an online order form.

I filled in a form but I'm not sure was it a general query form or a purchase order form.

Could anyone help with pointing me in the right direction.

Was also surprised to hear that I couldnt pay by credit card, only bank transfer or PayPal.

Don't have a PayPal account so only option is a bank transfer.

I presume that these guys are legit and no one has had problems with payment/receipt of goods?

You don't have to pay straight away, just order and the will ask for the money close enough to when they are ready to send it to you, it's legit alright, presumably you went to the right one

Upset now that I didn't mention here I was going to order one, or waited until after I'd learned that there are discounts available :rolleyes:

Thanks Zagato,

That was the site I was on alright, I see from the FAQ that you can order by phone, but the operator said I couldn't.

Do you need to register an account to order.

I attempted to order via the contact section

Thanks Zagato,

That was the site I was on alright, I see from the FAQ that you can order by phone, but the operator said I couldn't.

Do you need to register an account to order.

I attempted to order via the contact section

Well I just added the watch I wanted to the basket and proceeded from there, I did register an account (as I'll more than likely buy another) but I'm not sure if you have to. 2 of my friends have bought watches from the site in the last year and were very happy (apart from the unavoidable waiting) and I think a number of people here have ordered from there too

Now that I've ordered my Stowa, think I'll start saving for a Dornblueth -don't really know how much they cost, so I've just requested a pricelist ;)
    Not sure if they know what their pricelist is for 2021 mind you :p

Maybe they'll send me a nice catalogue, I keep the hardback A.Lange & Sohne brochure I got on a bookshelf with my nicer books :)

Zagato,

Thanks, just ordered the Stowa Ikarus, brown strap no rivets.

Got an order confirmation number and don't have too pay until they notify me.

Just doubled the size of my decent watch collection!!

Marcusm,

I believe that he knew I was from the Republic, I have a UK bank account, but you may be right, it could be for UK residents only.

I'll try and find out and report back.

I didn't get a discount of 17% but it was close enough that I was happy.

I'd say once he got to the forms it woud have been rejected, it's no different to other forms of vendor finance and there's a credit check etc.
    Deep Thought,

I got it in Watches of Switzerland in Bond Street.

By the way they seemed to have a very poor selection of pre owned watches.

Maybe all their middle eastern customers don't do trade ins!!!

WoS don't do many pre owed in any of their stores, generally just 8-10 max. There are so any other dealers and specialists in London that they'd find it hard. Watchclub, Armour Winston, Austin Kaye, David Duggan etc all have retail premises in Mayfair/West End and they'll generally have a much enter selection.

For Zenith, TAG Heuer discount boutiques in places like Bicester shopping vilage regularly have 10 or so Zeniths including chronos and El Primeros.