Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many shoes?

• 24-08-2012 9:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭

Hi all, off on a months holidays soon and am having an arguement with my bf about the amount of shoes I should be taking. We are going on a driving holiday so are a bit tight for space, but I think its reasonalbe that I take: two pairs of flip=flops, a pair of walking shoes, a pair of hiking boots, a pair of runners, a pair of shoes, two pairs of flats and a pair of boots.
    If you were going away for a month, how many pairs of shoes would you take?

Hi all, off on a months holidays soon and am having an arguement with my bf about the amount of shoes I should be taking. We are going on a driving holiday so are a bit tight for space, but I think its reasonalbe that I take: two pairs of flip=flops, a pair of walking shoes, a pair of hiking boots, a pair of runners, a pair of shoes, two pairs of flats and a pair of boots.

Not that many.

No need for flip flops at all IMO but bring one pair if you think you'll really need them. If you have hiking boots you shouldn't need walking shoes (in fact I'm not sure what the difference is). I don't see much point in bringing runners unless you plan on taking lots of morning jogs. A pair of very flat flats will take up minimal space and they're very versatile so that's fine too. As for shoes and boots I'm not exactly sure what you mean, but I can't think of anything else I'd bring except for heels.

I'd wear hiking boots there (saves space) and bring a pair of flats, and a pair of ultra thin flats (the kind that can be folded or rolled up to take up no space). I can't see any scenario that would necessitate anything else, unless you know you'll be doing a lot of nights out and feel you'll need a pair of heels, but I'd personally just stick with the flats for nights out because it's more practical.

So in total I'd bring 3 pairs, but I think you'd be being reasonable if you wanted to bring 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I just got back from a five-day city break today and I took four pairs of shoes, including the ones I wore while traveling. Mine were all sandals though so they didn't take up much space at all and were light. If you are tight on space, I would suggest bare minimum, as in shoes you know you are definitely gonna need and wear, as opposed to shoes you think you might wear once, maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Toast4532

Nine pairs of shoes is way too much in my opinion.

Honestly, why do you need two pairs of boots? Surely one is enough? And runners, what on earth do you need them for?

I think three or four pairs is plenty, any more is ridiculous and unnecessary. If you were flying and hiring a car in your destination, would you bring nine pairs of shoes? Or the bare minimum to avoid excess luggage/weight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Aurum

It depends entirely on the activities that you have planned. I spent two and a half weeks on a driving holiday in Northern Italy in June, and I was perfectly fine with two pairs of shoes. I'd say that four would be the most that you would need; one pair for walking/hiking, one pair of comfortable but smart city shoes, one pair of flip flops or ballet flats and one pair of heels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

The standard holiday ones for me are running shoes, flat shoes (ballet pumps are a decent all-purpose choice) and Converse for with jeans or shorts. Anything beyond that is a bonus or else the miracle has happened and I've actually checked in a bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

Oh, this isn't going the way I thought. I thought I was being pretty resonable about the amount of shoes I wanted to bring. My bf said he will let me take 4- walking shoes/flipflpos/flats/ and a pair of dressy shoes for going out. I guess that is prob enough, but considering I would wear a different pair of shoes everyday, be it runners/flats etc, I think I am worrying a bit about not having enough:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Toast4532

Oh, this isn't going the way I thought. I thought I was being pretty resonable about the amount of shoes I wanted to bring. My bf said he will let me take 4- walking shoes/flipflpos/flats/ and a pair of dressy shoes for going out. I guess that is prob enough, but considering I would wear a different pair of shoes everyday, be it runners/flats etc, I think I am worrying a bit about not having enough:(
    You can still wear a different pair of shoes everyday, you just need to alternate them between days.

As for your bf saying he 'will let' you bring four pairs, it is not up to him how many pairs you (want to) bring. If you want to bring nine of nineteen pairs of shoes, then do that, it most definitely isn't your boyfriends decision what shoes or how many pairs of shoes you bring. No one has the right to tell what you can or can't bring.

You have plenty in four pairs, honestly, nine pairs is way over the top. If I was going away for two months I'd still only bring two or three pairs, but that could just be me.

Personally, I would just bring flip flops, one pair of ballerinas and one pair of sandals. If I was going to be doing a lot of walking, I'd probably bring a pair of canvas shoes too, but if I wasn't doing much walking, I wouldn't bother with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Aurum

I suppose if you find that, for some reason, you don't have enough you can always buy another pair (unless you're driving in a pretty remote area). Also, on a driving holiday you're constantly unpacking and repacking your suitcase and hauling it in and out of hotels; it would be a bit of a pain keeping track of nine pairs or shoes and making sure that none were left behind under a hotel bed. It also means that you can bring a smaller, and easier to carry, suitcase.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

That is a crazy amount of shoes to bring on holidays.
    On our last month long driving holiday I wore 1 pair and brought 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭ihsb

Where are you going? If it is somewhere warm the boots would be the first to go. They take up loads of room and you will prob never take them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I'd bring runners, hiking boots, sandals/flip flops, and a pair of nice shoes in case we go somewhere posh for dinner. The runners are kind of unnecessary, but I'd bring them simply because they're a medium weight all-rounder.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

We went on a week long driving holiday in July and I brought a pair of wedges, a pair of flipflops and one pair of going out shoes. TBH, I only wore the flip flops for the entire trip. The rest of the shoes were stuffed into the back of the car and forgotten about.

You don't need boots unless it's cold, you don't need hiking boots unless you'll actually be hiking, you don't need both runners and walking shoes and you'd be fine with one pair of flats and one pair of flip flops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Cherry Blossoms

I think three of four shoes is more than enough. I would bring a pair of sandals, walking shoes, cons and maybe pumps or high heels if you that way inclined, I hate wearing high heels!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

I'm a self confessed shoeaholic. Gonna go against the grain and agree with the OP. If I was going away for a month, I'd be bringing lots of pairs. I was in Spain for a week in April and I brought 10 pairs:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Morgase

I can see how you'd want to bring one of each type, but it's probably overkill to bring two types of flats and two types of flipflops. I don't really see the need for walking shoes and hiking boots, just bring one or the other.

I'm going on a driving holiday myself for three weeks very soon, and I'm just bringing four pairs in total: one pair of pumps (to function as the dressy shoes), a pair of nice-looking skater shoes (for walking round cities and non-muddy places), sandals for when it's just too hot and hiking boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Ha! Anytime I go on holiday I usually bring a pair of plain converse (which I'd usually be wearing anyway) and one pair of black flip flops that would work for the beach/going out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

The way I'd see it is - two pairs of flip-flops AND two pairs of flats don't take up more room than one regular pair of boots/heels. So there's four pairs of shoes, guilt-free, and you've plenty of variety there (and chances are that flip-flops/flats are what you'll end up wearing most, anyways.)

Unless it's a really active holiday, I don't see a need for walking shoes and hiking boots and runners. Choose one of the three.

When you say "a pair of shoes", I'm guessing you mean heels? And when you say "a pair of boots", I'm guessing you mean going-out-type-boots? Choose between these two (I'd go for the heels. ;) ) But chances are you'll end up wearing flip-flops/flats on most nights out anyways - you're on holidays, after all!

So, there you are, you're down from nine pairs to six - BUT, because four pairs take up very little space, it's a massive reduction in packing space.

You could certainly cut it down further. If it were me, I'd probably leave it at two pairs - a pair of comfy-but-pretty flat sandals, and a good pair of runners - leaves you an excuse to buy more along the way, if needed! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Penny Dreadful

I was away for almost 4 weeks on honeymoon this summer. I brought a pair of trekking shoes, a pair of flip flops for jeans and general everyday stuff and then a pair of fancier flip flops for evening time and dinner, etc.
    Granted the holiday involved a safari for a full week so nothing fancy or dressy was going to happen then.
    I was actually quite restricted with the amount of stuff I could bring as it was going into a back pack and the internal flights had a very small allowance for baggage. I thought it would be really hard to manage for so long with a small amount of stuff but you know what it was grand.
    It really showed me how much I used to bring away with me that I never ever needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭MusicalMelody

This seems reasonable enough for me! You've covered all the bases! I'd probably bring similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭Snoopy1

Boots, hiking boots, heels and walking shoes. That's a lot of your luggage allowance gone already and boots are heavy.
    I live in runners, so would take runners a pair of flip flops (you can always buy another cheap pair) and possibly a pair of flats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

You can never have enough shoes! Well since its for a holiday, have at least one pair of flipflops for relaxing around the pool/beach, one pair of pumps, one pair of trainers/comfy shoes for day wear if you doing a lot of walking. One pair of sandals/high heels for evening wear. One piece of footwear for the main thing unless it could rain have light ankle pair of boots handy. Have spare pumps for going out if sandals/heels get the better of your feet, walking and standing in the heat and doing a lot of walking can hurt the feet.

If you going hiking or any activity similar to it then best to just stick with one pair and one pair of each thing you can carry, still a lot of luggage before clothes and toiletries come into it, less is always more. Go with what you need and can carry. Watch out for the weight of the luggage.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I travel a lot with work and bring the following:

1. Pair of work shoes that double if I was every going somewhere fancy
    2. Pair of leather sandals that are like flip flops but with more coverage from the sun.
    3. Spare pair that will do job 1 and 2, usually ballet type pumps

They get me through 2-3 weeks at a time.

Now I love shoes, I've over ninety pairs, but seriously with luggage restrictions and everything else, I minimise the fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Twinwolf

My motto is – if it fits in your case, you can take it!! Who cares if its too much, or if you don’t get to wear absolutely everything that you’ve brought. I’d rather have too much choice than not enough, and if I don’t have to carry it on my back, or very far in a suitcase then I don’t care how exorbitant it seems. I would probably bring all that for a weekend. I HATE not having lots of choices, and you just never know what you ‘feel’ like wearing on a particular day. Men have it very easy in the shoe department. All of their shoes go with all of their jeans/trousers – Not so for women, I swear I need different shoes for each pair of jeans I have, as they all have a different leg and or length, and they’re not interchangeable!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Twinwolf wrote: »
    My motto is – if it fits in your case, you can take it!! Who cares if its too much, QUOTE]

I do if I'm flying ryanair and it's €20 for every kilo I am overweight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I like to pack big but I got good lesson at 18 when I did month of interrailing with a 27kg backpack. Since then I try to be more rational, especially with shoes because I always end up buying a pair or two on holidays anyway.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

If I'm going away on holidays, I would wear a pair of runners going and then bring a nice pair of heels and a pair of flats, like pumps/ballet shoes.
    I pack very light whenever I go away though. For a week's holiday, I would only have hand-luggage with me. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Twinwolf

Twinwolf wrote: »
    My motto is – if it fits in your case, you can take it!! Who cares if its too much, QUOTE]

I do if I'm flying ryanair and it's €20 for every kilo I am overweight?

LOL - true too, ok, revised motto "If it fits, and is within weight restrictions, and don't have to carry on your back, then your good to go!"

I've spent my fair share on excess baggage far too many times, and its always getting worse, more expensive and more strict! But this holiday is a car trip, so no weight restrictions & I think when those occasions rarely happen, then take full advantage and bring what you like!