Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NUIM Boards Beers! - September 11 (TONIGHT!), Caulfields, 7pm.

• 23-08-2012 01:28PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭

Right, it's boards beers time, and plenty of notice.

Facebook event: https://www.facebook.com/events/145212855619120/?context=create

First year? Come make some friends! You will need these friends for two exam periods every year to photocopy their notes.

Postgrad? Come explain why undergrads have it so easy! Then back to the lab before they lock up at 10.

Computer science? Come explain why beers over IRC would have been better! Make jokes like 'Your mama so fat, she an array out of bounds exception error'.

Arts student? You were probably there for hours before the event anyway!

Lefty? Come tell everyone about your new home brewing kit!

Eric Cartman? Come yell at the lefties!

Make yourself available now, ****ed if I'm changing the time or place of this thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭tootyflutty

banquo wrote: »

First year? Come make some friends! You will need these friends for two exam periods every year to photocopy their notes.

Postgrad? Come explain why undergrads have it so easy! Then back to the lab before they lock up at 10.

Computer science? Come explain why beers over IRC would have been better! Make jokes like 'Your mama so fat, she an array out of bounds exception error'.

Make yourself available now, ****ed if I'm changing the time or place of this thing.

So many categories of student to chose from.. I think I'll pretend to be a computer scientist this time, and tell you how the computers only use IE :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

But what about us scientists? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Drink? I'll be there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

What about us budding scientists ?! I feel so left out , you know in the future we could be producing your alcohol etc. so I really wouldn't get on our bad side :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

Marko and I were thinking of doing this, nice one! I shall be in attendance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Stickied ;) Can't wait! Boards beers are always fun!

We should probably have another one too at the start of October or something too, seeing as a lot of people mightn't be in Maynooth yet for this one.

Seren_ wrote: »
    Stickied ;) Can't wait! Boards beers are always fun!

We should probably have another one too at the start of October or something too, seeing as a lot of people mightn't be in Maynooth yet for this one.

The more drink the merrier ;)

Hell there should be one every Tuesday, fill in the gap between Monday and Weds carnage nicely ! ;) Maybe even start our own toxic Tuesdays a la DCU style :P

^^ Jesus I sound like a raging alcoholic I DON'T HAVE A PROBLEM I SWEAR!!!! *scuffles off to AA meeting....* :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

Booking the time off work saturday :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Im just going to casually poison the first years with milton friedman quotes and reaganomics , let them do my bidding.

But seriously, if you dont show up to this beers your banned from the boards.ie maynooth forum FOREVER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭dr.quirky

wait there!! what the? So Im a leftie now? b0llox..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭WhiskeyGoblin

As a first year scientist I feel I should attend to set a standard for my fellow peers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

dr.quirky wrote: »

wait there!! what the? So Im a leftie now? b0llox..

...I'm fairness Gary, I don't think I met anyone so enthusiastic about #occupynaas at the time :P

I thought that was said/acted on in confidence!! and that you bring it up, I do believe I contributed two packs of marlboro light and an armfull of chocolate towards said excursion! just sayin.

and just to note, I think we all know where that hashtag can go....

dr.quirky wrote: »
    I thought that was said/acted on in confidence!! and that you bring it up, I do believe I contributed two packs of marlboro light and an armfull of chocolate towards said excursion! just sayin.

Population of Naas: We brought you food and sleeping bags!
    Us: Thanks! Um, do you have, like, smokes?

TIME BOOKED OFF FOR THIS NOW....AWW HELLZ YEAH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Stevonicus

Might as well be there. It's not like I'll be doing anything else with my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

How did I just realise this is during orientation week?! I'm gonna be wrecked *shakes fist*

Simple answer: 6 pack of red bull :pac:

DB21 wrote: »
    Simple answer: 6 pack of red bull :pac:

Or lots and lots of shots of expresso, though that might give you the shakes something fierce and well then the freshers might think you're on more than just a severe overdose of caffeine :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I would realllly like to go and meet some Maynooth boardsies, but I'm pretty certain I'll be in work :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Myself and KellieF will be there too, so we can bring blankets and Boost and crash together in a corner:P

Duddy wrote: »
    Myself and KellieF will be there too, so we can bring blankets and Boost and crash together in a corner:P

Vodka and Red Bull in the moring and you'll be grand.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,241 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Post grad induction is that day so I may just pop along :)

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

oh bugger so it is! I might skip out of the wine and cheese early then so :P

Agreed, over sized hoody, can of red bull and slouching in a corner on a couch.. I'm all in favour :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

I shall more than likely stall it, although i'll probably be late, or quiet possibly early but most certainly not on time.

wonton wrote: »
    I shall more than likely stall it, although i'll probably be late, or quiet possibly early but most certainly not on time.

I'll be there at a similar yet necessarily different time.

A wizard always arrives precisely when he is supposed to!

Beers of celebration \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Stevonicus

I am more than likely going to miss this. Do try to have fun without me.

MERE DAYS AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!

enhanced-buzz-28895-1301694293-0.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Jonah42

Don't think I'm able to make this one folks, would have been nice to meet you all but hopefully another time :)

Jonah42 wrote: »
    Don't think I'm able to make this one folks, would have been nice to meet you all but hopefully another time :)
    Aww you would've had a whale of a time jonah #notsotopicalreligionhumour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Yee can kip in my gaf if ye want, just that im in leixlip.

But if more leixlip people go then cheaper taxi, all the leixlip people go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

I can haz go cinema instead. Gonna see a film about a girl dying, awh yeah. =D
    I haven't actually made it to a boards beers since Roe dragged me to one when I was in first year.
    but banquo was there.
    WILL YOU EVER LEAVE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭WhiskeyGoblin

Mother reminded me of my savings. So I may well be in attendance. Any other first year science lads/ladies coming?

marko93 wrote: »
    Mother reminded me of my savings. So I may well be in attendance. Any other first year science lads/ladies coming?

Yep :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

How so Joe wrote: »
    I can haz go cinema instead. Gonna see a film about a girl dying, awh yeah. =D
    I haven't actually made it to a boards beers since Roe dragged me to one when I was in first year.
    but banquo was there.
    WILL YOU EVER LEAVE?
    ;_______________________________;

what film are you going to see?

3 days :D

Yeah that could work... Or I could go to my apartment above Dunnes? :p
    Thanks for the offer..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

Yeah that could work... Or I could go to my apartment above Dunnes? :p
    Thanks for the offer..
    Maynooth local! Cheers though!

Ah I'm very excited :)

Will one of you lot that has my number text me/pick me up on your way there. Have a feeling I'm going to forget about this.. like I have done the last 2/3 :rolleyes: :o

im gonna be in maynooth all that day. like hell youre gonna forget :-P

jpcarlow wrote: »
    im gonna be in maynooth all that day. like hell youre gonna forget :-P

I'm working all day, so like hell you're gonna stop me from getting a nap in between that and beers :p

Just a thought, this would be a great way to lure a load of people together to murder them.... :P

But anyway on a happier note.... only 2 sleeps :D

aaabbbb wrote: »
    Just a thought, this would be a great way to lure a load of people together to murder them.... :P

O_O

*slowly backs away*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭loser2k12

aaabbbb wrote: »

But anyway on a happier note.... only 2 sleeps :D

Orientation is also a large group of people....possibly too large....

loser2k12 wrote: »
    Orientation is also a large group of people....possibly too large....

Bit too large for one crazed axe murder I would imagine , though those type of people tend to like a challenge:P