Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What aspects of Motor threads annoy you?

• 21-08-2012 11:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭

What aspect of Motor threads annoy you most?

The bladdering on about motor tax and mpg. The €2/litre threads. When someone asks for info and speel from Honest John or similar fountain of knowledge/w@nk is lashed down in a seemingly knowing manner.

People blowing on about the price cars are "going for" when their figures are clearly not gleamed from anywhere but asking prices on the likes of donedeal, carzone etc.

And MM constantly trying to flog his 6 too :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

1. People starting stupid threads
    2. People who expect the government to spend lots of money but who object to all taxes
    3. People who confuse inconsiderate driving with dangerous driving
    4. People who reply to stupid threads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

The whole '' has to be 08 and newer diesel for tax reason ''. Gets worse when it turns out they do F all mileage per year but because the wife said so it has to be the way.

The belittling and bickering that can go on here sometimes.

And Octavia's

Otherwise its a grand place, learned a lot from here I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

meh, the place has its faults. like any man, woman or beast in the world. fact of it is, most of us never really leave

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

...."theres no such thing as a stupid question,only stupid answers"....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Fr Jessup

People constantly starting "find me a new car, €7000 budget, etc" threads. Why can't they all be lumped into one thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

-When someone comes on and says all Alfa's are sh1t.

-People who think VAG's are the best cars.

-People who pay thousands to save hundreds in tax always makes me lol...

-Bad trollers, if you're going to do it at least do it right and make it funny

-Gollywog not accepting that his car is pink, fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

When you ask people about completely different thing and if you mention you are learner driver and you drive alone, thats it, you can consider a thread derailed, it turns into a lecture by other "law following" users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

And Octavia's

lol. Bugs the crap out of me too.

The design has barely changed in 12 years, yet on this forum the Octavia is right up there with a 911.

Bore the life out of me tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

When you ask people about completely different thing and if you mention you are learner driver and you drive alone, thats it, you can consider a thread derailed, it turns into a lecture by other "law following" users.

Yeah, who needs all of this democracy and laws and stuff, to say nothing of road safety, anyone should be able to do whatever the f**k they like without disapproval from anyone else. Screw society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

ardmacha wrote: »
    Yeah, who needs all of this democracy and laws and stuff, to say nothing of road safety, anyone should be able to do whatever the f**k they like without disapproval from anyone else. Screw society.

It's okay if 1 person says it, but when 40 others start this, it's just weird.

arleitiss wrote: »
    It's okay if 1 person says it, but when 40 others start this, it's just weird.

... considering AGS seems not overly bothered I don't see why folks off here are :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭tommyombomb

People who don't use the search function

Sick of people starting threads looking for advice in terms of buying a BMW 3 or 5 series. Seems to be one or two weekly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

People who post looking for advice and then refuse to agree to anyone that replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

<Ollie> wrote: »
    lol. Bugs the crap out of me too.

The design has barely changed in 12 years, yet on this forum the Octavia is right up there with a 911.

Bore the life out of me tbh.

Superb on the other hand...
    Also you save on paying the fine if you hit a deer in Phoenix park... big boot :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭THall04

People with a budget of around 10K....asking about a post 08 diesel...Corolla/Octavia......has to be a low tax band.........

......And then to be shot down with horror stories about modern diesels.......why its a false economy saving a few bob on the motor tax......why most Irish people are all idiots for prioritising the age of the car (whoo hoo! me car's a "Zero Ten!") over the spec of the car.......and then told they should be buying a 10 year old 735i.

Its not the advice given I've a problem with , just with the way its (sometimes) delivered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

People who touch them selfs at night, instead of going to sleep.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Repeat threads - usually about importing or motor tax. People who cannot spell "brakes".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Chriscl1

The which tyres threads.... Just use the search function!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 highlighter john

Fr Jessup wrote: »
    People constantly starting "find me a new car, €7000 budget, etc" threads. Why can't they all be lumped into one thread

I do like this idea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Poulgorm

People who contribute and have an obvious vested interest in particular brands. Some moderators are not immune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

166man wrote: »
    -When someone comes on and says all Alfa's are sh1t.

Threads where people try and convince you that Alfa's are not sh1t! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭JBokeh

A few people on high horses,This is a forum for cars and car related stuff. Maybe an equestrian subforum would be a good place for them.

And also the people that seem to care more than the gards do about what others are doing wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭martyc5674

Lads giving advice on mechanical issues they clearly wouldn't attemp to repair themselves.
    There's a fair few of ye!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

JBokeh wrote: »
    A few people on high horses,This is a forum for cars and car related stuff. Maybe an equestrian subforum would be a good place for them.
    People falling back that old 'high horse' line when they don't agree with something but are unable to articulate why. Might your own horse just be too low?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

Constant accusations of high horsery toward people who have an interest in motoring but don't follow the top gear school of thought on speed limits and driving.

Use of the word advise in place of advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

People who post looking for advice and then refuse to agree to anyone that replies.

The word for these folks is 'Askhole'.

The clamping threads are so so so overdone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭JoeySully

People who start threads asking technical questions about a car and dont bother to mention Make/Model/Year/engine information!

I think all threads should start with a minimum of this info.

Some posters are very dismissive of others who aren't massive petrol heads and just looking for a little advice. Patronising posts can be quite often.

However, having said that, there's just as many posters that are very willing to give advice to those that know very little, without coming across as condescending.

What annoys me the most though is that noone has posted pictures in the bad parking thread for ages!!

Starla_o0 wrote: »
    What annoys me the most though is that noone has posted pictures in the bad parking thread for ages!!

That would be because it was closed on us and won't be reopened. Ever :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

The person that sets out to pimp their employers business. We all know who it is and they get away with it too.

Thats a bit cloak and dagger, isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

BMW535d.

I miss that poster. :-(

Vectra apparently doesn't work for the skoda vRS division.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Chriscl1

RoverJames wrote: »
    Vectra apparently doesn't work for the skoda vRS division.

Or hankook:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

People blaming the clamped rather than the clampers (Out of principle)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

- The high horse brigade who appear out of the woodwork whenever "speed" is mentioned

- The AGS apologists that appear whenever anyone mentions something that paints them in a negative light - because that clearly must be "made up" or you have a "chip on your shoulder" :rolleyes:

- Related to that, people who insist on a link for everything.. not everything that happens makes it onto the Internet (especially in this country!)

- Threads asking for tech support with no details as to the car they want help with

... other than that though, you're all a great bunch of lads (more drink!) :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

The amount of "My XXX car was stolen last night from XXX" threads are becoming all to regular :(

People posting in threads they haven't bothered to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

- "My car failed the NCT on emissions plz help!!!!!!!!

It usually takes at least 3 people asking for details before there provided.

- "I bought a car from a dealer and now it doesn't work. It's gonna cost a fortune to repair and the dealer told me to f*ck off"

Why these people put all of their trust in a complete stranger I'll never understand. Bonus points if there say their waiting to hear back from SIMI.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

"I bought a lemon/tardis/cut and shut/ringer and didn't check it out fully beforehand".

There really is no excuse for being so silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Anan1.

I kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

What car should I buy? with absolutely no info about how the OP intends to use the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

"if I don't like it, then it should be banned, made illegal, burned, burried, shot in a face" crowd.

dar83 wrote: »
    Anan1.

I kid.
    Put me on your ignore list - I won't be hurt. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Anan1 wrote: »
    Put me on your ignore list - I won't be hurt. ;)

Haha, ah now. I wasn't being serious.

Plus I enjoy the carnage. :D

There I go, being over sensitive again. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

" do you know much much that thing will cost to tax"

That drives me mad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

To the first person who mentions Moderators...

gladiatordown.jpg

Edit: Serious note, this isn't after hours so keep it as clean as it has been folks