Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bag packers in shops

• 19-08-2012 2:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭

HI

Do you always give money to nag packers in shops such as Dunnas, Tesco etc.?

I always feel I should give some change, even if I did pack my one bag of items myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

I want them out of my way. I can pack my own bags. Stop making small talk there's a queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Never, I'm very frugal with it comes to money. To my deep embarrassment I've oftened been likened to a Jew.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

If I want the eggs broken, the floor cleaner in with the meat and and the sliced pan squished under the six pack, I am perfectly capable of doing it myself. I don't need the "assistance" of a twelve year old in a GAA jersey, karate pyjamas, school uniform etc. etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

I remember when shops employed young people to do this

Paper or plastic? :)

Early nineties, now long gone

Ended around the time bar code scanners were introduced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

I'm sure there's more worthwhile ways of earning money.
    I'm not a fan of bag-packers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭xxyyxx

I always go for the till where they aren't waiting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

Caant abide themand NEVER give them anything, I pack my own shopping and I dont need some kid getting in my way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭a fat guy

I packed bags once and most people were really nice.

No-one was actually bad, but some people didn't want help, which they're entitled to want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

They are like those people who wash your windscreen. Just piss off, I don't want your service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Decent causes, yeah I'll toss you a euro or two

Send the local soccer team to a blitz tournament in Germany? Not likely!

Shouted "Leave my sh*t alone!" at one when hungover and a bit angry.

Generally try to grab my stuff before they can. Never get money out of me, ever. I take great pleasure in packing my shopping right in front of them while totally ignoring them. Passive aggressive much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭Casillas

Self-service scanner FTW!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

I let them pack my shopping, it gives me time to scratch my balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I might consider giving a couple of cent if it's a proper charity, but if it's some sports/dancing etc outfit, they can feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Drink!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

We bag-pack once a year.We train the kids on what to do and it raises vital funds for the school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

My very first job as a 15 year old was bag packing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Always. Don't see the harm in throwing a few euro for a good cause or that some group can go to compete somewhere.

Seems the kids are told how to pack the bags the bags now anyway so nothing gets squashed or messed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Tope

I usually use the self-service scanners now whenever possible, but I've always dreaded seeing a bag packer by the till. I place my groceries on the belt in the order I'm planning to pack them (heavy stuff first, eggs or bread last) and yet they still cram them into the bag in random order with my Domestos on top of my croissants. I think in the past they used to get a bit of training, but the charity ones don't seem to bother.

It's not about the money - I'm happy to give a bit of change to a worthy cause, but leave my groceries alone.
    I recently just said a firm “no, thanks” to a woman packing bags in Dunnes – she stepped back and let me pack my own. I put some change in the collection bucket anyway, but maybe that'll just encourage them.

To me they're comparable with those toilet attendants in nightclubs. I can wash and dry my own hands, thanks, and I prefer it that way; why on earth would I pay for a service I'd rather not receive?

Always. Don't see the harm in throwing a few euro for a good cause or that some group can go to compete somewhere.

Seems the kids are told how to pack the bags the bags now anyway so nothing gets squashed or messed up.

Watch out for the kids from the local basketball club who bounce each item twice on the floor before throwing them into the trolley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I go to the self service whenever possible to avoid this kind of thing. If I have to go to the checkout I try to pack my bag myself. I say "try to" because if a child is there packing bags they always start grabbing my items before I get a chance to. On one occasion a girl grabbed my vegetable lasagna and held onto it for what seemed like an eternity. She just stood there holding onto it while staring at the wall daydreaming about Justin Bieber or something.

I don't mind putting a few cents in a tin but let me pack my own bags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Never, I'm very frugal with it comes to money. To my deep embarrassment I've oftened been likened to a Jew.:o
    Because it's embarrassing to be Jewish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Watch out for the kids from the local basketball club who bounce each item twice on the floor before throwing them into the trolley.

Thats funny. But it lacks sense, a bag packers dont put the item into the shopping trolly. They pack your shopping in a shopping bag. Thats why they are called bag packers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Used to work in supervalu and you wouldnt believe the amount of complaints we'd get about them. In the end we had to have a check out clear of them at all times.

We would be booked up for the whole year with bag packers! Was crazy! I hated them, annoying children messing around while Im dying with a hangover! Ugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Give them a couple of euro but not totally comfortable with them looking at what i bought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Should add, I give money to good causes. If youre collecting for a trip to france with your class then fook off!

I once had 2 lads snigger because I was buying tampons. Wanted to bounce their heads together

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Don't mind it too much, the older ones generally seem to be more interested in their mobile phones than packing bags or the charity or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

budgese wrote: »
    Shouted "Leave my sh*t alone!" at one when hungover and a bit angry.

You sound like a man not to be messed with.

By 12 year olds, I mean.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Pantsface

Hate them! :mad:

Went to the self service till one time in tescos to see they had someone shaking a bucket regardless!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

No, Im not paying for your little GAA team that I have no association with.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

If bag packers are the greatest injustice you ever face in your life you will grand.

How fcuking uncivil of someone attempting to assist in packing your bags, or attempting small talk.

I'm beginning to think I live in a world where the dominant species is some gross caricature of Victor Meldrew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭jessiejam

Don't mind throwing a few bob in a bucket for them to pack for me. I just wish they would come home and unpack it and put it away too!

Thats funny. But it lacks sense, a bag packers dont put the item into the shopping trolly. They pack your shopping in a shopping bag. Thats why they are called bag packers...

If you're looking for sense in AH, you're looking in the wrong place.:P

Some people (living on the edge) fill the trolley and then load the contents into the bags they've got in the boot of the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

I'm not a miserable cuntt so I don't get angry with them, what with them being young kids n' all that. I just smile and say "You're grand I'll work away myself".
    Big tough folks here I see, getting aggressive with young kids either getting a bit of work experience or raising a few quid for a community initiative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

molly09 wrote: »
    HI

Do you always give money to nag packers in shops such as Dunnas, Tesco etc.?

I always feel I should give some change, even if I did pack my one bag of items myself.

I never let them pack my bag, and I never give them any money.
    Packing bags without being asked for it is on the same level as wiping a greasy rag across windscreens at a red traffic light, and expecting money for it. Aggressive begging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

karma_ wrote: »
    If bag packers are the greatest injustice you ever face in your life you will grand.

How fcuking uncivil of someone attempting to assist in packing your bags, or attempting small talk.

I'm beginning to think I live in a world where the dominant species is some gross caricature of Victor Meldrew.

Ah, one of the many reasons I do most of my shopping at Aldi and Lidl... no pointless small talk, and no charity muggers messing with your purchases. Happy days. :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

don't get me started on them not keeping the cold stuff together and not using light things like cereal to insulate it

or putting heavy stuff in on top of fruit

or not balancing the weight in the bags - you can't stick all the liquids in one bag - and if I've to carry stuff I don't want one bag with bread rolls and everything else in the other one .

or not filling the bags and so needing another one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

ejmaztec wrote: »

If the basketball club bounce the items does that mean the cycling club ride them??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Charity starts at home..
    I hate it as I know how to pack my food, I don't want my eggs broken or my bread squashed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i refuse point blank to let them do it. i can manage to pack 2 trolly loads of shopping into a couple of bags neatly and i dont want a child to break my egss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

I don't see the need for all the aggressive attitudes! If you don't want them to pack your bag just say so. I've done that a few times if I've something delicate - no problem.

I'm happy enough to give a couple of euro to a charity or to a local club - nice to see the kids out doing something to contribute to their club and not just relying on mammy's handouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I prefer to pack my own bags but I'll always throw a few euro into their bucket, no matter what the cause.

I did fundraising as a kid for my dancing school and I remember how hard it was trying to get money together for the studio, so I'm sympathetic when I see bag packers because I remember doing it myself back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I always pack my own bags but will give money if its a good charity the same as in the street. I was asked to do this for a school charity before but couldn't because I was working... so I donated a day's wages... it was more than the other 6 made together!!

If we all did an extra day at out own jobs and gave that money it would have been better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

We do our shopping on line and bits and pieces in the self-check out. But my Mammy would often encounter them. She throws a few quid in the bucket and tells them to go have a break. But there was one time there was a charity doing it that she supported anyway, and it was all grannies doing the packing. By feck did they know how to pack the bags. They had it down to a fine art, nothing broken, nothing squashed, all the soaps in one place, not using extra bags for frivolous things. I think the mother gave them a tenner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Satts

They never double bag. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Satts wrote: »
    They never double bag. :mad:

If they did you'd probably complain they were costing you an extra 22c :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

If this thread is indicative of public opinion on retailers allowing charity bag packing, wtf are these retailers still allowing it?

I avoid stores that allow it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

My BF and I have the "You're telling them to feck off" argument every Saturday in Tesco when we walk towards the till with our shopping :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

People need to stop giving money to them or it will never stop. People are obviously coughing up or people wouldn't do it. Useless fcukers the lot of them, they don't understand the concept of weight or breakable items. I once had a girl try to put a cooked chicken in with ice cream :pac:

I don't want them touching my food with their dirty hands and if you tell them you don't need their help (politely, I've never been rude to them... yet) they will pretty much always just stand there texting or talking to their friends anyway, just generally getting in the way.

And I have never in my life seen anyone but the local sports/dance club collecting for a trip, but that might be a coincidence or down to my local supermarket or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

I hate bag packers, I completely avoid them, they drive me insane. There's a shop near me who I swear for a time last year had bag packers every time I went in there, different ones each time. It was so annoying, once every now and again isn't so bad (although I still won't let them pack my stuff) but expecting people to cough up a few euro every single time you're in the shop getting a few groceries is ridiculous. For a finish I started to avoid buying much in there - I'd only get the bare essentials which I could bring up to the small till where you get lotto etc which never has bag packers and I went elsewhere for my big shop.