Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

one million trees

• 17-08-2012 7:57pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭

This is a charity aiming to plant 1 million trees on a day in November, closing date is 31 August,
    http://www.onemilliontreesinoneday.com/farmers.html

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

blue5000 wrote: »
    This is a charity aiming to plant 1 million trees on a day in November, closing date is 31 August,
    http://www.onemilliontreesinoneday.com/farmers.html

I've heard their funding is a problem..
    I've printed off the information and will be applying myself anyway as its an offer too good to miss..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 treefan

can this be moved to forestry sub-forum?
    thanks

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

treefan wrote: »
    thanks
    I suppose it could but I deliberately put it in here to expose it to more farmers who wouldn't normally look in the forestry page. 204 views so far, how long would it take to get 204 views in forestry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

treefan wrote: »
    thanks

Would not have known about this if it was not posted in the Farming section.

It would be a fair achievement if they get the 1 million :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭foxylock

Did anyone apply to this and get a reply? I sent an email last week with all the requested info but heard nothing back. Maybe they are inundated with the deadline looming.

foxylock wrote: »
    Did anyone apply to this and get a reply? I sent an email last week with all the requested info but heard nothing back. Maybe they are inundated with the deadline looming.

Nope, nothing back.

Ya get what ya pay for I suppose.... :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭aneala

bbam wrote: »
    Nope, nothing back.

Same as this, emailed for info last week and nothing back.

Wahey!! Just got a reply and they offered me 100 trees of my choice for November. Now trees are probably an overstatement as they are to supply two to three year old whips. But still it's better than a fist of conkers! Now to withdraw my earlier sarcasm....... maybe it it possible to get something for nothing. I shall stay open minded :D:D

foxylock wrote: »

Ya foxylock, got an email back yesterday, saying they'll be in contact again to arrange delivery. I looked for 20 trees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

i just applied for 50

25 of fruit and nuts to replace an orchard the previous owner leveled with a ex120 in 2004 :rolleyes:
    10 Oak.
    5 holly - They better have berries for xmass sometime :o
    10 others

so far in 32 months i have been here my tree balance sheet is

knocked 1 x 50ft ash tree for road safety
    knocked 7x 50ft ash & beech for to make room for a shed

planted 350 beech hedging in March 2011
    planted 30 other trees in hedges to bulk them out

so up by 372 trees in 32 months

Thats mighty lads, things must be moving along so. I've a lot of shelter to plant in the next few years so anything free will be a welcome bonus. I asked for some: oak, ash, birch, poplar, rowan, whitebeam, and willow ( well they did offer!!) all of which grow well in my place.

Had a call from the jehova's today, coincidence or wha?;)

Got my email yesterday.. I had requested all fruit trees but they indicated they may not be able to supply all in fruit.. No problems so I asked for some mountain ash or similar to plant along the lane to the house.. (i mean driveway as herself keeps correcting me :o)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Got a reply as well - just a "we'll be in touch" no indication of how many trees I'll get. But I guess I didn't ask for a set amount either.

Thanks for posting thread Blue. :)

@Bbam - a driveway ha? Aren't ye the Fancy-Dans! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

got a reply last night. Happy days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭mikefoxo

only sent the email off at midday today and i just got a "we'll be in touch" there now - they must have drafted in extra staff!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I was reading the T&C's and in them they ask all landowners to:

"“I/we have sufficient insurance to cover the long term accommodation of the trees including, but not
    limited to, occupiers liability and public liability insurance."

Are you all insured or is it just me that isn't? I have emailed one million trees in a day to see what I need to do before I apply.

They are working late, I got a reply to my email. Basically once the land owner is happy to accept liability for the trees into the future the insurance box is ticked - that no claim can be made against them if a tree squashes a car/person/cow in 20 years time. They will insure people planting on the day.

Hi folks...
    just to note that the application date is now the 19th October..
    Just in case any of ye want to apply..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Their trees are all of certified native provenance grown in Ireland and from seed collected in Ireland. As far as possible they will be matching the trees to the most local sites to where the seed has been collected.

(Mod perhaps move to forestry)

I just yesterday got an e-mail responce to a query I sent in on the 10th October, still on track but they are snowed under with queries..

Anyone waiting for responces hold tight..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

I just yesterday got an e-mail responce to a query I sent in on the 10th October, still on track but they are snowed under with queries..

Anyone waiting for responces hold tight..

Similar to that - seems March is now the new planting date.

I wonder where are they getting their ash from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

blue5000 wrote: »
    I wonder where are they getting their ash from?
    Oldtree wrote: »
    Their trees are all of certified native provenance grown in Ireland and from seed collected in Ireland. As far as possible they will be matching the trees to the most local sites to where the seed has been collected.

hopefully now certified disease free.....

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056779392

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

We (tidy towns committee) only heard of this a couple of weeks ago. Was in contact with them and they said we could still apply, planning on planting in early march. Just have to work out how many trees will be needed for where we want to plant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Dozer1

getting near the planting date now, anyone hear from them on delivery ?

Still no word on deleivery, I would have thought they'd be in constant talk with people as its such a huge project. The last that I heard from them, they had gone way over the million trees mark. The logistics of delevering them around the country alone is huge :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭randombar

Hi Guys,

The application form on the site doesn't seem to be working? What's the best way of contacting them?

Gary

email but replies can be slow...
    They have a Facebook page if your that way inclined...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭mikefoxo

I got this in an email from them on 24 Jan

"I am delighted to announce the planting date for March. We will begin planting on Friday 22nd March at 12 noon and will finish planting on Saturday 23rd March at 12 noon. We hope that this 24 hour window across two days will allow all of our many volunteers to help out on either the Friday or Saturday or both and for people to juggle work / farm commitments if necessary."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

I presume bare root? 12-24 inches???:confused::confused:

Got an email over the weekend to say they will be in touch in the next ten days to arrange delivery... Happy days !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Just saw on facebook that the dates for the tree planting has been delayed by a month to the 26th and 27 of April due to paperwork issues, a longer explanation is on the Forestry tab, still its a good idea and worth supporting I think.

Indeed.
    They are doing allot of pushing for donations and fundraising. Hopefully that's nothing
    To do with the delay??
    I've pledged to donate, after my trees arrive. Suppose that's the doubting Thomas coming out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Indeed.
    They are doing allot of pushing for donations and fundraising. Hopefully that's nothing
    To do with the delay??
    I've pledged to donate, after my trees arrive. Suppose that's the doubting Thomas coming out.

i had briefly looked into this a while back and then forgot to follow up
    is it worthwhile

what trees do you get and do you plant yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

All info on their website.......onemilliontrees.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Hugh 2

Anyone get their trees yet ?

Hugh 2 wrote: »
    Anyone get their trees yet ?

Nope..
    Hard not to doubt the whole thing..

Facebook update today said "We are trying to get to our target of a million trees and are packing bags as donations come in"

I thought it was an odd comment but maybe I'm reading too much into it.. Was planning to make a donation AFTER my trees come.. :rolleyes:

So if they are for collection to be planted Fri-Sat, would we not soon need to know where they are to be collected ?? I fully expect to have to travel to a central depot to collect them rather than them being delivered to every site

Nope..

Facebook update today said "We are trying to get to our target of a million trees and are packing bags as donations come in"

I thought it was an odd comment but maybe I'm reading too much into it.. Was planning to make a donation AFTER my trees come.. :rolleyes:

So if they are for collection to be planted Fri-Sat, would we not soon need to know where they are to be collected ?? I fully expect to have to travel to a central depot to collect them rather than them being delivered to every site

They sent out an e-mail yesterday morning apoligising for delays and saying they would send out an e-mail yesterday evening confirming deleivery times, we're still waiting. Its a good thing we did'nt advertise too much, because if 200 people showed up and no trees, we'd look like right ejits :(

By the sound of the last e-mail yesterday morning, its not looking too good that we will get the trees:mad: If they would only let us know, even if we're not getting them, at least I can tell the volunteers that I have organised, some of them having taken time off work, (for the second time :mad::mad:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Hugh 2

Nope..

I had put in an order for trees but all the emails re deferrals change of plans etc made me loose interest.

I am no expert and this is no ordinary year but I seem to remember hearing that the deadline for planting trees was St Patricks day as the latest as the roots need development time before the growing season begins.

I don't mean to be cynical but I hope this is real - had a look at facebook site and saw plenty ads for donations , plenty people looking forward to delivery ?

Hugh 2 wrote: »
    I had put in an order for trees but all the emails re deferrals change of plans etc made me loose interest.

I am no expert and this is no ordinary year but I seem to remember hearing that the deadline for planting trees was St Patricks day as the latest as the roots need development time before the growing season begins.

I don't mean to be cynical but I hope this is real - had a look at facebook site and saw plenty ads for donations , plenty people looking forward to delivery ?

I've planted bare rooted plants well through April before and they did fine.. Some suppliers have the chilled for delivery later during the season..

But I'd really worry as we get into May.. I got the impression that not the full order will be available and a second delivery will be required.. I'd see that becoming a problem as it will be harder with competing weeds as new plants get started off..

I know its not costing us anything but I'd hate to get plants so late that they have no chance of surviving... it'd be a real shame.

Not looking too good..
    I got an update e-mail last night at 1:35am..

"our funding situation has not held up"

Farmers look like getting a "starter pack" of 10+ trees..

We should be contacted tomorrow morning by email with specific tree numbers and collection locations.. Not much notice for those working or with plans but I'll be more than happy to take whatever they have available..

Have to say I'm disappointed for them that things have not worked out as planned.. Perhaps we should have been contacted to pledge donations to be given after trees were received..

Got this early :) this morning

Hi everyone,

We are still working to fix up all local collection points. We have removed local distribution in order to spend every cent we have on trees for this weekend.
    Trees will arrive at their local collection points on Friday morning early and will be available for collection on Friday and Saturday all day.

We have stripped absolutely everything back to help the project to go ahead on a very small scale. Our funding situation has not held up and whilst we have had so many wonderful donations, we are still far short of our targets.

Tree numbers will be sent out to you with collection point details tomorrow morning. I realise that all of you have been waiting for details from us and are getting anxious. We will get these trees out to you, but you will all receive small starter packs to begin planting.

For those on the Farmers Scheme will be getting 10+ trees as a starter pack. Regarding applicants on the Landowner and Community Group Schemes, we have spoken to most of you over the last few weeks and have adjusted your tree numbers.

At this stage we are working to try to make a great community event that will involve a huge number of people taking part in one common mission. My team and I will work on over the coming weeks, months and years if necessary to reach our target of a million trees.

I hope that you will all understand the situation and I understand that some of you will not be very happy. All of our orders for trees will stand and we intend to get trees out to everyone on their full numbers. For now we will hope the weekend goes smoothy and re-group next week to work out a plan going forwards.

More details to follow on tree numbers and delivery points. Thanks so much to everyone I have spoken to today who have given encouragement to the team.

Imogen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭manjou

Got a phone call a couple of days ago wondering would i leave it of till autaum to plant trees which suits me because dont have time to do it at moment and is too late.Will see if anything comes of it though.

Got this earlier...
    Looks like things are tough for their team...
    Think I'll opt to wait until they can make a full delivery.... if ever it happens.
    I'd have to go to Blacklion, an hour and fifty minutes each way on a ****ty road.

Hello all,

Your collection points are written here below. At an unreasonable time of night I realise... Order lists will be sent to each depot with each person's allocation of trees. You will find the exact tree numbers there but all please be prepared to receive only ten trees as a starter pack.

We have produced a very very basic skeleton distribution system and some of you are going to have to travel a little way to collect trees. From having to stop our local distribution we have today and yesterday pulled together a group of people who have been so incredibly generaous and have given their time and energy to helping us get through this without cancelling. It is not pretty and I am ready to take every bit of grief from any of you for any part of the recent near collapse of the project. The people giving out trees tomorrow are there out of the goodness of their hearts, so please don't give them any trouble. Aim your criticisms at me if you aim them anywhere... !

Please be sure to bring a carrier bag to transport your trees back to your site. Trees would have been individually packed but for simplicity and last minute distribution as donations have come in they are being transported in bulk.

The order points are below.
    Fruit trees have not been included and nor have willow or any of the less grown species that many of you already know are in short supply. All orders will be patched up later on once we get through the weekend.

We hope you all can manage with this plan. Any of you at all who would prefer to delay your planting until we are ready to get full numbers of trees to you, please let us know by email. You don't need to ring the collection points for this.

You can ring the collection points for directions.

I will be driving with the van across the country over the weekend sorting out additional numbers of trees for those of you who have made arrangements with us. My phone can't cope with too many calls as there are so many of you but do text me and I'll try to call back.

For the moment our ongoing plan is to re-group next week and see what we can do to move forward and secure funding to continue. We will keep working to the target of a million trees and every order made to us still stands.

Thank you all for bearing with us through such a long and drawn out process.
    Have loads of fun planting the trees and take loads of photos and we will be in touch to make the next and hopefully more smooth flowing plan.

Imogen

County Name Phone Number Address Collection Times
    Derry, Down, Antrim, Tyrone, Armagh, Fermanagh, Monaghan, Donegal David McCormick 0044 7909089040 / Terraskane Road, approx 3.5 km east northeast of Armagh City, Co. Armagh. 10am - 4pm Friday and Saturday
    Laois /Carlow / Kilkenny Micheál O Loinsigh 087 2827398 Stradbally Community Garden, Stradbally, Co Laois 10 am - 4 pm Friday and Saturday
    Kerry Thomas O'Connor 087 988 5145 Manna Organic Farm, Island of Geese, Stand St., Tralee, Co. Kerry. 10 am - 4 pm Friday only.
    Tipperary / Offaly Tom Tracey 087 9892074 Cloughjordan Eco Village, Cloughjordan, Co Tipperary 10 am - 4 pm Friday and Saturday
    Cork INFF 023 8822823 Manch Estate, Ballineen, Co Cork 1pm to 5pm Friday. 10am to 5pm Saturday
    Waterford Christy O'Donovan 051 291280 / 086 1947711 Glendalligan, Lemybrien, Co. Waterford 10 am - 4 pm Friday and Saturday
    Mayo Tom Byrne 087 2519080 Knock Road, Claremorris, Co. Mayo 10 am - 4pm Friday and Saturday
    Rural Dublin and Kildare Lucy Bell 087 6508226 / 087 2412918 The Acre Project, Salesian College, Maynooth Rd, Celbridge, Co.Kildare 10am - 3.30pm Friday and Saturday
    Westmeath Barry Mc Donnell 086 3264675 Corgrove, Streamstown, Mullingar, Co Westmeath 10 am - 4 pm Friday and Saturday
    Clare, Limerick Susan Griffin 087 7917589 19 Glenina, Gort Rd, Ennis, Co.Clare 10 am - 5 pm Friday and Saturday
    Louth, Meath Paul Galvin 087 8231507 Fraine, Athboy, Co Meath 10 am - 4 pm Friday and Saturday
    Leitrim, Longford, Sligo, Roscommon, Cavan Martin Clancy 086 8333 833 Cassidy's Garage, Sligo Rd., Blacklion, Cavan 10 am - 4 pm Friday and Saturday
    Wicklow, Wexford None So Hardy Nurseries 053 942 9105 Paulbeg, Shillelagh, Co Wicklow 10 am - 4 pm Friday and Saturday
    Galway Helen McGuinness 086 350 6418 Salthill Park, Galway City, Opposite Leisureland. 4pm - 7 pm Friday and 10 am - 4 pm Saturday
    Dublin City Des Ryan 086 35 45 445 St. Andrews Community Centre, 468 South Circular Road, Rialto, Dublin 8 Friday ONLY 10 - 3
    Dublin City Alison O'Donohoe 087-4117837 St. Andrews Community Centre, 468 South Circular Road, Rialto, Dublin 8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

I'm also doing the same - not worth at least a 2 hour round trip for 10 trees.

Got mine, thanks folks, they have a text service if anybody wants to donate 3yoyo, charity gets 2.30 yoyo. thesco mobile too fukkin mean to get involved. If anybody is interested the no is 57777 and text 'donate trees'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Didnt bother collecting mine, was only getting 10 thorns and none of the fruit trees so decided not to drive 70 miles each way to collect - will it ever happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

I couldn't justify driving many miles to collect 10 trees. Had to postpone collection/delivery till later in the year.
    Hope it happens for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭JuniorB

I made the mistake of stumping up a 'donation' when requested a few weeks back. From the outset it appeared that this project needed both money and logistical management to be a success- it appears that both are distinctly lacking.