Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

5x06 - Buyout [**SPOILERS WITHIN**]

• 15-08-2012 1:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭

Only 3 more episodes (including this one) and then we're done for another year! :(

The promo clips are out so I've set up a new thread. The main one is longer this time whilst the shorter one is far more interesting:

Ace Showbiz revealed the following about the episode:
    Walt is upset over the many divisions of their profits and tries to discuss payment terms with Mike, but Mike apparently decides to end their partnership.

After a heist that claimed a victim, occupational hazards start to weigh heavily on Jesse. He complains about the way they're doing business now, but Walt looks confident about what they're doing as he claims that he's in the empire business.

Meanwhile, Skyler breaks into tears during a chat with Marie. She admits that she worries about her kids' safety, thinking they are in danger because of Walt's job. She, however, is reluctant to share more about their family problems, saying that if Marie knew the things that have happened, she would never speak to her again.

Roll on Sunday :cool:

What Did You Think Of The Episode? 178 votes

Excellent
    0% 0 votes
    Good
    33% 60 votes
    Average
    53% 96 votes
    Not Great
    9% 17 votes
    Poor
    2% 5 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I havent watched any sneak peek clips, they give away far too much of the episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭The Scratcher

I should stop watching them, it's a good three minutes of the episode robbed from me next Monday. Can't help myself though.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

"In the empire business"
    I Love it!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Ugh.... Flynn. That really annoys me. Who gives themselves their own nickname?

From now on, my family shall refer to me as "super badass G-money pimp!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

krudler wrote: »
    I havent watched any sneak peek clips, they give away far too much of the episodes.
    It's the first one I watched this season. Couldn't help myself after last week's ending. :o

Surely it can't be too long now before Hank puts two and two together especially if Marie comes home telling him that Skyler is saying that they're involved in something terrible. Add in all the money that his chemistry teacher/former industrial chemist brother-in-law is suddenly flashing about and the penny has got to drop for supercop Hank!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

There may be a completely different twist. Suppose he gets hank in on it.
    Top man in the DEA onboard....;)

:D @ whoever voted "Excellent" a full five days before the episode airs. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

DeepBlue wrote: »
    It's the first one I watched this season. Couldn't help myself after last week's ending. :o

Surely it can't be too long now before Hank puts two and two together especially if Marie comes home telling him that Skyler is saying that they're involved in something terrible. Add in all the money that his chemistry teacher/former industrial chemist brother-in-law is suddenly flashing about and the penny has got to drop for supercop Hank!

Ya it's inevitable that he'll find out but probably too soon yet (maybe the last episode this year he'll give Walt a suspicious look)

Reckon the 'Hank finding out' plot is going to be a slow burner

KoolKid wrote: »
    There may be a completely different twist. Suppose he gets hank in on it.
    Top man in the DEA onboard....;)

Meh! it's not in hanks nature,, unless he had a family motive (i.e. walts kids in danger). I'd say if walt is intending on building an empire (which would take more than the 3 episodes that are left this year) then his intention would be to keep Hank's office bugged for as long as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Here's an interesting shot from the episode of something i genuinely thought i would never see:

Up5TK.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

CMpunked wrote: »
    Here's an interesting shot from the episode of something i genuinely thought i would never see:

Up5TK.jpg

So at the end of day one of our Albuquerque Come Dine with Me, sales rep Jesse gave retired school teacher Walter 8 out of 10, as he does not like green beans and found his wife’s hosting skills poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

Up5TK.jpg

Wounder if Jesse still says 'bitch' after every sentence at the dinner table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I don't think Walts invites him, Skyler does it to fcuk with Walt I'd say. Walt may be getting too cocky for his own good, but I don't think he'd invite Jesse to his house for dinner, not with Hank liable to come around at any time.

I Bet it's Walt that invites him round.. (swear I haven't been on any preview sites too)... I don;t think Skyler would get that cocky either as Jessie is smart enough....Probably Walt getting cocky letting her know who his new business partner is and who she'll be seing more of from now on ...

This could be the perfect link that hank needs. (even though he already knows these 2 pieces of seperate info he's never put them together).i.e. the only person he's nearly busted for the blue meth has been Jessie, also he knows Walt 'bought weed' off jessie for his cancer... He'll twig it but will probably say it to walt first in an "oh yeah you bought weed of this guy Pinkman , you'll never guess....." then Walt would be left with the decision to Hang Jessie out to dry to save himself or Save Jessie to keep the empire going..

That's my logic on it anyhow.. so many things have gone on in this show it's hard to keep track. No way they could make it into a film.. the amount of filling in they'd have to do at the start.. probably the last episode will be an hour long or something..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Armelodie wrote: »
    also he knows Walt 'bought weed' off jessie for his cancer... He'll twig it but will probably say it to walt first in an "oh yeah you bought weed of this guy Pinkman , you'll never guess....."

He already done that, though in season 3.
    The episode where he follows Jesse to the RV. After Marie suggests it, he calls Walt to ask him if jesse had the RV.

He already done that, though in season 3.
    The episode where he follows Jesse to the RV. After Marie suggests it, he calls Walt to ask him if jesse had the RV.

Oh yeah forgot about that,,still think that's how he'll connect walt with the chemistry/heisenberg/jessie thing.. he might see walt with jessie again...especially if jessie's getting close to Walts family

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Kurz

What time is this airing tonight lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

6 votes for excellent already???

Lads if you can't cop on I will not allow any polls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

Up5TK.jpg
    At first I was like :eek: and then I was all :D

I can just imagine Jesse and Walt Jr having a conversation, bring it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

Sorry for going slightly OT but what time does this usually do the rounds on them torrent sites :D Wanna have it downloaded and ready to go when I wake up in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Shane St. wrote: »
    Sorry for going slightly OT but what time does this usually do the rounds on them torrent sites :D Wanna have it downloaded and ready to go when I wake up in the morning

Around 4:30am mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Aaron Paul ‏@aaronpaul_8
    On tonight's episode of breaking bad **** hit'eths the fan.

QV5IE.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,859 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Cant find a good link:( taking to long to load.
    Will try again tomorrow.

Well they took out the acid barrels! as predicted!!, and also they moved the Methylamine to the Vamonos Pest HQ. That first scene was tough watching, even though they didn't show the dead kid, the dismembering of the bike was heavy! Todd is a psychopath.

Edit: That scene with the coffee machine was a little too McGyvery for my liking! Solid episode though overall can't wait to hear Walt's plan is next week!! Oh and we need more Saul!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,755 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Another great ep, this is the only show in which "nothing" can really happen in a scene and still make it extremely intense. Will be interesting to hear Walt's idea. God knows I wont be watching any previews anyway though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

"Everybody wins"

Something tells me quite the opposite will happen :pac:

Mike's scrambled "Fùck you" note was odd to see. Can't have that on air..................though a dead kid in the back of a truck waiting to be put into a barrel full of acid is ok :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Kilkenny14

Walter White clearly watched Macgyver back in his grad student days :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Yeah, they could have just had a knife balanced on the filing cabinet - same result, less Macgyvery. That was just an episode setting us up for next week (part one of a mini-finale if that's possible).
    Still worth it if only for Jesse rambling at the "family" meal.

This is probably gonna sound silly (and it's probably lack of sleep talking) but does anyone else feel like they're trying to pack too much in? There doesn't seem to be breathing room for ancillary characters to come in anymore. Saul barely gets a look in and I though after what happened last week we'd see more of Todd, but he was just kinda brushed aside in the first 5 minutes, I can't see him having any major roll to play in the future eps, likewise Lydia. I guess I'm comparing the pace a little too much to Season four perhaps.

I did like however the reintroduction of the Greymatter story arc. I think it's starting to tie Walt's character together nicely and we're starting to see now where his motives lie all along, he never really changed if you think about it (a quote from season 4 where he says the faith of a company that's big enough to be floated on the Nasdaq lies on his showing up for work-or something to that effect). His manipulation of Jesse of course continues unabated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,535 ✭✭✭✭briany

This is probably gonna sound silly (and it's probably lack of sleep talking) but does anyone else feel like they're trying to pack too much in? There doesn't seem to be breathing room for ancillary characters to come in anymore. Saul barely gets a look in and I though after what happened last week we'd see more of Todd, but he was just kinda brushed aside in the first 5 minutes, I can't see him having any major roll to play in the future eps, likewise Lydia. I guess I'm comparing the pace a little too much to Season four perhaps.

It's coming back to the main characters again. That's how it was in the beginning, that's how it will be in the end. Walt and Jesse's strained relationship will be tested to the breaking point. I wouldn't have it any other way.

Another great episode. Slower than last week certainly and we all knew that would be the case but still so much tension and drama, and laughs too! Jesse rambling at the dinner table was hilarious in a dark, dark way. It should not be forgotten that for the first two seasons, BB was as much comedy as it was drama and action and I still think that comedy has a place in the narrative. Not anywhere near as much as it would have done in the beginning but I'm glad they still keep a spark of it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

A filler episode if I ever saw one!

The face on Jesse after Skylar's "did he tell you about my affair" line was probably one of the funniest moments in the show's history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭BetterCallSaul

The dinner table scene was hillarious! Thankfully I didn't look at this thread before hand. This was setting up a big event for the episode 8, god knows what Walt has got in store!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

I bet Walt's cooking up some kind of plan to get the rival cooks (Declan and the boys) out of the picture- he wants his empire...if they tried to rob the train they would be so stung by people out looking for the missing kid, they might even get done for that too. And Lydia would go down with them in which case she'd 'turn a badge or a gun' on them to avoid 'getting gang raped by prison guards'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Liam O wrote: »
    The face on Jesse after Skylar's "did he tell you about my affair" line was probably one of the funniest moments in the show's history.

his face as he had the glass of water up to his mouth was pricess.

was a good but not great episode, after last weeks jawdropper of an ep it needed a more low key one, had good moments though and will be interesting to see what Walts new plan is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Yeah seems to me like there's going to be some sort of confrontation between Walt/Jesse/Mike and the new rival cooks. There was so much in that episode about Walt wanting to keep cooking, his anger at the boys selling to competitors, his desire to build an empire, and the rival cooks wanting a bigger market share with the blue meth gone - something's got to give. There's not been much bloodshed so far this season(with the exception of the assassin sent for mike, the asian guy and of course the poor kid), and Breaking Bad often finishes seasons with a bang!

I reckon Todd will come back into play here possibly to do some dirty work, his character definitely has more to give. Mike and Jesse want out but Walt holds the power now with the methylamine. That was definitely an episode made to build up for the final 2 episodes, can't wait to see what Walt's plan is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Kettle316

The dinner scene made that episode for me...Jesse's face when he was drinking the water was hilarious :D

Did anyone else notice the clock ticking throughout that scene?? Maybe has something to do with Mike saying Walt is a ticking time bomb and the watch ending a couple of episodes ago??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Really thought the show was picking up after last weeks episode. But its gone straight back to being meh. Im very disappointed with this season. Hasnt lived up to the last 4 at all.

Hogzy wrote: »
    Really thought the show was picking up after last weeks episode. But its gone straight back to being meh. Im very disappointed with this season. Hasnt lived up to the last 4 at all.

I think you're definitely sugar coating the last few seasons. There are a lot of slower episodes which I don't mind as I quite like the slower character based episodes and think they help deliver a better payoff in the action based ones.

Liam O wrote: »
    I think you're definitely sugar coating the last few seasons. There are a lot of slower episodes which I don't mind as I quite like the slower character based episodes and think they help deliver a better payoff in the action based ones.

Season 1 and 2 were brilliant IMO, cant remember season 3 that much. Season 4 was brilliant too. Season 5 just isnt doing that much for me.

I have no doubt though that the finale is going to be really good. But i dont think its right to have 9 episodes of 'meh' to have one final episode of true entertainment.

Season 1 and 2 were brilliant IMO, cant remember season 3 that much. Season 4 was brilliant too. Season 5 just isnt doing that much for me.

I have no doubt though that the finale is going to be really good. But i dont think its right to have 9 episodes of 'meh' to have one final episode of true entertainment.

Did you watch seasons 1-4 in a short space of time or on a weekly basis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Season 3 was the best by far, IMO. I am loving season 5. Very very fast paced. Unlike a show like Lost which meandered around for ages with lots of nothing episodes.

Really enjoyed this episode. Mike and Walter scenes are awesome. Hoping for more Hank in the next two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

the season i least liked was season 1, bizarrely enough compared to the rest. i am liking this season so far.

did anyone else think that one of the most significant scenes of the episode was when Jesse catches Walt whistling happily to himself after Walt giving him the big speech over the dead boy. maybe Jesse is starting to realize that Walt is manipulating him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

This was the first time I looked at Walt and actually saw Tony Montana. The man is deluded and has lost it, he thinks being a drug king pin will buy him respect but from who? Not from his family, and certainly not from his peers.

He thinks he's building an empire but can't see that the walls are closing in on him. Figuratively speaking, it's as if he's got his head buried in a mountain of meth. :pac:

Did you watch seasons 1-4 in a short space of time or on a weekly basis?

Yes, I watched season 1-3 last year while i was sick (in about a 8 days). Then watched season 4 as it aired.

Maybe its me, but i just dont think its as nail biting and tense as it used to be (bar the train robbery episode). I do like the character development though. As a poster above mentioned, Walt is deluded. I dont think iv ever been more inside walts head than in this season. I just feel as if the story development is lacking.

Yes, I watched season 1-3 last year while i was sick (in about a 8 days). Then watched season 4 as it aired.

Maybe its me, but i just dont think its as nail biting and tense as it used to be (bar the train robbery episode). I do like the character development though. As a poster above mentioned, Walt is deluded. I dont think iv ever been more inside walts head than in this season. I just feel as if the story development is lacking.

I've watched all 5 seasons as they aired and I think this as good as any of them. I find the tension has actually gone up a notch!

The reason I asked is because I know some people who recently watched them over a few months and they are not enjoying this season as much.

But if you watched season 4 from week to week then I dunno.. Season 4 took longer to get going in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Good episode.

Found it interesting to finally hear more about Grey Matter. Cashing out for $5,000 and now the company is worth over $2bn, it's no wonder Walt is gambling so much with the meth business. It explains a lot about why he constantly takes more risk than is necessary.

The dinner table scene was quality, the look of Jesse's face when he heard about the affair was priceless :pac:

Looking forward to next week and hearing Walt's plan which will no doubt build up to a cliffhanger final episode until next year the following week. Mike is taking far too many half measures though and as we know it's going to come back to haunt him. If this wasn't a TV show Walt would be full of lead long before now!

Also, I think a lot of why some people may find this series less filled with tension is because many have watched the other series' in a matter of days or weeks. It's a lot different waiting week to week for an episode IMO. If someone was just starting on series 5 now and watched all 6 episodes back to back or over the course of a few days I reckon they would have this series up there with the best Breaking Bad has to offer. It's worth remembering that even though we're only getting 8 episodes this year and 8 next year, the series is 16 episodes in length compared to the others which are 7, 13, 13, 13 and 13 episodes long so there's space there for a couple of slower burning episodes at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ferrigan101

Kettle316 wrote: »
    The dinner scene made that episode for me...Jesse's face when he was drinking the water was hilarious :D

Did anyone else notice the clock ticking throughout that scene?? Maybe has something to do with Mike saying Walt is a ticking time bomb and the watch ending a couple of episodes ago??
    In last weeks ep there was a clock ticking in the Skylar/Walt scene too. It was the only background noise through the whole scene. Will have to watch the dinner scene again now!

The dinner scene was gold. Anna Gunn and Aaron Paul knocked it out of the park.