Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best pizza in Galway

• 13-08-2012 7:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭

Just like the title says!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭ErnieBert

I got 2 slices from the place opposite the Front Door pub last Saturday night. It was the best pizza I had ever tasted.
    That said, I was rat-arsed drunk and would eat battered cardboard with ketchup. Seriously, it was awesome.

Other than that, I adore the Calobrese in Milano. It's expensive but very tasty.

I used to go to Bianco in Westside but they closed down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

molly09 wrote: »
    Just like the title says!
    would say the tide full inn in kinvara but that's in county galway. prob frequent the place beside monroes the most. great pizza with a beer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭seriouslysweet

It's between Venice and the place beside Buskers, love both!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭swine

Pizza & Pasta Napoli I think it's called. For the price you can't go wrong.

Otherwise that place next to Monroes is worth a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Pizza and Pasta Napoli end of. Only genuine real pizza in Galway, never mind the frozen toppings of your 4Stars and biscuit base Monroes etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

Pizza and Pasta Napoli end of. Only genuine real pizza in Galway, never mind the frozen toppings of your 4Stars and biscuit base Monroes etc.

Definitely, €3.50 for a massive slice, meal in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭sinorita

Definitely has to be Mizzioni's on the top of Eyre Square. Delish!;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Napoli

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭inisboffin

RIP Bianconi...

completely different, but Napoli is very delish.

Monroes has nostalgia factor the odd time.

Massimo do a pretty nifty beet and goats cheese (it is actually much better than it sounds!) - bit pricey but good on the 'deal' night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

inisboffin wrote: »
    Massimo do a pretty nifty beet and goats cheese (it is actually much better than it sounds!) - bit pricey but good on the 'deal' night.

A big group of us were there last friday. Their menu is now cooked by Cava so no more pub grub and prices are up. Pizzas looked like burnt pieces of cardboard with a meager amount of toppings. Out of 15+ people I didn't hear anything positive; it was at best OK. €15 for just ok.

Used to love their pizza. I hate when pubs stop serving pub grub and get fancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

definitely the one by Tigh Neachtains on Cross Street - best pizza in town BY FAR.

monroes used to be good - but had one recently - nearly broke my tooth on the "base" and it was actually quite horrible - the frozen ristorante ones are a hell of a lot better than monroes these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭lampsie

If you are venturing as far as Barna, the pizza place in the Twelve Hotel does very tasty carryout - slightly addicted to the one with potato on it, noms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I think Monroe's pizza is the nicest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

Ed's New York Pizza was the best till it closed, then it was all of a much of a muchness for a bit. Pizza Pasta Napoli is the best by miles these days IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

I think Monroe's pizza is the nicest.

Sorry to be negative twice in a row, but seriously? I haven't eaten there for a couple years, I admit. But last time I did they were using frozen bases.

Just how many pints did you have before arriving at this conclusion?

newkie wrote: »
    Sorry to be negative twice in a row, but seriously? I haven't eaten there for a couple years, I admit. But last time I did they were using frozen bases.

I haven't eaten there in a while now but I always loved Munroes Pizza thought it was delicious, most times I ate there no pints were involved.

That said its been a few years since I had pizza there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

None.

I don't drink :)

Fully agree with you Newkie but some people here like the Irish version of pizzas, its nowhere near the real thing and not a patch taste wise but its the same way that Indians and Turkish places just serve up dishes with a view to the local palate. Unfortuntate really as it shouldnt be called pizza, especially Monroes and their crunchy base, when have you have ever seen a pizza with a crunchy base in Italy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭s_carnage

definitely the one by Tigh Neachtains on Cross Street - best pizza in town BY FAR.

Think they're nice alright but it's usually just the one topping on each pizza. Suppose you could order a full one with a few toppings but don't get the hype the ready made ones get. Great when your in a rush after a few drinks but that's about it.

s_carnage wrote: »
    Think they're nice alright but it's usually just the one topping on each pizza. Suppose you could order a full one with a few toppings but don't get the hype the ready made ones get. Great when your in a rush after a few drinks but that's about it.
    They do sundried tomato+mushroom, potato+red onion and a ham+mushroom. But most small pizza places in Italy would usually just have one topping/flavour slices e.g Pepperoni, Salsiccia, Margherita, its traditional.

It wouldn't be called Pepperoni in Italy though :pac:, Pepperoni is a pepper in Italian.

My Italian friends were very confused when buying a Pepperoni pizza in Ireland for the first time as it didn't have peppers on it.

It wouldn't be called Pepperoni in Italy though :pac:, Pepperoni is a pepper in Italian.

My Italian friends were very confused when buying a Pepperoni pizza in Ireland for the first time as it didn't have peppers on it.
    I was trying the easy explanation for the un-trained Pizza/Italy experts there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭inisboffin

A big group of us were there last friday. Their menu is now cooked by Cava so no more pub grub and prices are up. Pizzas looked like burnt pieces of cardboard with a meager amount of toppings. Out of 15+ people I didn't hear anything positive; it was at best OK. €15 for just ok.

Used to love their pizza. I hate when pubs stop serving pub grub and get fancy.

Yeah I saw you had posted that before. I wonder if you just got a bad batch? I've had them twice now and they were lovely. Thin crust *artisan* style so not everyone's typical pizza. They do pizza and a pint one night I think it's 12 quid.

I was trying the easy explanation for the un-trained Pizza/Italy experts there.

Yeah I know, I was just acting the clown!

+1billion.

When I moved here I asked someone where I should go for a Pizza, they almost fell over themselves telling me how great Monroes was, tried it and dear lord that pre-made, frozen, bready base is gack, the sauce is alright and the toppings are grand but I'd only have one again if friends really, really wanted to go there for pints and a slice.

s_carnage wrote: »

Anytime I've had pizza in Italy it has a maximum of 3 toppings + cheese and sauce, it's like a rule in certain areas.

When you cram a million toppings ontp a pizza you can't get any distinct taste, it's silly.

inisboffin wrote: »
    Yeah I saw you had posted that before. I wonder if you just got a bad batch? I've had them twice now and they were lovely. Thin crust *artisan* style so not everyone's typical pizza. They do pizza and a pint one night I think it's 12 quid.

I've tasted the pizza in Massimo a few times and I'd never be pushed to buy one unless it was the Pizza an a pint for €11.50 deal.

Last time a friend had one the base was undercooked and slightly doughy but I will admit that was not long after they opened so they might have still been getting use to the stone oven, after all, it's not like they'd be cooking many pizza's in cava, recipes take a while to perfect.

That said, it's not "fancy" either, some nice cheeses and the odd exotic topping, but it's still just pizza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 gassdfres

mine
    packet of tortillas ,jar of ragu {hardly any veg in it not like dolmio which is full of veg}packet of mozarella
    get a few spoons of the sauce and put on the tortilla put the cheese on top put into hot oven 3 min best thin crust pizza going
    put some thinly sliced ham,mushroom chili flakes or whatever your havin on
    simple and quick
    mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I miss Eds and Bistro Bianconi. Napoli is probably the best in town. Usually out of convenience and price I'd go for Apache. 10 euro for any pizza, any size. It's complete hit and miss. Sometimes I've had it and it's been really good, other times not so much

Wompa1 wrote: »
    I miss Eds and Bistro Bianconi. Napoli is probably the best in town. Usually out of convenience and price I'd go for Apache. 10 euro for any pizza, any size. It's complete hit and miss. Sometimes I've had it and it's been really good, other times not so much

Ed works in Napli now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Seaneh wrote: »

Ahhh that's why it's thin, cheesey, greasey goodness. Pity about the location. At least when he was in the Square you could pull in and run out very quick to get it

I haven't been to Napoli in about a year. How does the menu line up with Eds old one? They do The Yankee!!??

Wompa, they don't do the same toppings at all, they do pizza's with whatever you want on them to order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

Seaneh wrote: »

I didn't know that, explains a lot. Ah this thread is making me hungry...

rain on wrote: »
    I didn't know that, explains a lot. Ah this thread is making me hungry...

Well, he'd been working there for ages the last time I was in there about 3 months ago.

Hope he's still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭ir555

Has to be Pizza Dozzina at the side of The Twelve Hotel in Barna..

One of the few authentic Italian Pizza setups in Galway.

The best "real" pizza by a mile in Galway!

D

I hear good things about the place in Barna alright but alas, I live out east now, tis miles away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭rh5555

ErnieBert wrote: »
    I got 2 slices from the place opposite the Front Door pub last Saturday night. It was the best pizza I had ever tasted.
    That said, I was rat-arsed drunk and would eat battered cardboard with ketchup. Seriously, it was awesome.

Other than that, I adore the Calobrese in Milano. It's expensive but very tasty.

I used to go to Bianco in Westside but they closed down.

Agreed, best pizza I had in Galway. Expensive with E3.50 but sooo good and it's a large slice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭blackhound

Had a pizza from the twelve earlier this evening and it was easily one of the nicest pizzas I've ever had (granted I was warped with the hunger before I ate), definitely the nicest since Bistro Bianconis closed down.

I have a feeling it might become a more regular treat.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,423 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

blackhound wrote: »
    Had a pizza from the twelve earlier this evening and it was easily one of the nicest pizzas I've ever had (granted I was warped with the hunger before I ate), definitely the nicest since Bistro Bianconis closed down.

I'm gonna have to head after work sometime, you're not the first to give it a pretty decent review.

As for the city, Pizza Pasta Napoli near neachtains and buskers gets my vote too, without a doubt the best pizza in Galway City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

One person has said "the place beside the twelve", others have said "in the twelve"

Which is it? Or do both places do good pizza? I know the Twelve do pizza and IIRC prices weren't too extreme (just don't know how big they were)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

JohnCleary wrote: »

One person has said "the place beside the twelve", others have said "in the twelve"

Which is it? Or do both places do good pizza? I know the Twelve do pizza and IIRC prices weren't too extreme (just don't know how big they were)
    Its both they have a side door for takeaway and serve the restaurant to,

An its goooooood!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭shortys94

Pizza pasta Napoli is great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

+1 on Pizza Napoli, proper Italian feel to the place as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

rh5555 wrote: »
    Agreed, best pizza I had in Galway. Expensive with E3.50 but sooo good and it's a large slice.

€3.50, expensive for a pizza slice the size of your head? really? it's cheaper than anywhere else.... I couldn't make it past the second slice and this is coming from a person who can eat a full medium pizza easily in dominos and those pizza are doughy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Ruben Remus

1st place: Pizza and Pasta Napoli

2nd place: Pizza Dozzina (at the Twelve, Barna)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭distraction

Napoli

Just the best there is, make sure you get them to cook you a fresh one, that said the slices are great as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Another vote for Pizza & pasta Napoli here. It's delicious.
    I too have heard great things about the pizza place in Barna but I am yet to try it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Rashers89

Guys try Fat Freddies on quay street... They do the proper Italian pizza very thin crust.

Was brought there last week, and it was amazing.

Rashers89 wrote: »
    Guys try Fat Freddies on quay street... They do the proper Italian pizza very thin crust.

Was brought there last week, and it was amazing.
    Last time i tried there the pizza was like one of those frozen Dr Oetker ones, complete with mini frozen pepperoni,no thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Is there anywhere in town where one can make use of a kitchen? A pizza-making evening might be a passable substitute for a Beers sometime, but folks might be understandably reluctant to let you lot anywhere near their gaff :P

I'll add another +1 to Pizza Napoli. Café Express on Eyre Square is similar thereto. High Café do very nice pizza if you're okay with thin base, but it's not very filling. I've found the "chain" pizzerias to be regrettably inconsistent, but if I had to pick one it would be Mizzoni's. Steak and sweetcorn ftw.