Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

fine for Non display of tax disc

• 10-08-2012 8:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭

What do lads think of the fine of €60 for non display of a tax disc? I'm not talking about driving an untaxed car. I realise full well that the law is that a tax disc MUST be displayed, and I have no probelm with that.

HOWEVER, logically why would someone knowingly NOT display their tax disc if they have paid possibly the guts of €500?! Surely it must be human error, should the first step by the powers that be (gardai/traffic warden) not be a caution??

I personally think it's a cheap shot. €60 is a lot of money these days for the average motorist and yet it's not going to be enough to decrease the majority of the debt of town councils around the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Without meaning to sound smart, how hard is it to display your tax disc? The penalty is smaller because it's not as serious an offence as driving an untaxed car, so it's not like you're being punished for something you didn't do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

It's not hard at all. All I'm saying is that it's easy enough perhaps forget about it and display it.

I could put it to you, how hard could it be in this day and age for the council/gardai to check and see if car is taxed and just issue a caution for the non display. It could be noted and if anything dodgy was happening and a person was caught the second time by all means they should be fined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

If you have it then display it.

Couldn't everyone go around saying ahhhh shurrre i left it in the house w/o being challenged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Maybe people could take a bit of responsibility for themselves and perform the heavy lifting of fitting a tax disc when they receive it, and not ask the guards/traffic wardens to waste their time double checking everything - I'm sure they have better things to be doing than babysitting.

Muckit wrote: »
    It's not hard at all. All I'm saying is that it's easy enough perhaps forget about it and display it.

I could put it to you, how hard could it be in this day and age for the council/gardai to check and see if car is taxed and just issue a caution for the non display. It could be noted and if anything dodgy was happening and a person was caught the second time by all means they should be fined.
    Sure if it were only a caution for non-display then nobody would bother and it would become much harder to see what cars were taxed. Essentially what you're asking is that state employees do extra work so that you won't have to go to the trouble of making sure the disc is in the windscreen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Jesus its the first thing I do when I open the letter. I feel proud showing of my new disc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭nogoodnamesleft

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Jesus its the first thing I do when I open the letter. I feel proud showing of my new disc...

+ 1 why would I leave it in the envelope when I had to pay over 600quid for the privilege of receiving it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

If you had the car taxed and just forgot to display the disc, take the disc and notice down to your local garda station and see can you get it waived. They might direct you to the garda fines office.

Was in tax office today at 9am.

Woman behind counter asked how long i wanted, i replied with "Just 3 months thanks" and she tippity tapped away and was like "It says €340 here something must be wrong" to which i sighed and replied "No that sounds about right"

Then i skipped all the way to my car (I paid €4 to park for 15 minutes before work)where i had left a sign saying "Paying tax, back in 20 minutes"

Tbh even if i had come back to the car and had a non display penalty i wouldn't have moaned too much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

If it was just a slap on the wrist most lads would not bother paying on time.
    They need to kick you where it hurts, the wallet.

I've been stung for non-display and since that day I now make damn sure to pay on time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

As much as I'll sound like an idiot, I'm going to sound I'll share this story:

Bought a car with outdated tax. Got it taxed the next morning and slid in the disc into the holder. Was driving around for a week when my granda says you'll have to get that car taxed ASAP, turns out I slid the new tax disc behind the old one in the holder!

I wouldn't have been done for failing to display but it shows how easy it is not to notice the disc is missing!

biko wrote: »
    If it was just a slap on the wrist most lads would not bother paying on time.
    They need to kick you where it hurts, the wallet.

I've been stung for non-display and since that day I now make damn sure to pay on time...

I think the OP was talking about fines for not displaying even when the driver has the car taxed. For example if the disc falls from the holder or through some mix-up the disc isn't on the car.

The fine for not displaying assumes the car is taxed - if it isn't then there's an additional, and more severe, penalty for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Yeahh, but...:D what if you've taxed it online and it's still not arrived, after 3 weeks? That's what the story is with my car at the mo. I have the email saying it's taxed, but no disc?? Then what with the €60??

It's still failure to display

Anan1 wrote: »
    The fine for not displaying assumes the car is taxed - if it isn't then there's an additional, and more severe, penalty for that.

That's what I'm saying. Biko mentioned "lads not bothering to pay on time."
    That would be another penalty to what the OP mentioned.

Pottler wrote: »
    Yeahh, but...:D what if you've taxed it online and it's still not arrived, after 3 weeks? That's what the story is with my car at the mo. I have the email saying it's taxed, but no disc?? Then what with the €60??
    You'd want to get on to them now, i've never waited more than one or two working days for my disc to arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,863 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

It is 2012 and still in Ireland you have to drive around with half a newspaper stuck on your windscreen.
    at the same time you license plate are read when driving the M50 and the toll is paid automatically if you have that set up.

Shouldnt be too hard to get a system where, when you put a car in your name, your tax form/invoice falling your letterbox and where the gardai just scan your license plate and then cane see if your car is taxed, nct'ed and insured?

inforfun wrote: »
    It is 2012 and still in Ireland you have to drive around with half a newspaper stuck on your windscreen.
    at the same time you license plate are read when driving the M50 and the toll is paid automatically if you have that set up.

Shouldnt be too hard to get a system where, when you put a car in your name, your tax form/invoice falling your letterbox and where the gardai just scan your license plate and then cane see if your car is taxed, nct'ed and insured?

Also there is no need for separate tax and NCT. Just do the NCT every year and add the cost of road tax on to it. If you can only afford 6 months let people pay by direct debit like with internet and TV.

inforfun wrote: »

Irish government were given an offer by BMW to get their fleet upgraded to BMW's with high performance diesel engines +UK Police force spec computer systems, they declines and are paying as much if not more to kit out every make and model of car themselves, makes sense :p

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

3 weeks waiting for an online tax disc, where are you.........India?
    No way in hell is there 3 week waiting lists for tax discs, not in dublin anyhow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Without meaning to sound smart, how hard is it to display your tax disc? The penalty is smaller because it's not as serious an offence as driving an untaxed car, so it's not like you're being punished for something you didn't do.

To be fair, if we were fined for not doing everything that wasn't hard, I'd be forking out €60 once a day for leaving the toilet seat up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

Bought a car with outdated tax. Got it taxed the next morning and slid in the disc into the holder. Was driving around for a week when my granda says you'll have to get that car taxed ASAP, turns out I slid the old tax disc behind the old one in the holder!

I wouldn't have been done for failing to display but it shows how easy it is not to notice the disc is missing!

you slid the old tax disc behind the old tax disc? ;-)

triple-M wrote: »
    you slid the old tax disc behind the old tax disc? ;-)

Shlid in the aul' yoke der so I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭iCosmopolis

kceire wrote: »
    3 weeks waiting for an online tax disc, where are you.........India?
    No way in hell is there 3 week waiting lists for tax discs, not in dublin anyhow.

Indeed, something's gone wrong there. Just got a new car, was only 4 days for the log book, 24 hrs for the tax disc. Last car I hadn't received the disc, they basically told me that doesn't happen and charged I think 12 eur for new one that I got 2 days later. Turned out the OH had grabbed his mail, including the envelope with original disc and I found it weeks later :(

I did get a fine for non display a few years back, even though the car was declared off the road (ancient corsa, was waiting for scrap guy to collect) but unfortunately I lived at the time, and was parked on, a public street. Rang the local station, and where he was sympathetic he also explained they have no way of knowing that at the time and it's in the system - so if I wanted to contest it I could but probably wouldn't be worth it :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

You'd want to get on to them now, i've never waited more than one or two working days for my disc to arrive.
    Me either! I got onto them, now I have to go in in person, collect a form and get it filled and go get the local Gard to stamp it???WTF. I've taxed dozens and dozens of yokes, never had this. They posted it, I never received it, so now I have to go through the "lost disc" crap! I am also currently "failing to display" but my credit card statement clearly displays that the money went to KCC.:confused: €60 occifer?, you're having a laugh. In their defence, they sent me an email stating what had happened and that i'd paid the tax. BTW, I've 14 men working for me, all driving a yoke, and all the tax is paid and displayed, so I'm no dodger. I hate having a yoke with no disc, it's just a pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,747 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

In the era of ANPR, "safety cameras", toll road cameras which can invoice you €1.80, not to mention mobile phones, there is no excuse for not inputting a reg into the national database to check if its taxed.

The requirement to display a piece of paper is 100 years out of date- OP is right.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

I did get a fine for non display a few years back, even though the car was declared off the road (ancient corsa, was waiting for scrap guy to collect) but unfortunately I lived at the time, and was parked on, a public street. Rang the local station, and where he was sympathetic he also explained they have no way of knowing that at the time and it's in the system - so if I wanted to contest it I could but probably wouldn't be worth it :(

I enquired about the same thing a while back. They said that I should leave the car at a mate's house ;)
    I thought I'd be fine, that night they lifted a neighbour's car and clamped another 2 on the same street! Thankfully they left mine as it was only 2 days out. Had it sold the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭kerten

In home country, motor tax is a debt to state by owner of the car and it is assigned to owner's name in every record.

There is no tax exemption except scrapping car.

If it is not paid on time, interest applies on debt until it is paid.

Owner can't sell car without clearing outstanding tax debt.

Even he sells it somehow, debt is still there and it will block owner to proceed in any government related process.

It may even block person to leave country in airport.

And yes, no need for showing tax discs on windscreen

I prefer the system here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

It's a ridiculous offence in this day and age. With anpr and digital communications it should be possible to have automated tax recognition systems.

God forbid we could go back a few years to when photoshop solved this problem.

kerten wrote: »
    In home country, motor tax is a debt to state by owner of the car and it is assigned to owner's name in every record.

There is no tax exemption except scrapping car.

If it is not paid on time, interest applies on debt until it is paid.

Owner can't sell car without clearing outstanding tax debt.

Even he sells it somehow, debt is still there and it will block owner to proceed in any government related process.

It may even block person to leave country in airport.

And yes, no need for showing tax discs on windscreen

I prefer the system here :D

What if you have a classic car that you want to sell but it will take a few months to sell? Can you not declare it off the road? Is it the same if the car isn't working/ has no engine?

Yeah, wouldn't like that system much as I did the online checks on the car I just bought last week and she hadn't taxed it in three years! I just paid 307eur for the year from this month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭kerten

What if you have a classic car that you want to sell but it will take a few months to sell? Can you not declare it off the road? Is it the same if the car isn't working/ has no engine?

I forgot to add another big difference between here and there. For a brand new car, motor tax is reduced 30-40% every 3 years until car is 15 years old.

So tax for classic car is quite small but still needs to be paid as long as car is not scrapped.

There is no off-road state for cars from motor tax or mandatory insurance perspective.

Only way to stop paying motor tax is either selling or scrapping it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

:DI believe that sticking roundy pieces of paper to my windscreen may class my car as being modified, and will affect my insurance:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

Bought a car with outdated tax. Got it taxed the next morning and slid in the disc into the holder. Was driving around for a week when my granda says you'll have to get that car taxed ASAP, turns out I slid the new tax disc behind the old one in the holder!

Why do people hold onto their old tax discs? it makes no sense at all, the cops dont care if you have a load of old discs they only want to see an up to date one so why keep them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,759 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Eh, if it was parked on a public road it needs to be taxed even if parked up - how coudyou declare it "off the road" when you parkedit on the road?

Are you in UK? There is no in advance "off the road" declaration in Ireland.

S28382 wrote: »
    Why do people hold onto their old tax discs? it makes no sense at all, the cops dont care if you have a load of old discs they only want to see an up to date one so why keep them.

It shows a potential buyer that the car has never been off the road.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

A bit like "the cheque is in the post" excuse?
    ... I could put it to you, how hard could it be in this day and age for the council/gardai to check and see if car is taxed and just issue a caution for the non display. It could be noted and if anything dodgy was happening and a person was caught the second time by all means they should be fined.
    Why? It's your job to display it not theirs to check the status of cars without tax discs.

Why on earth would anyone want to go to the time, trouble and expense of a yellow / red card tracking system for non-display of motor tax? Where is the money supposed to come from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

Yeah i suppose that would in some little way persuade some one about the car, i never keep the old disc it goes straight into the bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

My mother's tax disc hasn't arrived in the post from the MTO. She has been fined €60, but they've "forgiven" her this SERIOUS offence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Simples:

216611.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Sobanek wrote: »
    My mother's tax disc hasn't arrived in the post from the MTO. She has been fined €60, but they've "forgiven" her this SERIOUS offence.

When did she pay it?

The offence was "commited" in July, the tax disc expired in 06/12. We received it on the 3rd of AUGUST.
    Tax was paid for on the 12th of July or the 11th... Can't remember exactly.

(Fined on the 15th of July)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Never taken me 3 weeks to receive a tax disc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Jimbob 83 wrote: »
    It's still failure to display

isn't that why they have 1 months grace?

Never taken me 3 weeks to receive a tax disc.
    Same. It was the first time it took longer than two weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

goz83 wrote: »
    isn't that why they have 1 months grace?

There is no grace for display of tax.
    You have to the end of the month to renew without incurring arrears but you are not legally permitted use the car on a public road in the meantime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

I once got a ticket on my car and when I read it , I discovered it was for non display. I initially thought it was a parking ticket but it appears my disc was stolen. I reported same to gardai and sent a note to traffic warden and the fine was cancelled. Reasonable I would say !!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

slimjimmc wrote: »
    There is no grace for display of tax.
    You have to the end of the month to renew without incurring arrears but you are not legally permitted use the car on a public road in the meantime.

Tell that to the Gardaí - I've been through plenty of checkpoints while on the month's "grace" and not even been spoken to let alone fined. Which is, of course, a good thing as the tax is always paid by the end of the month.