Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE- Shocking

• 06-08-2012 9:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭

Is there no one better than George Hamilton to commentate. Really? The guy is so out of his comfort zone and so obviously cradles his media handbook to try sound some way informative it's just painful. This morning, for example, he's completely unaware Ennis wasn't running hurdles until he sees her absent on start line, even though it's been common knowledge to anyone following the sport in any half-assed way over the last 2 days. Yesterday he called the European 200m champion Martina Churandy. He also called Zeilinka was the canadian record holder there, yeah George, tell that to Felicien and Lopes Schliep. Where does he get this sh1t? Then David Matthews this morning calls the OLYMPIC CHAMPION 'Harper Dawn'. You really pity Ailis McSweeney, Gillick and co having to go on and try save face among the jokers and bluffers on there. Peter Collins.....the less said the better. Thanks Christ for Eurosport and BBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

Gosh! I think they're pretty good all round.

The only thing I don't like is the immediate post-race into the face interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

RTE's athletics coverage has always been poor. I don't suffer it any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Truman Burbank

About 1.5km to go in yesterday's marathon, "The race is at the front".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Peter Collins "Derval will need to replicate that 12.91 to make the final"

Ailis McSweeney "Derval will need to do much more than replicate 12.91 to make the final"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

To be fair to Ailis she is doing her best to fit in. Just had a gaffe where she said something along the lines of Derval is at home in her own bed with her coach. Very funny and she realised what she had said straight away.

But yes, George is a bit of a disaster. Too many examples to bother listing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭riveratom

jeffontour wrote: »
    To be fair to Ailis she is doing her best to fit in. Just had a gaffe where she said something along the lines of Derval is at home in her own bed with her coach. Very funny and she realised what she had said straight away.

But yes, George is a bit of a disaster. Too many examples to bother listing them.

George just called a woman shot-putter a man not ten minutes ago!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭war_child

Ah ders always gaffes on live sport i dont even worry bout it i just watch , turn the sound down somuch better ....instant Bliss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭LacticAthlete

riveratom wrote: »

Most insightful comment he made all day, she/he probably is.

Ailis in fairness is having a stormer, really well informed and even though she looks kind of like a fish, still very hot!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

There is obviously a deficit of cash in RTE where they cannot afford other commentators. If in doubt pull George out.
    They should have one of the athletes with him doing co commentary. 3 of them in the studio can be a bit much sometimes although I think overall the coverage has been good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Far too much studio stuff. Anytime I switch over, they are in the studio.

The BBC are unbeatable when it comes to Olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

While overall the bbc is better i still find myself watching it on rte. For its flaws i still feel i can relate to the people on it better than the bbc.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Far too much studio stuff. Anytime I switch over, they are in the studio.

The BBC are unbeatable when it comes to Olympics.

I notice the BBC website is avoiding any of the contraversial stories.

Their programming is a bit too much 'Go team GB'. I like to know what the Irish guys are doing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

British Broadcasting Corporation in cheer leading British team in British held Olympics shocker.

Yeah I know. That was my point. That's why I watch on RTE?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Well of course they're going to cheer Team GB. Same for RTE, with Taylor and the Irish boxers.

The atmosphere on the BBC coverage is fantastic. A bit jingoistic at times

Just saw Dibaba in very obvious distress, George sounded pretty bored by it all. Even Peter Collins referred to it as an upsetting sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Pisco Sour wrote: »
    Peter Collins "Derval will need to replicate that 12.91 to make the final"

Ailis McSweeney "Derval will need to do much more than replicate 12.91 to make the final"

Well in fairness, he's just the presenter and he's trying to keep up with many sports while the experts are rolled in and out of studio for their specialised event. As long as the experts get their facts right, that's the main thing as that's what they're there for.
    Ailis in fairness is having a stormer, really well informed and even though she looks kind of like a fish, still very hot!

:eek: You take that back! I've fallen in love with her over the last few days. :mad:
    Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    There is obviously a deficit of cash in RTE

Yes, there really is, €17m or so. You can imagine the public outcry if there was money was spent on getting commentators who are experts in each event. If you want a good laugh, watch the basketball. I don't know who's commentating on it but the basketball slang in an Irish accent is hilarious. DOWWNNTOWWNN! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭fiddy3

That basketball lad is actually the one ray of light in commentary terms. Makes it very watchable with his massive banter levels in that Cork accent. The athletics guys could learn a thing or two. If they're going to be so badly uninformed, they may as well have the craic, they sound like they're bored stiff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

The BBC coverage is always top class, given that its in London and they are doing very well, the jingoism is not surprising.

RTE are doing OK, on a very limited budget. Their job is to provide coverage and analysis of Irish athletes and they have a limited pool of analysts, who are mostly doing a good job.

Having said all that,George Hamilton is dreadful. He always has been. I know that commentating on live athletics leaves you open to gaffes, but his gaffe rate is ridiculously high, over the years.

I felt really sorry for Victor, sitting there on the edge of the desk, being asked about the fields events at the end, when no-one reallty cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 urbane4u

the worst part is the same advertisements again and again on RTE...no Ads on BBC -> hence better watch :-)

The great thing about RTE is...

...no Lineker!

He is stuck in EVERYTHING!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭gigantic09

Thought Hamilton really lost the plot during the woman's marathon yesterday when he referred to one of the runners having the same birthday as Marilyn
    Monroe.He then went on to say something along the lines Of 'Such a remarkable actress considering the short career she had'.Wtf George!!!!.

jeffontour wrote: »

Just saw this highlighted on Daire O'Brien's roundup report. :D

His reports are actually brilliant though. I'd almost go as far as saying it's worth watching RTE just for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I find myself watching the RTE coverage when there's an Irish athlete competing in a particular event that I'm interested in seeing. But for everything else, I watch the BBC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭LacticAthlete

:eek: You take that back! I've fallen in love with her over the last few days. :mad:

Yes, there really is, €17m or so. You can imagine the public outcry if there was money was spent on getting commentators who are experts in each event. If you want a good laugh, watch the basketball. I don't know who's commentating on it but the basketball slang in an Irish accent is hilarious. DOWWNNTOWWNN! :D

DENIED!!!!!!!!!

http://farm1.staticflickr.com/164/374727092_88747ecf68_z.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭ClashCityRocker

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Well of course they're going to cheer Team GB. Same for RTE, with Taylor and the Irish boxers.

The atmosphere on the BBC coverage is fantastic. A bit jingoistic at times

To be fair the beeb hasn't been as jingoistic as it could have been given the circumstances (and in comparison to their coverage of the English football team at the Euro's, where you had Guy Mowbray wishing injury on an Italian player :rolleyes:). Having foreign pundits like Michael Johnson and Ian Thorpe gives a bit of balance too.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Thought the interview with Derval was poor too. Making reference to her 'finally arriving in London' when she'd received stick for that, unfairly, during the week was poor form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Where's the outrage thread regarding Alan Davies tweeting that the Irish team have just arrived in Beijing ? I don't think the Daly Thompson one was quite indignant enough.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Jimmy Magee was talking about the Russian flyweight ranked number one in the world.
    "has a reputation as a good puncher"
    Really, Jimmy? The number one boxer in the world is a good puncher?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

If it was the Belarussian then you couldn't blame him, enjoying both channels but tend to watch RTE when a british competitor is involved.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

patmac wrote: »
    If it was the Belarussian then you couldn't blame him, enjoying both channels but tend to watch RTE when a british competitor is involved.

Looks like one of the blokes out of Abba!

ObBws.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Can't believe they cut away just as Shane Byrne was about to receive his gold medal.

Kiernan ''maybe because the race has only been introduced in the last 4 years(olympics I think he meant)"

Poor Bill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

bill's gaffe about kenyan steeplechasers
    Yikes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

M cebee wrote: »
    bill's gaffe about kenyan steeplechasers
    Yikes

What did he say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Qwerty27

What did Bill Say?! Just heard him make reference to his gaff there now but no idea what it was!!

He asked why the Kenyan women had never won a gold medal in the steeplechase when the men had won 9 times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Best quotes for me so far were in the marathon "X has the same birthday as Marilyn Monroe" ??? if she had the same birthday and was born in the same year as jesus then maybe it would be worth saying. Also for the slow motion of one kenyan giving the other a bottle. "Will she take the bottle, ..... yes she does" Just say exactly what is on the screen is bascially all you have to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Rocket Science

I think Jerry Kieran knows his sport and is not afraid to call it as he sees it. Current athletes like David and Ailish are not going to say anything negative about their friends and team mates and may not be the best people to analyse performances. Victor, a fine shot putter in his day and an equally good rugby player but to analyse jumps ....pole vault, high jump, triple jump, long jump...he is doing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Rocket Science

and could someone enlighten me why are the two boxing coaches standing behind the Irish boxers in every RTE interview?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

and could someone enlighten me why are the two boxing coaches standing behind the Irish boxers in every RTE interview?

Strange one, I guess maybe to make sure they don't say anything they shouldn't? But it is only the boxers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

RTE are a disaster. Bill hasn't a clue whats going on most of the time and i cringe sometimes with the questions he asks. Hamilton is obviously out of his depth but Jimmy Magee bothers me most. He comments on absolutely anything and everything bar whats actually happening in the ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

To stop RTE asking questions that may upset them ? as mindset is very important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭formerrunner25

Bill is bad, as is George. But I generally watch the BBC for athletics. It's only really RTE I watch for the boxing and it's here that Jimmy Magee is really a nightmare. He is very annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Bill is bad, as is George. But I generally watch the BBC for athletics. It's only really RTE I watch for the boxing and it's here that Jimmy Magee is really a nightmare. He is very annoying

A bit harsh on Bill and Jimmy.You are forgetting they are oldskool,and Bill is not an expert and is only there to ask the questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭johne30

Glad u think that ireland are doing well. most people with any pride are ashamed of our results . all we able to do is win a few medals in the only violent sport in the games . says alot about this nation

johne30 wrote: »
    Glad u think that ireland are doing well. most people with any pride are ashamed of our results . all we able to do is win a few medals in the only violent sport in the games . says alot about this nation

Well you being ashamed of our athletes while the rest of the world are proud of their countries' athletes, who work so hard to get to the Olympics, whether they medal or not, says a lot about you. Get over yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭johne30

Well you being ashamed of our athletes while the rest of the world are proud of their countries' athletes, who work so hard to get to the Olympics, whether they medal or not, says a lot about you. Get over yourself.
    Most of them (irish athletes) are genuine ok , but we are not good at any sport really except a violent one . goin to have pro boxers in rio in 2016 so we can forget about any more medals there thankfully. grenada and slovenia and even cyprus can win medals and you have no problem with us ? we are a joke of a nation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

the bbc have really stepped up to the plate for this olympics

they've been awesome,notwithstanding the team gb hype

rte seems lame in comparison-like they thought what's the point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

M cebee wrote: »
    the bbc have really stepped up to the plate for this olympics

they've been awesome,notwithstanding the team gb hype

rte seems lame in comparison-like they thought what's the point

Well in fairness the Olympics are in their backyard and if they didnt make a proper effort it would be a bad job.