Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ciaran O'Lionaird

• 03-08-2012 8:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

This guy is a disgrace. Just seen that after-race interview on tv. He should be made hand back any funds given to him.
    As they say in Laa-don, he's a Hampton Wick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭maddragon

I'ld say he'll be cringing himself when he sees it but give him a break. He wasn't fit for it and is obviously competitive so he probably felt humiliated at such a poor showing. Unless you've come second last in a race in front of a worldwide TV audience of millions, I don't think you can be too harsh on the lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Renato99 wrote: »
    This guy is a disgrace. Just seen that after-race interview on tv. He should be made hand back any funds given to him.

Bad interview but so what. At least he is honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

Bit harsh tbh, it's an interview in the heat of the moment. This year its been crap for him, he has spent the last few months battling injury he has every right to feel p****d off. From that interview he's considering giving up running for good. Give the guy a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Yeah a 3.35 runner being gutted because he couldn't produce his best due to injury :rolleyes: There's only one Hampton Wick around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Liamario

I don't see how he is a disgrace at all. Felt sorry for him, as he clearly gave it his all. In fact I think we need more attitudes like his; people who accept nothing but the best from themselves.
    The Irish football team should take a few notes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 7golfer

i thought he was very honest. he was upset with his race and fed up with his injuries.
    any money he got doesn't compensate for the hard training and not reaching the times he wants.
    he spoke with feeling and no cliches.
    he is right, use his degree, get to work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

Yeah a 3.35 runner being gutted because he couldn't produce his best due to injury :rolleyes: There's only one Hampton Wick around here.

3 34...

you mean all the millions he gets for competing ? He is clearly a hurt man in pain after a terrible experience and he let fly with his emotions.

He gets less money than 1 ad break on RTE before the event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

---> after hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

your a disgrace. Ciaran OLionaird is just a bit emotional after a dissapointing performance. Your definitly a disgrace though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Link to so called terrible interview?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Why was he so off-hand and negative? Only a few people win medals.
    He must realise that employers will see that interview and think twice about meeting someone with such a negative attitude. I thought it was self-destructive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

kincsem wrote: »
    He must realise that employers will see that interview and think twice about meeting someone with such a negative attitude. I thought it was self-destructive.

He ran 14 seconds slower than his best. He has been battling injury all year to make it to this one race all year after spending most of his life battling injury and illness.

What ever about knowing you are not good enough to make it, must be really hard to know you have the potential to be there if your body could hold up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Tiernster7

Realising isn't what happens in the heat of the moment. Injuries can be very frustrating he has produced a season best which has culminated in finishing second last

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Thought it was a good interview tbh. He wants the best from himself, and if it that isn't going to happen cos of injuries or whatever, then I can't blame him for stopping and doing something else. It's not like he'll be earning a lot from it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

The race might not have been the best but the interview was pure tv gold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

The race might not have been the best but the interview was pure tv gold

Am sure he will feel like crap for the interview tomorrow but you can understand where he was coming from - the olympics only come around every 4 years and he had the season from hell injury wise - lets give the guy a break..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

Hes just very disappointed. As someone said: he will cringe later but id cut him some slack for the interview. What I cant understsnd is how he thought anything other than what happened was going to happen after a months training?

I know the olympics are the ultimate, but maybe we shouldnt be allowing lads in pain to run, or swimmers who are physically ill to swim?

Hes just very disappointed. As someone said: he will cringe later but id cut him some slack for the interview. What I cant understsnd is how he thought anything other than what happened was going to happen after a months training?

I know the olympics are the ultimate, but maybe we shouldnt be allowing lads in pain to run, or swimmers who are physically ill to swim?

Bill is that you ?? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭GKiraly

Dam, missed that interview, anyone got a link to it or what exactly did he say??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭pgmcpq

. What I cant understsnd is how he thought anything other than what happened was going to happen after a months training?

Because success requires blind faith. We've all (at our own limited level) done the same thing - ignoring cr*p training and expecting to pull off some kind of miracle - and we'll all do it again regardless.

As for the interview - to the OP - he's not a friggin reality tv star - cut him some slack. I cannot imagine having a disaster at work nd having to give a tv interview within minutes. Hope to see him overcome this and back on track.

Fuck "Employers". This guys an olympian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Fuck "Employers". This guys an "olympian".

Fixed that for you:D. If (and he did) he knew he was not up for it, then he should'nt have gone to the starting line. That performance will live with him for a looonng time. Hopefully he'll get some people around him that can do a complete rebuild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 7golfer

fair play to him. he was honest, best honest answer ever..he owes nobody anything! he did all the training..
    how many of us got up at 5/6am to go running??

i know my uncle (very fit) went running for marathons,would get sick while training. , so it,s tough

ciaran wants to do better, but knows injuries hold him back, he doesn,t want to compete just for the sake of it,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

He knew he wasn't ready for it but put yourself in his shoes.You qualify for an Olympics and you are still running sub 4minute miles.
    I know I would have competed at the greatest event on the planet if I had the standard(I dream)

He will more than likely go back to Bob Braman who he loves.

Amazing the way people turn on athletes when they have a bad performance.This is where they need our support !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

ecoli wrote: »
    He ran 14 seconds slower than his best. He has been battling injury all year to make it to this one race all year after spending most of his life battling injury and illness.

What ever about knowing you are not good enough to make it, must be really hard to know you have the potential to be there if your body could hold up

Thats no reason to throw your toys out of the pram though. Its not a big deal and i'm certainly not as outraged as the OP but dejection is understandable. Acting like a spoiled teenager isn't. Like someone else said he'll probably cringe watching it in a week or two though.

Hope he reconsiders when he calms down a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭formerrunner25

Feel sorry for the lad..He is an amazing talent..10th in the world final. He has the potential to medal in major championships if fully fit.
    His interview was in the heat of the moment. this is a guy that has dreamed all his life of going to the olympics (Regardless of what he said in interview about it not being part of the plan). Looking back you would have to admire his brutal honesty. It was similar to a Roy Keane style interview.
    Ciaran may not be wrong in deciding to use his degree. Like how frustrating must it be to devote ur life to a sport and then trail in 2nd last in the heat, knowing going into the race ur no where near race fit.
    Sport at this level is tough.
    I think it might be a good idea for O Lionaird to get rid of the twitter account. He rely's to much on it. He posted bout half hour after the race on it.
    I hope he gets his head sorted and does what he feels is right. If he decides to run again-RIO 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

Amazing the way people turn on athletes when they have a bad performance.

People with zero knowledge of athletics for the most part. And trolls of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

Twitter account is gone this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Shelflife

I thought that it was a very strange interview, sure he was pissed off that he didnt perform well, but it came across to me as if someone had put a gun to his head and forced him to run.

he talked about returning to health and leaving the game again as if he was being forced to run.

Noone forced him to train with an injury, noone forced him to run in london with a injury, his talk of being in constant pain and being unable to train was strange. while i recognise the need to push the pain barrier to achieve great things i also recognise that training with injuries isnt the smartist move at this level. seriously what did he expect at this level?

to me as a layperson (non athlethics background) he came across as someone who in his own mind had sacrificed himself for the rest of us and his country.

Im not doubting his commitment or his talent, he just came across in a very strange even spoilt manner.

bizarre really, tv gold that id say he will regret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭mattser

Amazed that anyone can have a go at the lad. Proof if needed that when you're low and vulnerable some people can't help but put the boot in.
    Probably those that wouldn't run out of your way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭SWL

Feel sorry for the guy who is clearly disappointed that he didn’t perform to the level he has proven capable of achieving.

But just because you are a talented runner don’t shield youfrom disappointments and self-examination, lots of people go through the same feelings of disillusionment and disappointment in the real world at work or personnal issues, how you deal with that disappointment is usually a good indicator of future success, and judging by the interview the guy needs someoneto help him with his perspective and emotions.

Don’t matter what success you achieve in life nobody givesto you and the rough and smooth go hand in hand its not always a sunny morning.

Here he is, sporting the...ah...mullet look. Not just your average Kiernan big hair, but the really crude sprouting at the back one...

Ciaran+O+Lionaird+rsFN5LsYBfBm.jpg

He tamed it. And possibly dyed it. Here...

inpho_005804311-630x405.jpg

Never mind the injuries, interviews, achievements, Olympics...I kinda thought he was a little odd just from the pics!

And yes, that is terribly judgemental!

As for the interview, far prefer those honest ones to the "sick as a parrot, gave it my all" bland stuff. Thought it was a bit harsh to go after him just after the race though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

I feel sorry for him tbh - he was excellent in the worlds last year [funny how everyone forgets that]. So knows he can do it, but has been injured most of the year. So his body wont play ball, it must be so annoying and frustrating.

I was thinking about it running this morning, if someone had interviewed me in the immediate aftermath of the Dublin Marathon last year I would have said many of the same things I think [clearly a WAAAY different level, but we are talking human emotions here and nothing else]...

I was miserable for a few days and talking all manner of doom and gloom as I did not do myself justice as a result of an injury. Eventually I got back on the horse and it was all good. I hope its the same for him, he will be ok after a while away.

Not many of us can identify with what he was going thru, moving to the states this year with all manner of hopes and dreams and for it all to have gone pear shaped with injuries...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

He's doing a radio interview at 5 pm, which should be interesting. Think it's today FM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

He's doing a radio interview at 5 pm, which should be interesting. Think it's today FM.
    Newstalk and he is still on twitter.
    Reports of his demise greatly exaggerated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

dna_leri wrote: »
    Newstalk and he is still on twitter.
    Reports of his demise greatly exaggerated

His Twitter account was closed this morning but you can reactivate them. How did the interview go? Really hope he gives Rio a shot. 6 months off to get the injury right and hopefully back hungrier than ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭wrstan

Heard the interview on Newstalk this afternoon, I thought he came across really well - very frank and honest, but also very rational and measured, is planning on getting back to enjoying his running as a first priority and then building for Rio. I was very impressed with him. Well worth a listen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Is there a podcast of this available does anyone know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭K_1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Rockhound

This guy is a smashing runner. A true talent

He just ran 2 sub 4 miles on one leg (Cork and Dublin) He needed those races to sharpen for the Olympics. The Achilles wasnt right and you can see that as he finishes the heat.

Who out there wouldnt take your chance to run the Olympics Injured or not. Maybe the whole pressure of it all just got to him at the end of the race. Raw emotions and a pric~ with a camera

Get yourself right Ciaran. Take time off. Take stock. Come back stronger. Grow the Mullet back. (me thinks of Samson)

Irish Athletics needs people like this guy. world class. just a bad day at the office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

Good man rockhound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 tendon

The pity is he was allowed run when injured just like jennings today. Individual athletes do their own thing and get their own medical treatment and advice. When they rock up to championships they see it as their devine right to compete and seem to have no concerns about disguising injuries. If you take funding then you have a responsibility to be a team player and not compete injured just because you selflesly want to.thinks like jennings and o lionaird make a mockery of irish athletics. if your not fit dont compete and work on getting yourslf fit and healthy. some of our athletes could learn from people like ratcliffe and ennis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

tendon wrote: »
    The pity is he was allowed run when injured just like jennings today. Individual athletes do their own thing and get their own medical treatment and advice. When they rock up to championships they see it as their devine right to compete and seem to have no concerns about disguising injuries. If you take funding then you have a responsibility to be a team player and not compete injured just because you selflesly want to.thinks like jennings and o lionaird make a mockery of irish athletics. if your not fit dont compete and work on getting yourslf fit and healthy. some of our athletes could learn from people like ratcliffe and ennis

I'm seriously considering de-bookmarking the A/R forum until after the games.

Actually between this sort of absolute nonsense and Quinn family-defence coverage all over the place maybe I'll just turn the laptop off altogether for the time being.

tendon wrote: »

Are you for real? Do you realise that his funding and sponsorship could be affected by not running. He has been struggling with injury and given that he only signed up with Nike last year could very well have it pulled as I am sure alot of athletes will post Olympics. Not to mention his AAI funding could also be cut as he wont have the necessary criteria to maintain level of funding. Couple that with this time two years ago he thought he would have to quit the sport and to be propelled to the event which you dream of as a child growing up to take part in.

Or Jennings the pressure of knowing another athlete is sitting at home in what was her last chance at an Olympic Games to then see one of the girls who is there ahead of her pull out.

And then you get keyboard warriors having a pop. No they dont have a devine right to compete, but they do have a right considering they have earned there spot in a chance that only comes around once every four years

Some people really are unbelievable

Suppose this guy was a joke to?

www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nifq3Ke2Q30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

Or Jennings the pressure of knowing another athlete is sitting at home in what was her last chance at an Olympic Games to then see one of the girls who is there ahead of her pull out.

If Jennings had to pull out when she knew she was injured - could Maria McCambridge not have gone in her place?
    Freya Murray only got the call up when Radcliffe pulled out.

groovyg wrote: »
    If Jennings had to pull out when she knew she was injured - could Maria McCambridge not have gone in her place?
    Freya Murray only got the call up when Radcliffe pulled out.

Possibly had she been training for it? Radcliffe had been struggling for months so Freya would have trained for marathon in that eventuality.

Maria may have accepted she was not on team and targetted another race. If this was the case then a last min call up would have not ended well and created alot of negative media coverage around McCambridge much like the last min call up of Curley back in 2008 where she was slated by the public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 tendon

Are you for real? Do you realise that his funding and sponsorship could be affected by not running. He has been struggling with injury and given that he only signed up with Nike last year could very well have it pulled as I am sure alot of athletes will post Olympics. Not to mention his AAI funding could also be cut as he wont have the necessary criteria to maintain level of funding. Couple that with this time two years ago he thought he would have to quit the sport and to be propelled to the event which you dream of as a child growing up to take part in.

And then you get keyboard warriors having a pop. No they dont have a devine right to compete, but they do have a right considering they have earned there spot in a chance that only comes around once every four years

Some people really are unbelievable

Suppose this guy was a joke to?

www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nifq3Ke2Q30

Im not disagreeing with any of what you are saying. Being a professional athlete is a crazy difficult life far beyound most of us and me in particular. However when i run a marathon with acute achilles pain that is my decision and if it takes me 5 hours then that is my devine right and an achievement for me. That is not the same when you are representing your country and all the self righteous guff from the likes of you does not change that. At the end of the day you have responsibilities to your country and association to be fit to compete and if you are not then you are not doing your job as a professional. to come on the tv after and say you are getting straight out of london the following day makes a mockery of the so called "team" ethos. Mccambridge should at least have been offered the chance to take Jennings place or at least have been kept updated as to her medical status which I would be interested to know if she was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

The way he was interviewed was an unusual tactic from RTE I felt. I've never seen an interviewer for RTE be so insensitive or misunderstanding. Surely they knew he was feeling disappointed in himself and his injury? Nope. They kept fishing for quotes in a way where they would be slammed if they did that to a higher-profile sportsperson. "So anger is your over-riding emotion?" was the last question and very a very stupid one in an interview where O'Lionard talked about flying home ASAP and quitting the sport. No **** RTE.