Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I The Only Mug Round Here???

• 02-08-2012 10:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭

Just taxed our car this morning. I have to say it really upsets me how the Motor Tax in Ireland is so bloody expensive (Like everything else here, I suppose...). It's cost us E333 to tax a 1.2 motor which would cost £125 at home in the UK!:mad::mad: But - that's life.

Went to put the confirmation in the car. Knowing my luck, it'd be a dot on the card I get stopped by the Gards for having no tax, so thought I'd better get it done today especially as it's a BH this weekend. Casually glanced at the other cars on the street, as I went out to the shop. Next door have two cars. Neither have tax - it's been out at least two months. Further down the road, another neighbour has no tax, insurance or NCT. But I've seen him driving round. Two more cars I saw as I passed have tax that has been out at least three months. Obviously, nobody round here is worried about being stopped for no tax!!

I must be a mug!!! Incidentally, what are the penalties for having no tax??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Man, 333 is not much in the grand scheme of things. Mines over 3 times that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

It's a lot of money to me!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭bkehoe

Hehe I have to fork out almost €1300 euro here and in the UK its £270. Welcome to Ireland. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Caught for no tax. Well...you might be waived by and will have to produce a tax cert to the station of your choice within 10 days. Or, you could have the car taken off you and impounded and have to pay to get it out, but not before you have a valid tax disc. Be more concerned about you and less about your neighbours. You're doing the right thing and you can feel comfortable going through a check point. The people who avoid paying car tax are usually always on the look out for the old blue and that can't be a comfortable journey. I might let tax slip for a couple of days if i'm broke, but I get it asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Agree. 333eu tax sounds like heaven. I pay only twice that and I am really happy. In fact, it's me going to lower bracket of tax :D. Where I came from we payed tax in petrol price. Happy days... ( must be the only good thing about the shiety country I came from )

OP, maybe a lot of those cars are not used? There will be always chancers, but I doubt it would be that many.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭geneyuss

Just taxed our car this morning. I have to say it really upsets me how the Motor Tax in Ireland is so bloody expensive (Like everything else here, I suppose...). It's cost us E333 to tax a 1.2 motor which would cost £125 at home in the UK!:mad::mad: But - that's life.

Went to put the confirmation in the car. Knowing my luck, it'd be a dot on the card I get stopped by the Gards for having no tax, so thought I'd better get it done today especially as it's a BH this weekend. Casually glanced at the other cars on the street, as I went out to the shop. Next door have two cars. Neither have tax - it's been out at least two months. Further down the road, another neighbour has no tax, insurance or NCT. But I've seen him driving round. Two more cars I saw as I passed have tax that has been out at least three months. Obviously, nobody round here is worried about being stopped for no tax!!

it costs alot of money to bail out banks and to keep the Quinn family in the lifestyle they have come accustomed to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

It seems you have a car that does not qualify for the new tax system, if you bought a newer car with bigger engine you probaby may have to pay 122 odd for it.
    Down my way you can be rest assured the Gardi have a check point at the beginning of each month, they always give me a friendly wave because I have everything in order, unlike the people sitting there getting a stern talking to to whome I give a little smirk at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

From the age of 17 to about 23 i taxed my car a total of 2 times, once for 3 months when i had my test and another time for 3 months to get it back from the guards who took it for no tax... Still worked out cheaper than paying the tax so i didnt care back then. Couldnt be arsed with the hassle now and especially since the other half is now driving too its always taxed so nothing to worry about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭icjzfmq7ewon1t

they always give me a friendly wave because I have everything in order, unlike the people sitting there getting a stern talking to to whome I give a little smirk at.

Everybody loves a smug ba***rd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

As Des Kelly says

"Tax is for putting down carpets"

I drive a fair bit, 3-400 miles per week, in the past 4 years I have been stopped once at a checkpoint, I did not have tax,

The car I was driving that day was a late 80's and I only had a 2 pocket holder in the windscreen - one for nct one for insurance (both valid)

Checkpoint was in Dublin city on the quays, bicycle Garda stopped me, had a look and came to the window:

Garda: Where's your tax

Me: Oh she's exempt

Garda: Right so, on with ya

Off I went, busrt my bolix laughing the whole way home, never in a million years would that work again :pac:

Of course I have a car that doesn't qualify! It's an '07...

I know I can drive around without a bother, because the rent's paid on the car; i.e tax, insurance and NCT. But I can't help feeling irritated that there's so many cars that don't bother complying with the law. People don't realise that by not paying/complying with the law, makes it much more expensive for those of us who do.

OT I know, but had a similar discussion with a friend about the TV licence. I have one and pay stamps every fortnight to save up for it. They see no reason to pay it as 'they were never asked if they have one!'

Seems to me that no-one likes paying out until they're nicked!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

From the age of 17 to about 23 i taxed my car a total of 2 times, once for 3 months when i had my test and another time for 3 months to get it back from the guards who took it for no tax... Still worked out cheaper than paying the tax so i didnt care back then. Couldnt be arsed with the hassle now and especially since the other half is now driving too its always taxed so nothing to worry about

Same as, in the past 48months I have had valid tax for 9 months,

Taxed the new yoke for a year now though.

Edit: I must ad that I have changed cars A LOT in this period, often moving them on as soon as I received the vlc so had valid excuses a good bit of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Ehh, i just paid 475 for 3 months yesterday. Re-examine what you deem to be expensive sonser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

It's a lot of money to me!!!

You knew what it was going to cost when buying the car though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I live in apartment block, and out of my neighbours tax discs, the majority would actually be a little out.

I only taxed my own car yesterday (€101 for 3 months) and if had been out since January.

The reason most people chance it is because of our RF100 form. This form lets us avoid paying back tax by declaring that the car was off the road. It becomes, financially, worth the risk to let the tax expire for two or three months, get the form, then tax. 5/6 months for the price of 3 :D

Penalties for no tax is usually a €60 ticket if only a little out, to having the car impounded if the car is way out of tax or NCT.

Unfortunately rumours are that the rf100 form is to be scrapped soon, as it's costing the government a fair bit in lost revenue.

No. I don't think so...

Like I say, it's a LOT of money to me. Why is the Motor Tax here so expensive and more importantly, what is it used for? It's certainly not to maintain the roads, judging by the dreadful state of some of the roads round here...

As another poster says. Someone's gotta keep the Quinns in Subway sarnies, I suppose...

draffodx wrote: »
    You knew what it was going to cost when buying the car though.

I need a car, and must pay the appropriate tax. And your point is???

No. I don't think so...

Like I say, it's a LOT of money to me. Why is the Motor Tax here so expensive and more importantly, what is it used for? It's certainly not to maintain the roads, judging by the dreadful state of some of the roads round here...

As another poster says. Someone's gotta keep the Quinns in Subway sarnies, I suppose...

okay il put it in very simple terms. Your motor tax is literally nothing in terms of your overall motoring, in fact id love my years tax to be in the 300's...

secondly STOP comparing economies of scale to each other, there are over 70 Millions people in the UK so the tax take is larger...

I agree our tax is large, but yours is certainly nothing to give out about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

listermint wrote: »
    Ehh, i just paid 475 for 3 months yesterday. Re-examine what you deem to be expensive sonser.

Why should they? You might be earning 4 times more then the op so your tax might not have as much of an effect on your budget as the op's tax does on their budget. The op makes 2 valid points tax is expensive in comparison and there are a lot of other fukers not paying this which makes it little bit harder to swallow.

okay il put it in very simple terms. Your motor tax is literally nothing in terms of your overall motoring, in fact id love my years tax to be in the 300's...

secondly STOP comparing economies of scale to each other, there are over 70 Millions people in the UK so the tax take is larger...

I agree our tax is large, but yours is certainly nothing to give out about.

I don't agree. Hence my question/rant.

racso1975 wrote: »
    Why should they? You might be earning 4 times more then the op so your tax might not have as much of an effect on your budget as the op's tax does on their budget. The op makes 2 valid points tax is expensive in comparison and there are a lot of other fukers not paying this which makes it little bit harder to swallow.

HIS tax is not expensive, its ridiculous to say that it is.

I mean i could say a bottle of coke is expensive comparative to my income from living as a homeless person on the street.

whats your point?

His tax bracket is quite reasonable to be fair.

I don't agree. Hence my question/rant.

dont agree on what?

the fact that you are comparing. the UK to a much smaller country?

or the fact that we now have large motorways zig zagging across the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

I think that's the point.

If you need a car and must pay the tax and are looking for the cheapest, sub 1000cc is €185/annum. I chose to get a 1.6 as between all costs including tax it worked out for me. I knew how much I'd have to pay for tax before I bought it, if I didn't like the price that I'd consider not paying I wouldn't have bought the car.

Rightly or wrongly, if our motor tax, not road tax, wasn't as high, we'd pay more elsewhere or lose services somewhere.

My point is you knew about the expense in advance and still took the decision to buy the car knowing the cost of tax so while it might be a lot of money to you, you've no argument against it being expensive as you should have budgeted for the cost.

draffodx wrote: »
    My point is you knew about the expense in advance and still took the decision to buy the car knowing the cost of tax so while it might be a lot of money to you, you've no argument against it being expensive as you should have budgeted for the cost.

Of course I did. But that doesn't stop me questioning why so much tax when we apparently don't see much return, does it?

The return is money into the state's coffers. Not in a separate pile for roads.

racso1975 wrote: »

Thank you! Someone has understood what I was saying in my OP!! :D

Of course I did. But that doesn't stop me questioning why so much tax when we apparently don't see much return, does it?

Once again i point to the large new motorways that we have dotted all over the country....

Question to you do you think 333 is unreasonable for 12 months tax,

or do you think

1680 is unreasonable for 12 months tax. Considering someone on the same salary.

What i also put to you, is that the person paying the 1680 doesnt use the roads as much as the person paying the 333.

Thank you! Someone has understood what I was saying in my OP!! :D

Why dont you get a motorbike if you think car tax is expensive, why dont you get a classic if you think car tax is expensive,

I still put to you that the bracket you are in is fair. you have stated why it is not. Considering you are using all of these national roads consistently.

Why dont you get a motorbike if you think car tax is expensive, why dont you get a classic if you think car tax is expensive,

I still put to you that the bracket you are in is fair. you have stated why it is not. Considering you are using all of these national roads consistently.

I need a car, not a motorbike. Unless you want me to strap husband and dog to the bike, then that's a really stupid thing to say. If you think E333 is fair, then good luck to you. I still think it's expensive, but I still pay the tax, even if I disagree with the amount when others apparently think it's OK not to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

1.2? I'll assume petrol doing 40mpg over 12k miles/year = 1,350 litres fuel

UK: 1,350 x £1.33/l = £1,795 + tax (£125) = £1920 @ €1.28/£ = €2,450
    IE: 1,350 x €1.60/l = €2160 + tax (€333) = €2493.

Its only costing you an extra €43/yr , not €212.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Extortionate and all as motor tax is, we can consider ourselves very lucky that they never included turbos or supers in the tax system and left it solely based on cc.

mullingar wrote: »
    1.2? I'll assume petrol doing 40mpg over 12k miles/year = 1,350 litres fuel

UK: 1,350 x £1.33/l = £1,795 + tax (£125) = £1920 @ €1.28/£ = €2,450
    IE: 1,350 x €1.60/l = €2160 + tax (€333) = €2493.

Its only costing you an extra €43/yr , not €212.

Thank you for validating what i was having trouble getting across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Down my way you can be rest assured the Gardi have a check point at the beginning of each month, they always give me a friendly wave because I have everything in order, unlike the people sitting there getting a stern talking to to whome I give a little smirk at.

I rather the stern talk then paying up on time like a chump thx. :pac:

Matt Simis wrote: »

When stern talk avidly turns into 'right out ya get'

away on a toe truck, We will be better off.

It appears to me they only do this to the folks in metropolitan areas.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭nicol

The simplest and fairest way to tax people for using the roads would be to add an extra tax on fuel. That way you are still paying based on your fuel consumption which is roughly related to your engine size and time spent using the roads.

It also means people cannot avoid paying tax. Granted it might encourage people in the border counties to go north to buy fuel and there would have to be ways of giving tax breaks to haulage firms etc. but I think it would simplify things greatly. It would also free up a lot of resouces at local government level as all those staff who curently man the motor tax offices could be redeployed elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Matt Simis wrote: »

Then I'm the biggest chump here, mine is taxed for the year and it spends at least half of its time outside Dublin Airport :mad:

But there is no return offered for paying tax? Your paying a tax to use the roads.

The return for me is proper maintenance on said roads that we pay so much tax for. You can come back to me as many times as you like, but I won't change my opinion.

Whilst I appreciate the money goes into State coffers, I do not see much spent on the roads.

The return for me is proper maintenance on said roads that we pay so much tax for. You can come back to me as many times as you like, but I won't change my opinion.

Whilst I appreciate the money goes into State coffers, I do not see much spent on the roads.
    It doesn't have to be spent on the roads though.

This is where everyone gets confused. It's MOTOR tax, not road tax. It all goes into the same place with every other tax and is then spent in its allocations according to what each department gets. More people paying motor tax does not in any way mean that the roads will be any better.

I'm not trying to change your opinion. If that's the case then you need to voice your opinion and complain to your local TD's etc...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

nicol wrote: »
    The simplest and fairest way to tax people for using the roads would be to add an extra tax on fuel. That way you are still paying based on your fuel consumption which is roughly related to your engine size and time spent using the roads.

It also means people cannot avoid paying tax. Granted it might encourage people in the border counties to go north to buy fuel and there would have to be ways of giving tax breaks to haulage firms etc. but I think it would simplify things greatly. It would also free up a lot of resouces at local government level as all those staff who curently man the motor tax offices could be redeployed elsewhere.

Radical thinking.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,346 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Leats this wont happen to the OP.

0006315b-314.jpg

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0802/fidelma-healy-eames-tax.html
    A Fine Gael spokesperson has confirmed that Galway Senator Fidelma Healy Eames' car was seized last month for not having a current tax disc.

1 of 1Fidelma Healy Eames' car was seized in Galway last monthThe incident happened on 2 July at rush hour in Galway city.

It is understood that the car was towed by contractors on behalf of gardaí.

Under road traffic legislation gardaí are empowered to seize a car if its tax is one month or more out of date or not properly displayed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Current tax for my 1.3 in the UK is £475 :D

ARGINITE wrote: »

Someone I know in NI is paying £225 on a 4.2ltr V8 twin turbo Audi RS6!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

kceire wrote: »

How 'out' was the tax? Must have been months...

kceire wrote: »

She's not having a great time of it, is she?? First, she has to pay her plumber what he's owed, now she has to pay out to get her motor out AND pay the tax!! :pac:

My faith in Irish justice is restored...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

ARGINITE wrote: »

It's not regular 1.3 i guess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

wonski wrote: »
    It's not regular 1.3 i guess?

Mazda RX8 I'd guess?