Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Problem neighbours

• 01-08-2012 3:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39

First time poster here, but looking for some advice, i bought a house 3 years ago, live there on my own (female, 30) with the last 8 months or so im having serious problems with the tenants who are renting next to me, it started with them throwing boiling water on my two puppies (which i had to give away as a result) and has gone on from there, they have followed me by night in the car, they bang on my doors, they watch me enter/leave my home, watch me cutting the grass and shout at me etc..etc.. the gardai have been up three times and have issued behavioural warnings on them..The gardai tried to contact the landlord, turns out his in austrailia and his mother deals with the house, she agreed to evict them and kept making empty promises to both me and the gardai but basically there paying rent and thats all that matters. I then took a case out with the PRTB (landlords not registered btw), which was to be heard today, i turned up to be told because the landlord is in austrailia they had no way of contacting him so....They had sent out two letters one addressed to him/one addressed to his mother but she just sent them back saying he doesnt live there. Im now at my witsend, the gardai had me leaving my car down the garda station everynight which meant id to walk up and down every day before and after work to get it, as it has been damaged twice outside my property. Iv now had to get CCTV cameras put up but dont know what to do other than sell my house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

polly20 wrote: »
    First time poster here, but looking for some advice, i bought a house 3 years ago, live there on my own (female, 30) with the last 8 months or so im having serious problems with the tenants who are renting next to me, it started with them throwing boiling water on my two puppies (which i had to give away as a result) and has gone on from there, they have followed me by night in the car, they bang on my doors, they watch me enter/leave my home, watch me cutting the grass and shout at me etc..etc.. the gardai have been up three times and have issued behavioural warnings on them..The gardai tried to contact the landlord, turns out his in austrailia and his mother deals with the house, she agreed to evict them and kept making empty promises to both me and the gardai but basically there paying rent and thats all that matters. I then took a case out with the PRTB (landlords not registered btw), which was to be heard today, i turned up to be told because the landlord is in austrailia they had no way of contacting him so....They had sent out two letters one addressed to him/one addressed to his mother but she just sent them back saying he doesnt live there. Im now at my witsend, the gardai had me leaving my car down the garda station everynight which meant id to walk up and down every day before and after work to get it, as it has been damaged twice outside my property. Iv now had to get CCTV cameras put up but dont know what to do other than sell my house

Sweet Nellie... What are the Gardai paid for?

Throwing boiling water on puppies is a criminal offence.

Apart from criminal damage to your car.

Apart from the harassment.

Make a formal complaint to the Chief Superintendant for your area. This will be listed on the Garda website.

What do PTRB propose to do or propose that you do now? I am quite sure the woman knows where he is of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭cookie1977

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 polly20

Thanks for your replies..I have spoken to the superintendent who told me a few weeks ago it was more a civil case rather than criminal..my solicitor got back to him saying damage to my property is criminal..unless I have someway of tracking down the landlords address in Australia there's basically not a lot the prtb can do..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

I have spoken to the superintendent who told me a few weeks ago it was more a civil case rather than criminal..

Words fail me :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭doubleglaze

Could you get every male relative, friend, workmate and friend of yours to accompany you to this neighbour's door.

Knock on the door.

When neighbour opens door, say you have come here to discuss things and to come to a peaceful agreement...

I did think of that doubleglaze Iv been told of all these people you can "employ" to sort out problems..even a gaurd who came up taking fingerprints after they tried break into my house told me...but I'd b afraid it'd come back to haunt me :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Lantus

I did think of that doubleglaze Iv been told of all these people you can "employ" to sort out problems..even a gaurd who came up taking fingerprints after they tried break into my house told me...but I'd b afraid it'd come back to haunt me :/

You are doing the right thing by confronting these thugs and keeping a record and calling the gards every time there is an incident.

The mother is the key here. I cannot believe that she cannot contact her son. It is shameful what she is doing and I would apply as much pressure as you can on her that is legal to get her to provide her sons contact details.

I find it hard to believe that if a Landlord chooses to make himself uncontactable that the PTRB just shrug their shoulders and say nothing we can do. Shameful. What an appalling country we live in.

Doubleglaze has a point though. Keep fighting the legal route but start putting in place a plan B just in case things dont work out.

I know cases where the residents have walked on a house and given the occupants 30 days notice.

Thanks lantus though I'm so sick of it now I seem to get hope from all angles & then I'm hit with a brick wall I keep telling myself it's a big wheel & it always turns. The landlords mother just chooses to ignore it..to her there the perfect tenants keep the house well (apart from the two pitbulls in the little garden) they never ever have a visitor that Iv seen in the two years or so their there saying that I'm at work all day so don't be home that often they don't work so I think they get enjoyment from intimidating me..a few other neighbours have seen what's going on & have reported it to the gardai & to be honest only for the other neighbours I'd be long gone..the landlord also never drew up a contract so I'm guessing is not paying revenue either & doesn't want the prtb tracking all this down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Lantus

Thanks lantus though I'm so sick of it now I seem to get hope from all angles & then I'm hit with a brick wall I keep telling myself it's a big wheel & it always turns. The landlords mother just chooses to ignore it..to her there the perfect tenants keep the house well (apart from the two pitbulls in the little garden) they never ever have a visitor that Iv seen in the two years or so their there saying that I'm at work all day so don't be home that often they don't work so I think they get enjoyment from intimidating me..a few other neighbours have seen what's going on & have reported it to the gardai & to be honest only for the other neighbours I'd be long gone..the landlord also never drew up a contract so I'm guessing is not paying revenue either & doesn't want the prtb tracking all this down

Contact revenue ASAP. They are not so forgiving of the attitude 'I cannot be reached.' You never know.

I think at this stage il have to as the gaurd said to me today you've given his mother enough opportunities to sort it & the last time I spoke to her she said "I don't ever want you to contact me about it again, nothing I can do..I don't have a contract"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Report the mother and son to the revenue, are they declaring the income, non principle private residential tax, household charge etc, build a case and jazz up the complaints a bit too, even have someone witness something ;)

Oh doom Iv plenty "nice" neighbours who will go as witnesses...looks like il be ratting on a few people tomorrow ;) thanks for all the replies guys...much appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,585 ✭✭✭Ginger83

There is nothing that can be really done unless you get them evicted. I have been living with a nightmare for the last 5 years and nobody wants to know. It really is a case of pass the buck attitude. My next door neighbours landlord is an out of state landlord as well and can't be touched. It took me 4 years to find him.
    We have decided after all this time to move out. My partner can't take anymore, I just hope I can rent the place out myself and keep tenants in it. What has this country come to when people are forced to move out of their homes

Ginger83 I feel your pain..it's hard enough paying a mortgage but to pay it & put up with living a nightmare is completely heartbreaking & to think the tenants next door get social to pay theirs..joke!! I think like you il be trying to sell up & move on - awful when it comes to that but as you say everyone just passes the book :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

apart from the two pitbulls in the little garden) they never ever have a visitor that Iv seen in the two years or so
    I find it odd that they don't get visitors. If you know their names, google them, and see if they've been tossed out of somewhere else.

I know there names alright so does everyone else in the town "for the wrong reasons"!! You'd also need to ask questions when you see him outside in the lashing rain with a sweeping brush - sweeping the grass!!!

Ginger83 I feel your pain..it's hard enough paying a mortgage but to pay it & put up with living a nightmare is completely heartbreaking & to think the tenants next door get social to pay theirs..joke!! I think like you il be trying to sell up & move on - awful when it comes to that but as you say everyone just passes the book :(

Yea I've had 5 years of empty promises from a guy managing the property, everything paid for and the tenants laughing at us going out to work. The gardai couldn't even locate the owner, lucky he didn't commit a crime. I'm not in any position to sell but can't live or sleep peacefully either.
    How did yours start off?

Like you I'm in no position to sell either & shouldn't have to come to that but you get to a point where you just can't take any more - constant stress takes its toll..i had no problem until I got the puppies I never heard them at night but maybe they barked a bit while I wasn't here though another neighbour (stay at home mum) said she never heard them anyways it started with them then came them giving me the finger if I met them on my way out in car etc..I had mentioned it to a gaurd but at the time didn't want to do anything as I didn't want the hassle but it got to a stage I had to..once the gaurds came up it totally escalated they say I bang my doors constantly but when I was supposedly banging my doors the gaurd had passed me out running thankfully...!! How did yours start?

Mine was just constant parties at the weekend, and the stereo hammering through my walls all day and night, the tenants and their friends laughed 1 time the guards came up, they know the law can't touch them, there is no law anymore in this country with reduced forces,etc
    My neighbours friends even threatened me, telling me I better stop complaining and if I had a problem I should pay a couple of grand to sound proof my walls

But there are laws. Re noise, re crimes.

There has to be a way to deal with this, there really has to be. It is happening time after time to too many people.

We have had endless trouble here with the old man next door who made out that he had a right of way through the garden here. We had no idea re this else we would not have moved in. We needed a very quiet secluded place with no neighbours!

Criminal damage, attempted assault time after time and the Guards useless and making empty promises, YOU know.

Now at the slightest sign of trouble, I write to the Chief Superintendant; posting a letter today in fact

There is a formal complaints procedure in the Gardai set up and an Ombudsman over that. See their web site...

Try that; that Superintendant is not telling truth. They seem to do and say anything to avoid work or involvement.

Make a formal complaint; no emotion, facts.

I know there names alright so does everyone else in the town "for the wrong reasons"!! You'd also need to ask questions when you see him outside in the lashing rain with a sweeping brush - sweeping the grass!!!

We had one once who cut an entire hay field with a small strimmer!

Was this full moon time?

Thanks for your replies..I have spoken to the superintendent who told me a few weeks ago it was more a civil case rather than criminal..my solicitor got back to him saying damage to my property is criminal..unless I have someway of tracking down the landlords address in Australia there's basically not a lot the prtb can do..

This is ridiculous! Not you; the Gardai.

I had this years ago before I realised what went on in Ireland... An abusive farmer neighbour... same as here! "well, that would mean going to court and then just your word against his..." I was naive in those days

We did take him to court, where he abused the judge and got heavily fined... I sold up later for many reasons, and he attackd the buyers who called the Gardai.. it emerged then that he had a record of this kind of thing which the Gardai of course knew. Lost track after that when we got embroiled here.

NB here is sorted for the time being; any time that old man comes near, we call the Gards.. pester power! Or rather write to the Chief Superintendant.

You can demand that charges be pressed. Or take a smalls claim action.

Pitbulls eh? Are they neglected in any way? RB dogs....

Oh doom Iv plenty "nice" neighbours who will go as witnesses...looks like il be ratting on a few people tomorrow ;) thanks for all the replies guys...much appreciated

Go for it... Bullies are always cowards

Remembering something that has been mentioned a few times; is not the tenant supposed to pay 20% of the rent to the tax people if the landlord is overseas? Can someone in the know re this explain, please?

At present the mother pockets the rent? Interesting.... If she is sending it to the ll she of course has his address.

Tax people will be very interested surely....

Im lucky in that there's no parties (they do have 2 young kids) but I can be woken anytime during the night by what sounds like a football hopping off the otherside of my bedroom wall this has often went on for 2 hours..you'd wonder how people get enjoyment from this!! I never react to them though when they shout at me I just completely blank it out & pretend there not there..wouldn't mind but when I was buying the house I paid a bit extra for a house in this estate as its known to be one of the better estates in the area - small & quiet (there's even 7 gaurds living in here) what a mistake I made..have the gaurds gotten asbos against your neighbours??

Graces7 I had read something about the tenants having to withhold 20%..must ring revenue today I'm hoping they'll be interested to hear the story...the mother told me at the start she was so sorry noone should have to live like that shel get them out straight away was horrified it was going on etc..etc..the truth was she couldn't care less as I said previously there the perfect tenants keep the house very well & pay the rent so that's all that interests her...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭cookie1977

Graces7 I had read something about the tenants having to withhold 20%..must ring revenue today I'm hoping they'll be interested to hear the story...the mother told me at the start she was so sorry noone should have to live like that shel get them out straight away was horrified it was going on etc..etc..the truth was she couldn't care less as I said previously there the perfect tenants keep the house very well & pay the rent so that's all that interests her...

That's correct. The tenants are liable for the tax due on the rental income if the owner is abroad. They withhold some of the rent.

http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/it/leaflets/res1.html
    I intend to let my home while I am abroad. Will I have a liability to Irish tax on the rental income?
    Regardless of your residence status, you will have a liability to Irish tax on the rent you receive from letting your home. If you do not appoint an agent to collect your rent while you are non-resident, your tenant is obliged to deduct an amount equal to the standard rate of income tax (currently 20%) from the rent payable to you and remit this amount to Revenue.

For details as to how any income tax due should be paid please contact your local Revenue Office. Please also refer to Revenue leaflet IT70 - A Revenue Guide to Rental Income.

Graces7 wrote: »
    This is ridiculous! Not you; the Gardai.

I had this years ago before I realised what went on in Ireland... An abusive farmer neighbour... same as here! "well, that would mean going to court and then just your word against his..." I was naive in those days

We did take him to court, where he abused the judge and got heavily fined... I sold up later for many reasons, and he attackd the buyers who called the Gardai.. it emerged then that he had a record of this kind of thing which the Gardai of course knew. Lost track after that when we got embroiled here.

NB here is sorted for the time being; any time that old man comes near, we call the Gards.. pester power! Or rather write to the Chief Superintendant.

You can demand that charges be pressed. Or take a smalls claim action.

Pitbulls eh? Are they neglected in any way? RB dogs....

The poor pitbulls are totally neglected, there just there for breeding purposes and just sit in a little patch of the garden all day everyday and never get walked or petted...disgraceful, a garde in the estate did mention to me he was going to report them but he said he cant now cos il get blamed!!!!! Im just too quiet for them all anyways i should really be making a scene, iv been told i should sit down the station and demand to see the superintendent and not leave till i do...but im not one to make a scene though another gaurde told me i should be making a bit of a nuisance of myself, but i dont really want it to come to that...

Im lucky in that there's no parties (they do have 2 young kids) but I can be woken anytime during the night by what sounds like a football hopping off the otherside of my bedroom wall this has often went on for 2 hours..you'd wonder how people get enjoyment from this!! I never react to them though when they shout at me I just completely blank it out & pretend there not there..wouldn't mind but when I was buying the house I paid a bit extra for a house in this estate as its known to be one of the better estates in the area - small & quiet (there's even 7 gaurds living in here) what a mistake I made..have the gaurds gotten asbos against your neighbours??

Not sure; the man is over 80 so we have always said we do not want im arrested etc. He is half a mile away by the way! A great walker.. He once threatened me with his crutch then attacked my dog with it . Then went to the landlord and said my dog had attacked him...His last major visit was a year ago when I came home to find the large metal gate smashed down, gas bottle thrown around, garden furntiure smashed..Oh and the ll saw he had "done his toilet" by the gate.. several times!

The guards went round to him and I heard via the grapevine that he had threatened to kill them and raised hs fists to them and they will not allow that!!!

When he started again a while back I wrote to the CHIEF Superintendant and it was stopped.

But we are detached and isolated here not like you.

The poor pitbulls are totally neglected, there just there for breeding purposes and just sit in a little patch of the garden all day everyday and never get walked or petted...disgraceful, a garde in the estate did mention to me he was going to report them but he said he cant now cos il get blamed!!!!! Im just too quiet for them all anyways i should really be making a scene, iv been told i should sit down the station and demand to see the superintendent and not leave till i do...but im not one to make a scene though another gaurde told me i should be making a bit of a nuisance of myself, but i dont really want it to come to that...

But this is the only way. I do it all by letters; they have to respond you see. I am disabled and cannot visit the Gardai etc much but a letter to the Chief works well.

And it has already come to that and these will take advantage of you .

[/B]

Not sure; the man is over 80 so we have always said we do not want im arrested etc. He is half a mile away by the way! A great walker.. He once threatened me with his crutch then attacked my dog with it . Then went to the landlord and said my dog had attacked him...His last major visit was a year ago when I came home to find the large metal gate smashed down, gas bottle thrown around, garden furntiure smashed..Oh and the ll saw he had "done his toilet" by the gate.. several times!

The guards went round to him and I heard via the grapevine that he had threatened to kill them and raised hs fists to them and they will not allow that!!!

When he started again a while back I wrote to the CHIEF Superintendant and it was stopped.

But we are detached and isolated here not like you.

oh graces7 thats awful, he sounds more of a nightmare than mine, i thought living in the country you would have no problems, then again im very naive i grew up in the country, when i bought my house i was living in this bubble world where all neighbours got on - i wasnt long finding out the hard way, saying that the other neighbours are all lovely and iv made great friends there. Cant believe your neighbours in his 80s and lives half a mile away and still bothers you - you do wonder what goes through these peoples minds have they nothing better to do...

so i rang the PRTB this morning, and basically they told me that because the landlord isnt in the country - nothing they can do about it, wouldnt give you much faith in the PRTB, i also rang revenue so they told me send in the details...

oh graces7 thats awful, he sounds more of a nightmare than mine, i thought living in the country you would have no problems, then again im very naive i grew up in the country, when i bought my house i was living in this bubble world where all neighbours got on - i wasnt long finding out the hard way, saying that the other neighbours are all lovely and iv made great friends there. Cant believe your neighbours in his 80s and lives half a mile away and still bothers you - you do wonder what goes through these peoples minds have they nothing better to do...

Worry not; there is a whole generation of old batchelors in rural areas in Ireland who cause a lot of this kind of trouble. The worst is over here thankfully and at least we have no neighbours as you do. He has been terrible to others here too... so they all know him now. Our ll speaks broad dialect and every time he mentions the old man, I cannot tell a word he says apart from BLAGGARD or BASTARD at the end of each sentence. :)

And now I understand what is going on with these old ones. A couple of weeks ago he once again tried to connect our gate to the electric fence ( a favourite trick ) then one day attacked the gate with is stick, so I called in at the gardai... then wrote to the Chief, and got him stopped; it is called pester power with the gardai..Only thing that works.

Now I am fighting the local crowbanger the same way; they set it off as a game all night up the road. Letter to the Chief went today... Tried everything else... we shall see...

And no the country is not quiet...lol! But we live avery quiet and isolated life by choice for health and other reasons so we do not mix at all locally; few houses anyways... The old man came as quite a shock!

You just need support and the know how to deal with this, and yes, wonderful that you do have good neighbours. Rural folk are very clannish...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

polly, if the Gardai are telling you that you need to make a nuisance of yourself to their superiors in order to get anything done, perhaps you should listen to them.

You've said you're not one for making a scene, but this is your home & your life that we are all discussing here. If you wont fight for it, then why do you expect someone else to do it for you? The authorities should all be jumping through hoops chasing this for you, but they aren't, and they wont, unfortunately it seems, until you scream loudly enough that they get a constant headache from you and it's in their "own best interest" to perhaps actually do their jobs ...

As for the tax thing, chase that like a dog with a bone. If there is anybody that can make others jump whilst asking "how high?" it's the revenue commissioners. They have a large amount of power, they know how to wield it, and are not afraid to wield it or make other departments get off their @rses in order to wield that power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

the ptrb are useless a simple case of a landlord withholding a deposit took 2 years to sort, my sympathies lie with you op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Tillo

I'd have a male relative call to the landlords mother and say her son owes him money and he wants his phone number or address or there will be serious trouble. Then give her a taste of the medicine you've been taking for a few years. That should bring her around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Threatening old ladies just isn't cool.

OP - you're doing the right thing. I would be on to Revenue, and keep hounding them.

Is there any chance you could take legal action against the landlord?

If you have any unemployed friends or ones on holiday, spend 10 mins each hour blasting music straight through their wall and bounce balls off it for a day or two.
    A group of men visiting them would do the trick too.
    What area are you in? We could get a load of boardsies to call/email the guards as friends encouraging them to resolve the situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Tillo

OP - you're doing the right thing. I would be on to Revenue, and keep hounding them.

Is her behaviour 'cool'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Tillo wrote: »
    Is her behavior 'cool'

No, it isn't. But threatening old ladies is just not on, no matter what she's done. Two wrongs don't make a right.

OP should just report them to Revenue, and let them and karma take care of the rest!

No, it isn't. But threatening old ladies is just not on, no matter what she's done. Two wrongs don't make a right.

OP should just report them to Revenue, and let them and karma take care of the rest!

There was no threat of violence etc; simply standing up to her is all.

No such thing as karma; we get what we work for and pay for.

Ireland is where ireland is because of this attitude of oh well, let it happen. No matter how folk are suffering a s long as it isn;t me..

This is what the Garda do too of course.

Would love to see how you would react to this situation in reality.
    NB I am an old lady and I get threatened too; this one is shielding a son by not divulging his whereabouts, helping him avoid paying tax and abetting suffering.

If I did that at any age I would expect recriminations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭okiss

I would keep ringing the local guards station and tell them you will continue to contact them until they do something about this. Ask for the persons name that you speak to and keep sending registered letters to the super in your area also giving the date, time and name of the person you spoke to in the local station.
    If you keep ringing them they will get sick of you and do something about this.
    I would keep ringing the landlords mother on a regular basis when next door kick off. Ring her a few times in the middle of the night and tell her that if you have to put up with next door keeping your awake it only fair she should have this also.
    Tell her I can't understand how you get the rent on your sons house but you don't where he is. Tell her as she is unwilling to help you that you will be contacting the revenue about the house within the next month unless the renters start to behave.

Lemming wrote: »
    polly, if the Gardai are telling you that you need to make a nuisance of yourself to their superiors in order to get anything done, perhaps you should listen to them.

You've said you're not one for making a scene, but this is your home & your life that we are all discussing here. If you wont fight for it, then why do you expect someone else to do it for you? The authorities should all be jumping through hoops chasing this for you, but they aren't, and they wont, unfortunately it seems, until you scream loudly enough that they get a constant headache from you and it's in their "own best interest" to perhaps actually do their jobs ...

As for the tax thing, chase that like a dog with a bone. If there is anybody that can make others jump whilst asking "how high?" it's the revenue commissioners. They have a large amount of power, they know how to wield it, and are not afraid to wield it or make other departments get off their @rses in order to wield that power.

Thanks Lemming, i do think il have to start making a bit of a nuisance alright and the gaurd probably made the mistake of giving me his mobile number as he said i could ring him off duty...he may be eating his words yet :eek:...iv all details posted to the revenue so hopefully that will get something moving on that end

dharn wrote: »
    the ptrb are useless a simple case of a landlord withholding a deposit took 2 years to sort, my sympathies lie with you op

il have to agree with you dharn, the prtb dont seem to know how to handly if they have an unregistered landlord out of the country......

iv been to my solicitor but he seemed to want to get the gardai to sort it, also i dont want it ending up costing me a fortune, bad enough having to put up cctv cameras around my house.......

il have to agree with you dharn, the prtb dont seem to know how to handly if they have an unregistered landlord out of the country......

The rental system in Ireland is in such a diablolical mess and the legislation still new and PTRB are overwhelmed and relatively inexperienced still

And they have no jurisdiction over anyone living overseas; that needs extradition for any purpose. Not PTRBs fault.

There was no threat of violence etc; simply standing up to her is all.

No such thing as karma; we get what we work for and pay for.

Ireland is where ireland is because of this attitude of oh well, let it happen. No matter how folk are suffering a s long as it isn;t me..

This is what the Garda do too of course.

Would love to see how you would react to this situation in reality.
    NB I am an old lady and I get threatened too; this one is shielding a son by not divulging his whereabouts, helping him avoid paying tax and abetting suffering.

If I did that at any age I would expect recriminations.

I agree with you Graces7, the Gardai told me at the start 'its a big wheel, it will turn for them yet...' hello, its a pretty slow wheel must be stuck somewhere.....

iv been to my solicitor but he seemed to want to get the gardai to sort it, also i dont want it ending up costing me a fortune, bad enough having to put up cctv cameras around my house.......

Have you been to Citizen;s Info?

You can get free or aided legal advice there, and they know the system all round. It was they who sorted my RA mess after 7 months and helped me get the back money also.

Use the gardai complaints procedure also; and then the Ombudsman is there also...

Again Cit Info will advise.

We thought re sensor lights etc, but this old one would enjoy them too much! He is seeking attention!

And yes, pester and pester and pester.

okiss wrote: »
    I would keep ringing the local guards station and tell them you will continue to contact them until they do something about this. Ask for the persons name that you speak to and keep sending registered letters to the super in your area also giving the date, time and name of the person you spoke to in the local station.
    If you keep ringing them they will get sick of you and do something about this.
    I would keep ringing the landlords mother on a regular basis when next door kick off. Ring her a few times in the middle of the night and tell her that if you have to put up with next door keeping your awake it only fair she should have this also.
    Tell her I can't understand how you get the rent on your sons house but you don't where he is. Tell her as she is unwilling to help you that you will be contacting the revenue about the house within the next month unless the renters start to behave.

Okiss, really like your suggestion of ringing the landlord every time iv hassle, im sure shed get sick of being woken during the night but as you say if they keep me awake then its only fair she should be too...i also have her mobile and landline so therel be no escaping me :D

Have you been to Citizen;s Info?

You can get free or aided legal advice there, and they know the system all round. It was they who sorted my RA mess after 7 months and helped me get the back money also.

Use the gardai complaints procedure also; and then the Ombudsman is there also...

Again Cit Info will advise.

We thought re sensor lights etc, but this old one would enjoy them too much! He is seeking attention!

And yes, pester and pester and pester.

Thanks Graces7 had thought of Citizens info but have not rang them as yet..will do it straight away :)