Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Borris House Game Fair

• 30-07-2012 1:54pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46

Hi lads i am going to Borris House show this weekend (trade stand)
    my question is can anyone tell me roughly how long it will take driving
    down from the Ferry port at Larne ,Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

decoyer wrote: »
    Hi lads i am going to Borris House show this weekend (trade stand)
    my question is can anyone tell me roughly how long it will take driving
    down from the Ferry port at Larne ,Thanks in advance

Bout 3 hr 30 mins , might bump into ya I'm down with the club running the retriver working test on Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

You are looking at a good 3 and a half hours.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 decoyer

Cheers lads many thanks for the replies
    Dont know where the stand is exactly but we are selling a bit of everything
    for Ferreting ,Gundogs,Clothing,Pigeon Decoying and more
    Anyone on the forum pop in for a bit of craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

We'll be down for the 2 days bound to bump into ya at some stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

I cant wait for the fair.it'll be nice having it up the road.it sickens me going over the slieve blooms and knowing i cant shoot it!is there clay shooting does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

It's not too far from me, is it worth a visit. I've never been to one of these fairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

where is this exactly? and what are the days? thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Oh and whats the stand name?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

It's not too far from me, is it worth a visit. I've never been to one of these fairs
    worth a look if its near ya its a new one so have to wait and see does anyone know if its connected to the moira fair

dicky82 wrote: »

http://www.nationalcountryfair.ie/

it not a new fair , it has moved from ballinlough to borris house because carlow made them an offer they couldn refuse , where they were getting no help from westmeath county council at all .

and is the sister fair to moira .

dicky82 wrote: »

borris house borris co carlow saturday and sunday this weekend

http://www.nationalcountryfair.ie/retrievers

nice little mention about our club here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

I might head down to this myself on Sunday. Was never at it before and might be something different to Birr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

any1 on here going this saturday morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Boiled-egg

Yep, lookin forward to it, haven't been before. Thinking of bringing the gun for a crack at the clays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Stonehall9

I'm headin down to it, bringin herself and my 5 month old youngfella!! Just wondering if the ground would be suitable to bring a buggy????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭beretta firearm

ye i am il probly bring the dog along too.il be looking to get a bit of decoying kit so should be good.

Stonehall9 wrote: »
    I'm headin down to it, bringin herself and my 5 month old youngfella!! Just wondering if the ground would be suitable to bring a buggy????

What day ya thinking our lads will be down sat so I can report back if needs be
    Or stick him in a back pack lol.

TriggerPL wrote: »

What day ya thinking our lads will be down sat so I can report back if needs be
    Or stick him in a back pack lol.
    Headin Saturday as it's suppose to be the better of the two weather wise, ( have a nights lampin on sunday!!) herself has one of those carry things but I'm not haulin that buster round all day and I lookin like a Chinese tourist ha ha!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

ask homerhop, he was going down today to set up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

ya it shouldnt be to bad id say id say they have it well set up over there:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭lucky john

I would be interested in any reports back from the weekend. Wasn't that impressed with the few years in Ballinlough but maybe this will be a step up. The weather ruined Shanes Castle this year (I had a Trade stand there) so opted to do Birr again. It was very good last year.

ground is fairly good, as long as it isnt a buggy with them tiny wheels you will be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

This still going ahead? Plenty of heavy rain on the other side of the blackstairs. :(
    Hope it is as its nice to have something on fairly close for a change.

whats the names of all yer stalls lads will be there sat would like to pay a visit to anyone from boards who trading

homerhop wrote: »
    ground is fairly good, as long as it isnt a buggy with them tiny wheels you will be grand.
    Thanks for that homer, whats your stall and il pop in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

This still going ahead? Plenty of heavy rain on the other side of the blackstairs. :(
    Hope it is as its nice to have something on fairly close for a change.

I hope the site has good drainage as its about to be hammered by an evening of thunderstorms - with tomorrow promising a repeat performance:(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭LetFly

I am hoping to be there tomorrow. Chancing me arm in the Spaniel Working Test in the afternoon :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

hope to get over on sunday if i can sort the disco out tomorrow shes been outta action for the last few days:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

Myself and 2 of the shooting buddies are going tomorrow. Must try pick up a pair of muck boots & and a good pair of waterproof pants.

Shoot2kill wrote: »
    Myself and 2 of the shooting buddies are going tomorrow. Must try pick up a pair of muck boots & and a good pair of waterproof pants.

ul have to weara pair there buy the look of it !:D

borris.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭fiestaman

Down ere in borris the last hour i havnt seen rain like it. Drove into park and didnt get out. Field is going to b tidy id say later. I drove out and down town now atein breakfast, dunno wheather to go back yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

fiestaman wrote: »
    Down ere in borris the last hour i havnt seen rain like it. Drove into park and didnt get out. Field is going to b tidy id say later. I drove out and down town now atein breakfast, dunno wheather to go back yet.
    Might as well head to the pub,don't want to waste the day :D

Spunk84 wrote: »
    Might as well head to the pub,don't want to waste the day :D

how did it go lads im going tomarrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭IIIAcHmEdIII

just back from it there and if your going tomorrow you will need wellies... boots wont do with the amount of mud i seen today and i can only imagine it getting worse. good turn out today and a good few stands on display.

Talk about rain this morning, thought it would never stop. People came in waves so to speak and despite all the mud seemed to be people on the go all day. Had great fun with kids coming and going all day.

really enjoyed in in spite of the rain the kids loved the mess

Anybody try the clays?

Am tempted to bring the shotty tomorrow and dust off the cobwebs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭fiestaman

Yea bring wellies, i seen people with shoes,knocked off by. I got a few bits, got 3 slip leads for E10 down beside carlow regional game tent, lad has white beard nice few bits there. Not much fishing stuff though. I parked on the street jus opposite the entrance off the street. Alot handier than parking in that field, no thanks. All n all a good day had for E15.

IMAG0419.jpg

IMAG0420.jpg

dev110 wrote: »
    Anybody try the clays?

Am tempted to bring the shotty tomorrow and dust off the cobwebs.
    Your rifle is looking well there

You have lost me Homer. Looking well where?

thanks for the heads up.wellies coming out tommorrow:(

dev110 wrote: »
    You have lost me Homer. Looking well where?
    My mistake dev wrong rifle, if you are down tomorrow you will understand ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

Yea bring wellies, i seen people with shoes,knocked off by. I got a few bits, got 3 slip leads for E10 down beside carlow regional game tent, lad has white beard nice few bits there. Not much fishing stuff though. I parked on the street jus opposite the entrance off the street. Alot handier than parking in that field, no thanks. All n all a good day had for E15.

IMAG0419.jpg

IMAG0420.jpg

jesus two brollies gocko you must be really expecting rain ;)

Il be knocking round the the Labrador working test tomorrow Guy ya will see the mohill gundog clubs sign . Come over and say hi !

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Il be knocking round the the Labrador working test tomorrow Guy ya will see the mohill gundog clubs sign . Come over and say hi !

will do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭driller2

well lads i was down yesterday .i pick up a small gun camera for 50 euro .it will record for a 1 hour or so and the picture is very goog.its about the size of a keyfob for a car.perfect for mounting on a hat.also got muckboots happy
    out:)

driller2 wrote: »
    well lads i was down yesterday .i pick up a small gun camera for 50 euro .it will record for a 1 hour or so and the picture is very goog.its about the size of a keyfob for a car.perfect for mounting on a hat.also got muckboots happy
    out:)

Just seen them there brillent quility !

Weather is great today for anyone close by!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭AL 555

Picture from the parking area as I was leaving very heavy rainfall for 10/15 minutes just before 5pm, I'd say a fair few cars got stuck... Had a good afternoon down there.
    6fd67eb7.jpg

Had a good day down there. It was a roaster and having to carry a jacket while waiting for the rain that never came was a killer.

I enjoyed the clays. Was a nice layout but was deceiving. Got 37/50 which I was happy with after not using the shotgun in months.