Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donegal vs. Kerry All Ireland SFC Quarter Final

• 28-07-2012 7:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭

Sunday 5th August 4pm Throw In

Probably the tie of the round. How do you see this one going?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,010 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Close, but I reckon Donegal have the ability and game plan to come through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭uriah

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Close, but I reckon Donegal have the ability and game plan to come through.

I agree. Will not be pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭henke

Donegal have been more attack minded this year but I can see them going more defensive for this one. I think its gonna be a tall order for us but you never know on the day.

Anyone know are dates and times announced tonight? I'm guessing this is going to the main match on RTÉ on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Arguably the two best teams in the country at the moment. Shame this match has to happen so early, could have made an excellent final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

As a Kerryman I was hoping for this draw.

Kerry have the two attributes to beat Donegal-Quick Ball into the forwards and forwards able to score outside the 40.

Kerry will pick them off with 5/6 to spare.

Anyone believing the hype about a Donegal team that ran up a good score in the Ulster final is delusional. Donegal are building. Kerry are the finished article.

PLUS the benefit of Dublin in the semi and Cork in the final.

Then Tomas and a lot of senior players can retire with dignity and no teams left behind.

Delighted.

If Kerry lose, fair play to Donegal but I can only see one winner here. The hype will be found out or justified either way

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,010 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Kerry have the two attributes to beat Donegal-Quick Ball into the forwards and forwards able to score outside the 40.

Anyone believing the hype about a Donegal team that ran up a good score in the Ulster final is delusional. Donegal are building. Kerry are the finished article.

Then Tomas and a lot of senior players can retire with dignity and no teams left behind.

Delighted.

If Kerry lose, fair play to Donegal but I can only see one winner here. The hype will be found out or justified either way

The other way around is the only possibility of playing both Cork and Dublin I think.

Delighted.

To be fair a lot of the hype is coming from outside the county. I was at the Ulster final last week and on the first half showing Donegal have no chance. Also, we only beat Tyrone by 2 points while you's hammered them. I don't believe anyone in this county believes the hype. We are improved on last year and this is the ultimate test for us. If we win we will deserve it. Whatever happens I fully expect us to give you a game that is assured.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    The other way around is the only possibility of playing both Cork and Dublin I think.

I stand corrected-thank you.

Same scenario in either event.

Kerry need an incentive to perform.

Training will be epic from now on.

Best of luck to them all.

Kerry are a bridge to far this year imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

Never thought I would see the day so soon, where Donegal are playing Kerry at Croker and people are finding it a tough one to call..

Keep up the good work Jim..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭68Murph68

Downlinz wrote: »
    Arguably the two best teams in the country at the moment. Shame this match has to happen so early, could have made an excellent final.

On what basis would you call Donegal one of the best two teams in the country?

Can you explain how you would rank them ahead of Dublin and Cork - both of whom have actually won an All-Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

henke wrote: »

Delighted.

To be fair a lot of the hype is coming from outside the county. I was at the Ulster final last week and on the first half showing Donegal have no chance. Also, we only beat Tyrone by 2 points while you's hammered them. I don't believe anyone in this county believes the hype. We are improved on last year and this is the ultimate test for us. If we win we will deserve it. Whatever happens I fully expect us to give you a game that is assured.

When and where?

Mr Jinx wrote: »
    When and where?

Maybe I being stupid here, but when and where what? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭RealityCheck

The other question is how good are Kerry?

Some of the younger lads like O'Donoghue appear to be showing well along side the other heads. The question is can they sustain it?

I don't think Donegal are that far behind. If I were Kerry I'd still be very wary of the northern type teams and especially Jim McGuinness. He strikes me as a wily fox, much like Harte was in the 00's. Donegal won't fear Kerry and I think they may topple them.

The other question is how good are Kerry?

Some of the younger lads like O'Donoghue appear to be showing well along side the other heads. The question is can they sustain it?

I don't think Donegal are that far behind. If I were Kerry I'd still be very wary of the northern type teams and especially Jim McGuinness. He strikes me as a wily fox, much like Harte was in the 00's. Donegal won't fear Kerry and I think they may topple them.

RealityCheck

^^^^^^^^That is all

RealityCheck

^^^^^^^^That is all

Is that supposed to mean something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

henke wrote: »
    When and where?

Maybe I being stupid here, but when and where what? :confused:
    The fixture?
    :-)

The fixture?
    :-)

Next weekend at Croker. Dates and times yet to be announced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,743 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

This will really tell us where Donegal are at.

I agree that if they go with an all out defensive tact, that the apparently no longer rely on, Kerry will just kick the ball over it.

Should be interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭robbiezero

68Murph68 wrote: »

Can you explain how you would rank them ahead of Dublin and Cork - both of whom have actually won an All-Ireland?

They are the 3rd and 4th best teams in the country at the moment. The game between them will decide which of them is 3rd.

robbiezero wrote: »

They are the 3rd and 4th best teams in the country at the moment. The game between them will decide which of them is 3rd.

That's not an explanation at all.

Dublin are reigning All Ireland Champions. Cork are the former all Ireland champions and consecutive national league champions. Donegal are........? Kerry are undeniably a top team but have already lost to Cork this year in the Championship but Kerry are still better??

If Kerry beat them next weekend, they will undoubtedly be the 3rd team in the country, ditto Donegal.
    At the moment who cares which of them is 3rd or 4th, good argument to made for both. Donegal are double Ulster champs, Kerry hammered a team Donegal struggled to beat and Donegal yet to beat one of the top 3.

I am talking about Kerry and Donegal. Cork and Dublin at the moment are the top 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 gally87

RealityCheck

^^^^^^^^That is all

Stereotypical Kerry cockiness. Cannot wait until we stick it where the sun don't shine next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

I suppose Dublin are in the top somewhere but I think that's because they won it last year. Not sure where you'd place them this year.

Neeson wrote: »
    I suppose Dublin are in the top somewhere but I think that's because they won it last year. Not sure where you'd place them this year.

Ya, they have not been impressive this year so far, but have done enough and will improve and with the 2 brogans fit and connolly back from suspension, they will take serious beating.

gally87 wrote: »
    Stereotypical Kerry cockiness. Cannot wait until we stick it where the sun don't shine next weekend.

Ah in fairness they're not all like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Felexicon

I wouldn't agree that Dublin and Cork are the 2 best teams in the country at the moment. Dublin have yet to put in a big performance this year. They weren't asked any questions by Louth, could have and maybe should have been beaten by Wexford and beat a young Meath team, who were relegated to Div 3 by only 3 points. Likewise, Cork beat a Kerry side who had no interest on the day and then were fairly average against a poor Clare side.
    Whereas in the last couple of weeks Kerry and Donegal have shown signs of massive improvement in wins over Tyrone and Down.
    I don't really think there's that much between the 4 of them tbh and an argument could be made for any of them being ranked number 1 in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Bring it on. All I know is we have 37 All Irelands between us :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭overshoot

a lot is being made of the way kerry dispatched tyrone but i think tyrone were really aiming for donegal this year,(and kerry really wanted tyrone) losing that game dispelled any notion that they were still ulsters no1, turning around from that is probably as bad as losing the final itself. however of course kerry in croker is still going to be a step up, they become a animal when they get that far... im just saying reading into the score difference the 2 tyrone games may not be really accurate

seen a few say donegal should have relaxed a bit against down and not run up such a score to dampen expecation but ruthlessness is something we have badly missed, we needed it to really bring on that edge, may make other teams more aware of us but we needed it for ourselves.

also people saying about kerry shooting from 40 meters... have you seen donegal play this year? you are going to be crowed out from your own half back line... if you move up the defence will fall back too but it a long way from the defensive system of last year where we fell back to our 40metres and put up a wall

cant wait for this though will really show us where we are. if we do what we have done so far, sound them out, contain them and are within a point or 2 at half time, then i think we can kick on and win in the second half.... if we dont contain them well.... kerry will want to make sure they dont have another bogey ulster team on their radar

edit-actually whats the case with galvin? was it 2 yellows or straight red, only listened in the radio and seemed a bit unsure... he would be a big loss to kerry... but not as big as neil gallagher to us if he doesnt get fully fit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

as a dub id much rather be playing donegal than kerry so hopefully kerry get knocked out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

overshoot wrote: »

edit-actually whats the case with galvin? was it 2 yellows or straight red, only listened in the radio and seemed a bit unsure... he would be a big loss to kerry... but not as big as neil gallagher to us if he doesnt get fully fit

2 yellows, RTE got it wrong. I doubt Gallagher will be ready as the press were saying 4 weeks or so last week. McGuinness did say he was progressing well, but I doubt he'd be even ready for a sub appearance.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

smashey wrote: »
    Bring it on. All I know is we have 37 All Irelands between us :)

38, Kerry have one hurling also ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Can see us destroying donegal, they aint a big match team very lightweight up front, all defence not a clue up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Kevwoody

Kayroo wrote: »
    robbiezero wrote: »

Donegal are Ulster Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭elguapo

overshoot wrote: »

Was listening on Clare FM (commentary brought to us courtesy of Clare Fruit&Veg), and they reckoned it was 2 yellows. Hope that's the case, he'll be badly needed next week.

Having said that, it's ridiculous that a guy can get sent off but be eligible for the following game.

liam7831 wrote: »
    Can see us destroying donegal, they aint a big match team very lightweight up front, all defence not a clue up front.
    Lol!!!!!!!
    Obvious wind up is obvious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 eastmeathroyal

That post is terribly inaccurate. They racked up a huge score in the Ulster final and likewise against Cavan, Derry and Tyrone. They are so much better than last year it's not even funny. They would eat the dubs alive if they met them again. I hope it's a Donegal/Cork semi. That would be some clash. Cork/Kerry would be good but I'm sick of those 2 by now. Time for some new match ups.

I can't remember an all-ireland where so many teams could win it. It's so hard to call between Cork, Kerry, Donegal, Dublin, Mayo and then you have Down and Kildare as dark horses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

I can't remember an all-ireland where so many teams could win it. It's so hard to call between Cork, Kerry, Donegal, Dublin, Mayo and then you have Down and Kildare as dark horses.

And yet i think its as straight forward as ever. Dublin, Cork or Kerry.

I'm amazed at the faith the average joe has in Donegal. They aren't as negative as they were last year and they've a few top players but until they beat Dublin, Cork or Kerry i put them in the same boat as Kildare. Physical, work hard, hard to beat, but are beaten.

Kerry in Croke Park in an AI quarter are a huge step up from anything they've faced in Ulster so far. I'd be surprised but delighted if they win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

When you have 8, then 9, then 11 different scorers from all over the pitch, scorers up front is an irrelevant point, saying they are all defence is a rather redundant view. This is Tyrone 08 all over again.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

corny wrote: »
    And yet i think its as straight forward as ever. Dublin, Cork or Kerry.

I'm amazed at the faith the average joe has in Donegal. They aren't as negative as they were last year and they've a few top players but until they beat Dublin, Cork or Kerry i put them in the same boat as Kildare. Physical, work hard, hard to beat, but are beaten.

Kerry in Croke Park in an AI quarter are a huge step up from anything they've faced in Ulster so far. I'd be surprised but delighted if they win.
    What makes you think you know more than the average joe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

That post is terribly inaccurate. They racked up a huge score in the Ulster final and likewise against Cavan, Derry and Tyrone. They are so much better than last year it's not even funny. They would eat the dubs alive if they met them again. I hope it's a Donegal/Cork semi. That would be some clash. Cork/Kerry would be good but I'm sick of those 2 by now. Time for some new match ups.

Well fortunately for Donegal that game wont be happening this year ;) so we will never know :)

If Kerry win the All Ireland from this position, it would be one of their greatest achievements. They will likely have to beat 3 of the top 4 teams to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭jimmy the car

I find this one very hard to call, Kerry was the one team last night I didn't want, but now we have them, and all can hope for is we don't turn to the tactics of last years AI semi which we could have won with a bit more positive football. I don't think Frank McGlynn will get the chance to have the freedom he had in the Ulster final and murphy will definitely need to drop back more to get the breaking ball in midfield, it just depends what kind of space Mark McHugh can get in the half forward line and get quick ball into the forwrd and take scores himself too. Having not seen Kerry too much this year can't really comment on them outside the household names that we all know, think it's going to be a very cagey first 15/20 mins till both teams suss each other out and hopefully will open up after that into the kind of game we all think is gonig to happen....head says Kerry by 1 or 2, heart says Donegal by same margin. P. Spillane is prob planning for Cork already ;)

I can't remember an all-ireland where so many teams could win it. It's so hard to call between Cork, Kerry, Donegal, Dublin, Mayo and then you have Down and Kildare as dark horses.[/QUOTE]

Get real, down and kildare as dark horses what have you been watching all year??

More than you I'd imagine. Are you planning to continue with these one line posts for the rest of the week or are you going to actually give a detailed opinion of why you think Kerry will destroy Donegal, why you see Donegal being lightwieght up front and why Kildare and Down have no chance of winning Sam.

I really cannot see why People think Donegal have a crack at this.

Donegal have won nothing. They put two Ulster titles back to back when Northern football is waning.

They scraped over the line beating Tyrone to do it.

Kerry destroyed Tyrone. Ten points.

Kerry have been here before and will play fast accurate ball into the forwards including Donaghy.

I just rewatched the Tyrone game and it struck me how quickly Kerry move the ball. Time and time again Trone bunched defenders and kerry just sprayed it around.

Donegal have to believe but I don't believe the hype. Kerry by 5/6 minimum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭AllyMcFearless

Definitely an interesting draw. Donegal have improved lots this year, and I think they have it in them to give Kerry a run for their money. As long as Cooper and O'Sullivan are kept quiet and the forward line, especially Murphy, need to be on their game.

Ulster football is extremely weak at the moment and very cynical. Tyrone have been carrying the province for ten years and they currently in transition hence why a weak donegal team seem to look a lot better than they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

Ulster football is extremely weak at the moment and very cynical. Tyrone have been carrying the province for ten years and they currently in transition hence why a weak donegal team seem to look a lot better than they are.

Ye, no point in us going up, may as well stay at home:rolleyes:

Felexicon wrote: »
    More than you I'd imagine. Are you planning to continue with these one line posts for the rest of the week or are you going to actually give a detailed opinion of why you think Kerry will destroy Donegal, why you see Donegal being lightwieght up front and why Kildare and Down have no chance of winning Sam.

How could you possibly give Down a chance of winning Sam?
    Very average side.

Would expect Cork to beat Kildare comfortably enough also.