Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

pigeon recon

• 26-07-2012 5:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭

well lads getting to that time of year again maybe lads already shooting,but i was out on some of my land today drove around to different spots for couple of hours but no pigeons or crows attacking yet am i too early or would the barley and wheat and the like be to wet for them at the momment as this time last year i was hot and heavy into it
    thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭steyrman

lot of birds on oats atm but if there is lodged barley or wheat around the will be on it i did see a field of barley cut down in cork yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭scuttlebutt

My house overlooks fields of barley , looks lovely and ripe but the grains are really hard so pigeons aren't feeding just yet. Did a trial run last week but only one pigeon took a decoy. Maybe another week, and more sunshine less water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 dclarke1977

myself and my mate were out last saturday and set up the rotary on a good flight path where i seen pigeons lighting in a patch of flattened barley had a couple of good hours shooting mixed bag of pigeons jackdaws and rooks we fired about 8 boxes of shells between us.When its raining or barley is to wet crows/pigeons dont seem to feed in cereal crops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sonofthegun

started already in tipp will be shooting over stubbel this weekend with a bit of luck scouted an area out today hopefully be on it by 05:30 saturday morning if this weather holds
    sotg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭raymonjdevine

Isn't shooting over stubble not allowed any longer?

Kind of hard to justify "crop protection" when the crop is gone :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

they dont cut every field in the one day cop on to yourself:D

snipe02 wrote: »
    they dont cut every field in the one day

So shouldn't you be shooting them in the fields that aren't cut so and not in ones that have:confused:
    cop on to yourself:D

I think you need to act on your own advice :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

Winter barley has started being harvested this week in Wexford. Have been out a few evenings just for a couple of hours at a time and managing fairly modest bags of between 10 and 20. Serious shooting the weekend.

So shouldn't you be shooting them in the fields that aren't cut so and not in ones that have:confused:

I think you need to act on your own advice :D
    to the best of my knowladge its still crop protection until all the fields are harvested ya should be shooting them in the field they are coming into, after the harvest ya would find it hard to justify but until then shoot away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭cubbyleader

Winter barley has started being harvested this week in Wexford. Have been out a few evenings just for a couple of hours at a time and managing fairly modest bags of between 10 and 20. Serious shooting the weekend.
    If you don't mind me asking what part of wexford are you because it's the same where I am I'm just outside of enniscorthy

in kilkenny and the they have been flat out here for the last 2- 3 weeks on wheat and barley not much oats around my way this year i love shooting in standing oats all the best days ive had were in oats

to the best of my knowladge its still crop protection until all the fields are harvested ya should be shooting them in the field they are coming into, after the harvest ya would find it hard to justify but until then shoot away

If they are coming into cut fields it is probably to pick up spilled grain. Now I would have thought that common sense would dictate that if they are feeding on spilled grain in a harvested field instead of feeding on a standing crop and damaging it that shooting them off the stubbles might drive them to feed in the standing crops which kind of defeats the object of crop protection :eek:

yes it might but they might just move there themselves being the unpredictable creatures that they are so the farmer who owns the crop would rather have the numbers kept in check while there is a window of oppertunity do you shoot pigeons or what is your interest in the matter

yes it might but they might just move there themselves being the unpredictable creatures that they are so the farmer who owns the crop would rather have the numbers kept in check while there is a window of oppertunity

So if they move to another field why not follow them there and shoot them there so?
    do you shoot pigeons or what is your interest in the matter

Yes I do, which should answer the second part of your question.

Just back from 3 hours shooting shot 35 and then packed up to keep some cartridges for tomorrow

So if they move to another field why not follow them there and shoot them there so?

Yes I do, which should answer the second part of your question.

its kind of obvious id follow them, im not a fan of sitting in a hide all day scratching me hole .

if you do shoot pigeons id imagine you already know the rights and wrongs and are just looking for an arguement this conversation has nothing to do with the op .

over and out

who you telling to cop on lad do you have a clue.the pigeons are decoyed on the stubbeled feild a lot of the crops around it are still standing decoys are set up on the flight lines decoying over the stubbel allows easier pick up and clean up also no chance of damaging standing crops the framers i shoot for find this to be the tidiest method .maybe you should think about the comments you are making you are you to tell me to cop on

its kind of obvious id follow them, im not a fan of sitting in a hide all day scratching me hole .

I'll give you the benefit of the doubt on that ;)
    if you do shoot pigeons id imagine you already know the rights and wrongs and are just looking for an arguement this conversation has nothing to do with the op .

I do know the rights & wrongs and I know the legislation and I also know how it's being intrepreted by those in positions of "power" ;)

This is a discussion forum. No need for arguments ;)
    over and out

10 - 4 ;)
    who you telling to cop on lad do you have a clue.

Not you ............ unless I missed something :eek:
    the pigeons are decoyed on the stubbeled feild a lot of the crops around it are still standing decoys are set up on the flight lines decoying over the stubbel allows easier pick up and clean up also no chance of damaging standing crops

Good point but does the legislation fit your logic though ;)
    the framers i shoot for find this to be the tidiest method .

Unfortunately, what the farmer likes does not supersede what the legislation or someones interpretation of the legislation says ;)
    maybe you should think about the comments you are making

I have thought about them, quite a lot actually. Something I don't think you have done though :)
    you are you to tell me to cop on

Erm.............where did I tell you to "cop on":confused:

I told snipe02 to "cop on" after he told me to "cop on" unless I'm reading the thread wrong ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

Read this before making comments on the legality of shooting on stubble.
    http://www.nargc.ie/predator-control/pigeon-control-on-stubble-the-legal-position.aspx

I would like to also point out that if there is standing crops in the area your are well within your rights to shoot the birds on the stubble, this was covered in the shooters digest not long ago.

Also was out this morning having a look, 4 pigeons and a crow on the ground and nothing else to be seen?:mad:
    Anyone want to bring me for a day? and ill swap when numbers build here!

was out looking around this morn myself for somewhere for tomorrow and it was very quite everywhere anyone any idea how far they will actually travel to feed

No idea but theres not alot of tillage in my area, one area about 25 or 30 acres, then about 5 acres 2 miles from that, and 20 acres of maize 5 miles from that but that doesnt produce until October or there about . but nothing on the barley yet atall! In my uncles gun club area about 20mins from me they have way more tillage nearly every second field, not alot of it is ripe, although the best field in the area is ripe with winter barley and is starting to attract a few birds. anyone elses crops slow to ripen?

very mixed up here some of it is still green and some is being harvested

I was in cork there Thursday and some was been combined that day?:confused: then when I moved further up the country its wasn't ripe yet? this time last year and previous years I was shooting away?:eek:

Read this before making comments on the legality of shooting on stubble.
    http://www.nargc.ie/predator-control/pigeon-control-on-stubble-the-legal-position.aspx

Thank you!

Very interesting :cool:

just out for another look around and the sky was alive with pigeons couldnt find where they were dropping into but picked a couple of flightlines roll on the morn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

Do you not realize that Pigeon's are vermin and a pest species that create enormous damage to crops and the livelihood of cereal growers.:confused:

Good point but does the legislation fit your logic though ;)
    Unfortunately, what the farmer likes does not supersede what the legislation or someones interpretation of the legislation says ;)

you keep coming up with this idea that what we are doing is somhow illegal
    you may need to check your source on this. it has already being through the courts and their is noting wrong with decoying over stubbel.you may not agree with the practise and you are entitled to feel that way about it
    but again what we are doing and how we do it is both etffective and legal
    sotg

just back what a disaster 2 pigeons, and about 15 rooks which was some consilation a lad about a half mile away sounded like he was getting good sport he was on stubble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

:confused::confused:went out dis fine showery morning :rolleyes: and not as much as a feather to be seen,recce,d same fields yesterday morning and again on way home there was pidgeons to beat the band:confused: no one else has permission to shoot these lands expcept me,heres me thinking i,d have a nice bag before mass:eek:

Just back from 4 hours shooting shot another 33 and 5 or 6 that we didn't find

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

Just back from 4 hours shooting shot another 33 and 5 or 6 that we didn't find

what sort of decoys have you got

anthonyos wrote: »
    All I know is there shell decoys that my brother bought a few years ago 6 of them and add to the pattern with dead birds. I know this is off topic but does anyone know how to upload pics too this ?

something in here on it or might be something in the tips section have to learn myself http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=56373985

http://imageshack.us/mobile/gallery.php
    This is a picture of the 33 I shot today

something in here on it or might be something in the tips section have to learn myself http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=56373985
    Thanks for the help I think I got it working

scaled.php?server=220&filename=img20120729153143.jpg&res=landing

Can anyone tell me if this link is working and can you see the picture and if not how do I get it to work

ye its working well done on the pigeons nice dog how old is he

nice picture i will throw a few pics up myself soon ..

Thanks shes 9 months and it was her first time in the hide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

@Cubbyleader

I embedded the pic for you.

A handy way to stick up a pic is to:
    • Right Click on Image
    • Copy Image URL
    • Click Insert Image from the options in the reply box
    • Paste URL
    • Hit OK

This should embed the pic for you.

dev110 wrote: »
    @Cubbyleader

I embedded the pic for you.

A handy way to stick up a pic is to:
    • Right Click on Image
    • Copy Image URL
    • Click Insert Image from the options in the reply box
    • Paste URL
    • Hit OK

This should embed the pic for you.
    Thanks but I'm doing this on my phone but I'll try again and see what happens

Ok lads I'm sorry for all the posts it must be getting annoying by now but I'm trying to get the hang of this picture uploading

http://img7.imageshack.us/i/img20120727163453.jpg/

you keep coming up with this idea that what we are doing is somhow illegal...............

:confused: Where did I say or infer that it is illegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 rockyvsrocky1

shooting down in cork got a 100 friday in wheat fields. first time shooting them :P be at it for the next 2 weeks off on holidays ? are u allowed to decoy crows ?? farmer is having problems with them over the silage bales

had a good day on stubble today 105 this morning and 30 again this evening on same field well pleased goes to show the area has been heavily shot for the last 2 or 3 weeks and they were still very eager to come in

Had a disaster of a day spent half an hour waiting for the rain to stop the set up at 11 and shot till 3 and only got 18 between us

http://i1055.photobucket.com/albums/s503/tomcoffey74/ae2e3648.jpg

got out for two hours after work today just to do a recci on a feild im shooting on monday good numbers on it got 28 in about hour and a half hope the rain stays away on monday i might get decent numbers hard going to hit big numbers so much harvested a once its hsrd to get on big bags
    sotg

nice pictue is that a lanber shotgun you have??

bettensoli diamond sporter
    stog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

what ive noticed over the years if i see a area where has been cut and next door has not then you should have good day now if the whole area has been cut then you really really have to perform well on your field craft the ordinary u shape just wont do it have to get bit more creative for example half L shape in the direction of the wind few bouncers in right area and magnet might be good or might be very bad, just ive seen it all before over the years all i kile doing now is helping lads out causes most of my land the bloody crows and pigeons have not went near it yet