Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Please help clamping

• 25-07-2012 4:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭

Anyone able to help?? Please? Ive been clamped for parking in visitor area of apt. complex. I texted the no. but I got a digit wrong in registration number and I'm now clamped. They're looking for €120 which I don't have anyway but even if I did out of principle...... anyway in Blanchardstown area. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

sophia25 wrote: »
    but even if I did out of principle......
    What principle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Jack up car, deflate tyre, take off wheel.

Take spare wheel from boot, place on the car and leace the clamp for the clamper to retrieve.

Do not damage the clamp as its would be regarded as a criminal offence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭sophia25

Anan1 wrote: »
    What principle?

I could give you loads, but somehow I don't think it would make a difference to you. Let's just leave it, as I'm upset enough without getting into this with someone who isn't really interested in helping .

Thanks - no spare wheel. One of my issues with car as they only supply spar to get you top nearest garage rather than a wheel. Only found that out with my first puncture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Manzoor14

cronin_j wrote: »
    Jack up car, deflate tyre, take off wheel.

Take spare wheel from boot, place on the car and leace the clamp for the clamper to retrieve.

Do not damage the clamp as its would be regarded as a criminal offence

I done the exact same a few years ago, brought the clamp with me though.
    Got a bill for €580 (80 clamping fee + 500 fine) in the post a few months later, rang and asked to speak to manager. Told him flat out I wasn't paying the 500 but would pay the 80. He said he'd get back to me, haven't heard from him since!

I recently noticed the clamps now have chains emcompassing the wheel, don't think its possible to get it off over the tire anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,176 ✭✭✭blackwhite

What principle?

Maybe the principle that clamping is in place to prevent/punish those parking illegally/inappropriately, and not to punish those who are willing to comply with the T&C's and who have made an honest mistake.

The clamping company have a record of the text that was sent. The OP can easily demonstrate that she was the one who sent the text. If the clampers were actually interested in doing their job properly (i.e. to prevent improper parking) then once she can show them the text and that the reg no is only out by one character then they should be willing to release the car and waive the fee.
    Not much chance of that though with the gangsters that masquerade as clamping companies in this country.

Clampers are hired by developments to police inappropriate parking, not to fine somebody €120 for a typo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

I'd say that you have to call the A -team :D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/member.php?u=348550

blackwhite wrote: »
    Maybe the principle that clamping is in place to prevent/punish those parking illegally/inappropriately, and not to punish those who are willing to comply with the T&C's and who have made an honest mistake.

The clamping company have a record of the text that was sent. The OP can easily demonstrate that she was the one who sent the text. If the clampers were actually interested in doing their job properly (i.e. to prevent improper parking) then once she can show them the text and that the reg no is only out by one character then they should be willing to release the car and waive the fee.
    Not much chance of that though with the gangsters that masquerade as clamping companies in this country.

Clampers are hired by developments to police inappropriate parking, not to fine somebody €120 for a typo.
    The OP has said that she's not interested in getting into it, and i'm going to respect that. In answer to your question, how hard is it to text ones own reg number correctly, especially when there's the threat of a clamp involved? FWIW, I do think they could refund some of the fee in such situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 JUSTICEFIGHTER

What part of blanch. I can cut it off. PM me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

The OP has said that she's not interested in getting into it, and i'm going to respect that. In answer to your question, how hard is it to text ones own reg number correctly, especially when there's the threat of a clamp involved? FWIW, I do think they could refund some of the fee in such situations.

Don't you work for one of these companies or something? If so is it possible you're a little bit biased here?

(If I'm confusing you with someone else though then apologies)

It's not very hard for the clampers to use a bit of cop on when they see a vehicle with a reg only one character different to the number they were sent, and when the number they were sent doesn't appear anywhere else in the car park.
    But no, they're much happier to stick on the clamp and try to extort €120 on the basis of a typo.

The policy of clampers is pretty simple:
    "You make a mistake? F*** you, give us €120"
    "We make a mistake? F*** you, give us €120. If we're feeling really charitable we'll give you back the €120 after a few weeks delay, and after it's sat in our account earning interest (but we'll probably deny the appeal and refuse a refund until you threaten us with legal action)."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

My GF booked flights for 11 of us to go to England last weekend. She made a mistake and put the same name in for 2 of the kids. We ended up having to spend €100 booking a new flight because of the mistake. Such is life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Keeping out of this one.

My GF booked flights for 11 of us to go to England last weekend. She made a mistake and put the same name in for 2 of the kids. We ended up having to spend €100 booking a new flight because of the mistake. Such is life.

Airlines have to submit the lists of names to airports and immigration authorities in advance for security and other reasons. Changes to reservations can mean a significant amount of admin.

In the case of clamping, realising that somebody made a minor mistake would have had no knock on effect, but the clamper decided to take a gamble that they could make a €120 profit off the OP's mistake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

The guy who clamped the ops car shouldn't have to go through a list checking for reg numbers close to the one on the car he's about to clamp.

The ops mistake has cost the clamping company some administrative time as well as the actual clamping itself.

Going through the database to check the ops story re the text will cost admin as well

While I do think the full fine is somewhat unfair, the op is in this situation by his / her own making. He / she should have to contribute something by way of cost for the hassle they have caused.

The guy who clamped the ops car shouldn't have to go through a list checking for reg numbers close to the one on the car he's about to clamp.

The ops mistake has cost the clamping company some administrative time as well as the actual clamping itself.

Going through the database to check the ops story re the text will cost admin as well

While I do think the full fine is somewhat unfair, the op is in this situation by his / her own making. He / she should have to contribute something by way of cost for the hassle they have caused.

There was 1 car there. It wouldn't have been a huge list to check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

It's not very hard for the clampers to use a bit of cop on when they see a vehicle with a reg only one character different to the number they were sent, and when the number they were sent doesn't appear anywhere else in the car park.

I don't know how it works, but it could be the case that the clamper out on the street doesn't see the reg numbers that have been logged. Instead they query the system for "12D12345". The computer won't look for "12D12344" or "12D12346" and won't find a match.

If "computer says no", then they clamp.

I'm only speculating here, I have no idea how they work in real life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Sorry OP but you're not getting any sympathy from me. Even if your story is true (which I personally don't think it is) you still messed up.

View it as school fees...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

It BeeMee wrote: »
    I don't know how it works, but it could be the case that the clamper out on the street doesn't see the reg numbers that have been logged. Instead they query the system for "12D12345". The computer won't look for "12D12344" or "12D12346" and won't find a match.

If "computer says no", then they clamp.

I'm only speculating here, I have no idea how they work in real life

That's fine though - but when the OP calls and gives her number (which matches the one that the text was sent from), identifies the car, location and reg (which then shows the obvious typo), there should be no argument in getting the clamp released without any charge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Hope you took up the offer to cut it off op.

I fcukin hate clampers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭augustus gloop

i broke off a clamp with a chisel in the phoneix park racecourse a while back, i rang the garda first and they said as long as i did no damage.....
    i brought it home and re welded the chain on. i have heard nothing since. the clamp is as good as when the scum put it on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    That's fine though - but when the OP calls and gives her number (which matches the one that the text was sent from), identifies the car, location and reg (which then shows the obvious typo), there should be no argument in getting the clamp released without any charge

I disagree with "no charge" - see Indricotherium's post - but I don't agree with paying the full whack. Maybe a nominal amount of €20 as a slap on the wrist not to make the same mistake again.

Don't you work for one of these companies or something? If so is it possible you're a little bit biased here?

(If I'm confusing you with someone else though then apologies)
    If I had a euro for every time i've been asked this! I've never seen a clamper post in Motors, but people have trouble getting their heads around the idea that anyone but a clamper could be anything but completely anti-clamping. And no, I don't. :)
    One could equally argue that it's not very hard for the driver to 'use a bit of cop on' and get their own reg right, no?
    Why without any charge? I can see an argument for a partial rebate, why a full one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Op just post a picture of yourself standing beside your clamped car. If you're hot there'll be a queue of boardsies tripping over each other to take it off for you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Op just post a picture of yourself standing beside your clamped car. If you're hot there'll be a queue of boardsies tripping over each other to take it off for you!
    Best sugestion yet!

Yeah but my poor ego - imagine if I posted a picture and no-one responded. Having a bad enough day already!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Just get number plates made up to match the reg you texted, €20 tops :)

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Now that's lateral thinking!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

colm_mcm wrote: »

Ill make the plates for you for free.That`ll teach them fookers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

You forgot to capitalise the I in I'm, also ones should have had an apostrophe as it's possession rather than making it plural.

How hard is it to check one's grammar before posting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

AltAccount wrote: »
    You forgot to capitalise the I in I'm, also ones should have had an apostrophe as it's possession rather than making it plural.

How hard is it to check one's grammar before posting?
    You, a grammar Nazi? I never thought i'd see the day! Seriously though, i'd try harder if the penalty for getting it wrong was a clamp.

There was 1 car there. It wouldn't have been a huge list to check.

You only have one reg in your car.

If you are going to park in an area with controlled parking, it's up to yourself to make sure you don't get clamped.

I this instance the clamping company have done everything right. There's no underhandedness. You've seen the sign and realised there was controlled parking.

Why should the company have to foot the bill for your carelessness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Lads cop on. There is no spelling police here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

Lads cop on. There is no spelling police here.
    You, a grammar Nazi? I never thought i'd see the day! Seriously though, i'd try harder if the penalty for getting it wrong was a clamp.

Apologies, just making the point that everyone makes mistakes.

AltAccount wrote: »
    Apologies, just making the point that everyone makes mistakes.
    I got your meaning (and I know you're not a grammar Nazi.;)), but the onus is on the driver to get their own reg right. I think €120 is way OTT for a mistake like that, but equally it has to accepted that it is 100% the drivers fault and it does cause inconvenience. To argue that the OP should be declamped completely FOC is to argue that the clampers should pay for the OP's mistake. Turn that around the other way and you won't get many takers. Like I said earlier, I think a partial refund would be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

OP you buy the cutters, I'll provide the muscle. I'm down that way tomorrow.

Antares wrote: »

Thank you but Justice fighter lived up to his name - Job done !! Email sent to company to advise them to collect their device! Thanks Justicefighter;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Provide the muscle? What ya going to do? Phone me? :pac:

Thank you but Justice fighter lived up to his name - Job done !! Email sent to company to advise them to collect their device! Thanks Justicefighter;)

Kudos to Justicefighter! I love a happy ending.
    Gary ITR wrote: »

Provide the muscle? What ya going to do? Phone me? :pac:

That's a free ticket to the gun show the OP missed out on! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Big mistake if you cut it off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Going on my experience i dont think so tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Who said anyone cut it off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Yeah emailing them was a bad idea, I would just ignore all corespondence with them. They had no way to contact you before you emailed them.

Well, if it was cut I'd probably not be mailing them..... If thats what you meant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Putting 2+2 together
    Well, if it was cut I'd probably not be mailing them..... If thats what you meant?

Exactly, thought that was clear, obviously not :P Yeah, telling them to collect a cut clamp is asking for them to sue ya for criminal damage

Putting 2+2 together

Exactly, thought that was clear, obviously not :P Yeah, telling them to collect a cut clamp is asking for them to sue ya for criminal damage

I'd agree but then OP could use that admission of being clamped against them and run RTA 113.... They'd probably step down then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Putting 2+2 together

Anyone can put 2+2 together, It's evidence that's needed