Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Baby Vs Golf

• 25-07-2012 4:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭

Babog on the way shortly and pretty much resigned to giving up the game for a good while, maybe a couple of years. Certainly can't see myself stumping up the 1100 sub for next year anyway. Anyone find it's possible to juggle the two (not literally obviously!) and keep playing at a decent level?

The thought of giving up completely is a bit of a nightmare but the prospect of playing once every two or three weeks and getting .1 back each day isn't all that appealing either. I know, I know, golf isn't all about h'cap etc but still....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,020 ✭✭✭Hijpo

Babog on the way shortly and pretty much resigned to giving up the game for a good while, maybe a couple of years. Certainly can't see myself stumping up the 1100 sub for next year anyway. Anyone find it's possible to juggle the two (not literally obviously!) and keep playing at a decent level?

The thought of giving up completely is a bit of a nightmare but the prospect of playing once every two or three weeks and getting .1 back each day isn't all that appealing either. I know, I know, golf isn't all about h'cap etc but still....

theres always time to play. play 9 holes after work on a tuesday and thursday evenin, play a competition on the weekend. you dont have to play 18 everytime to stay in the "swing" of things. financially its alot to squeeze but if you did it through installments or a loan from the credit union as i had to do it makes it easier a the lump sum pressure isnt there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

Jesus, don't mention the war!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Alrite Chief

Congratulations on the baby. You'll be grand. Wimmin love going off shopping with the baby and showing it off to her friends. Iv seen them in Dundrum pinching their cheeks, comparing them to the other babies and buying all sorts of new baby ****. Meanwhile back in the golf course there is you belting away getting .1 back every Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Seves Three Iron

Hijpo wrote: »
    play 9 holes after work on a tuesday and thursday evenin, play a competition on the weekend. you dont have to play 18 everytime to stay in the "swing" of things.

God, that would be nice. To be honest, I wouldn't even get near two nights a week at the moment as it is. There'd be some face on herself if I pissed off for two evenings! I have a strange enough work setup; self employed and 6 days a week from 10-8, if lucky. Friday is currently golf day - to be replaced by baby day!

A lad was telling me at the weekend that he actually finds the baby/kids routine handy as he's up earlier and gets an hour or two in the odd morning. I shall cling to that beacon of hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

Have you considered adoption?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Alrite Chief

Have you considered adoption?
    Misread that at first :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

We had a baby 5 months ago, and while it affects how often I get out with her knowing, I still manage to get out twice or more a week.
    It's a balancing act alright, it's all about building up brownie points-try and do 2 night shifts on the trot will get you a comp on the weekend, and there's always the evening where the car breaks down,late from work,heavy traffic....
    She gets out a fair bit shopping and whatever so it's a constant trade off.
    Only tell her what she needs to know as regards golf-think of golf as a mistress, a time demanding one at that!!:D

Best of luck with the new baba!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

American Golf are doing a buggy that has slots for golf clubs too. Sorted.
    I think it's a JML bag. They are geniuses in that company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭mag

*what staker said
    6mth old here too (+ a 6yo). just cover herself for time away from the kids and build up the golf brownies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

mag wrote: »
    *what staker said
    6mth old here too (+ a 6yo). just cover herself for time away from the kids and build up the golf brownies
    Play at 8 am home for 12:30
    Let her have the afternoons to herself
    Kind of 50/50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

soundsham wrote: »
    mag wrote: »
    *what staker said
    Kind of 50/50
    Have a kid myself and I think the Missus understands that the withdrawal symptoms aren't pretty either
    In the winter it's a bit different
    Don't think I played 2 times nov- feb
    So she has plenty lie ins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

I had the same worry when my 1st came along almost 4 years ago and to be honest once she arrived I really didn't want to play as much. Found myself quite happy to get out every second week.

When the second one came along it was pretty much the same, tried to get out every other wed and the medals, seemed to work out the the wife once we could plan it. I did miss the spontaneous game.

The golf did suffer, was playing off 10 and was out to 14 quite soon, I think I got back evey shot I could over 2 years. Not one win until this year, they are now 4 and 2 and am back playing almost twice a week and back to 11.

Great thing is that the 4 year old loves golf, she has her own little putter and a pink ball, every tues we head to the club for some putting, 7up and crisps, really priceless times, all the golf in the world can't match it.

Good luck with the birth hope it all goes well, and pray you get a sleeper, my two are the worlds worst, I slept in 4 years.

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Danny dyers double

Like the OP we are expecting our first in 6 weeks time , only playing since but have not missed one weekend and sometimes even get out 2 or 3 times a week .

Was thinking to myself how it will pan out when the baby comes. But Im pretty sure I'll manage to get out once a week HOPEFULLY ðŸ˜႒ðŸ˜႒

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭okiss

Lads it's time to grow up and realise that no woman will put up with you going playing golf when they are left with a new born crying baby who they have been up with a few times a night.
    No woman wants to be left all day every day with a crying baby, toddler or small children.
    When your children get older they will say my dad was a wanker who spent all his time at the golf club getting drunk and acting like a stud when he was becoming the oldest swinger in town.

okiss wrote: »
    Lads it's time to grow up and realise that no woman will put up with you going playing golf when they are left with a new born crying baby who they have been up with a few times a night.
    No woman wants to be left all day every day with a crying baby, toddler or small children.
    When your children get older they will say my dad was a wanker who spent all his time at the golf club getting drunk and acting like a stud when he was becoming the oldest swinger in town.

:):):)

:):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

The truth is its not easy, we have two first is 2 and second is 5 months. I find that if you focus on family time when you are there and help out properly the golf time is no hassle. I'm often on the first at 06.30 and in for before 09.30 on a Saturday morning. Granted I tend to play a good bit of golf alone and don't make too many competitions. I don't care about that though I get to put 3 odd hours a week into something I love and go home to a family life that I love too.
    The family will grow up and move on but I want to golf long after they fly the nest. That said I don't have much else going on, I reckon other people spend that 3 hrs in the pub or whatever, it will work for you if you don't spread yourself too thin. I think we can get away with one "thing" be it golf, pints, rugby or whatever.
    Good luck with the birth and all things associated mate, dont fret it can be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

staker wrote: »
    Only tell her what she needs to know as regards golf-think of golf as a mistress, a time demanding one at that!!:D

We're due our first in November and I've already started the affair.
    Quick 9 this eve (work was crazy). There was no need to hide it at all, maybe I'm subconsciously doing it as some sort of training for the arrival.

It's feels so good it just can't be wrong can it :)

I'm lucky enough that her friends husbands are all golfers and have set a good precedent in terms of Saturday morn being golf time, one week day is arranged more often than not so I'd be happy if I can work something like that.

What will take a bit of getting used to is being handed the poo machine as soon as I get in the door as she heads off to do silly time wasting activities such as shopping etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭hades

I have a little one too, 5 months old.

I'd have to agree with what has been said by a few of the lads, i play my competitions early on the saturday morning 7:30, and i'm home for 12. Herself gets a lie in on sunday morning then.

The hardest thing about the little people is getting the practice in, i used to get to Fota twice a week to work on my short game, and i was making some great strides. But since the little man came along, i've only been once in 5 months. And thats not down to herself laying down the law, its a combination of sleepless nights and busy at work.

Once of the main thing you'll find hard is the sleep deprivation, believe me, you'll have no mind for hitting a few balls, when you're so tired you can barely keep your eyes open.

Cheers for all the best wishes lads, much appreciated. Consensus seems to be that a balance can be struck when you get into a decent routine. Gonna try and make that happen though I suspect most lads probably fall into Hades' situation of being too wrecked to bother for a good while. Interesting times ahead either way.

Disclaimer to the ISPCC: I will not hold a grudge against baby for denying me golf!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

hades wrote: »
    Once of the main thing you'll find hard is the sleep deprivation, believe me, you'll have no mind for hitting a few balls, when you're so tired you can barely keep your eyes open.

I have three kids and the truth is relativity simple as hades has pointed out above. Golf and kids don't mix. You will have more to worry about than golf when a new baby comes along. You will get out for game's but chances are it will be an early game to get home early and you'll be bollixed playing and for the rest of the day. Yes kids are great but kid's and golf are like mixing wine and beer. Enjoy the games you do get to play but kiss practice goodbye and say hello to being on the time sheet early.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I'm not living at all, ye lads playing twice during the week and competitions at the weekend!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭C.O.Y.B.I.B

As said already , its give and take . Ive 2 under 4 and the balance is that herself gets to stay in bed late on a Saturday and I get Sunday morning to play golf or stay in bed , my choice . Im on the first tee by 7.30 most Sundays and home by 11.30 on Stableford days (12-12.30 medals/other strokes comps). I did however take the first 4 months off for both kids , but timed it around the winter season :)
    I used to play at 9 and have a pint and a chat afterwards and be home by 3 , but those days are gone ! Good luck....

sorry now, but that post is pure bull. i have two kids and neither of them cried all the time. Doesn't sound like you got up during the night to help out either.

As for the father drinking all night in the bar - who does that now? I, like many, drive to the course and there's no way I'm going for a beer after and then drive home or leave my car with a boot full of clubs / gear there ovenight.

He is also pre-supposing that our wives didn't pick us in the first place because we are 'studs' in the local golf club drinking 'til all hours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

I've no kids and I don't get in as much golf as some of the lads here in this thread.

Must show it to the missus and see if I can get permission for a few extra games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭searay

When our first arrived, it was a challenge and for the first six months it was a challenge but then he started to sleep the night and we got a nights sleep, I started to get out playing and got to single figures for the first time.

3 months later, the twins arrived! That's when getting out to play or practise got hard.

I knew I wasn't going to play as much so I joined a cheaper club. I play earlier with the quick players and I often opt to play 9/12 practise holes myself to work on my game rather than play in competition. My game isn't as sharp as it was but you have to adapt.

Changed my attitude as well. Look at golf time as my time now and enjoy being out even if I play poorly. Remember playing bad golf is much better than being at home watching peppa pig and changing nappies.

I now bring the eldest up to the practise area once a week and get a great kick out of it. Looking forward to winning their pocket money back in a few years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Have a 6 year old(girl) who hates golf at the moment, I hadn't taken up the game when she was born but have another on the way in December, I don't think it will change my golf life too much in that I prob would only be playing once a week during the winter anyway so will try where possible to keep that up, it's when Feb/March comes around and I can smell the qualifying comps, next year is going to be my moving year, I am finally going to get off 21..........................whether it's up or down, who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭pinkdoubleeagle

Have two boys myself aged 3 and 5. Wife doesn't play golf but isn't the worst when it comes to me playing. I try to get my boys involved. Take them down to the range or the practice fairway at least once a week and have them hit some balls. 5 year old really loves it and is progressing well. Don't put any pressure on them, and just want them to enjoy all sports and see where they go from there.

We live very close to the golf club so socialise up there quite a bit. I generally play Wednesdays and early on a Saturday ensuring that the missus has the afternoon to do what she wants. Good luck with the new arrival.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Come back conno! All is forgiven:D

Well lads, bit of an update on progress. Wee lad is four months old now, fighting fit but very little interest in my golf I have to say. Since he was born, I've played four times - two trips to the range, one nine holes with the auld lad and four holes last Saturday morning. Disastrous stuff.

With the best will in the world, baby and golf just don't mix. Having said that, I'm gonna keep up the membership for 2013. Reckon when he starts going to creche, around march, I might be able to sneak out once or twice during the week for practice. It'll have to do. Wonder how other lads are getting on in the same situation?

In fairness, I'm not helped by a bad back and a big work project this year that stopped a lot of my golf too. Also used a lot of my time following FDP's thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Any of the old fellas I've ever played with (not accusing you of being an owl fella ;)) have always said "Never let your golf go!"

I've two girls under 10 and as they get older it got a bit easier to get out for a game.........until they got into showjumping / swimming etc. Most my weekends are gone doing something with them as my wife works saturdays.

I can't wait for the long evenings to come back to get out during the week. Unfortunately, am back on my 3 day week from this week so will have more time to play but less money to play / pay a sub so some hard thinking has to be done over the next 2 weeks as what to do next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Peterdalkey

Most good women want a man to keep up his sport and man-time, smart men know they are on a winner, appreciate it, never abuse it but make sure to keep their home/child duty stuff up to snuff. and reciprocate to allow women time with her girls.
    A**holes just get us all bad press and the GUI should ban them!

Most good women want a man to keep up his sport and man-time, smart men know they are on a winner, appreciate it, never abuse it but make sure to keep their home/child duty stuff up to snuff. and reciprocate to allow women time with her girls.
    A**holes just get us all bad press and the GUI should ban them!

I think you've got to the nub of it all there. I would like to subscribe to your newsletter!

Old stuff I am afraid. My baby is 27 and my 33 year old is about to make me a first-time grandad on New Years Day. Much different rules apply, but I still get phone calls that start " Daaaaad!"

Enjoy the golf and give herself a read of my post!! Women are very smart!

cheers

Peter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

You need golf to balance things up.
    We have a 3yr old and a 1yr old, over the last 3 years I've played some terrible golf but everytime I get home I'm like a new man. I can deal with all the pressures in life. Lucky enough my wife knows when things are getting to me and just says, why don't you play at the weekend.
    She always says I smile from ear to ear when she suggests to go out and have a round.
    It works both ways for us but I wouldn't give it up.

We all want to get better at golf but you have to remember that its a hobby first. If you only play once a month you'll enjoy it even more. Over the last 3 yrs I've got to play about 25 rounds each year not to mention a bit of practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

First of all how did ye end up with women that don't understand your need to play golf at least twice a week:D.
    I have a great wife and 2 kids 2 and 3 i manage to get out every weekend and once during the week. I have flex time at work so i try and get out for a morning round during the week and be in work for 12.30 at the weekend i play as early as possiable to be home before 1, on the other day of the weekend i take the kids and let her do what she wants.
    My golf has been crap since they were born because i don't get to practice as i'd rather play so gone from 7.8 to 11 in the last 3 years.
    Mike

Ok so my bambino arrived 4 weeks ago. I hadn't played in 2 weeks before that due to other commitments so this morning was my first bit of play in 6 weeks.

I was gumming for it.

Arrived at the club at 930...

Play suspended due to FOG :(

Hung around until 11 and eventually got going at 11:30 or so. I had to be home at 1:30 to go off out.

Played 10, 11, 17 and 18 only.

Had a 6 foot birdie putt on 10 that just missed.
    Great up and down for par on 11.
    6 foot birdie putt on 17 that missed.
    6 foot bogey putt on 18 went in.

1 over for the 4 holes and it could have been way better.

Delighted. Just like riding a bike :)

Yeah right!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

ForeRight wrote: »
    Ok so my bambino arrived 4 weeks ago. I hadn't played in 2 weeks before that due to other commitments so this morning was my first bit of play in 6 weeks.

I was gumming for it.

Arrived at the club at 930...

Play suspended due to FOG :(

Hung around until 11 and eventually got going at 11:30 or so. I had to be home at 1:30 to go off out.

Played 10, 11, 17 and 18 only.

Had a 6 foot birdie putt on 10 that just missed.
    Great up and down for par on 11.
    6 foot birdie putt on 17 that missed.
    6 foot bogey putt on 18 went in.

1 over for the 4 holes and it could have been way better.

Delighted. Just like riding a bike :)

Yeah right!!!!

Some baby boom going on.

I had my first 5 weeks ago and I'm averaging more golf than usual, 3 rounds & 10 trips to the range! (Bad father :o)
    I'm blessed that the range is only around the corner and also that I've had a very supportive mother in law, who also plays golf, that has been up and encouraged me to get out and play.

I've got the range routine down to a tee at this stage, change the poo machines nappy and hand her over to be fed, shoot up to the spawell and get back within the hour.
    There's been a few occasions where I've been on auto pilot and went to jump in the car at 2am!
    That's working well, apart from the time I bumped into Scubapro and spent the guts of an hour talking shop :)

There's no room for a few sneaky pints after a round now, and the option of jumping on the couch when I get home has gone but I'll take that.

I'm lucky to have either
    a) A very understanding wife, or
    b) A wife that doesn't really want me around

Either or, I won't get bogged down in the detail :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭gigawatt2007

soundsham wrote: »
    Kind of 50/50

Started out by getting up at 6am on my mornings off with Bambino to get some practice in ahead of the weekly but was just too tiring.

Now follow the same layout as the soundsham above and things are tipping along fine. Just don't get out of the habit, as soon as herself is used to having you round on Saturday mornings you're fooked!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

I've a one year old and managed to lose 2 shots off the handicap since she was born so it is possible :) -Except for the first couple of months which I took off completely, (Oct/Nov, timed it well LOL) I play once a week and during the summer I might get to the range or chip a few balls every other week. You obviously need either (a) a really cool wife or (b) be prepared to put the foot down but either way, the rest of your weekend is family/house stuff if you want your weekend golf in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Daughter arrived 10 days ago and so far i have played 9 holes three times. The secret is to do everything around the house and both night feeds then the missus hasn't a feckin option but to let me out.;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭searay

Well lads, bit of an update on progress. Wee lad is four months old now, fighting fit but very little interest in my golf I have to say. Since he was born, I've played four times - two trips to the range, one nine holes with the auld lad and four holes last Saturday morning. Disastrous stuff.

With the best will in the world, baby and golf just don't mix. Having said that, I'm gonna keep up the membership for 2013. Reckon when he starts going to creche, around march, I might be able to sneak out once or twice during the week for practice. It'll have to do. Wonder how other lads are getting on in the same situation?

In fairness, I'm not helped by a bad back and a big work project this year that stopped a lot of my golf too. Also used a lot of my time following FDP's thread!

My thoughts after 3 babies in less than 3 years, probably more about life than golf.

The first three/four months are the hardest.

Priorities change when you have a baby. Baby is the no 1 for both Mum and Dad and it's easy for you both to fall into the trap of giving the baby all your time etc.

The baby will take up a lot of time but doesn't need both of you 24/7 and the commitment needed changes over time. It becomes important to figure out what both parents priorities are and balancing the time you have available to fit it all in.

Example Saturday morning, you go play 9 holes and practise, look after the baby for the afternoon so Mum can go meet friends or whatever she is into.

You need to figure out what suits your situation. If the baby doesn't sleep at night, trying to sneak off at 7am to play won't work, but if he does it's great because you can be home early and be around.

Change how and when you practise. Playing nine practise holes where you can hit 2 or 3 balls occassionally is probably better than 18 holes trudging round a wet mucky course. Putt on the carpet at home. Chip balls in the garden.

Maybe you should go to the physio and get a stretching programme that you can do at home to sort out your back.

There is no magic solution because all of our situations are different, you and your missus just need to work out what works for both of you and the bambino.

Good luck!

The good news is that children eventually grow up, unlike golfers. May that never change!!

Cheers

Peter

searay wrote: »
    You need to figure out what suits your situation.

You're spot on there searay. Hadn't mentioned before but I work as a freelance sports reporter, so I'm pretty much six days a week at it and am generally gone all day Saturdays and Sundays! All in, I had two Sundays off this year - the second one was last weekend. So, yeah, horses for courses.

Don't want to sound like a moaning Michael though. Healthy baba and a job to pay for it all is great. Golf will slip into its own groove somewhere among it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

So my second daughter arrived last Saturday, needless to say I am writing this post in a complete coma:D My first is nearly 7 now so it is going to hit me like a tonne of bricks. Plan at the moment is to take the first 6 weeks or so off until we get our sleep back but then will hopefully figure out a routine to suit us all.

In the meantime I can dream about the golf course(in my day dreams of course because I won't be sleeping by night)

My question for all the other golfers out there:

"Are babies really worth it?"

I'm having second thoughts :)

Had all my gear ready for a game this morning after only playing 4 holes in 5 weeks and I look out into a monsoon :(

I hate babies and I hate ireland!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

Santy is bringing my 5 year old his first set of cut downs this Christmas.
    He's can be a handful so the missus is delighted when I get rid of him & tire him out for a few hours.
    He loves the game & is getting handy although etiquette wouldn't be all there yet.
    There's a 3 year old & a newborn at home aswell but the missus find them a doddle in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Play as much as you can now, because when they get older, and you have another, you will end up ferrying them to birthday parties, sports, etc and you will have no time for anything - so enjoy it now while/if you can