Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Two foxes shot after nephew was attacked by fox

• 24-07-2012 4:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭

Yesterday at 230pm my nephew was playing in his back garden in Co Kilkenny. He was lying under a trampoline in his back garden when he felt what he believed was a cat jumping on him. He was forced to open his bloody eyes quit quick after he felt the pain of the foxes teeth biting into him. His mother was alerted my the roars of the youngster and upon arriving at the scene was only greeted by a tearful son. The fox then re- appeared some moments later and the mother had to put serious effort in to hunting it away from the house. It did not seem to have fear of humans

Luckily the youngster only had severe scratches but the brother and law and his friend when out lamping that night and shot two foxes. I my self am away.

It seems that a farm in the area had a large rabbit population and I and another chap were given permission to shoot a few rabbits. I took about 20 but the other chap shot over 150 in one weekend and cleared the place out. So? are the foxes starved and desperate and did the high pitched laughter of a child draw this predator in??
    The danger is the kid is only 10and has a younger smaller sister aged 8.

I asked the mother to go to the paper with the story as it's an eye opener for everyone but she is steadfast in he sheiding of her son from press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

Very sorry to hear that.
    Fox attacks could be more common then we think.
    There could be many reason why that fox turned on a child not just that reduction in rabbits.
    If there's rabbits in that area I'm sure a fox would get one in a night even if the shooters are blitzing them.
    That fox may not have being able to hunt and turned scavenger. Or just an opportunist.
    I'd hit them hard and yer sure to get that one some night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Hope your nephew is ok, did he have to get any stitches? Did he go to the hospital?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Zxthinger

Hope your nephew is ok, did he have to get any stitches? Did he go to the hospital?
    No stitches. Only severe scratches from teeth through clothing.
    We intend to clear the area out.

Prob still a good idea to get him looked at. He could need a shot!

Hit them hard lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

He'd probably want a tetanus jab at least. I hope ye go to town on the feckers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

He should probably get a tetanus to be sure.

Could have something to do with the lack of food. Was he asked to wipe out the rabbit population? That much of a drop in numbers could cause the foxes to come closer to the house and be braver if they are hungry if there aren't other easy pickings about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Could also be a fox that is too old or diseased to hunt properly - this kind of thing is more common in urban areas where foxes get very used to being around people. Are you near Kilkenny city or other major town??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭ianoo

deffinetly get the child a tetanus shot ASAP ,the amount of bacteria in a foxs mouth could cause a serious infection ,mate of mine got bitten once by a wounded fox and nearly lost his hand from the infection ,even after washing out the wound and disinfecting it ,,,

ian...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

ianoo wrote: »
    deffinetly get the child a tetanus shot ASAP ,the amount of bacteria in a foxs mouth could cause a serious infection ,mate of mine got bitten once by a wounded fox and nearly lost his hand from the infection ,even after washing out the wound and disinfecting it ,,,

ian...

Caught a lad in a snare a few years back but the stopper that was on the snare didnt let it tighten far enough to do the job. I had no gun with me (of course had to be the one time). Anyway it was too far to walk back to get it and I wanted to put the fox outa his misery ASAP so I tried a trick I once saw my grandfather do many times. i tried to grab the fox by the back of the neck and position him in the way that meant he was defenseless so I could release the snare. Of course I did it ar$eways and he got a hold of the skin between my thumb and trigger finger and boy God did his jaws lock :eek: for a good 10 seconds !!!!. Eventually fox was released as I planned to lamp him and really I didnt care as long as I got back to wash the bite.

I gave it a good thorough wash with salt water, dettol , the works. Bandaged it up and thought nothing of it until I woke up during the night soaked with sweat and a dreadful pain in my arm. Thought my time was up....heart attack !! It was only when I went to wipe the sweat off my face that I noticed something was wrong with my hand... It had swollen to almost twice the size and gone purple. . . . Had to go to doctor on call in town and get it sorted. Was extremely painful so lad get the nephew seen to ASAP !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

If there's a fox that's a danger to children then you should consider contacting local radio, NPWS, Gardai. No need to cause panic but that animal needs to be destroyed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

You'll probably get loads of offers and also probably have plenty local lads to do it but myself & the gang would be more than happy to hunt out any big covers that might be around the area where it happened.

Shocking incident though! I hope the young lad is ok.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,579 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

I think foxes are becoming more and more "tamer" (or just less fearful (probably more appropriate)). I remember going back a few years you'd struggle to see any fox around where I live, which is in a rural area surrounded by fields. Now though there's this one fox who actually hangs around our house (eating the cats food) and only runs away when you come within about 2/3 feet of him.

I am assuming it is the same fox, but regardless of that, it still shows how foxes are possibly becomin less fearful, with instances such as the one in the OP becoming more prevalent.

Just curious know if anyone else has had similar experiences with foxes becoming less fearful?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

Get him seen by the GP. He may need a tetanus (he may have had it recently enough) he def should get a precautionary course of antibiotics. Thats what i got after a nasty dog bite last year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

I'm really sorry to hear about the young lad being injured and I hope he gets the treatment he needs and is OK.

I'm puzzled by the attack though. No predator or carnivore is going to be willing to risk injury or death by attacking potential prey two to three times its own size. Even an opportunistic attack on a larger injured animal would only be undertaken after careful surveillance and an attack like that in daylight would be even more rare.

Are there known diseases that would raise the aggression level and suppress the fox's natural caution and shyness? Is there any evidence that our native foxes are breeding with foreign imports?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Wilberto wrote: »
    I think foxes are becoming more and more "tamer" (or just less fearful (probably more appropriate)). I remember going back a few years you'd struggle to see any fox around where I live, which is in a rural area surrounded by fields. Now though there's this one fox who actually hangs around our house (eating the cats food) and only runs away when you come within about 2/3 feet of him.

I am assuming it is the same fox, but regardless of that, it still shows how foxes are possibly becomin less fearful, with instances such as the one in the OP becoming more prevalent.

Just curious know if anyone else has had similar experiences with foxes becoming less fearful?

the fox has a supply to food.. thats why he hung around. he has access to cat food so why wouldn't he hang around.. The reason for seem them closer to towns now is because over the last 10-15 years the country side got covered in houses during the boom so there is less habitats. foxes will pick at bins to for a free meal and are getting braver because its easier than hunting.

Towns in England have high fox populations towards 10 years ago from people feeding them and food left around in bins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

mathepac wrote: »
    Are there known diseases that would raise the aggression level and suppress the fox's natural caution and shyness? Is there any evidence that our native foxes are breeding with foreign imports?

Foxes on the continent can carry rabies(I've seen rabid dogs in Kenya and they are like something out of a horror film!!) - but there hasn't been a case in this country for nearly a centuary and we are officially rabies free. There are other diseases though that can infect the brains of foxes that make them act "funny" - some of these carried by common parasites like tapeworms etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

i normally put all dog bites on a course of antibiotics., tetanus should be up to date for most kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

garv123 wrote: »

Towns in England have high fox populations towards 10 years ago from people feeding them and food left around in bins.

Common enough in Dublin city centre too. I seen one most recently on Gardiner street last week at around 6am. The city foxes tend to be bigger than the average, obviously well fed scavenging for food in bins. A lot out here in Dub 11 in a more traditional green environment, feeding on rabbits but they tend to be significantly smaller than those in the city and much more timid.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,579 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

garv123 wrote: »
    the fox has a supply to food.. thats why he hung around. he has access to cat food so why wouldn't he hang around.. The reason for seem them closer to towns now is because over the last 10-15 years the country side got covered in houses during the boom so there is less habitats. foxes will pick at bins to for a free meal and are getting braver because its easier than hunting.

Oh I know that alright, but I suppose what I never mentioned was that I've been feeding the cats in the same place for about 15 years, and before that someone else was doing it (i.e. we've had cats all my life) and they were always fed outside in the same place.

And yet it's only recently that the fox has become brave enough to come this close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Zxthinger

Ok the lad went to kilkenny hospital and the doc couldn't believe what he was hearing. I haven't been home since but I'm sure the professional medical advise is sound.
    As for the reasons behind the attack! The lad was lying beneath his trampoline just talking to himself or laughing. I think he was playing a nintendo. So he was on his todd and was either laughing or screaming but as far as I can make out he inadvertently attracted the Fox.
    Oh and yes the chap shooting the rabbits was asked to control them but I think he went too far shooting too many in one go IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

Its not exactly a real baby but its as close of a test that you can get and its worth a watch. Not trying to scare people into not going out after dark due to Giant baby eating foxes or anything of the sort. Its just an interesting test. !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

How strange... A fox in an enclosure took some pork from a 'thing' wrapped in 'things' as far as it's concerned. I can't imagine that there are any domestic animals that would act in the same manner.

Was it not a Doll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Foxes on the continent can carry rabies(I've seen rabid dogs in Kenya and they are like something out of a horror film!!) - but there hasn't been a case in this country for nearly a centuary and we are officially rabies free. There are other diseases though that can infect the brains of foxes that make them act "funny" - some of these carried by common parasites like tapeworms etc.

Fact ,and as somone who did get bit once in a country where there is rabies ,I can tell you all the anti rabies treatment is no joke either, its excruiating ,but a Hell of a lot easier than the death by rabies.:eek:
    Be as it may,I reckon it will be only a matter of time before it hits Ireland anyway.With incidents like that,be they fox or stray dog or cat bites I'd rather do a total overkill and check for rabies anyway.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

About two years ago the Mother in law rang us with the hysterically funny news that a cub ran into the house and was hiding in the kitchen.By the way she was minding our kids and the reason she rang us was to tell us shes going to try and catch it so the kids can pet it:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:
    I naturally go crazy and then become the spoil sport, cruel Ba***rd. Thankfully it got out of the house without any incident. The following day two cubs came in and ran around the house and wandered upstairs so she rings the wife to tell her how tame and cuddly they were-having a pop at me and "here they are coming down the stairs" then screaming as one jumped straight at her. Fortunately she wasnt bitten:rolleyes: and needless to say the door remained closed after that but the point im trying to make is that more people need to know how dangerous a fox can be especially around young children and where I undestand That your Mother wants to protect the child by not going public about it-and shouldnt be knocked for it the fact is this story could help or prevent someone elses child from being bitten or worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

Its not exactly a real baby but its as close of a test that you can get and its worth a watch. Not trying to scare people into not going out after dark due to Giant baby eating foxes or anything of the sort. Its just an interesting test. !

just to put this video into perspective. it's a dead piglet and is pure propaganda.
    i'm not taking the side of the anti's here but lets be sensible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

dicky82 wrote: »
    just to put this video into perspective. it's a dead piglet and is pure propaganda.

As Charlie Jacoby said to the anti's on that foxes live programme, the fox takes the piglet while obviously not being bothered at all about the human smell from the clothes it's wearing, or the buggy. Any fox that ever got wind of us while we were lamping was gone like a rocket, so this video shows quite well that foxes living in close proximity to humans who don't feel threatened by us are quite capable of having a go at a baby.

declan1980 wrote: »
    As Charlie Jacoby said to the anti's on that foxes live programme, the fox takes the piglet while obviously not being bothered at all about the human smell from the clothes it's wearing, or the buggy. Any fox that ever got wind of us while we were lamping was gone like a rocket, so this video shows quite well that foxes living in close proximity to humans who don't feel threatened by us are quite capable of having a go at a baby.

just once the baby smells like rashers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

declan1980 wrote: »
    dicky82 wrote: »

I dont know about baby in a pram or anything but I was in London last year and one ran past us out of the underground and they were 5 meters from us on streets near the house .

People are treating these as pets feeding them and there not .

Any body interested in carrying out there own test with the pram

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

hope the youg lad is ok,and hope u nail the as many foxs as u can,i definatly know the the f"ckers are knocking round my estate:mad: wife has seen it poping side of our house,but not a thing i can do about it, the disadvantages of living in a town,oh i long to get back to the w:(ilderness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭raymonjdevine

Wasn't there a spate of fox 'attacks' in the UK recently?

Well, guess thats all three fox species with confirmed attack records on infants now..Dingoes,European foxes,and Coyotes.

Ah well,maybe when some anti loon's kids are bitten by foxy woxy who was so cute and tame they might accept the fact that this is a wild animal with the mind set of a psycopath,and a set of teeth on them .
    Each to their own way of learning.:rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Deerspotter

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Well, guess thats all three fox species with confirmed attack records on infants now..Dingoes,European foxes,and Coyotes.

Ah well,maybe when some anti loon's kids are bitten by foxy woxy who was so cute and tame they might accept the fact that this is a wild animal with the mind set of a psycopath,and a set of teeth on them .
    Each to their own way of learning.:rolleyes:

Do they really have the mind set of a psycopath?

Very cunning and remorseless in killing even for "pleasure"[?].If they were human we would classify them as psychos.
    Foxes have been known to massacre a hen house and just remove one or two hens for food.

Very cunning and remorseless in killing even for "pleasure"[?].If they were human we would classify them as psychos.
    Foxes have been known to massacre a hen house and just remove one or two hens for food.

killing for pleasure, psychos, massacre???

i think you're going a bit 'ott' i'm pretty sure foxes that kill all the hens in a coop are doing nothing more than getting caught up in the chasing frenzy, killing all the hens because they are flapping around and squawking. . . and only taking away a few because unlike humans they don't suffer from gluttony.

as regards the op you were asking did this fox attack because you removed all the rabbits? it's possible that the rogue fox was old or sick and seeking an easy meal and your nephew's giggles mimicked a distressed rodent, thus drawing in the fox.

i personally think that this is a rogue fox and of course where the safety of children is concerned then it should be destroyed. but i don't think we as a hunting community should take this as a golden ticket to roam the fields with pitch forks and burning sticks killing everything fox like in our wake.
    people shoot foxes to protect their livelihoods, their livestock and others who want to watch their dogs working, as they are well within their rights to do so but i find it a bit limp to argue that we are culling foxes to make our gardens safe. it's the same backlash attitude that calls for stricter licencing laws because one nutter slips through the net, or a ban on all husky dog's because one idiot thinks it's ok to have one that's wicked.
    we don't have to justify why we hunt foxes to the anti's and it's my opinion that by putting these weak cases forward we bring ourselves down to their level. the fieldsports britain video is a classic case of this.

So you don't think they have the mind set of a psycopath?

no i think they hunt purely from primal instinct.

Ah the new fox hunting sport..An angry mob running all over the countryside with torches,pitchforks packs of dogs and a lynching rope!!:D
    Should be about as effective in fox control as a bunch of folk on horseback,with a pack of dogs, blowing horns and making a racket to catch a fox.:p

I doubt very much that there will be a mass "final solution" programme against Mr Vulpes Vulpes in Ireland anytime soon,because of one unreported in the media incident of a fox attacking a child.After all we have been hunting it for generations and its still here.Despite them making off with X thousand chickens,lambs,and young cats and dogs.Well, maybe when a few more kids are possibly bit,a few urban hen houses are cleaned out of family fowl pets and some Soccer Moms have vented their spleens and angst on Joe Fluffy or to some red top rags,and the thunderous cry of "Somthing must be done" is issued,no doubt call in the army or "civillian snipers":rolleyes: to deal with this menace..Maybe then!

They are WILD animals and will kill and proably for them the killing of a bunch of screeching fluttering warm tasty chooks is "fun".
    Proably the same way a cat will play with a mouse before it kills it,somtimes for a hour or more,no logical reason other than what we define as "fun".
    Proably the same way an Orca whale tosses for no apprent reason a seal it has killed about the southern Antartic ocean other than for "fun"
    Or a lepoard seal a penguin carcass... It seems that there are some animals that do when they kill somthing play with it for fun.

Dude, what's your point?

at the risk of spoiling the thread i'll offer you this theory. it's believed that seals and orca's toss their catch as it's how their mothers would have introduced them to hunting, the same thing occurs in big cats where the mother will injure its prey and allow the young to mock hunt it and then finish it off. the fact that they may not have young with them at the time is just a moo point.

Dude, what's your point?
    +

Point 1]That there is no fear of Dickys mass pogrom of foxes because of an unreported fox attack,and that possibly when it happens again it will cause some one day wonder of mass hysteria in the media,and that will be the end of it.

Point 2] Theories not withstanding of slow killing for education purposes of predator species young it does look like certain animals will kill for fun.
    Otherwise,if they do not have young present to teach,why would they do it??To espouse a theory and ignoring a pertinent fact as moot makes the whole thing a farsce of rational deduction.

Are you equating a foxes behaviour to that of a human? A fox does what it does through instict yet humans make rational choices?

yet humans make rational choices?

I wonder if you have evidence of that? Most humans I have to deal with make very irrational choices! (Sort of tongue in cheek!)

I wonder if you have evidence of that?

Erm............well it's a theory and it sounds plausible ;)
    Most humans I have to deal with make very irrational choices! (Sort of tongue in cheek!)

Men always make rational choices ................. until they see a piece of skirt they fancy :P

As for women ............. well that another story altogether :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭Xcellor

lolz

they are just animals. They follow instinct.

What would a lion or a tiger do in the same situation? Eat a hen and leave the rest alone... I guess then by your logic lions must be psychos too.

Projecting human traits & logic 'onto' animals is not feasable IMVHO. To say an animal is a physco makes no sense at all!

Men always make rational choices ................. until they see a piece of skirt they fancy :P

As for women ............. well that another story altogether :p

[/QUOTE]

Watch out with the sexist comments here.There are a couple of ladies posting here who will whup your ass online for less!!:P:P:P

Geesh,there are some right pendants here!!Does the phrase "throwaway comment" not enter peoples minds yet???:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Xcellor wrote: »
    lolz

they are just animals. They follow instinct.

What would a lion or a tiger do in the same situation? Eat a hen and leave the rest alone... I guess then by your logic lions must be psychos too.

LIONS or TIGERS in the chicken coop???:rolleyes::DWhere are you living???:D:D Either that or you have bred a damn big bunch of chickens!!!ROTFLMAO