Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

5x02 - Madrigal [**SPOILERS WITHIN**]

• 21-07-2012 8:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭

Episode synopsis:
    In order to rebuild their lives and form a new profitable business, Walt and Jesse decide to look for a new potential partner to aid them in their latest venture. The DEA filters through various leads in hopes of finding something.

Really looking forward to this. Only 30 hours to go :pac:

How Did You Rate This Episode 151 votes

Excellent
    0% 0 votes
    Good
    56% 85 votes
    Average
    36% 55 votes
    Not Great
    5% 9 votes
    Poor
    1% 2 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

You **** Paully. I wasn't sure what day it was, saw this thread and thought fantastic, off work tomorrow, breaking bad. But nooooooooooo. Its tomorrow night! Doesn't matter, off on Monday till the night, but still. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Just to wet the appetite:

Trailer:

A scene from the episode, but no spoilers:

More of Hank :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭The Scratcher

Was that yer wan from Grey matter talking to Mike?!!!
    oooh boy I can't wait!! 1 more sleep. It's kinda sad how attached to a TV program I've become. It's all I have to look forward to now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭jcf

Dffrrfdgdgtsggdgdbgfbfggtbthff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

Can't wait for this :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭AwayWithFaries

Very excited!

So now its actually Sunday..

GTtR1.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

3 hours :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭NoelJ

What time does this show Irish time. I'm awake so may stay up and watch it... again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭NoelJ

Wish amc streamed it again trying to find a link.

Use twitter. Thats where I found all my GoT links.

I'm gonna wait till later.

Streams tonight are a joke. Just going to wait until tomorrow to watch it.

Mike is such a badass. Brilliant episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Jigga

"He was somebody else completely. Right in front of me. Right under my nose"

Did something click with Hank there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Mike is such a great character. I'm still a little confused, but I'm sure it'll all become clear. Walt was really creeping me out at the end with Skylar though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Another great episode.

I'd say that must be the most we've seen of Mike in a single episode? He really is an excellent character. Also great to see more of Hank! Back to his old self in the interview room.

I wonder what Mike did in Philadelphia?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

A great episode, Mike is a fantastic character, and outstanding acting as usual. The interrogation scene was fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭BetterCallSaul

Brilliant episode, the tension was immense. You can really see now why Gus had to go to push the story forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Another great episode, was great to see Mike get much more time as he's easily one of the best characters on the show.

Walt is verging on the creepy and cocky side now that he thinks he's free of Gus. His cockiness will be his inevitable undoing.

Maybe just me, but so far I find this season seems to have a far higher production than the others. It's a great looking show with fantastic audio cues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Vertigo100

shrewdness wrote: »
    Another great episode.

I'd say that must be the most we've seen of Mike in a single episode? He really is an excellent character. Also great to see more of Hank! Back to his old self in the interview room.

I wonder what Mike did in Philadelphia?

Didn't he kill some guy after he beat his wife to death or something like that. He told the story in an earlier season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

I'm not staying up to watch it ever again. I'm too tired to enjoy and the ads drive me insane. I'm going to have to rewatch it before I can judge it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

Vertigo100 wrote: »
    Didn't he kill some guy after he beat his wife to death or something like that. He told the story in an earlier season

From the episode half measures. This is the only reference to his job before this as far as I know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭BetterCallSaul

Grimebox wrote: »
    From the episode half measures. This is the only reference to his job before this as far as I know

That's a great scene. Even more interesting that he decided to Lydia off the hook. I wonder will he regret that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Still awesome, but I thought the first episode was better. Mostly just got Mike involved more (which I'm all for) but everything else seemed a little slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

If Mike ever finds out how the DEA learned about the offshore accounts I think he'll go mad. He had a great trust fund for his granddaughter and all his men were loyal and now he has to start from scratch.

I liked that episode more than the last one, Mike was badass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

That was a brilliant episode, Mike was absolutely towering, such good acting. What happened in Philadelphia with him? Walter is starting to act a little more menacing, see the way he was with Skyler at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Jaafa

I think it's finally clicked with Hank. It'll be interesting now to see if he'll confront Walt or try and protect him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

German conglomerate founded by his grandfather, South American mysteries, Heisenberg-it all adds up to one thing-Nazis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I bet Madrigal owns all those franchises we saw and more and run their whole drug network through them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Indeed they do, see 11 secs into this ad for los pollos hermanos.

los pollos hermanos inc is a registered trademark of madrigal electromotive GmbH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Finical

Thought it was a great episode. Love Mike!

Does anyone know the song that was played during the time they were searching Jesse's house?

Finical wrote: »
    Thought it was a great episode. Love Mike!

Does anyone know the song that was played during the time they were searching Jesse's house?

Stay on the outside by Whitey :pac:

Enjoyed that. Was thinking about halfway through that the episode wasn't up to much but as soon as Mike was in the police interview with Hank and Gomez it picked up hugely.

Lydia is definitely going to be trouble, I have a feeling Mike will regret not killing her there and then.

Roll on next week :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Palo Alto

Love this ep, really like the slowburn ones, Mike was phenomenal as usual plus there was a fair amount of exposition/backstory which was really interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Loved the start in Germany. Who was the girl that handed mike the list of names?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Jigga wrote: »
    "He was somebody else completely. Right in front of me. Right under my nose"

Did something click with Hank there?

I'd be very surprised if this wasn't the case. After Merkert told the story about Gus the camera focused in on Hank for longer than usual. It seemed to be way too an obvious a thing to happen for that not to be the case.

I'm not sure whether or not he is going to go after Walt, but I do think we'll have a show down between the two of them before the whole thing is finished.

Another great episode. Mike was brilliant. He always seems so in control of everything that it was a surprise to see him being implicated in the meth operation because of something as simple as an offshore account. It'll be interesting to see what he does to get rid of that problem.

I'm glad that he chose to hook up with Walt and Jesse. The chemistry (lol) between the three last week was brilliant and has the potential to be even better in the upcoming episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

who was the woman mike met with in the diner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭Shelga

Was Walt about to rape Skyler at the end?! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭The Scratcher

Roar wrote: »
    who was the woman mike met with in the diner?

Lydia. She mentions madrigal, perhaps she works for them or maybe another company?! I think Mike might regret not dealing with her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Walt just can't leave well enough alone. He has to make a big thing about searching Jesse's house for the rogue cigarette and expresses confusion about the mobile hoover (whatever it's called). Trying to be too clever by half is going to be his undoing.
    Mike's weak point got pressed twice in this episode - i.e. his love of his grandkid and thus his empathy with the loss Lydia's daughter would feel and the loss of all the money that he'd diverted to her.
    It looks like Mike's going to be around when Heisenberg goes boom!

I never thought this show would make me feel sorry for Skylar but it has.
    She's petrified of Walt...........and he's loving it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭JD81

Lydia. She mentions madrigal, perhaps she works for them or maybe another company?! I think Mike might regret not dealing with her!

I got the impression she was gus's wife??
    Yeah mike broke his own rule, no half measures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

JD81 wrote: »
    I got the impression she was gus's wife??

I doubt that. I'd say she was just an employee of Madrigal who knew about it. Her relationship with Gus was more than likely just a professional one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Great episode, Mike is such a badass...

Good thing with this season having 8 eps means less filler!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

the_monkey wrote: »
    Good thing with this season having 8 eps means less filler!
    And the bad thing about is that we're already a quarter of the way through the season. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭SimpleLogic

I agree with others that Hank has discovered Walt is involved.

I also think that Hank was lying when he said he wasnt able to find anything on the laptop. I dont see any reason why it would have been mentioned otherwise. At this stage Hank is probably trying to decide if he should cover for Walt or not.

Regarding Lydia, this is from an interview with the actress herself. Might make things a small bit clearer for now:

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/live-feed/breaking-bad-post-mortem-laura-fraser-352699

We learn that Lydia is or was an associate of Gus Fring and that she can procure one of the essential ingredients for the meth cook. Is Lydia a meth cooker? Or simply supporting her daughter?

Lydia is an extremely highly strung, calculating, enterprising lady. Throughout her life, she’s learned to survive at all costs. She’s figured out tactics and skills along the way.

It’s clear that Gus’ untimely death has rattled Lydia, to the point where she wants to kill all of the crew men who could implicate her and Mike. Can you comment on how Lydia and Mike’s business relationship will move forward?

It’s a very strange experience being on set of Breaking Bad, you never know what’s coming next for your character. I feel like I don’t even know if I’m going to live through the next scene I’m in. It’s exciting to work on. I’ve never played a character like Lydia; we first meet her and she’s already unraveled. Season five sees her attempt to claw her way back through this nervous energy and adrenalin. She’s desperately trying to redeem control of her situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Smarmy

Strong episode, a lot of Mike is a good thing. Mike losing all his money means he has no choice but to work with Walt and Jesse. Interesting when Lydia asked him who killed Gus, he said never mind in a way that hints he might be thinking about killing Walt and Jesse for it. Although probably not now that he needs the money.

I'm not sure that Hank has clicked just yet that Walt is involved.

Poor Jesse beating himself up for almost killing Walt when he was right on the money at the time.

This episode just showed how much bigger the whole operation was than just Gus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Wan't she sitting at the table with the Germans? She's probably the one setting up all these illegal operations for the company.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Good episode, I don't remember exactly but is this the first Mike-centric one? Curious to see what this is going to go for the scene-setting slow build of season 4 or the 'holy **** can't believe they did that!' frentic pacing of the third.

Love how depressed Saul is everytime we see him now. The man is ****ed and he knows it :P