Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ulster SFC Final: Donegal Vs. Down.

• 20-07-2012 2:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭

2 PM Throw In, Live on TV3.

Donegal are going for history on 2 fronts, the first Donegal team to win back to back Ulster titles and the first Ulster county to win consecutive titles from the preliminary round.

One change for Donegal as Neil Gallagher is injured for 4 weeks, Leo McLoone comes in at Centre Forward leaving Ryan Bradley and Rory Kavanagh at Midfield.

Veterans Benny Coulter and Dan Gordon are back for Down.

Teams:
    Donegal: Paul Durcan, Paddy McGrath, Neil McGee, Frank McGlynn, Eamon McGee, Karl Lacey, Anthony Thompson, Ryan Bradley, Rory Kavanagh, David Walsh, Leo McLoone, Mark McHugh, Patrick McBrearty, Michael Murphy, Colm McFadden.

Down: Brendan Mc Veigh, Daniel Mc Cartan, Brendan Mc Cardle, Darren O’Hagan, Daniel Hughes, Dan Gordon, Aidan Brannagan, Ambrose Rodgers, Kevin Mc Kernan, Donal O’Hare, Mark Poland, Aidan Carr, Brendan Coulter, Conor Laverty, Eoin McCartan.

Donegal are clear favourites with Jim McGuinness giving out about bookies offering 4/1 on Down! Think a 4 point Donegal win myself, it's strange having such belief in a Donegal team not getting cocky and losing focus!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Should be good, save for the fact it's on TV3!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

It will be close but I expect Donegal to sneak it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

I thought all talk of Donegal was strictly prohibited on this forum :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

curry-muff wrote: »

We seem to be flavour of the month atm in the media anyway.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,055 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I don't think it will be close at all. I'd expect Donegal to win by 7/8 points in a canter. Down are a very average outfit who struggled to beat Fermanagh, who were beaten by Cavan, who were hammered by Kildare.

K-9 wrote: »
    We seem to be flavour of the month atm in the media anyway.

Yeah, glad we're finally getting some recognition.

I was referring to the horse**** treatment we received here last season by fans and mods alike though, I sorta swore off posting here again, but then again, I never stick to these things :pac:

As for the game, I've had a good laugh at hoganstand reading our fans claiming our victory will between 8-12 points etc :confused:

Its certainly going to be no walk in the park, they'll push us all the way, if not sneak a win (hopefully not though).

You heading down to the game yeah? Should be a nice hungover morning trip down for me :pac: Damn early games.

I always think of 91, when Down get on a run, a very dangerous beast. They have the talent in the forwards, an eye for a goal, and we'll miss Gallagher, I think he helps at midfield so we don't have to be as defensive.

Still, I think we'll win by 4/5 points. Lost by a point in the League but no Murphy or McFadden. If we lose it will be nice to see Benny get an Ulster medal.

Can't make it unfortunately, family stuff, hoping to make the Q/F or qualifier game.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

I think Donegal should win but I wouldnt be the least bit surprised if Down snuck it. In fact I think Down will make the All Ireland semi finals.

Its only two years ago since they reached the All Ireland final. Probably the most underrated team in Ireland. Then again outside Cork/Kerry and the Dublin commuter belt every team is underrated in the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I was referring to the horse**** treatment we received here last season by fans and mods alike though, I sorta swore off posting here again, but then again, I never stick to these things :pac:

If you sit back, look at that style of football that was employed last year and take off the Donegal jersey, you will see what most,if not all neutral GAA fans saw and felt which was a very negative and awful style to watch. I wouldn;t have been over critical of Donegal last year though.The game against Kildare was probably the highlight of the championship last year in terms of scores and physicality and excitement.

This year though, Jim Mc has to be credited for tightening up on a more attacking style while still maintaining the defensive game plan.That is the way the game has gone but nobody can deny that if Donegal were to keep up that regime of keeping scores to a premium, nobody would want to see a team like that win.

blackbelt wrote: »
    If you sit back, look at that style of football that was employed last year and take off the Donegal jersey, you will see what most,if not all neutral GAA fans saw and felt which was a very negative and awful style to watch. I wouldn;t have been over critical of Donegal last year though.The game against Kildare was probably the highlight of the championship last year in terms of scores and physicality and excitement.

This year though, Jim Mc has to be credited for tightening up on a more attacking style while still maintaining the defensive game plan.That is the way the game has gone but nobody can deny that if Donegal were to keep up that regime of keeping scores to a premium, nobody would want to see a team like that win.

I wasn't talking about people criticizing our negative style of football, even the most biased Donegal fan will admit it wasn't very good to watch.

It's the treatment of our posters who were constantly abused, and you and the rest of the mods sat back and allowed it to continue and you seemed to take great joy in banning any Donegal fan who posted in response to the abuse.

And don't bring Donegal bias into it, even though I haven't been posting I've been reading the forum and your bias towards Dublin in your posts has been laughable.

We're only slightly more attacking this year, we're still not going to be overly great to watch, but its our style of play, it aint going away any time soon, live with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

Should be a great game, but if Down play anything like they did against Monaghan in the 2nd half, they'll take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

As long as I'm here, talk of Donegal will be encouraged :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,591 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Looking forward to the match, reckon free scoring Donegal will have way too much for what in my opinion is a poor Down team.

Should be a better game that the live game yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

minor result

tyrone 0-14 monaghan 1-8

monaghans wait for a first ulster minor since 1945 continues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭mac_iomhair

<snip>

Good to see Benny getting stuck in, teach them Donegal boys a thing or too. :D

This won't end with 15 men apiece as Joe McQuillan thinks it's Christmas with all the cards he's dishing out. I hate this kind of anti-football anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Poor refereeing there. That tackle on Lacey was about as clear a free-out as you'll see.

It's horrible to watch, the amount of pulling and dragging is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Ref is shocking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Rega

This game is absuloute muck so far

Hate that Neill McGee, hope Benny destroys him.

What did he do wrong? I'd say that free was soft enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

this game reminds more of a rugby match than gaelic...short hand passes,pulling and dragging...horrible game of football so far.

Benny not making many fans for himself in this game so far. Blocks a player running out and starts throwing digs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

rossie1977 wrote: »
    minor result

tyrone 0-14 monaghan 1-8

Enough to make me weep - we had a brilliant minor team this year, dominated Tyrone and would likely have won but for two late lapses which shipped two goals. :(

Folks - any score updates on the Senior match - in work here, so grateful for info.

Enough to make me weep - we had a brilliant minor team this year, dominated Tyrone and would likely have won but for two late lapses which shipped two goals. :(

Folks - any score updates on the Senior match - in work here, so grateful for info.

Down 3 points to 2 up after half an hour.

elefant wrote: »
    Benny not making many fans for himself in this game so far. Blocks a player running out and starts throwing digs.
    He's only giving as good as he's getting. Fair play to him too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭qwerty93

terrible game 29 mins gone Down 0-3 Donegal 0-2

Goal for McLoone, Donegal 1-2 0-4 Down.

Goal for Donegal 1-2 to 0-4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Goal for donegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭qwerty93

Donegal 1-2 Down 0-4 Liam Mc Cloon goal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Pint back for down, even stephens.

Leo mcloone

Excellent response from Down

1-2 to 0-6

Half Time: Donegal 1-5 0-7 Down.

Apart from the last 5-10 mins its a horrible game to watch.

Donegal lead at half time 1-5 to 0-7.

Down ( with a slight wind ) playing slightly the better in the first half.

With better decision making Donegal could have a goal or two more.

Not a single dive in sight.

Edit- McHugh went down a bit easy.

Donegal lead at half time 1-5 to 0-7.

Down ( with a slight wind ) playing slightly the better in the first half.

With better decision making Donegal could have a goal or two more.

Down could have had two more goals too.

Happy enough with that after a very poor half an hour. Walsh with 3 points in a row stepping up to the mark.

Benny lucky not to be off. Followed mchugh after he walked away. Couldn't let it be.

David Brady is some man to be preeching about Benny Coulter striking.

Minor highlights on bbc2 now.

Some lovely scores in the minor match.

McCartsn on for Coulter

Benny is gone off :(

Eoin McCartan on.

Christ benny is off. Might see a bit more gaelic and a bit less rugby now!

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Neeson wrote: »
    Christ benny is off. Might see a bit more gaelic and a bit less rugby now!
    why, hes the best footballer on the pitch.

Down will win I think, very underrated outfit.

2 points in quick succession from Murphy and McHugh puts Donegal 3 ahead.

Donegal attacking superbly

41 mins
    Donegal 1-8 Down 0-8