Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

arrest warrant issued for Sean Quinn's nephew.

• 20-07-2012 1:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭

Do him rightly says I.
    An arrest warrant has been issued for Peter Darragh Quinn, a nephew of the bankrupt former billionaire Sean Quinn.

The judge made the order after he failed to turn up at the High Court in Dublin on Friday to be sentenced.

Sean Quinn, his son, Sean and nephew Peter Darragh, were found to be in contempt of court in June.

Sean Quinn snr and his son were present in court. In June, the men were given three weeks to comply with a series of court orders before their sentencing.

The judge ruled last month they had put international property beyond the reach of the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation (IBRC), in breach of a court order.

Judge Elizabeth Dunne issued the arrest warrant on Friday after being told that attempts to contact Peter Darragh Quinn about his absence from court because of a reported illness had proved fruitless.

His solicitor who saw him at 03:00 BST on Friday indicated that he was well at the time.

Lawyers for the IBRC - the former Anglo-Irish Bank - told the court that they had received documents at 04:00 BST on Friday from the Quinns' legal team but their initial view was that the family was continuing to stall on handing over property mainly in Russia and Ukraine.

Arrest order

They also said it seemed as though the Quinn trio had decided it was better for them to go to jail if it meant keeping their property empire.

Lawyers for the Quinns outlined on Friday morning what efforts the family were making to make redress.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-18882568

No sympathy at all for him, or any of the others involved in this.

Scumbags, and greedy business men helped put this country, (and the rest of us) in the bother we're in at the min.

What's AH's opinion?

Edit, here's the latest from the BBC.

Justice seems to be taking place......Let's hope he does more time than a man smuggling garlic.
    The son of bankrupt billionaire Sean Quinn has started an indefinite sentence in Mountjoy prison for hiding millions from a bank owed £2bn. A warrant for the arrest of Peter Darragh Quinn has been issued by the High Court in Dublin. He was given the same sentence as his cousin Sean Quinn junior but had failed to appear in court for sentencing. Sean Quinn avoided jail but must co-operate with the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation within three months. Sean jnr and Peter Darragh Quinn will be jailed until the contempt of court in breaching an order not to put 500m euro of overseas property assets beyond the reach of the former Anglo Irish bank is purged. Counsel for the Quinns said this was 'almost medieval'. The three had breached a court order by putting international property beyond the reach of the IBRC. They were found to be in contempt of court in June.

Can a mod please edit thread title?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

What a cowardly fool. Rings his solicitor, says he's sick, turns off the phone and gets back under the duvet (presumably). Absolutely disgusting that he doesn't have the spine to turn up today. Talk about contempt of court - he can't even be bothered to ensure a proper sick note is handed in (if he is genuinely ill). A spit in the eye to our legal system and the people of this country who bailed out Anglo.

Pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

What a cowardly fool. Rings his solicitor, says he's sick, turns off the phone and gets back under the duvet (presumably). Absolutely disgusting that he doesn't have the spine to turn up today. Talk about contempt of court - he can't even be bothered to ensure a proper sick note is handed in (if he is genuinely ill). A spit in the eye to our legal system and the people of this country who bailed out Anglo.

Pathetic.

Eh, with the money this lad has (officially or not), I fear the duvet may be in a non extradition country.

Let's hope a spell in the joy its on its way....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

Ghandee wrote: »
    Eh, with the money this lad has (officially or not), I fear the duvet may be in a non extradition country.

I could be wrong but I don't think Contempt of Court is even extraditable.
    I hope the Judge is going to stop the €2,000 a week living expenses all three of these sleeveen feckers have been getting though.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/former-billionaire-sean-quinns-children-allowed-2000-a-week-living-expenses-3144784.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Do you think any of that shower will ever see the inside of a cell? Flogging wouldn't be enough for them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

A spell in the Joy AND to have to hand back the 500 mill or whatever it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

SocSocPol wrote: »
    I hope the Judge is going to stop the €2,000 a week living expenses all three of these sleeveen feckers have been getting though.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/former-billionaire-sean-quinns-children-allowed-2000-a-week-living-expenses-3144784.html

Is that all? How can you buy a new S-class Merc every year on that paltry wage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

The Quinn's are a fine family - created thousands of jobs for this country that are still employed. Sean Quinn is doing for his kids what any other father would do for their's in similar situation.

Now.. that should kick it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Gardai were advised by the judge to use "discretion" and if they find he is genuinely sick then don't arrest him :rolleyes:.

Either issue the warrant for arrest or don't. simples

I wonder would the same quarter would been shown to 'Anto' who rang his public defender to say he was sick and couldn't show up for his appearance.

It wouldn't. The rot is still there, just because these human jackals get a relative slap on the wrist, does not mean we are sorting out any of our problems.

I think the main reason there is not a full blown criminal investigation into what happened is because a turkey does not vote for Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Ben D Bus

The High Court has ordered the committal to prison of Peter Darragh Quinn and Seán Quinn Jnr for three months for contempt

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0720/quinns-aib-ibrc.html

The wheels of justice turn slowly. But they do turn.

Curious to know if Sean Jnr has actually been imprisoned (or in any way detained) yet. He was in court for the hearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

vicwatson wrote: »
    Gardai were advised by the judge to use "discretion" and if they find he is genuinely sick then don't arrest him :rolleyes:.

Either issue the warrant for arrest or don't. simples

Does anyone else see a sequel to Ferris Bewler's day off coming out of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Akrasia wrote: »
    Does anyone else see a sequel to Ferris Bewler's day off coming out of this?

More hoping for weekend at Bernies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

Ben D Bus wrote: »

Curious to know if Sean Jnr has actually been imprisoned (or in any way detained) yet. He was in court for the hearing.

Today is a good day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

The Quinn's are a fine family - created thousands of jobs for this country that are still employed. Sean Quinn is doing for his kids what any other father would do for their's in similar situ
    Now.. that should kick it off.

If that's the case why doesn't he face the mess he made and put it right instead of trying to hide assets he put up against his loans, does he want the working man to pick up the bill for his risky dealings, stupid statement by Paddydriver :rolleyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭hollypink

I wonder do the Quinns want to go to jail rather than reverse the transfer of their assets? It seems like they are just toying with the court, wringing their hands saying "oh the bad Russian lawyers won't give the assets back and we've done all we can" and even not showing up for court. I suppose they have the upper hand really; without their assistance, the assets will be lost to Anglo and they know the ultimate goal is to get them back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Islander13

What a disgusting family the Quinns are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

It says in your link that he was.

Time to change the Thread Title OP :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Ben D Bus

hollypink wrote: »
    I wonder do the Quinns want to go to jail rather than reverse the transfer of their assets?

My understanding is that when jailed for contempt, you can be kept there until you purge your contempt. So it's not a case of just taking the 3 months in the joy and keeping the €500 million. They could be left to die of old age in jail if they don't do what they're told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭liamhana

if you were peter quinns mammy wouldnt ya want to kill Uncle Sean for allowing your son to get buggered in jail?
    Its like something The General or John Gilligan would let happen to their families...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

What's AH's opinion?

Pitch-forks, rope, mob, the usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I used to work with Sean Quinn Jnr.

He's a moron who's lucky that he was born into money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Sean Quinn was a good business man who gambled heavily and lost, he wasn't necessarily sent down the wrong path by Anglo, he always played the markets.
    I don't know alot about him personally but he did bring alot pf employment to his area and I have dealt with a few of his companies and I must say they were ran well and had good people running them.
    Shame really but Quinn gambled his own money unlike the bankers etc. so lumping him in with them is not accurate or fair.

buck65 wrote: »
    Sean Quinn was a good business man who gambled heavily and lost, he wasn't necessarily sent down the wrong path by Anglo, he always played the markets.
    I don't know alot about him personally but he did bring alot pf employment to his area and I have dealt with a few of his companies and I must say they were ran well and had good people running them.
    Shame really but Quinn gambled his own money unlike the bankers etc. so lumping him in with them is not accurate or fair .

Are you serious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Come on peter and you to seanie the lube is ready here in the joy and plenty of volunteers here ready to use it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Are you serious?

Yes I'm serious and thanks for your staggering rebutal choc full of facts.

Quinn lost almost €3bn. of his own money by investing in Anglo shares. €450 odd million he borrowed to bolster the share price in this Golden circle club that he was part of.
    The money he owes was actually collateral on property that was used as equity. Nothing to do with the taxpayer, because the government nationalised the bank now it's our problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

crazygeryy wrote: »
    Come on peter and you to seanie the lube is ready here in the joy and plenty of volunteers here ready to use it.
    You think they use lube in prison rape?

lol

Yes I'm serious and thanks for your staggering rebutal choc full of facts.

Quinn lost almost €3bn. of his own money by investing in Anglo shares. €450 odd million he borrowed to bolster the share price in this Golden circle club that he was part of.
    The money he owes was actually collateral on property that was used as equity. Nothing to do with the taxpayer, because the government nationalised the bank now it's our problem.

You had me until this part.

He took a risk, he borrowed money which was secured against his assets, the whole thing went pear shaped, Anglo called in their debt, Quinn refuses claims he can't, and attempts to be declared bankrupt in the north, where he would be subject to a far far leaner bankruptcy system than here, where he did almost all of his business.

He then subsequently defied a high court ruling by placing his assets out of reach, while more or less giving the court and the state the middle finger.

He's an honest decent fella alright. Maybe even a shrewd hoor?

Greed , its a terrible affliction :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Shame really but Quinn gambled his own money unlike the bankers etc. so lumping him in with them is not accurate or fair.

FYI, http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/1024/quinns.html

And don't forget that we will be paying an insurance levy for years to come to make up shortfall at Quinn Insurance due to his business acumen. e.g. disastrous expansion into UK market.

Then of course there's the significant amount of money outstanding to his banking chums that he's going out of his way to avoid repaying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

They should just stick them in the 'Joy, sharing a cell with Anto (or a horny, HIV-positive, bisexual serial killer who hates Cavan people) until they reveal where all the cash is stashed. ;);)

I think this Swedish TV commercial for life insurance is appropriate, especially since the Quinns have been big in the insurance sector::)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

He gambled his customers' insurance premia.

Sean Jr. is in Mountjoy now anyway, good enough for him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

about time the bourjoise was brought to trial in the interest of justice and fairness

My understanding is that when jailed for contempt, you can be kept there until you purge your contempt. So it's not a case of just taking the 3 months in the joy and keeping the €500 million. They could be left to die of old age in jail if they don't do what they're told.
    The judge could have kept him there indefinitley but didn't so its just 3 months then he must be released.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

But presumably if they continue to refuse to co-operated atr that point they will be sent back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Pitch-forks, rope, mob, the usual.

What till nightfall my friend ,angry mobs and flaming torch's work best in the dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

For all those nice people who were busy sabotaging equipment and buildings in support of the Quinn crook family:

Booking a family visit - Mountjoy Prison
    To book a visit with a Prisoner in Mountjoy Prison contact
    Mountjoy Prison - Tel: 018858954/ 01 8858955
    North Circular Road
    Dublin 7.
    Visiting Times - Monday to Saturday 10am-12pm and 2pm-4pm
    Professional visits - Monday to Saturday 17.30pm-19.00pm
    Professional visitors may book a visit by emailing mjoyprofessionalvisits@irishprisons.ieThis e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Hope they meet Big Bubba in there...........

Pity the oul fella didnt go too, but his time will come. It takes a lady judge, fair play to her.

juan.kerr wrote: »
    But presumably if they continue to refuse to co-operated atr that point they will be sent back?
    Not sure but as I understand it they were found guilty of contempt and sentenced to 3 months, once they serve it they cant be jailed again for the same contempt.

Sentenced indefinitely it would seem....
    The son of bankrupt billionaire Sean Quinn has started an indefinite sentence in Mountjoy prison for hiding millions from a bank owed £2bn. A warrant for the arrest of Peter Darragh Quinn has been issued by the High Court in Dublin. He was given the same sentence as his cousin Sean Quinn junior but had failed to appear in court for sentencing. Sean Quinn avoided jail but must co-operate with the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation within three months. Sean jnr and Peter Darragh Quinn will be jailed until the contempt of court in breaching an order not to put 500m euro of overseas property assets beyond the reach of the former Anglo Irish bank is purged. Counsel for the Quinns said this was 'almost medieval'. The three had breached a court order by putting international property beyond the reach of the IBRC. They were found to be in contempt of court in June.

Sentenced indefinitely it would seem
    Oh happy days, I had been led to believe it was just a 3 month sentence, the fcukers should rot in jail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I'm sure he will not be staying locked up for long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,055 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

about time the bourjoise was brought to trial in the interest of justice and fairness

Justice and fairness in Ireland ??
    Are you for real ? These kind of elite people don't do jail. There is always a "wriggle-out" clause at the end of the Judge's ruling for them.

Justice and fairness in Ireland ??
    Are you for real ? These kind of elite people don't do jail. There is always a "wriggle-out" clause at the end of the Judge's ruling for them.
    Rambo Burke did!
    So did Dunlop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Indefinitely, I thought it was 3 months too.

About time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Rambo Burke did!
    So did Dunlop

But the leader of the pack got away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

Well that's were greed get you lets hope he aint greedy with the soap in there and drops it. the Irish people have been screwed for far to long now so its about time the so called elite con jobbers got there turn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,055 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

But the leader of the pack got away with it.

I'd say Burke was at home every night too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭rubadubduba

he'll do the 3 months and if he is found contempt again he'll be done again and again and again,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,on till he complies with the court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I dunno how people can defend what this family have done in anyway. Its our taxes that will be paying for what they have done, AND continue to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

I'd say Burke was at home every night too.

Prison ray burke style

sean quinn is not a member of the 'elite' he is a hard working man that got greedy.

he worked his way up and at the same time created thousands of jobs for people in the north west region, who otherwise the 'celtic tiger' would never have touched.

he did get greedy, he f##cked up, no-one doubts that. but trying to hide stuff from the bank, the bank that used him, cant blame him, i would do the exact same.

its not sean quinn's fault that the government bailed out the banks. thats the governmemnts fault. i dont blame him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭breffni666

Where are all the Quinn supporters now? When is the march on? How many gormless 000's this time? Not many, they know the colour of the Quinn money now. Hopefully the man himself will get a long sentence when it comes his turn. Sending his son to jail. Incredible! Some man, some leader!