Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2012/2013 General Predictions

• 19-07-2012 9:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,935 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Slightly different to the predictions threads for the Pro 12 and AP. Right so I thought it would be interesting to have a series of predictions now and then come back in June 2013 and see who is the king of predictions. Below are some general predictions for the forthcoming season. What do ye all think? Add to the list as well if you can think of anything I haven't included! Should we include the AIL, various Schools Cups, B&I Cup? I've included my predictions.

Pro 12 - ULSTER
    HEC - LEINSTER
    AP - LEICESTER
    Top 14 - TOULOUSE
    Six Nations - ENGLAND
    2012 Rugby Championship - NEW ZEALAND
    2013 Lions series - LIONS
    Number of Irish players named in the original Lions touring squad - 9
    Number of new Irish caps by 31st March 2013 - 4
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - MICHAEL BRADLEY
    Leading Irish test try scorer - KEITH EARLS
    Irish player of the season - JONATHAN SEXTON

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Pro 12 - LEINSTER
    (They won't want to lose a 3rd final in a row (cheers phog!)
    HEC - TOULON
    (not the best team but have an easy group)
    AP - LEICESTER
    Top 14 - CLERMONT AUVERGNE
    Six Nations - WALES
    Should have too much for Oz, particularly if Oz are missing some key players.
    Number of Irish players named in the original Lions touring squad - 10
    Number of new Irish caps by 31st March 2013 - 3
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - DECLAN KIDNEY :(:(:(:(:(
    Leading Irish test try scorer - TOMMY BOWE
    Irish player of the season - CIAN HEALY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,540 ✭✭✭✭phog

Pro 12 - LEINSTER
    (They won't want to lose a 3rd final!)

They have, haven't they? Ospreys, Munster and Ospreys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,935 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Pro 12 - LEINSTER
    (They won't want to lose a 3rd final!)
    HEC - TOULON
    (not the best team but have an easy group)
    AP - LEICESTER
    Top 14 - CLERMONT AUVERGNE
    Six Nations - WALES
    Should have too much for Oz, particularly if Oz are missing some key players.
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - DECLAN KIDNEY :(:(:(:(:(
    Irish player of the season - CIAN HEALY

Cian Healy is a very good shout for player of the season.

I'm sure it's mentioned somewhere in the Kidney Out yay or Nay thread but just out of interest does anyone know when Kidney's contract runs out? End of the Six Nations or end of the North America tour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Pro 12 - Leinster
    HEC - Clermont
    AP - Harlequins
    Top 14 - Clermont
    Six Nations - Wales
    2013 Lions series - Australia
    Number of Irish players named in the original Lions touring squad - 7
    Number of new Irish caps by 31st March 2013 - 1
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - Declan Kidney
    Leading Irish test try scorer - Tommy Bowe
    Irish player of the season - Sean O'Brien

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Pro 12 - Sean O'Brien
    HEC - Sean O'Brien
    AP - Sean O'Brien
    Top 14 - Sean O'Brien
    Six Nations - Sean O'Brien
    2012 Rugby Championship - Sean O'Brien
    2013 Lions series - Sean O'Brien
    Number of Irish players named in the original Lions touring squad - As many as Sean O'Brien wants
    Number of new Irish caps by 31st March 2013 - See above
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - Sean O'Brien
    Leading Irish test try scorer - Sean O'Brien

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

His contract runs out at the end of the 6N (around May, Kidneyclock tells me), so he won't be Irish coach on 1st of June unless he's reappointed.

Also, Leinster have already lost three finals in a row :(:(

Pro12 - Leinster
    HEC - Clermont
    AP - Harlequins
    Top 14 - Toulouse
    Six Nations - England
    Rugby Championship - NZ
    Lions series - Lions
    Number of Irish players named in the original Lions touring squad - 8
    Number of new Irish caps by 31st March 2013 - 2
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - No idea
    Irish player of the season - Cian Healy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭RoundBox11

Pro 12 - Leinster
    HEC - Toulouse
    AP - Harlequins
    Top 14 - Clermont
    6 Nations - England
    2012 Rugby Championship - South Africa
    2013 Lions Tour - Lions
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - Haven't a clue
    Leading Irish Test scorer - Tommy Bowe..... (Craig Gilroy if he gets called up!).
    Irish Player of the season - Cian Healy

The most interesting thing for me will be who the new caps are. I mean who is there really that has put their hand up for selection? Craig Gilroy and Dave Kearney are ones that stand out for me but i doubt both will be capped yet. I'd love to see Madigan get a cap and I wouldn't be surprised if Mike Sherry gets a cap too. Paul Marshall would be a long shot for a one off cap imo.
    Apart from them tho i don't know. Toner, Cave, Zebo, Fitzpatrick and Felix Jones have already been capped briefly so they don't count. Guys like Griffin, Spence, Luke Marshall, Henderson, Jack McGrath and EOM aren't ready yet.

RoundBox11 wrote: »
    Pro 12 - Leinster
    HEC - Toulouse
    AP - Harlequins
    Top 14 - Clermont
    6 Nations - England
    2013 Lions Tour - Lions
    Leading Irish Test scorer - Tommy Bowe..... (Craig Gilroy if he gets called up!).

The most interesting thing for me will be who the new caps are. I mean who is there really that has put their hand up for selection? Craig Gilroy and Dave Kearney are ones that stand out for me but i doubt both will be capped yet. I'd love to see Madigan get a cap and I wouldn't be surprised if Mike Sherry gets a cap too. Paul Marshall would be a long shot for a one off cap imo.
    Apart from them tho i don't know. Toner, Cave, Zebo, Fitzpatrick and Felix Jones have already been capped briefly so they don't count. Guys like Griffin, Spence, Luke Marshall, Henderson, Jack McGrath and EOM aren't ready yet.

I went for four new caps - I predict Gilroy, Madigan, Dom Ryan and Sherry (don't think he got on in NZ?). It would take a couple of injuries for Marshall to get in I think, although with Pienaar not available to Ulster until the end of the Rugby Championship he will get plenty of opportunities to put himself in the shop window...albeit in the Pro 12 and not the HEC...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

Pro 12 - Leinster
    HEC - Clermont
    AP - Leicester
    Top 14 - Toulon
    6 Nations - France
    2012 Rugby Championship - NZ
    2013 Lions Tour - Lions
    Number of new Irish caps by 31st March 2013 - 4
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - ??
    Leading Irish Test scorer - Tommy Bowe
    Irish Player of the season - Sean O'Brien

Clermont seems to be the people's H-Cup favorites. I wonder though.. would they be galvanized by last year's efforts, or will they be deterred? We've seen it happen to T14 clubs before.

They have another tough pool again... but I'd love to see them march into LR twice in one season. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

.ak wrote: »
    Clermont seems to be the people's H-Cup favorites. I wonder though.. would they be galvanized by last year's efforts, or will they be deterred? We've seen it happen to T14 clubs before.

Clermont have had so many near misses over the years that I'd say they're well used to the old Robert the Bruce approach. I think they'll be back stronger this coming season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

They have another tough pool again... but I'd love to see them march into LR twice in one season. :)

Not if they're playing us in the final! I've had enough of playing Clermont at this stage. It's like a gambler who's had a winning hand his last few goes around. The longer the streak lasts the greater the chance the next hand will be a bad one! You want to get out while the going is good...

Munster have a fairly handy pool and are very much an unknown with Penney coming in. A handy pool does give them the opportunity to settle into a new game plan etc should they need to. Ulster too should get out of their pool relatively handy enough. How the QFs shake up will be crucial, but there's a few sides very much in the mix.

Pro 12 - Leinster
    HEC - Leinster/Clermont (I'm very much 50/50 on that one)
    AP - Harlequins
    Top 14 - Toulouse
    6 Nations - Wales
    2012 Rugby Championship - New Zealand
    2013 Lions Tour - Lions
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - No idea
    Leading Irish Test scorer - Tommy Bowe
    Irish Player of the season - Rob Kearney (Healy and O'Brien would be there or there-abouts too)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭TheKeenMachine

Pro 12 - Leinster
    HEC - Leinster
    AP - Harlequins
    Top 14 - Toulon
    AIL - Clontarf
    Leinster Senior Cup - Terenure
    B&I Cup - Leinster A
    Six Nations - Wales
    Rugby Championship - New Zealand
    2013 Lions series - Lions
    Lions captain - Rory Best
    Number of Irish players named in the original Lions touring squad - 11 (Healy, Best, Ryan, POC, Ferris, SOB, Heaslip, Sexton, BOD, Bowe, Kearney.)
    Number of new Irish caps by 31st March 2013 - 5 (Wilkinson, Strauss, Madigan, Gilroy, Kearney)
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - Mike Ruddock
    Irish player of the season - Rory Best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Pro 12 - Leinster
    HEC - Toulouse
    AP - Harlequins
    Top 14 - Clermont
    6 Nations - England
    2013 Lions Tour - Lions

As a matter of interest, why not? I understand he isn't going to replace BOD for competitive games but I would say he has done enough with Leinster to at least be looked at in the AI's

Everyone going for England in the 6N surprises me too, They are barely above an average team and with Wales being the current champions I can't see anything that have England have shown that would make them favourites??

Pro 12 - Leinster
    HEC - Leinster
    AP - Harlequins
    Top 14 - Toulon
    AIL - Clontarf
    B&I Cup - Leinster A
    Six Nations - Wales
    Number of Irish players named in the original Lions touring squad - 10 (Healy, Best, Ryan, Ferris, SOB, Heaslip, Sexton, BOD, Bowe, Kearney.)
    Number of new Irish caps by 31st March 2013 - 5 (Wilkinson, Strauss, Madigan, Gilroy, Kearney)

Oh yes Lions captain is a good one....good thinking...

Hmmmm if you'd asked me a few months ago I'd have said Warburton now I'm not so sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Pro 12 - LEINSTER
    HEC - LEINSTER
    AP - LEICESTER
    Top 14 - CLERMONT
    Six Nations - FRANCE
    2013 Lions series - AUSTRALIA
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - NICK MALLETT
    Irish player of the season - DONNACHA RYAN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Pro 12 - Leinster
    HEC - Clermont
    AP - Saracens
    Top 14 - Toulose
    Six Nations - France
    Number of new Irish caps by 31st March 2013 - 0
    Irish player of the season - J Sexton

stephen_n wrote: »
    As a matter of interest, why not? I understand he isn't going to replace BOD for competitive games but I would say he has done enough with Leinster to at least be looked at in the AI's

Everyone going for England in the 6N surprises me too, They are barely above an average team and with Wales being the current champions I can't see anything that have England have shown that would make them favourites??

I don't think he's ready because he's still not getting enough gametime against the top sides when its "win or go home" territory. People always go back to that game against Rougerie to say how he's physically ready and all but its going to take a lot more than that imo. He's a very talented player but the situation he's in backing up BOD isn't the launch pad he needs to make the jump. He'd be behind Cave and Earls at 13 anyway imo.

Pro 12 - Leinster
    HEC - Leinster
    AP - Harlequins
    Top 14 - Toulon
    AIL - Clontarf
    B&I Cup - Leinster A
    Six Nations - Wales
    Number of Irish players named in the original Lions touring squad - 10 (Healy, Best, Ryan, Ferris, SOB, Heaslip, Sexton, BOD, Bowe, Kearney.)

I forgot he'll be eligible by then! I'd say he'll almost definitely be capped by then. It's unfortunate for the likes of Cronin and Sherry that Strauss has come along really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Pro 12 - Leinster
    HEC - Leinster
    AP - Harlequins
    Top 14 - Toulon
    AIL - Clontarf
    B&I Cup - Leinster A
    Six Nations - Wales

Forgot about Strauss as well...d'oh. So that should be 3 new caps.
    stephen_n wrote: »

EOM is injured until about January AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

I don't think he's ready because he's still not getting enough gametime against the top sides when its "win or go home" territory. People always go back to that game against Rougerie to say how he's physically ready and all but its going to take a lot more than that imo. He's a very talented player but the situation he's in backing up BOD isn't the launch pad he needs to make the jump. He'd be behind Cave and Earls at 13 anyway imo.

He's injured now anyway, but he's only 24, and when BOD starts to decline, he is in prime position to take the jersey for the bigger games.

He will get an opportunity at some stage, and that's when he has to prove he is up to standard. I'm not sure yet, but in 2-3 years he will be older and wiser, so hopefully he will be able to kick on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Flincher

Pro 12 - Munster
    HEC - Leinster
    AP - Leicester
    Top 14 - Toulouse
    AIL - Clontarf
    Six Nations - Wales
    Lions captain - Sam Warburton
    Number of Irish players named in the original Lions touring squad - 12 (Healy, Best, Ryan, O'Connell, Ferris, SOB, Murray, Sexton, BOD, Earls, Bowe, Kearney.) Little optimistic
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - Joe Schmidt
    Leading Irish test try scorer - Earls
    Irish player of the season - Donnacha Ryan

Wales will likely be without Gatland next year, that's why I'd favour England anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Kidney or not, we could do well in the 6 Nations next year.

England are definitely beatable and France weren't great last year, and we have both of them at home. Should beat Scotland and Italy and we nearly beat Wales despite playing awful last year. They'll be at home, but as said above, will be without Gatland.

Maybe not the Grand Slam, but 4 wins is certainly achievable. 4 more years is starting to look even more plausible :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Pro 12 - Ospreys
    HEC - Leinster
    AP - Harlequins
    Top 14 - Toulouse
    AIL - St. Marys
    B&I Cup - Leinster A
    Six Nations - Wales
    Rugby Championship - NZ
    Lions captain -Sam Warburton
    Number of Irish players named in the original Lions touring squad - 10 (Healy, Best, POC, Ferris, SOB, Sexton, BOD, Bowe, Earls, Kearney.)
    Number of new Irish caps by 31st March 2013 - 5 (Wilkinson, Strauss, Madigan,D. Kearney, Dominic Ryan)
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - Conor O'Shea
    Leading Irish test try scorer - Keith Earls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭armchaircoach

Pro 12 - ospreys (out of the Hein early again)
    HEC - Toulouse
    AP - Harlequins
    Top 14 - Clermont
    B&I Cup - Leinster A
    Six Nations - Wales
    Rugby Championship - NZ
    Lions captain -Sam Warburton (Its Gatland after all)
    Number of Irish players named in the original Lions touring squad - 12(Healy, Ross, Best, POC, Ferris, SOB, Heaslip, Sexton, BOD, Bowe, Earls, Kearney.)
    Number of new Irish caps by 31st March 2013 - 5 (Strauss, Madigan, D. Kearney, Gilroy, Downey)
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - Anyone else
    Leading Irish test try scorer - Bowe
    Irish player of the season - Healy

If they take it seriously I'd fancy Newcastle for the B&I Cup. But their sole focus will be on promotion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭ormond lad

Pro 12 - Leinster
    HEC - Clermont
    AP - Leicester
    Top 14 - Toulouse
    B&I Cup - Newcastle
    Six Nations - Wales
    Lions Test Captain - Sam Warburton

AIL 1A - Young Munster
    AIL 1B - Ballymena
    AIL 2A - Queens University
    AIL 2B - Nenagh
    Munster Senior Cup - Young Munster
    Munster Schools Snr Cup - Crescent Comp
    Leinster Senior Cup - Clontarf
    Leinster Schools Snr Cup - Terenure
    Munster Youths u19 League - Bruff
    Munster Youths u17 League - Nenagh

bilston wrote: »
    Oh yes Lions captain is a good one....good thinking...

Hmmmm if you'd asked me a few months ago I'd have said Warburton now I'm not so sure.
    The thing is, on current form, SOB should be starting at 7 ahead of Warburton. Best, on the other hand, is virtually assured of a starting place and has the experience of the Irish captaincy behind him as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭robluvshandegg

Pro 12 - Leinster
    HEC - Leinster
    Amlin - Stade Francais
    ERC Player of the Year - Johnny Sexton
    AP - Saracens
    Top 14 - Clermont
    B&I Cup - Leinster A
    Six Nations - France
    2013 Lions series - Lions 2-1
    Lions Test Captain - Sam Warburton
    Lions Bolters - Tim Visser, Laidlaw, Hogg.
    Number of new Irish caps by 31st March 2013 - 4 (Madigan, D. Kearney, Strauss, Gilroy)
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - Michael Bradley in interim role.
    Leading Irish test try scorer - Bowe
    Irish player of the season - Johnny Sexton

I am also wondering if this will be BOD/ROG's/Cullen's final season! Probably some others I'm neglecting.

The thing is, on current form, SOB should be starting at 7 ahead of Warburton. Best, on the other hand, is virtually assured of a starting place and has the experience of the Irish captaincy behind him as well.

Good point. But I would not be surprised to see SOB move to 6 for The Lions. I can't see Gatland not making Warburton captain plus-a third irish Lions captain in a row?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Pro 12 - Leinster
    HEC - Clermont
    AP - Saracens
    Top 14 - Toulouse
    Six Nations - England
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - Dave Rennie (complete shot in the dark as I don't think it will be any of the expected names)

Quint2010 wrote: »
    Good point. But I would not be surprised to see SOB move to 6 for The Lions. I can't see Gatland not making Warburton captain plus-a third irish Lions captain in a row?
    Yeah, the third Irishman in a row thing would be the one thing against Best. I can definitely see Warburton getting it as well though. And, whisper it, but BOD probably deserves another crack at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

Pro 12 - Munster - Leinster will top the league, but I've my optimism goggles on.
    HEC - Leinster provided they don't meet Clermont in the competition. If both sides meet, Clermont will probably get the win. Despite Leinster being the best ever HEC squad, the HEC is currently pretty weak.
    AP - Harlequins.
    Top 14 - Toulouse.
    B&I Cup - Munster A.
    Six Nations - Wales .
    Rugby Championship - NZ.
    2013 Lions series - Lions.
    Lions captain - Probably Sam Warburton. Its not as cut and dried as it was, as Warburton needs to find fitness and rightfully claim his spot ahead of Tipuric in the 6N. POC if Warburton doesn't get the nod.
    Leading Irish test try scorer - Tommy Bowe.
    Irish player of the season - Donnacha Ryan.

Eh...Leinster are fairly likely to meet Clermont in the competition. Unless you mean in the knockout stages?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Pro 12 - Munster
    HEC - Leinster
    AP - Tigers
    Top 14 - Clermont
    Six Nations - England
    Lions captain - Warburton
    Number of new Irish caps by 31st March 2013 - 2 (Strauss, D Kearney)
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - Michael Bradley

New category maybe; best new signing by the provinces? I think Laulala is going to turn out to be a great signing for Munster

Pro 12 - Munster - Leinster will top the league, but I've my optimism goggles on.
    HEC - Leinster provided they don't meet Clermont in the competition. If both sides meet, Clermont will probably get the win. Despite Leinster being the best ever HEC squad, the HEC is currently pretty weak.
    AP - Harlequins.
    Top 14 - Toulouse.
    B&I Cup - Munster A.
    Six Nations - Wales .
    Rugby Championship - NZ.
    2013 Lions series - Lions.
    Lions captain - Probably Sam Warburton. Its not as cut and dried as it was, as Warburton needs to find fitness and rightfully claim his spot ahead of Tipuric in the 6N. POC if Warburton doesn't get the nod.
    Leading Irish test try scorer - Tommy Bowe.
    Irish player of the season - Donnacha Ryan.

Leinster will go be going out all guns blazing to inflict maximum damage to Clermont in the group stages and hopefully put them out. To have to play Clermont away from home again in the knockout's I fear might be a step too far for this Leinster side but playing them at home is an entirely different proposition. But with the final in The Aviva at least one irish team (or maybe even two) will get a home path to the final all the way to the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭✭jm08

Pro 12 - Munster (Munster will target something achievable this year)
    HEC - Leinster (if its v a French/English club). All bets off if its v Ospreys or Ulster
    AP - Tigers
    Top 14 - Toulouse
    Six Nations - Ireland
    Lions captain - POC
    Number of new Irish caps by 31st March 2013 - 2 (Madigan, D Kearney)
    Irish player of the season - Jamie Heaslip

New category maybe; best new signing by the provinces? CJ Stander

jm08 wrote: »
    HEC - Leinster (if its v a French/English club). All bets off if its v Ospreys or Ulster

Really? Leinster have never had a problem with Ulster. 18 wins in a row or something ridiculous like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Also I feel that a properly rested and full strength Leinster wouldn't have a problem with the Ospreys, we just seem to keep meeting them an inopportune times. Ospreys are to Leinster as Leinster are to Clermont. A pain in the arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

Pro 12 - Munster
    HEC - Leinster
    AP - Harlequins
    Top 14 - Clermont
    AIL - Dunno
    Leinster Senior Cup - Dunno
    B&I Cup - Dunno
    Six Nations - Wales
    Lions captain - Warburton
    Number of Irish players named in the original Lions touring squad - 7-9
    Number of new Irish caps by 31st March 2013 - 6-8
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - Roy Keane
    Leading Irish test try scorer - Zebo
    Irish player of the season - Jamie Heaslip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭✭jm08

Teferi wrote: »
    Also I feel that a properly rested and full strength Leinster wouldn't have a problem with the Ospreys, we just seem to keep meeting them an inopportune times. Ospreys are to Leinster as Leinster are to Clermont. A pain in the arse.

Ulster generally put out weakened teams in the League when playing interprovincials. They don't have the same depth as either Leinster or Munster. With a fit Ferris and an experienced Tommy Bowe they won't be a walk-over.

The Ospreys have all the Irish team's number. Won 9 out of 10 last season (Ulster scraped a win in ravenhill).

I think Toulouse will be a bit more prominent next year - making the final of the world cup disrupted their season a bit (or so Guy Noves claimed).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Pro 12 - Leinster
    HEC - Leinster
    AP - Saracens
    Top 14 - Clermont
    Six Nations - France

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

Pro 12 - Ospreys (Leinster to top the table)
    HEC - Leinster (Clermont if Leinster get drawn away to them in semi final)
    AP - Leicester (also to top table)
    Top 14 - Clermont
    Six Nations - France
    2013 Lions series - Australia
    Number of new Irish caps by 31st March 2013 - 1 / 2 (more likely 1)
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - Declan ******** Kidney
    Irish player of the season - Rob Kearney

• Pro 12 - Leinster
    HEC -Clermont
    AP - Quins
    Top 14 - Clermont
    Six Nations - France
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - Mike Ruddock - interim selection

I don't really like making predictions as I generally jinx them, but in a purely speculative way wouldn't it be great if Fitzgerald came back from injury and had an amazing season? Roy of the Rovers stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭backawaygo onahead

Pro 12 - T'Ospreys
    HEC - Clermont - must get a bit of luck eventually.
    AP - Who cares?
    Top 14 - Perpignan
    B&I Cup - Munster A.
    Six Nations - France
    Rugby Championship - NZ.
    2013 Lions series - Oz - but again who cares, its only the Lions.
    Lions captain - POC if he is fit this season
    Number of new Irish caps by 31st March 2013 - 0
    Irish coach on 1st June 2013 - Unappointed, no rush chaps, we are trawling the world for the right man, said an IRFU spokesperson
    Leading Irish test try scorer - Someone in a green jumper. I expect three players to tie on 2 tries each.
    Irish player of the season - Jonathan Sexton - I expect he will finally become a proper 10 for Ireland after a testing early international career. If he isn't POTS we will struggle yet again. Biggest obstacle, lack of a decent 9 inside him.
    user_offline.gifreport.gif

I don't really like making predictions as I generally jinx them, but in a purely speculative way wouldn't it be great if Fitzgerald came back from injury and had an amazing season? Roy of the Rovers stuff.

NO, frankly it wouldn't. He is vastly overrated, mainly by those in blue, is not in the best 4 wingers in the country & finally he will never regain confidence as he has the startling problem that he simply cannot coordinate the relationship between his brain, hands & feet, never mind throwing a ball into the calculation.

Pity, but a waste of raw talent unfortunately, for beyond doubt he has that in the most plentiful abundance.

• NO, frankly it wouldn't. He is vastly overrated, mainly by those in blue, is not in the best 4 wingers in the country & finally he will never regain confidence as he has the startling problem that he simply cannot coordinate the relationship between his brain, hands & feet, never mind throwing a ball into the calculation.

Pity, but a waste of raw talent unfortunately, for beyond doubt he has that in the most plentiful abundance.

If it was 2011 6N you were basing this on, and that alone, I'd agree with a lot of it.

But it's simply untrue of pretty much every appearance Luke made in the 2011/2012 season. He's a guy that takes a while to get into gear, and having a lot of injuries has meant we've seen too many instances of the above, but this season after finally getting a run of more than 2 months of rugby, he started to work back into the groove that earned him his International spot.

He's not a speedster a la Hickie or Earls, not a strong running lethal vision winger like Bowe or Horgan before him, but he's a wickedly smart player that creates a lot for guys around him, whilst being an incredibly smart, technical and strong defender.

Yes there are games where we'll select Gilroy / Zebo / Earls for pace, or Bowe's all round resilience, or even Trimble's never-say-day attitude and relentless Box-Kick chasing, but Fitz (on form) should still have a role to play if used correctly within the national setup.

jm08 wrote: »
    New category maybe; best new signing by the provinces? CJ Stander

Think I might take an outside punt on Tommy Bowe, he's not bad.

But what about Nic Williams I hear you cry..................... well you got the cry bit right. I just have this feeling in my water that he may not be a disaster IF he is kept off the pies & stays fit. A big if.