Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guinness n' Rollies 2: Off Topic Chat Thread

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,874 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Hello! I post a lot in the Online Dating thread but I've never been in here before :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

miamee wrote: »
    Hello! I post a lot in the Online Dating thread but I've never been in here before :D

Welcome.. :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 19,074 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Hi. :D

SKeHp.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    Welcome to the world of IT, if you're not halfway under a desk wrestling with a PC, or your head halfway into a server which a bit of a sandwich hanging out of your mouth, then you're not doing it right!! :D
    This is true - my problem today is down to multiple problems coming my way when I'm in the middle of another, really outlining our need to organize an online ticketing system - we don't even have a ticketing system in place as is!! Running spiceworks locally on my laptop in an attempt to stay on top of the small stuff!

Also, Welcome Miamee :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 19,074 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Might just relax this evening.
    Any plans, folks? :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Just got my tux sorted for a wedding over Xmas, so its some laundry and then chill..

Your sig reminds me that I've some normal cleaning to do - college notes to recycle...

Is a tux normal gear for a wedding?

D'Agger wrote: »
    This is true - my problem today is down to multiple problems coming my way when I'm in the middle of another, really outlining our need to organize an online ticketing system - we don't even have a ticketing system in place as is!! Running spiceworks locally on my laptop in an attempt to stay on top of the small stuff!

Also, Welcome Miamee :)

There are multiple free open source ones out there which might be worth trying and once they get used to it, then the thoughts of doing without one may make them fork out some euros on a decent one..

Have a look at RT (Request Tracker).. Linky

And back on track to Mens Stuff.. :D

Your sig reminds me that I've some normal cleaning to do - college notes to recycle...

Is a tux normal gear for a wedding?

Its a black tie wedding on NYE..

I've been doing a spring cleanout since April, still going.. :D

Should be an interesting vibe at the wedding on NYE.

We had to make a bit of noise because the people who provide tech support for our website we not picking up our tickets.

Should be an interesting vibe at the wedding on NYE.

We had to make a bit of noise because the people who provide tech support for our website we not picking up our tickets.

Its a family wedding and the cuz getting married is coming home from Oz to get married so it will be a big event, looking forward to it actually.. :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,874 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Wrapping up on the sofa with a film to try and defeat oncoming cold. I refuse to be sick for the holidays!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,220 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Its a family wedding and the cuz getting married is coming home from Oz to get married so it will be a big event, looking forward to it actually.. :)

Ha! Think the guy I sit beside at work is going to the same wedding. Said he's a got a black tie wedding on New Year's Eve as well. Where's it in?

CastorTroy wrote: »
    Ha! Think the guy I sit beside at work is going to the same wedding. Said he's a got a black tie wedding on New Year's Eve as well. Where's it in?

Very possible. It's in Cork..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

I too have a NYE wedding,not black tie though thank fook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭KamiKazeKitten

Hi miamee!

One of my best mates is home from college in the UK so seeing her in a bit, very excited :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,220 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Very possible. It's in Cork..

Ah not the same one then.

12 Pubs on Friday, though I'll be honest and say I'll only be going for 5 or 6

Necronos wrote: »

I actually like the idea of a black tie wedding.. kinda classy and all that.
    Plus I've been told I polish up really well (when I put the effort in..) ;):p

• Administrators Posts: 55,157 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,052 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

LUNNNNNNNNNCH TIME!

(I see that I wrote the above in CAPS...not care I though....not care I!!)

• Administrators Posts: 55,157 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,052 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

awec wrote: »
    Braahhhh!

What are you having? Some moose?

Close! Some form of chicken slice in a sambo(chicken over here is woeful expensive!)
    And a cuppa coffee that cost me 25 whole cents! (Or a "quarter" as they say locally...by the locals...living locally..I refuse to call it that as I'm a thicko immigrant that hasn't a clue you see!)

me FICKIN' caps light IS ON permanently, WHICH MEANS i've no idea WHEN they are on or OFf.
    begger.

Deleting old emails, found my registration for boards, hah. A few hundred mails deleted anyway...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

Morning all. Trying to organise people for Christmas is a head wrecker! I might just feck off to the beach on my own!
    Currently on top of all my exam grading which means I won't have a HUGE pile waiting for me when I get back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Daisies wrote: »
    Morning all. Trying to organise people for Christmas is a head wrecker! I might just feck off to the beach on my own!
    Currently on top of all my exam grading which means I won't have a HUGE pile waiting for me when I get back!
    Wuhooo, go you :) Organising them will be worth it, you'll have a blast!

I decided not to cycle as I'm wrecked and the pr!ck of a bus driver is a pr!ck. He was stopped at the stop and wouldn't let us on :mad: This hasn't helped the grumpiness :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Morning all!! How are we? This damned cold still isnt shifting - but Tarantino soundtracks on the music system is helping greatly! Pulp Fiction into Reservoir Dogs - f*ck yeah!

awec wrote: »
    This is you, isn't it:

Worst.Comeback.EVER :pac: :pac:

Panthro wrote: »
    And a cuppa coffee that cost me 25 whole cents!

Damn you with your cheap caffeine!
    Morning all!! How are we? This damned cold still isnt shifting - but Tarantino soundtracks on the music system is helping greatly! Pulp Fiction into Reservoir Dogs - f*ck yeah!

That sounds unreaaaaaaal!

C'mooooon Friday!! Get here already! For now I guess it's happy hump day all!

Wrapping up on the sofa with a film to try and defeat oncoming cold. I refuse to be sick for the holidays!

How's that working out now? Plenty of time to the holidays, wouldn't worry about it :)
    Necronos wrote: »

On the topic of new years weddings had to working for two weddings in a row on the respective new years eve(s?....evi?) and while it wasn't the worst, it still wasn't great craic working until 7am both times....anyway, something I've done at weddings since is give a tip to one of the bar staff early in the night before they get too busy and tell them to look after you later :) They'll remember you if they're anyway decent at their job and you won't have to wait too long for drinks that night :)

Last full working day before the holliers - woohoo! Good morning everyone :D

D'Agger wrote: »
    How's that working out now? Plenty of time to the holidays, wouldn't worry about it :)
    Not too bad, feeling better today (thank you Mr. Lemsip) and I have stocked up on Strepsils for the day :) Thanks!