If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Guinness n' Rollies 2: Off Topic Chat Thread

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

What do you be doing on that internet thing, at all, at all?

Listening to auld wans talk about their age, bingo, and the Late Late Show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,413 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Sssshhhh, I'm listening to Hugo Duncan on the wireless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

CastorTroy wrote: »
    Sssshhhh, I'm listening to Hugo Duncan on the wireless
    Speaking of the Wireless - I hit the wrong button on my car radio the other day and put on LW radio - who remembers Dusty Rhodes Altantic 252?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

D'Agger wrote: »
    Maybe times have changed Pem....maybe Bingo is now a game for the moderately young and you're out of touch :pac:
    Excuse me! I am not out of touch you fecker! Young wans these days :rolleyes:
    Speaking of the Wireless - I hit the wrong button on my car radio the other day and put on LW radio - who remembers Dusty Rhodes Altantic 252?? :D
    Remember he would tell you what songs were coming so you could record them on your tape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Now I really miss long wave radio Atlantic 252!!

The only station that didn't play news - We just want music damnit! :pac:

I always thought (I listen to) Long Wave Radio Atlantic 252 (Now give me my money) was replaced by Sport or Talk radio?

Pembily wrote: »
    Excuse me! I am not out of touch you fecker! Young wans these days :rolleyes:

Remember he would tell you what songs were coming so you could record them on your tape.
    I'm not young....I'm in the grey area of life - no real purpose and in between life cycles! :pac:

CastorTroy wrote: »
    I always thought (I listen to) Long Wave Radio Atlantic 252 (Now give me my money) was replaced by Sport or Talk radio?
    Could've been not really sure, I remember them playing that song by All Saints from the movie The Beach CONSTANTLY

It was headwrecking!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Who else had a crystal radio kit?

252 always seemed to play the same 5 or 10 tunes over and over.

I'm not young....I'm in the grey area of life - no real purpose and in between life cycles! :pac:
    You're the same age as Awec, therefore younger than me, therefore young! QED!

I love that song by All Saints!

• Administrators Posts: 55,379 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

You're the same age as Awec, therefore younger than me, therefore young! QED!

I love that song by All Saints!
    I always had awec as being slightly older than me....maybe it's the maturity of his posts :pac:

I just feel old this year due to being one of the oldest fellas on the football team which is always depressing!

awec wrote: »
    Bingo is a youthful and vigorous sport.
    I've been lying about playing "football" all along - my back/hamstring/knee trouble has all been caused by Ultimate Bingo, I just didn't think I'd be accepted socially if you knew the truth

I feel so ashamed now *sobs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

Oh FCUK! I was 14 then!
    Try 16! :eek: :eek: :eek:
    Dusty Rhodes was on 2fm :P I know this because I recall listening to him after I’d moved on from Atlantic 252.
    /ancient

I also wanted to be a Billie Barry kid. I was always so sad that it was limited to fancy Dublin children :(

I always had awec as being slightly older than me....maybe it's the maturity of his posts :pac:
    Clearly :p

I remember Dusty Rhodes on 2fm too.

I don't have the coordination to be a Billy Barry kid plus they annoyed* me...

*may have been jealous :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Hermione* wrote: »
    Dusty Rhodes was on 2fm

This guy?
    rhodes_dusty.jpg

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::P

When were ye 24 braw?
    In the month of fools appropriately enough: April :)

I still feel incredibly immature for 24!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Bloody hell.. I feel ancient on here :(

Is there a boards old folks home? Methinks I should be in there :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

This guy?
    rhodes_dusty.jpg

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::P
    No idea what he looked like, grames, he was on the radio! :p

Ah here lad you're older than me by 6 months!

Oul hand!
    I'm seeing you in a whole new light now young fella :pac:

See what I've to put up with! AND I'm way more than 6 months older.

Yoof of today, ain't got no respec'

Well as the saying goes: "Only as young as the person you feel" :)

I just reverse the numbers in my age every now and again. I'm only 13. 23 in January :p

I've been looking at cars again.....stupidly :(

Would love an A4 but they're overpriced from what I can see - volvo s40 would be the business! Not that there's anything wrong with my lully focus but...I need change!

Geriatric-Adrenaline-Rush.jpg

tGCers 40-50 years from now.

Focuses are where it's at oul hand!
    Yeah I love mine to be fair, love the sound of the 1.6 TDI, she's a beast - going to sort my tyres, wash and clean her....I'll put up pics too sure :)