Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How Much is Too Much.

• 15-07-2012 8:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭

I know it is subjective.

How much have you paid ?
    How much would you pay ?

For a round of golf.

I've paid 130 Euro

Will Pay 200 at some stage to play Old Head or something like it.

200 is my limit. (I think).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

$500 for Pebble Beach, worth every penny...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

€60 is the most I've ever paid for a game and that was at The European and don't think I'd spend more than that, perhaps for a prestigious foreign course but no where near $500 either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Corkblowin

I know it is subjective.

How much have you paid ?
    How much would you pay ?

For a round of golf.

I've paid 130 Euro

You won't have to pay more than 100 for the Old Head at the mo - should get a fourball for about 300 if you negotiate it.

Paid 200 for Carnoustie - 150 for Waterville & 140 for the 2 ballybunion courses. I'd pay anything to get a round in Augusta - more reasonably I'd prob go to 300 for somewhere really special like Turnberry or Wentworth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭mikeunt

I know it is subjective.

How much have you paid ?
    How much would you pay ?

For a round of golf.

I've paid 130 Euro

where did you pay €130 to play
    as a matter of interest

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

€50 for The K Club Ryder Cup course in March and that included breakfast, it rained all day but it was worth it. When I'm playing better I'll pay more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

mikeunt wrote: »
    where did you pay €130 to play
    as a matter of interest

Anfi Tauro Gran Canaria (cart and clubs but).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

60e for the European Club. Would have to be something special for me to pay more, either an Open venue or maybe the Old Head or Royal County Down. Or Trump International :)

I paid 50e last summer to play a casual round in Donegal but that aside, I find myself playing very few 'away' courses these days if they aren't offering an open competition as part of the package. Casual golf does very little for me I must admit, I much prefer playing a course with a scorecard in my hand. Competing against friends/relatives not quite the same imo; if I were ever to pay over 100e for a game of golf, it'd have to be Augusta or Pebble Beach or something similarly once in a lifetime!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

What sort of deals are going to play old head lads?
    Their website seems very expensive and not up to date if you's are saying its playable for 100

Corkblowin wrote: »
    You won't have to pay more than 100 for the Old Head at the mo - should get a fourball for about 300 if you negotiate it.

Paid 200 for Carnoustie - 150 for Waterville & 140 for the 2 ballybunion courses. I'd pay anything to get a round in Augusta - more reasonably I'd prob go to 300 for somewhere really special like Turnberry or Wentworth.

why would you pay 300 for turnberry when all they are asking is around 200
    and you could play there during the winter for under 100
    i thought the days of people foolishly paying over the odds:rolleyes: for stuff were long gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Alrite Chief

Interesting topic. Its funny because some of the tracks demanding big wedge are not all that great. As the OP said it is subjective so I think if i was to pay anything over 50 its for special occasion/treat. Old head would see me drop 100 easy. Once off no problem.

ForeRight wrote: »
    Their website seems very expensive and not up to date if you's are saying its playable for 100
    90 with a GUI i was told the other day. During certain hours i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

90 with a GUI i was told the other day. During certain hours i think.

B&B old head round gargle petrol!
    200 euro maybe!
    I'm in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

Throw in the all but compulsory cart and I've paid €100 on quite a few occasions in Spain and Portugal.

Don't think I've actually gone over the £50 mark on home soil, for RCD last winter. That's was the best £50 off my life by the way.

Apart from a small handful like Portmarnock, Waterville and Portrush, only a man of limited care or limited timeframe should pay over £50/€65 in Ireland.

B&B old head round gargle petrol!
    200 euro maybe!
    I'm in :)
    Have clubs. Will travel.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Heading to Hawaii soon and going to cost me about €200 all in to play a round. That will probably be the most I'll ever pay but I have no doubt it will be worth it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Corkblowin

why would you pay 300 for turnberry when all they are asking is around 200
    and you could play there during the winter for under 100
    i thought the days of people foolishly paying over the odds:rolleyes: for stuff were long gone

Obviously if I did decide to go I'd look at the prices first :rolleyes:

Winter golf in those places is cheap because you either have to use a mat or are required to drop at the edge of the rough to protect the fairways.

Heading to Hawaii soon and going to cost me about €200 all in to play a round. That will probably be the most I'll ever pay but I have no doubt it will be worth it :)

Holy Honolulu that is impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

Kapalua looks absolutely spectacular; for 250 dollars, it must be there you're going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

We like to keep rounds on good courses to about €40 max, but on exception will pay more.

I think I paid about €70 to play the Old Head in our Society, but wouldn't play it again for more than this really.

Also playing the real Portmarnock in a couple of weeks and I think we're getting that for about €110, but our Society is subsidised so I'm getting that for about €75.

I would pay more for somewhere like Portrush, Andrews, Carnoustie etc. but they would be very special occasions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Seves Three Iron

Bought a special stay & play package in the Old Head in May of last year. Cost around 175 I think and involved a night there and a round the next morning. Great trip bar one incident - sitting in jocks on bed watching TV about 9pm when attendant guy knocks on door and walks straight into the room, 'your morning alarm, sir, what time shall I set it for?' After about five seconds of eye-to-eye awkwardness he was told to get the 'F' out of the room. Couldn't believe he actually just walked in unannounced. Imagine what he might find if he'd done it to Tiger! Anyhow, great course and the room overlooked the 18th green.

That was a great deal.

Laughing here at the attendant - maybe a full service was part of the deal (sorry).

It seems most would pay over 100 euro - the way I now look at it is , i've spent it on a night out, on meals etc. so why not golf.

The Island at 50 euro in Winter
    And Mt. Juilet for 60, was the best money I spent this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Dtoffee

Most I've actually spent to date is €75, but would spend up to €100.

Anything over €100 is encouraging inflation and supporting the logic that you can charge what you want. The price for anything is based on what people are willing to pay, otherwise the seller is left with his stock and a loss making operation ... hence the prices eventually come down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Think £80 for RCD is the most i have payed. I will pay what ever it costs for St. Andrews when i play there bar that you can get any course here for less than 100 if you have the numbers or can find a member or wait for a open so it just takes a bit of work. Have actually played the Portmarnock old for free, Royal Dublin for 50 and the Island for 20 Baltray for 20 so that's over 400 hundred quids green fees for 90.
    Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

I always laugh at friends saying there is no hope in hell they'd pay 200 euro for a round of golf, but they've spent 200 euro a night on booze and taxis countless times and can't remember a thing the next day. Now that's silly when you have a great day out which you'll remember for a long time!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭kevgaa

I have been lucky enough to play a bit of away golf on the top courses in the country this so called summer. Granted I have not played the top five yet of portrush, county down, portmarnock, old head, ballybunion etc..

Having payed big money for rounds in this country and abroad in the past
    my personal opinion now is that any course charging over 50 euro for a round in Ireland particularly midweek would need to be something special and so far I haven't come across any.

That probably opening a new debate :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭dnjoyce

Paid gbp120 for St. Andrews a few summers back. Worth every penny. Generally try to avoid paying anything over €50 unless one of the top top courses and then only infrequently. Too many great courses under €50 to justify paying anything more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

Myself and my brother played St Andrews in May 2000 just a couple of months before Tiger destroyed the course. It cost us £80 each. We played with 2 students of St Andrews Uni and they each paid £80 for the season :(. Before we left here we were told we would be using mats because the Open was so close but on arrival at the starter's hut there was no mention of mats. Played it in glorious sunshine and will treasure the day. Marshals all over the course constantly watching every game for slow play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

Paid 295 to play Old Head a few years back. I had seen photos of the place in a magazine and just had to play it. Crazy money but it was a once off and totally worth it for the experience. Granted it costs a lot to play our more famous courses but at least if we shell out the cash we can play them. The top couses in the states are generally members and guests only and no amount of money will get you a round on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Paid €90(incl. buggy and rental clubs) in Tenerife on Golf Del Sur, was used in Spanish open a couple of times & Ernie Els played Fred Couples on the course in Shell's Wonderful World of Golf. Was probably just about worth it but played the last hole in darkness because the evenings really come down quick there!

Would pay big money to play good courses but only courses in Ireland I would even consider paying more than €100 would be RCD, Portrush or Ballybunion Old.

Got invited to an MGS open day last year in the Old Head for €75 but couldn't make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

€250 for Druids Glen a good few years ago now, wasnt worth that.
    Paid $150 for a crappy course over in California last year (included clubs and buggy, and lashing rain!) Had to abandon after 13 holes as the buggies were sinking!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Kapalua looks absolutely spectacular; for 250 dollars, it must be there you're going?
    That's the place. It's slightly subsidised so I'm hoping it will come in under the €200 mark but if it's not all herself needs to know it was €200!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Mate got free round for doonbeg about 8 years ago. He asked me to join him and his mates to make up a Fourball. Cost us 100 euro each for the privilege. We were told on first tee temporary greens in play on 12 greens due to disease on greens. Most I ever paid and won't pay any more than 50 ever again

GreeBo wrote: »
    €250 for Druids Glen a good few years ago now, wasnt worth that.
    Paid $150 for a crappy course over in California last year (included clubs and buggy, and lashing rain!) Had to abandon after 13 holes as the buggies were sinking!

250 euro for Druids Glen :eek::eek::eek::eek:

We (don't mean you GreeBo) did loose the run of ourself here, stuff like that reminds you.

I've put 200 on a game of blackjack in Vegas, that lasts about 30 seconds and is a sin. So it is hard to say, I would not put 250 euro into 4 or 5 hours of a top class course. I mean top 50 in the world stuff.

It is mad mad money, but golfers are a bit mental .

I think I would pay 500 euro for Augusta - the truth is going up in Euros by the day.

scrubber72 wrote: »
    Mate got free round for doonbeg about 8 years ago. He asked me to join him and his mates to make up a Fourball. Cost us 100 euro each for the privilege. We were told on first tee temporary greens in play on 12 greens due to disease on greens. Most I ever paid and won't pay any more than 50 ever again

Free Round for 100 euro - did your mate charge you :confused:

I think I got it - he got a free one and ye had to join him at 100 euro (lol). some mate. Temporary Greens , sorry man, that is a shocker :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

250 euro for Druids Glen :eek::eek::eek::eek:

We (don't mean you GreeBo) did loose the run of ourself here, stuff like that reminds you.
    yeah I know, it was after a mates wedding but even at the time I was thinking "hmm this is quite a lot of cash"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

Really depends on the course and time etc etc. The most ive paid so far was 65 for the k club. If i was going up the north to play portrush etc just for the once off i would pay the 150 or whatever it is.

I want to play pebble beach some day as a once off and I will gladly pay out the $400-$500 for the experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭colmsix

paid 600 rand( 60 euro)for around in the gary player country club, sun city, included club hire , caddy + tip and lunch at the half way house. went around 4 over so caddy got a good tip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭MP62

Most I'd pay is €50, and like a previous poster already said while I love my golf I really have no interest in paying crazy prices for casual rounds.
    I think most places have open comps or scratch cups where you can get to play top courses for a fraction of the advertised price, although you don't get to pick your desired day it makes it all the more enjoyable when you pay less and are playing a comp.
    Best value so far this year, €35 for Tralee, Ballybunion, Fota and Cork junior scratch cups and €50 for Waterville open days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

I think Portmarnock is still 180 euros a round - A tenner a hole !!

With the cost of annual subs, to me it seems a waste to pay more on top to play different courses (unless you don't rate your own club). The only golf I play outside my club is in a society around 6 times a year, each 1 is around 40 quid (inc prizes).

I just couldn't justify paying more than 50 quid in this day and age, I'd feel robbed !!

Lads, Just a question ?

For the lads who would not spend over 50 euro on a game of golf.

I guess you have spent that on a meal ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Nedser101

Most I ever paid was 65€ for the b coarse in the k club ,what a let down .
    Most I was asked to pay to play was 400$ for turtle beach in Hawaii.
    You don't have to go around the world to play the best in the world ,there all here!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭LostPassword

Paid something like 125GBP for Portrush last Summer - nice course but weather was awful and didn't think the experience was quite worth it.

Paid around 100 euros a bunch of times for great courses in South Africa (Pearl Valley, Serengeti, Sun City), Hawaii and France (meh places but golf is expensive in those parts).

Paid something like 125GBP for Portrush last Summer - nice course but weather was awful and didn't think the experience was quite worth it.

Paid around 100 euros a bunch of times for great courses in South Africa (Pearl Valley, Serengeti, Sun City), Hawaii and France (meh places but golf is expensive in those parts).

what did you think of serengeti?
    would you go back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Lads, Just a question ?

For the lads who would not spend over 50 euro on a game of golf.

I guess you have spent that on a meal ?

Sorry wifey, I know it's our anniversary n all n all, but it just seems daft going to a nice restaurant and blowing cash when I could play portmarnock in the morning instead...

Com'on you can't reduce it to such a comparison.

Everyone is entitled to put a limit on what the deem acceptable.
    Acceptable price to pay for for meal, round of golf, car, shirt etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭LostPassword

what did you think of serengeti?
    would you go back?
    A cracker of a course, it's sort of new so a bit bare, but some savagely good holes. I would definitely go back.

ya
    14, 15 and 16 were my favourites there
    i suppose you sampled some of the stuff laid on at night nearby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭murphdogg11

I paid €50 for open singles in the Old Head last year. It is worth that but definitely not €100 or more. That is crazy money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

I paid €50 for open singles in the Old Head last year. It is worth that but definitely not €100 or more. That is crazy money.

Do they do open singles often there for 50e? Id love to play there 50e is a serious offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,916 ✭✭✭Ormus

Paid €120 for Tralee, beautiful course mind.

Have played some of the best courses in the world for a lot less, often free, just kinda depends on luck.

My mate is a full member of Portmarnock Links but it still costs me €40 to play as his guest. I think that stinks.

I'd probably pay up to a grand to play Augusta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Ormus wrote: »
    Paid €120 for Tralee, beautiful course mind.

Have played some of the best courses in the world for a lot less, often free, just kinda depends on luck.

My mate is a full member of Portmarnock Links but it still costs me €40 to play as his guest. I think that stinks.

I'd probably pay up to a grand to play Augusta.

My friend has told me that Tralee do great off season deals where you can play for €50, he absolutely loves the course.

Really would love to play Augusta but don't know if I would pay €1,000..............I wonder does anyone on here know anyone who's played it?