Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Underrated & overated in Dublin

• 15-07-2012 6:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭

Shamelessly stolen from Galway forum
    First off this is not a bashing thread so please lets not just start saying things are ****.

Overrated
    Beshoffs, prime position on O'Connell St but their fish & chips are poor imo. Dublin institution though

Accomadation in the IFSC, spanking new but shockingly expensive and the place is a ghost-town at weekends.

Underrated
    Going for a jog on Dollymount Strand

War Memorial Gardens in Islandbridge, the gardens are just glorious early in the morning, a hidden gem.

Guinness Store House, hard to call it underrated since the tourists love it but not enough locals go, it's fantastic

I know Galway far better then Dublin
    Can the Dubs give us some more :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Try Beshoff Bros instead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Shamelessly stolen from Galway forum

Saw that ;)

Overrated.
    Luas - Its only a tram, nothing special about trams.

Underrated
    Iveagh Gardens - Another hidden gem in the heart of town.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 363 ✭✭FishBowel

Overrated
    Lighthouse cinema - same stuff as everywhere else

Underrated
    Public libraries - free DVD rentals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,298 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Overrated; Shannahans.

Underrated; Epicurean food hall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

Overrated:
    O'Connell Street - cheap fast food and junkies
    Eddie Rockets: Expensive and slow
    M&S Food: Fantastic packaging - same food.

Underrated:
    Jimmy Chungs
    LUAS - the best thing for years ever to hit the city
    Peats - good prices now
    Dunleary pier: great walk, sea breeze, brill.
    Deer Park Hotel: climb/walk behind the hotel to howth hill and super panorama view of city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭dewsbury

Under rated: Dublin mountains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭retroactive

Underrated -

Boojum on Jervis Street
    3FE
    Iveagh Gardens
    Calzone Cafe

Overrated -

Everywhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Overrated: O'Connell Street (reasons mentioned already) and Temple Bar (too expensive, imo)

Underrated: The Co Op Market on Newmarket Square, especially the Sunday markets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Triangular

Overrated: Copper Face Jacks

Underrated: Too many bars to mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Overthrow

Overrated: Dublin Bikes, because every time I go to get one there are none left:pac:

Underrated -

Boojum on Jervis Street
    3FE
    Iveagh Gardens
    Calzone Cafe

Overrated -

Everywhere else

They don't underrate themselves...€3 for a tiny coffee :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 kingofkong

Over rated
    WestWood
    Diceys
    Bucks

Under rated
    Toltecca
    DART

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭Kitty-kitty

Under-rated:

Ten Thousand Japanese restaurant on Lower Liffey St
    Lighthouse Cinema, Smithfield, which has crazy comfortable chairs and feels a lot cleaner (because it's newer I suppose) than most other cinemas in town.
    Merrion Square park, which is very small but has so much packed into such a small place.

Over-rated:

the Epicurean (never any chairs, can get most of the same food on Moore St)
    Yamamori (it feels as though you're paying for ambiance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Pandoras Twist

Overrated

Diceys, Copper Face Jacks, the Palace etc
    Dundrum Town Centre
    American Apparel
    The counter and the other identical burger place whose name escapes me

Underrated

The natural history museum. Actually all our museums bar IMMA
    Steps of Rome pizza slices
    Hell fire club walks
    The Bernard Shaw - wish there were more places like it.
    The IFI

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Overthrow wrote: »
    They don't underrate themselves...€3 for a tiny coffee :mad:
    It's a speciality coffee shop, you're paying for quality, not quantity. Stick to Starbucks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

Underated - temple bar italian ice cream shop ,does lovely cakes too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Who are all these people rating O'Connell Street? Never heard anyone with a good word to say about it, so don't see how it can be overrated?

Underrated:
    Kilmaiham Gaol - lots of Dubs seem to have never been.

It's a speciality coffee shop, you're paying for quality, not quantity. Stick to Starbucks.

I realise this and I don't dispute they make an excellent coffee. Still, I was a bit put off the place when their price jumped from €2.50 a cup to €3 a cup overnight. Obviously they can charge whatever they want and more power to them if they can get it, but personally I'd frequent it a lot less due to the price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Over rated:
    Temple Bar

Under Rated:
    South Bull Wall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Overrated: Dublin 4. Diceys.

Underrated: Iveagh gardens.

Taken for granted: The pheonix park. (the park so close to the city centre is incredible imo)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

overrated: stephens green shopping centre
    grafton street
    temple bar

underrated: epicurian food hall
    howth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

Over-rated - Nando's - finally went there the other day and was really disappointed. Should have known when a fellow boardsie called it "KFC on plates"

Under rated - The Dublin coast line. Regardless of whether I am in Dun Laoghaire or Howth. I love it especially in the winter

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Overrated;
    Epicurean Food Hall (Taco Taco is the only place worth visiting)
    Stephen's Green SC
    Ben Dunne, in general

Underrated:
    Fixx Coffee House
    Andersons Cafe
    The Botanic Gardens

over rated:
    Nando's (like come on big deal it's chicken)
    Lilly's is NO craic (ever)

Under rated:
    New cinema down at the point

also I think it should be noted that I believe the whole "D4" thing is practiced by kids who haven't grown up and culchies with no experience of Dublin at all :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Who are all these people rating O'Connell Street?

I found myself asking that question too, one glance at the recent threads on this forum begs the question..

Underrated:

The Spire
    Coast road from Portmarnock to Malahide
    Trinity College

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,064 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Who are all these people rating O'Connell Street? Never heard anyone with a good word to say about it, so don't see how it can be overrated?

Underrated:
    You've just contradicted yourself - one never hears anyone say anything negative about Kilmainham Gaol so how do you deem it to be underrated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Brokentime

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Underrated; Epicurean food hall.

No way; this place is great. Couldn't underrate it.

Overrated:
    Porterhouse (only decent thing they make is the Fruli strawberry beer)
    Stephen's Green
    Luas (long overdue; too expensive; full of scumbags when it comes in from Tallaght)
    Temple Bar (just really awful)
    Savoy Cinema on O'Connell Street (why should this dusty hole get all the premiers?)
    Copper Face Jacks (never managed to score there once)

Underrated:
    Some of the Chinese restaurants along Parnell street (really good food, lots of it, and decent prices)
    Peter's Pub
    IFI (pretentious as all hell, but they do show some fantastic movies; membership is very reasonable)
    Walking around the city; Dublin's very easy to get around by foot
    Trinity College green area beside the Pav (summer days; cider; 'nuff said)

I think people are missing the point.

The Epicurian Food hall is constantly being bitched about, it's too packed (ask yourself why ;)), the chairs are too loud etc... but it's actually a great place if you get there early, really good coffee, cheap food etc... Therefore I think it's underrated. People rate badly. So to say it's overrated is silly.

Kilmainham Gaol is amazing. Along with the Botanic Gardens they constantly get good reviews, one of them is the top heritage sites in the country. How is it underrated?

The Epicurian Food hall is constantly being bitched about, it's too packed (ask yourself why ;)), the chairs are too loud etc... but it's actually a great place if you get there early, really good coffee, cheap food etc... Therefore I think it's underrated. People rate badly. So to say it's overrated is silly.

Oh, I was of the thinking that it is a genuine gem in the city, so couldn't be underrated. Haven't really seen many people bitch/moan about it.
    ...the chairs are too loud etc...

FFS. Who said that? :rolleyes:

Brokentime wrote: »
    FFS. Who said that? :rolleyes:

I read it on here a while ago. Silliest complaint ever! And you're right, it's a little gem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

Overrated:

Temple Bar
    Coppers (dont know if people rate it at all but always talked about, what a kip)

Underrated:

Guinness Storehouse
    Kilmainham Gaol
    Howth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Over rated:
    Phoenix Park
    Under rated:
    War Memorial Gardens across the river

(phoenix park is still good!)

I read it on here a while ago. Silliest complaint ever! And you're right, it's a little gem.

At risk of sounding like a cheapskate, the Foodhall is a great place for a date, especially if the girl's never been there before. And it's right beside The Lotts bar, which is a great place for a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Over rated:
    Phoenix Park
    Under rated:
    War Memorial Gardens across the river

(phoenix park is still good!)

Ah I dont know if Phoenix Park is overrated. Great clean park. The manky weather at the moment is bit crap as love it there in the Summer. Also Farmleigh house is brilliant with the farmers markets and the Drive In cinema in the Summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

they don't even make that, it's a Belgian White Fruit Beer.

Des wrote: »
    they don't even make that, it's a Belgian White Fruit Beer.

Balls.

I take it back, then; Porterhouse is totally overrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭ViveLaVie

Overrated:
    Trinity College
    Fallon & Byrne

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 405 ✭✭Econoline Van

Balls.

I take it back, then; Porterhouse is totally overrated.

I disagree. Decent prices for Temple Bar, superb selection of booze, and a great place for a date if you're going to be needing beer goggles later on (pints of BrainBlasta!).

Often decent covers bands there too and a nice atmosphere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

No way; this place is great. Couldn't underrate it.

Overrated:
    Stephen's Green

Underrated:

Peter's Pub
    )

The Porterhouse serves various delicious beers for around 4euro a pint.

Peter´s pub charges 5.40 for pints of Carlsberg and Heineken..........

I know which one I think is overrated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Ben D Bus

Under-rated: The 90 bus
    Over-rated: the Luas from Heuston to the IFSC

Guess which one is faster & cheaper!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭cson

dfx- wrote: »
    I found myself asking that question too, one glance at the recent threads on this forum begs the question..

Underrated:

The Spire
    Coast road from Portmarnock to Malahide
    Trinity College

Should be in the overrated category for me. It always puzzles me the amount of tourists that go way down Henry St to get a photo of what is essentially a 10 year old metal spike that knackers tend to congregate under. If the whole thing was lit up like in the artists impression drawings of what it'd be like then it'd be more noteworthy. Instead we have tourists thinkings its our landmark; London has Big Ben/Tower Bridge, Paris has the Eiffel Tower, Rome the Trevi Fountain, Amsterdam has Dam Square, Brussels has the Palace, Berlin the Brandenberg gates... I could go on. We have a big ****ing metal spike.

For me it symbolises all that is/was wrong with modern Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

The Porterhouse serves various delicious beers for around 4euro a pint.

Peter´s pub charges 5.40 for pints of Carlsberg and Heineken..........

I know which one I think is overrated

Also that Dingle 8 year whiskey, one of the smoothest I have ever tasted!

Often decent covers bands there too and a nice atmosphere.

Okay, on the bands, the music is waaaaaay too loud if you go upstairs.
    I disagree. Decent prices for Temple Bar, superb selection of booze, and a great place for a date if you're going to be needing beer goggles later on (pints of BrainBlasta!).

I went on a date there once. Worst date of my life, but it was nothing to do with the bar; she was just a bore. I suppose if you need to get a bit twisted for a date, you could go across the road to that place... I think it's called The Czech Inn. Nice selection of beer and decent prices, and decent jukebox/music. I just think that Brainblaster beer is mank. But the Porterhouse in Temple Bar is better than the other one where Judge Roy Beans used to be.

Regarding Peter's Pub and the prices; I know it's a bit (a good bit) more expensive, but it just has a nice vibe, and sitting outside in that laneway beside it is a great place to be in the shade and people-watch on a lazy Sunday afternoon.

cson wrote: »
    ...a 10 year old metal spike that knackers tend to congregate under...

Probably because it reminds them of a gigantic heroin needle :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Overated:
    3fe
    Guinness storehouse
    kehoes
    stephens green
    public transport

underrated:
    fixx
    botanic gardens
    blessington basin park
    dublin castle
    natural history museum
    and oul walk down the liffey towards the docks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Bambi wrote: »
    Overated:
    3fe
    Guinness storehouse
    kehoes
    stephens green
    public transport

underrated:
    fixx
    botanic gardens
    blessington basin park
    dublin castle
    natural history museum

1+ for that :)

Might be a bit morbid, but Glasnevin Cemetry is worth a visit, too. Ancient tombstones and high crosses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Underrated:
    I was going to say this. I went for the first time last week, great place. 6Euro in and tour was guided from a Doctor of Irish history was very impressed.

Also the national art gallery on kildare street is excellent and free

Bambi wrote: »
    Overated:
    3fe
    Guinness storehouse
    kehoes
    stephens green
    public transport

underrated:
    fixx
    botanic gardens
    blessington basin park
    dublin castle
    natural history museum

Another +1 for Kehoes. Always too packed, and full of knobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

Should be in the overrated category for me. It always puzzles me the amount of tourists that go way down Henry St to get a photo of what is essentially a 10 year old metal spike that knackers tend to congregate under. If the whole thing was lit up like in the artists impression drawings of what it'd be like then it'd be more noteworthy. Instead we have tourists thinkings its our landmark; London has Big Ben/Tower Bridge, Paris has the Eiffel Tower, Rome the Trevi Fountain, Amsterdam has Dam Square, Brussels has the Palace, Berlin the Brandenberg gates... I could go on. We have a big ****ing metal spike.

For me it symbolises all that is/was wrong with modern Ireland.

All of those things you list are old monuments. Other than the London Eye, one of which was here for a bit, name a modern landmark from London, Paris, Berlin, etc which has been build in or around the last 10 years?

Dublin has its fair share of old buildings/monuments to compare with those you have listed.

Should be in the overrated category for me. It always puzzles me the amount of tourists that go way down Henry St to get a photo of what is essentially a 10 year old metal spike that knackers tend to congregate under. If the whole thing was lit up like in the artists impression drawings of what it'd be like then it'd be more noteworthy. Instead we have tourists thinkings its our landmark; London has Big Ben/Tower Bridge, Paris has the Eiffel Tower, Rome the Trevi Fountain, Amsterdam has Dam Square, Brussels has the Palace, Berlin the Brandenberg gates... I could go on.

Can't believe you didn't mention Stephansplatz and Stephansdom in Vienna!?!? Took my breath away when I first saw that church.