Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012).

• 14-07-2012 5:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭

Well, there doesn't seem to be a thread to talk about this movie, so here it is.

Trailer:

Synopsis (IMDb): An introvert freshman is taken under the wings of two seniors who welcome him to the real world.

Synopsis (my version): The Perks is an adaptation of the popular book "The Perks of Being a Wallflower" by director Stephen Chbosky (who also wrote the screenplay). It is set in Pittsburgh, in the early 1990s. It follows a young boy known only as Charlie (Lerman) as he begins high school as a shy, awkward introvert. He then meets two people who will change him; Patrick (Miller) and Sam (Watson).

Director: Stephen Chbosky.

Staring: Logan Lerman, Emma Watson, Ezra Miller

Release: USA: Sept 14. UK: Oct 5. Ireland: TBC.

I guess we can use this thread to discuss the film, how the book can transition to screen etc.

+

I am very, very excited for this movie. I love the book. It is such an amazing book. Any teenager can find one aspect to relate to, imo. I am anxious to see how it transfers to the screen. I am kind of... relaxed by the fact Stephen is pretty much doing it himself (director, screenplay). It'll be interesting. But, do read the book if you haven't yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 AspiringWriter

Every bookshop I walk into never has this book in stock. Im dying to read it, have heard so many good things about it. The trailer looks fab also

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Heard good things about the book but the trailer makes the film look like your average clichéd coming of age movie. Was genuinely cringing in parts when I saw it in the cinema.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

Doesn't look too shabby tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Pen Rua

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Heard good things about the book but the trailer makes the film look like your average clichéd coming of age movie. Was genuinely cringing in parts when I saw it in the cinema.
    Did that trailer, by any chance, have an Irish release date or "Coming Soon..."?

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Pen Rua wrote: »
    Did that trailer, by any chance, have an Irish release date or "Coming Soon..."?

No neither unfortunately.

Seems I can't edit my original post but; Irish release date is October 3rd! http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1659337/releaseinfo

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Hmm. Not sure what to make of that trailer. On the one hand, the dialogue at certain points seems strong ("Call it Slut And The Falcon. Make us solve crimes!"). On the other hand, this seems predicated on a school experience that is unfamiliar to me (school just wasn't that traumatic for me, what can I say?) and has certain indications of being saccharine while taking itself seriously that would put me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Glendambo

Loved this book.

I am rather unconvinced by the casting of Emma Watson though. I'll reserve judgement until I see it but I am dubious as to her ability for this role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭mach1982

Here a new clip from "Perks"

Also Oden Has a release date of the 21st

http://www.odeoncinemas.ie/fanatic/film_info/m13754/The_Perks_Of_Being_A_Wallflower_35mm/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

I must say I never heard of the book but the trailer looks interesting, makes me want to see the film.

Has anyone heard anything more about the release date? I emailed both the Eye and Omniplex cinemas in Galway, but neither have replied. My friends and I are dying to see this movie and the added wait to find out when we can see it is awful asdfghjkl;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

Has anyone heard anything more about the release date? I emailed both the Eye and Omniplex cinemas in Galway, but neither have replied. My friends and I are dying to see this movie and the added wait to find out when we can see it is awful asdfghjkl;
    its out the 3rd October, looks good alright, haven't read that book,

don ramo wrote: »
    its out the 3rd October, looks good alright, haven't read that book,
    Someone posted that Odeon have it for the 21st of this month... Could that just be previews or something?

Update: I got a reply from cinemas in Galway. The film will be out on October 5th c:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

This is such a wonderful beautifullly deep film. I had not read the book berfore seeing it but want to get my hands on a copy now. Highly recommended viewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Saw this in Movies@Swords with the better half Saturday afternoon. Absolutely loved it. Emma Watson won't be long shrugging off the "used to be Hermione in Harry Potter" tag... while Grint may become the better actor technically, I think she'll be the one to become a real star in her own right (poor Daniel Radcliff is on a hiding to nothing).

Anyway, brilliant soundtrack, solid performances all round, quite subtle film-making for a teen coming of age movie and a little dark without being an attempt to shock parents like Kidulthood, thirteen etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭WatchWolf

Sleepy wrote: »
    .. while Grint may become the better actor technically, I think she'll be the one to become a real star in her own right (poor Daniel Radcliff is on a hiding to nothing).

Radcliffe has just starred in a relatively successful horror film and had the lead role in a very successful Broadway musical. He also has several promising projects lined up.

Grint is going to be starring the Postman Pat movie.

Huh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

WatchWolf wrote: »
    Radcliffe has just starred in a relatively successful horror film and had the lead role in a very successful Broadway musical. He also has several promising projects lined up.

Huh.

As Postman Pat or his black and white cat?

WatchWolf wrote: »

Huh.

Yes, but Radcliffe was awful in that horror film which arguably owed a lot of it's success to people being curious to seeing him in another role. He seems like a nice kid and is certainly keen to develop himself as an actor but tbh, I just don't think he has the talent to match his ambitions.

Grint is a natural actor but, let's be realistic, he just doesn't have the looks to be a conventional leading man. Doesn't mean he won't have a successful career but I'd be surprised if he can ever break out of the "best friend" roles in major pictures. He's doing some good indy work though.

Watson has the ability, the looks and the screen presence to be a star. I'd say Grint will prove to be the better actor but she just has the star quality he doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

What an unbelievably pompous, cliched and cringeworthy load of shite.
    I squirmed in my seat for much of it and at one stage, completely involuntarily, audibly said "oh, **** off" during yet another narcissistic teen speech, drawing looks that would strip barnacles of a ship from the two sobbing gob****es just a few seats away from me.
    Why, oh why, is there this drive among film makers to make mental health issues appear sexy and cool?
    There were admittedly occasional moments of genuine drama or humour but these dizzying heights of average storytelling only made the inevitable plummet back into gaudy teen melodrama all the more nauseating.
    Just a really, really bad film.
    It also brought with it the shocking revelation that Emma Watson is at best a thoroughly average actress. Doesn't help that she looks like a schoolboy either.

Why, oh why, is there this drive among film makers to make mental health issues appear sexy and cool?

It didnt make it look cool at all. Why did you think it was made look cool? I cant think of one incident or moment in the film where mental illness was depicted as cool?

Oh please the whole tone of the film was about how sexy and mysterious and cool and deep it was. It was one bathroom self-harm scene away from being nothing short of all out emo porn.
    Terrible, narcissistic drivel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Well the trailer makes me want to vomit so i think i'll give it a miss.

I don't really see how it make it look cool or sexy...

Have you seen the film? If so, check a few posts up

I have, and I loved it. Charlie was depressed, then he found friends who helped him get out of it. Sexy? Cool?

I refer you to my earlier posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Kooli

I absolutely loved this movie. I've never heard of the book, so came to this fresh, not knowing much about it.

I'm a big fan of coming-of-age books and films, if done well, and I found this one fantastic. Surprisingly dark (again because I knew nothing in advance) and I thought it's portrayal of mental illness was authentic and heartbreaking, without being dehumanising or dismissive. Absolutely bizarre that someone would see that as sexy or cool TBH...

I don't think Emma Watson was brilliant, but she was fine. The two lads were fantastic though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,872 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Kooli wrote: »
    I absolutely loved this movie. I've never heard of the book, so came to this fresh, not knowing much about it.

I'm a big fan of coming-of-age books and films, if done well, and I found this one fantastic. Surprisingly dark (again because I knew nothing in advance) and I thought it's portrayal of mental illness was authentic and heartbreaking, without being dehumanising or dismissive. Absolutely bizarre that someone would see that as sexy or cool TBH...

I don't think Emma Watson was brilliant, but she was fine. The two lads were fantastic though.

I pretty much agree with this!

How realistic was it though that
    no one had heard of david bowies - heroes....the tunnel song......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Sleepy wrote: »
    Watson has the ability, the looks and the screen presence to be a star. I'd say Grint will prove to be the better actor but she just has the star quality he doesn't.

I think she is an utterly horrible actress. I've never seen anyone act so much with their eyebrows in all my life.

gmisk wrote: »
    I pretty much agree with this!

How realistic was it though that
    no one had heard of david bowies - heroes....the tunnel song......
    I was born in 1980 and I think I was in my 20's before I noticed the song so, tbh, not that unbelievable.

The film is set in a time when you discovered music through friends or DJ's, the internet has massively, massively changed our experience of music. The prevalence of "mix-tapes" in the movie was one of the things I liked about it tbh, they captured that side of the era very, very well imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭bigpoppa

watched this last night and loved it, amazing how many people bring up the Bowie thing (until u realise it is something Mark Kermode raised in his review and they just regurgitate it:)

hadnt read the book but really enjoyed the movie, some serious shmaltz in places but again loved it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Lovely little film. Really enjoyed it. Not a teen movie as such. Very serious themes and an excellent soundtrack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Jacks Smirking Revenge

I got 15 minutes into this and had to turn it off, its not good when a film makes you resent every character in the first 15 minutes....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

I got 15 minutes into this and had to turn it off, its not good when a film makes you resent every character in the first 15 minutes....

This was my most unexpected movie of 2012, I thought it was going to be rubbish but I was really surprised how much I enjoyed it after watching it.

I enjoyed this too, didn't expect much from the trailer and I can see how the characters might seem annoying at first but it actually turned out to be quite an honest and moving film in the end.

The only problem I had with it was it underplayed the main character's mental problems a bit too much in my eyes only to pile it all on in the last 20 minutes. It didn't feel like it was much of an issue in the rest of the movie and then it all of a sudden becomes the main focus towards the end which didn't really work for me. Despite that though I still thought the film was great and it's hard to resist the sense of nostalgia I got from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Any film with the song Pearly Dew Drops Drops in it is a winner in my book :D

Soundtrack was top notch in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Movie made me not resent the fact that i am not yet an immortal, heartless robot. totally forgettable though a couple months later. 4/5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Mickeroo wrote: »
    I enjoyed this too, didn't expect much from the trailer and I can see how the characters might seem annoying at first but it actually turned out to be quite an honest and moving film in the end.

The only problem I had with it was it underplayed the main character's mental problems a bit too much in my eyes only to pile it all on in the last 20 minutes. It didn't feel like it was much of an issue in the rest of the movie and then it all of a sudden becomes the main focus towards the end which didn't really work for me. Despite that though I still thought the film was great and it's hard to resist the sense of nostalgia I got from it.
    The mental aspect is rushed in the book as well. It is an underlying aspect throughout, but generally underplayed until the very end.

Enjoyed the movie as well. Had enjoyed the book beforehand anyway, and the movie stayed largely to the book, so that was to be expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

Apparently, the so-called Tunnel Song in the book is different, and is a much more obscure track. I'm assuming it was changed for the film because "Heroes" was considered potentially more cinematic. I've not seen Mark Kermode's review, so I'm certainly not picking up on the fact from his assessment of the film. However, I don't think it's pedantic to criticise its appearance.
    It is hugely problematic, since the song (and the identification of it) is an essential element to a key narrative arc. I find it impossible to believe that, even in a pre-internet era, people who are familiar with the far more obscure Nick Drake and The Shaggs, and who are massive Smiths fans, and who have a circle of friends they can consult, do not know "Heroes".

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Maya Hawke, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

Wow, you really turn off a film after 15 minutes because you dislike the characters?

I'm just thinking of how many amazing films I would have missed out on if I followed that logic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Apparently, the so-called Tunnel Song in the book is different, and is a much more obscure track. I'm assuming it was changed for the film because "Heroes" was considered potentially more cinematic. I've not seen Mark Kermode's review, so I'm certainly not picking up on the fact from his assessment of the film. However, I don't think it's pedantic to criticise its appearance.
    It is hugely problematic, since the song (and the identification of it) is an essential element to a key narrative arc. I find it impossible to believe that, even in a pre-internet era, people who are familiar with the far more obscure Nick Drake and The Shaggs, and who are massive Smiths fans, and who have a circle of friends they can consult, do not know "Heroes".

Yeah, in the book it was some Fleetwood Mac song. Can't remember the name but listened to it at the time of reading. Completely different to Heroes, and way more melancholic and depressive. Heroes put a completely different swing on the scene. The song's relative obscurity would also better explain the inability to find out its name originally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Jijsaw

I can't have been the only person that was disappointed when Sam didn't play "Something" by The Beatles when Charlie gave her the original single.
    The original song that was playing in the tunnel was "Landslide" by Fleetwood Mac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

Jijsaw wrote: »
    I can't have been the only person that was disappointed when Sam didn't play "Something" by The Beatles when Charlie gave her the original single.

I suspect that's mainly because it's very difficult to get the rights to Beatles songs for use in films. Judging by her bedroom decor, I'm surprised she didn't just stick it on the wall with the other jukebox 7"s.

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Maya Hawke, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Jacks Smirking Revenge

Wow, you really turn off a film after 15 minutes because you dislike the characters?

I'm just thinking of how many amazing films I would have missed out on if I followed that logic!

This wasn't dislike, I hated the characters and honestly I wasn't in the mood to see 2 hours of them, I can get through a film if I simply "Dislike" some of the characters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Watched this last night - very enjoyable with some very good performances, particularly Lerman. Well pieced together too!

I think Emma Watson is overrated a tad but she's quite good in this.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Chbosky's justification for the use of "Heroes" was that he didn't know that song in the early '90s. In other words, he is obviously no Cameron Crowe when it comes to music.

As for Charlie's problems being rushed, I agree. The whole
    abuse
    thing came out of nowhere and seemed to undermine what that had being established about the character up until then. I haven't read the book, but in the film he didn't strike me as being having those kinds problems. It seemed like the film was trying to explain why he was quiet and introverted and had social anxiety issues, i.e why he was a wallflower. He's a bloody teenager, why does there need to be a reason?

Having said that, I did really like how the sensitivity and complexity in which the
    abuse
    was handled. The flashback sequence as he remembers was very well edited. And I liked that
    Lynskey's character isn't portrayed as some monster but rather as someone with big problems of her own who he had strong feelings for, hence why he was so messed up about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Watched it tonight and really enjoyed it. Acting was quite good I thought, particularly Ezra Miller. Did find it strange that they didn't know the song "Heroes", but all in all a great film. Soundtrack was brilliant as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭123 LC

Jijsaw wrote: »
    The original song that was playing in the tunnel was "Landslide" by Fleetwood Mac

to be fair landslides probably even better know than heroes