Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Remote 3G Installation

Options
  • 11-07-2012 9:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 29

Hi All,

I'm new to boards so go easy on me :p

I just wanted to share a 3G installation I built in order to improve my desperate Three signal.

Like a lot of People on the NB Scheme, I was sold a contract by Three promising that my area was covered. Maybe I was silly for signing up so easily, but I hadn't much choice given there was no chance of dsl or fixed wireless in my area.

Sure enough my signal was crap since the get go and I was just another angry Three customer!

Anyway long story short I built one of these:

2wpqgxe.jpg
    24zw1vo.jpg

I haven't looked back since! :D

Without getting into the detail of how it works, I now have excellent signal strength all the time. My only limit is contention really.

I achieve speeds between 1M (peak time) to 5+M (off peak)

285571911.png

So after all that gloating I was wondering are there many people out in the sticks with 3g signal problems or was I just living in a black spot or what!?

I've had a couple of people interested in one of these for their own place and that got me thinking.. €€ :cool:

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Wireless net

nice setup, how does the b260A router connect to the antenna at the top of the pole? surely the connector lead running from the back of the modem, to the antenna must be long?