Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to serving Guards think of the new Rosters,,

• 10-07-2012 11:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭

Lads if you wouldnt mind answering this for me please,,i have been the victim of a crime recently and am just wondering what the general view of members is on the new rosters that came in April,im very concerned about this 6 Days on,4 days rest system thats been piloted at the minute,as because of it,i have been left very dissapointed with the outcome of my particular situation and the Guards ability/moral..I am hopeing that it may have been a once of result and that it is not the way things are being handled on a daily basis,Can you please renew my confidence\respect in the force and the system and agree with me as a member of the public that there is no way this system can be sustained,for the sake of what aver bit of law and order is still out there,,,thanks,,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Do you prefer the 7 days on 2 off roster of the past? How has the new roster impacted you, as a victim of crime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭elaverty

I had no experience of the previous rosters so i cant comment on weather they were better or not,all i know is that i got poor results due to the present rostering system,as there wasnt anything done about the crime untill the investigating Garda came back from his four days of leave,as far as i am concerned no other Guard could/would get involved with it,and hence 4 days was lost on the investigation.I cant Imagen how the older system could have been any more no productive as this system and in my case the present system has been a total let down and i cant see how the serving members can think that it would be better,,,thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

elaverty wrote: »
    I had no experience of the previous rosters so i cant comment on weather they were better or not,all i know is that i got poor results due to the present rostering system,as there wasnt anything done about the crime untill the investigating Garda came back from his four days of leave,as far as i am concerned no other Guard could/would get involved with it,and hence 4 days was lost on the investigation.I cant Imagen how the older system could have been any more no productive as this system and in my case the present system has been a total let down and i cant see how the serving members can think that it would be better,,,thanks

Serious question, and not making light of whatever you were a victim off, but maybe you could give us an idea of what the crime was and what difference 2 days will make to the investigation?
    The investigation of an offence can take weeks, months even before it gets to court. Sometimes the public dont realise this and expect things to happen straight away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭Tyron Jara

With that four days leave the hours are made up in the other 6 days with ten hour shifts. The garda has more than enough time to investigate what has happened. A guard does 60 hours of work on average a week if not more I think there entitled to the four days off dont you??

Mr Jinx wrote: »
    Serious question, and not making light of whatever you were a victim off, but maybe you could give us an idea of what the crime was and what difference 2 days will make to the investigation?
    The investigation of an offence can take weeks, months even before it gets to court. Sometimes the public dont realise this and expect things to happen straight away.

OK,heres the story...The crime was a burglary breakin,,a significant amount of cash was taken,and tools also,it was a business premises,The culprit was ID via CCTV,I had a name and where abouts of him 24hrs later which i handed on to the guards,,but as the investigateing guard had started his 4 days leave on the morning of the breakin,i was told that nothing could be done untill he returned (4 days later),every hour that went by meant there was less of my money left to retrieve,and to date one week later other cctv has not been inspected,So 2 days would have made a big difference to the culprit being apprehended,let alone 4 days,,and hightened the chances of the guards retriveing my money and tools,dont you think ?

Tyron Jara wrote: »
    With that four days leave the hours are made up in the other 6 days with ten hour shifts. The garda has more than enough time to investigate what has happened. A guard does 60 hours of work on average a week if not more I think there entitled to the four days off dont you??

I have no problem with a guard haveing his time off,what i have a problem with is there was no other guards there to cover his case while he was away,so how can the investigation continue in a serious way,straight after the crime which is the most important time to do it,he can spend all the time he wants on the case 4 days later,,,,but its too little too late,,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Once the crime is investigated the offender caught then your cash becomes evidence and is probably held till the offender case heard and appeal process complete.

So 4 days is going to be the least of your issue.

Sadly I reckon the officer has several other cases on the Go at the one time all with victims that need to be seen to.

In the legal issues forum they may be able to answer answer the question of wether compensation orders to victims can be included in the Officers brief.

The odds of catching him are greatly deminished when there is nothing done for 4 days is my point...and very little if anything done the next 3 days,,,i will repeat that they had the name of the culprit 24 hrs later,and because of the system,with the rosters,nothing was done about it,,,how can that be a progressive system that gets results,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Agree, ridiculous that nothing would be done for 4 days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Reality:

That Garda has probable ten other cases on the go

He / She will not be given the time to hunt down this suspect and instead will spend the next week being put on posts and beats instead because of lack of numbers. Then and only then will he / she get to try and solve the case.

Unless the suspect left the cash in his sock drawer and you can provide full serial numbers, its unlikely to be matched or given back.

It doesnt matter if we work 6 / 4 off or any other system. We will still take time off and having other officers stamping over your case would not be time efficient for the organisation as a whole or for individual Garda.

We are humans working to live, not living to work and the time off makes **** all difference to a case. A genuinely time sensitive case will result in an officer staying on and claiming overtime but then how many threads here moan about this practice?

Put it another way, what if the officer had leave booked or was sick? Should that be cancelled? Sorry but the answer is no.

And besides, what your suggesting is that Garda rosters and rest periods should be made in such a manner than it wont impact on a person who arrives into a station unannounced with CCTV footage and expects the Garda to drop everything and come rushing to work.

Sometimes due to my working life the bank not being open at night doesnt suit me, should they change?

Its neither fair or realistic to expect people to change their lives because of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭First Aid Ireland

Eru wrote: »
    Reality:

He / She will not be given the time to hunt down this suspect and instead will spend the next week being put on posts and beats instead because of lack of numbers. Then and only then will he / she get to try and solve the case.

Unless the suspect left the cash in his sock drawer and you can provide full serial numbers, its unlikely to be matched or given back.

It doesnt matter if we work 6 / 4 off or any other system. We will still take time off and having other officers stamping over your case would not be time efficient for the organisation as a whole or for individual Garda.

We are humans working to live, not living to work and the time off makes **** all difference to a case. A genuinely time sensitive case will result in an officer staying on and claiming overtime but then how many threads here moan about this practice?

Put it another way, what if the officer had leave booked or was sick? Should that be cancelled? Sorry but the answer is no.

And besides, what your suggesting is that Garda rosters and rest periods should be made in such a manner than it wont impact on a person who arrives into a station unannounced with CCTV footage and expects the Garda to drop everything and come rushing to work.

Sometimes due to my working life the bank not being open at night doesnt suit me, should they change?

Its neither fair or realistic to expect people to change their lives because of you.

You're very defensive. From my reading of the guy's original post, he was just asking a question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

personally i like them a lot in comparison to the old ones. i hate the 7am shifts but all the others are great.

when your working your working for the day but at least now i can have something resembling a normal enough working week.

you were unfortunate with the timing of the incident but honestly i think its ludicrous to suggest changing the rostering system of thousands of guards for occasional incidents like this.

having multiple guards investigating the same incident is a no no aswell as it would be horribly inefficient and would end up with 2-3 people doing the same job at slightly different times.

also as mentioned an investigations timeline in reality and with what the public think are two totally seperate things.

in short to answer your original question, overall, i like them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Locust

4 early's in a row are a killer!

I think management need to put something in place that the onus of investigation can be spread amongst a team of people, rather than one member. 4 days off can really stall an investigation. But ERU is right - reality is the guard is guaranteed to be swamped in other cases, that have been going on longer and may have to take precedence.

I know in the UK they have 'case progression officers' that the arresting/initial member dealing with the case can pass info on to another officer who progresses the case a bit further. Sounded to me like a great idea.

Reality:

What im suggesting is that there is someone there to investigate the case,in this case there was no one there to investigate/take details/look at footage/interview a cctv identified suspect etc,now how can you say that this is a good way of doing things for the public,it may well suite you and your members,but it certainly dosnt suite the victims of crime who are the people that you have sworn to protect and are also the people that pay your wages,there is no way in gods name you can get job satisfaction and have respect for the job your are doing under these conditions,and if you do,well god help us all..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

the people that pay your wages,..

The dept of Justice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

MagicSean wrote: »
    The dept of Justice?

Comptroller General :)

OP how would you design a roster that would meet the needs of the victim like yourself?

I would make sure that there was someone allways on duty able to investigate someones case,and not leaving 4 days pass without anyone being able to do so,,now maybe that means recruiting more guards and not just changeing the rosters,,,,

That sounds great but how would you do it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

I would make sure that there was someone allways on duty able to investigate someones case,and not leaving 4 days pass without anyone being able to do so,,now maybe that means recruiting more guards and not just changeing the rosters,,,,

You could ask to see the sergeant or superintendent in relation to this information and he/she may well arrange for someone to look into it in the meantime if it is appropiate

What im suggesting is that there is someone there to investigate the case,in this case there was no one there to investigate/take details/look at footage/interview a cctv identified suspect
    Unless your changing your story, the original Garda has already started the investigation, taken details and will look at footage and then having spent a week or two trying to ID the suspect will eventually arrest them, your ID or whoever elses will only come into play if that person is willing to stand in the witness box and state it is. Besides that, victime and witnesses are not supposed to view the CCTV (again thats the justice system) so whoever has done the ID probable wont count.

If you think were all sitting around waiting for a case to fall into our laps which will be wrapped up by the credits then I have some very bad news, this isnt Rookie Blue, CSI, the Bill or any other show on TV. Its reality and cases take months, not minutes to solve.
    how can you say that this is a good way of doing things for the public
    Its nothing to do with doing it for the public, its the reality of the situation, Watching CCTV takes time, we don't know all criminals, they don't always hand themselves in or wait at home for us. I could go on but you should see where this is going
    that you have sworn to protect
    I dont recall joining the NYPD but if I ever do I may well consider the people that I swear to protect and serve.
    also the people that pay your wages,
    Ha ha ha, how long did it take you to think of that original and witty comment? I pay more % of my wages in tax than you do and as you work in the service industry I actually pay YOUR wages far more directly.
    there is no way in gods name you can get job satisfaction and have respect for the job your are doing under these conditions,and if you do,well god help us all..
    I don't get that at all, why do I require job satisfaction and why would having it be a bad thing?

Look, you may not like the reality but that does not change it, you may think its not the best way and too be honest, its not but that's the Justice system in all its beauty. Were a small part of the system and the failings within the system have absolutely nothing to do with our rosters.

Why aren't you complaining about the lack of Gardai or that were overloaded or that the case remained with a uniform Garda who is expected to do beats and response car work instead of being with a detective who is sitting on his arse in an office?

Your one genuine complaint here is that the CCTV still hasn't been watched, that's a fair comment but I guarantee its because the Garda has been put on beats and posts every single day but then how do actually know that?

As for your last post, cmon now, what a hollow reply.

Locust wrote: »
    4 early's in a row are a killer!

I think management need to put something in place that the onus of investigation can be spread amongst a team of people, rather than one member. 4 days off can really stall an investigation. But ERU is right - reality is the guard is guaranteed to be swamped in other cases, that have been going on longer and may have to take precedence.

I know in the UK they have 'case progression officers' that the arresting/initial member dealing with the case can pass info on to another officer who progresses the case a bit further. Sounded to me like a great idea.

PM on the way

You're very defensive. From my reading of the guy's original post, he was just asking a question.

And I think your naive if you think the OP wasnt going down the tried and true moaning and whinging road. Sure Jesus, the guy wants the investigating Garda at his call 24/7 for whenever he randomly arrives in the station ffs!

I think it's entirely possible that the attitude shown to him didn't help in forging the direction things took. You should know that better than me.

The reality is that all of us who work int he public sector almost always fall short when serving whatever community we serve. We get defensive about it (some more than others, and with reliable regularity) but the public are frustrated out there.

To Joe Public it's not acceptable that if they happen to be the victim of a crime when the garda is abot to go on leave, then the investigation halts there and then. I never knew that, and the people I told about it tonight were really surprised about it. I think the average person on the street thinks that it gets passed on and the next shift deals with it. there may be operational reasons for that. But it's not something that you would expect the public to just take at face value and not question it, because it sounds bizarre.

I've been embarrassed working in the public sector. So don't get me wrong. I know these shortfalls happen in all sectors. But we need to get past the point where we feel shocked and defensive when the public question us, or complain about us. Because the irish public by and large get a poor public service compared to other developed countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

The reality is that all of us who work int he public sector almost always fall short when serving whatever community we serve. We get defensive about it (some more than others, and with reliable regularity) but the public are frustrated out there.

To Joe Public it's not acceptable that if they happen to be the victim of a crime when the garda is abot to go on leave, then the investigation halts there and then. I never knew that, and the people I told about it tonight were really surprised about it. I think the average person on the street thinks that it gets passed on and the next shift deals with it. there may be operational reasons for that. But it's not something that you would expect the public to just take at face value and not question it, because it sounds bizarre.

I've been embarrassed working in the public sector. So don't get me wrong. I know these shortfalls happen in all sectors. But we need to get past the point where we feel shocked and defensive when the public question us, or complain about us. Because the irish public by and large get a poor public service compared to other developed countries.

genuinely the guards is definately one area of the public sector that isnt overstaffed. as a result of people retireing etc there are less of us to handle investigations.

added to this the demand for high visibility patrolling in towns and cities, plus well known lack of transport and i think guards have genuine reasons to get defensive.

its a possibility the the shop may have been a few miles from the station. if the investigating member came back and there was no patrol car available to him that may explain the delay viewing the footage.

i dont know any guard who hasnt got multiple cases under investigation. some of them are big ones that have been going on for weeks/months. others are more recent.

in some cases you may be up against a statute limit of 6 months for certain offences. if your coming up on that time, you would prioritise that investigation over any more recent ones.

the main problem isnt the rostering system. its the lack of bodies in the job causing much higher workloads which then affects performance in new cases as you try to get through the backlogs. even while your still taking on new investigations on an almost daily basis.

im not one bit embarassed by my job. but i am angry that its being driven into the ground by policy decisions and we then have to face the brunt of it and get bitched about left right and center when genuinely the vast majority of members are doing their best in impossible situations

audidiesel wrote: »
    genuinely the guards is definately one area of the public sector that isnt overstaffed. as a result of people retireing etc there are less of us to handle investigations.

added to this the demand for high visibility patrolling in towns and cities, plus well known lack of transport and i think guards have genuine reasons to get defensive.

its a possibility the the shop may have been a few miles from the station. if the investigating member came back and there was no patrol car available to him that may explain the delay viewing the footage.

i dont know any guard who hasnt got multiple cases under investigation. some of them are big ones that have been going on for weeks/months. others are more recent.

in some cases you may be up against a statute limit of 6 months for certain offences. if your coming up on that time, you would prioritise that investigation over any more recent ones.

the main problem isnt the rostering system. its the lack of bodies in the job causing much higher workloads which then affects performance in new cases as you try to get through the backlogs. even while your still taking on new investigations on an almost daily basis.

im not one bit embarassed by my job. but i am angry that its being driven into the ground by policy decisions and we then have to face the brunt of it and get bitched about left right and center when genuinely the vast majority of members are doing their best in impossible situations

I agree with you. I'm just saying that it's unreasonable for us to not expect the public to be surprised that an investigation goes on hold immediately if the garda is gonig away on holidays.

I imagine it would sound unacceptable to most people. Of course there are reasons for it. But we have to understand that people are going to be pissed off when they hear something like that. Just like they're pissed off when they hear their operation is cancelled, or that they have to pay to have the fire brigade out etc.

Unless your changing your story, the original Garda has already started the investigation, taken details and will look at footage and then having spent a week or two trying to ID the suspect will eventually arrest them, your ID or whoever elses will only come into play if that person is willing to stand in the witness box and state it is. Besides that, victime and witnesses are not supposed to view the CCTV (again thats the justice system) so whoever has done the ID probable wont count.

If you think were all sitting around waiting for a case to fall into our laps which will be wrapped up by the credits then I have some very bad news, this isnt Rookie Blue, CSI, the Bill or any other show on TV. Its reality and cases take months, not minutes to solve.

Its nothing to do with doing it for the public, its the reality of the situation, Watching CCTV takes time, we don't know all criminals, they don't always hand themselves in or wait at home for us. I could go on but you should see where this is going

I dont recall joining the NYPD but if I ever do I may well consider the people that I swear to protect and serve.

Ha ha ha, how long did it take you to think of that original and witty comment? I pay more % of my wages in tax than you do and as you work in the service industry I actually pay YOUR wages far more directly.

I don't get that at all, why do I require job satisfaction and why would having it be a bad thing?

Look, you may not like the reality but that does not change it, you may think its not the best way and too be honest, its not but that's the Justice system in all its beauty. Were a small part of the system and the failings within the system have absolutely nothing to do with our rosters.

Why aren't you complaining about the lack of Gardai or that were overloaded or that the case remained with a uniform Garda who is expected to do beats and response car work instead of being with a detective who is sitting on his arse in an office?

Your one genuine complaint here is that the CCTV still hasn't been watched, that's a fair comment but I guarantee its because the Garda has been put on beats and posts every single day but then how do actually know that?

As for your last post, cmon now, what a hollow reply.

I was wondering how long it would take to start the insults,sure sign that someone is under pressure..

How you can question that im changeing my story god knows,,the only correct bit is that a garda has started the investigation ( before his 4 days leave) thats all that was done,he answered a phone call/report.As said available footage still hasnt been looked at (8 days now),a statement was only asked for 4 days later when he returned from his leave,Hence my argument that nothing was done untill 4 days after the fact..ill highlight this bit for you as you seem to be missing it and are going else where,NOTHING WAS DONE FOR 4 DAYS,,

You dont have to know the crinimal...He has been ID,,I have told the guards his name,what he drives,where he lives,do i need to provide them with a blood sample to prove it,,

It didnt take me very long to come up with the comment about who pays your wages,in fact it was probably one of the first things that came to my mind,but i didnt like to say it,,,and how the f--- you make out that you pay my wages god knows,,,I run a business and the taxes i pay go to paying your wages simple as that..

So you dont need to get job satisfaction,,what a surprise,a person doing a menial job like sweeping a floor,has job satisfaction....i think you need a career change if you dont get job satisfaction,,,God only knows what job would suite you though with the attitude you have,maybe try Politics,,

I have no problem with a uniform guard investigateing the case,,,but he has to be on duty to be able to investigate it,and when he is gone for 4 days he isnt there is he ?

Anyway your attitude is only reinforcing my opinion of the attitude the guards are bringing to there job,,,which is 1;there just doing a weeks work for a weeks pay,2;not interested in following up on anything that might involve doing paperwork,3;only interested in apprehending people for mundane things like no tax,illegal parking,driveing 5kph over the speed limit,basically Copy and Paste stuff that dosnt involve loads of paperwork,,

We will have to agree to disagree i think,,Im really not interested in your reply s any more.....

I would be happy with 5 minutes of a guards time after being reported,,,very hard to achieve when he is gone for 4 days,,And as for you moaning and whinging remark it only shows your ignorance,,I tried to phrase the original question in a way that wouldnt portray me as another moaner,as i was fairly confident that being called that is the standard reply when anyone has the nerve to question the guards,everyone that moans cant all be wrong and at times must be justified,,but when YOU dont want to see there right you wont entertain them,,Lets hope they never arm the ordinary guard as people will be shot for MOANING,,,I can see you going right to the top,if your not there allready,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Those 4 days are REST days, aka his/her weekend, after working 60 hours in 6 days, not leave days, too much reading the indo...

You get a weekend off after your Monday to friday, assuming you work, are you telling me you have never had something that can be done on Monday instead of rushed on Friday?

Your desires to have this Garda available, at all times, when you want are simply unrealistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

I would be happy with 5 minutes of a guards time after being reported,,,very hard to achieve when he is gone for 4 days,,And as for you moaning and whinging remark it only shows your ignorance,,I tried to phrase the original question in a way that wouldnt portray me as another moaner,as i was fairly confident that being called that is the standard reply when anyone has the nerve to question the guards,everyone that moans cant all be wrong and at times must be justified,,but when YOU dont want to see there right you wont entertain them,,Lets hope they never arm the ordinary guard as people will be shot for MOANING,,,I can see you going right to the top,if your not there allready,,

I'm sorry but you've just turned this into a rant now.

Once the " i pay your wages " line is thrown out the arguement is done and dusted and its instant ignore time.

You're pissed off that something wasn't done following your timetable......Fair enough.

Unfortunately the rostering system for 12,000 gardai takes into account many things other than your specific complaint.

gerire wrote: »
    Those 4 days are REST days, aka his/her weekend, after working 60 hours in 6 days, not leave days, too much reading the indo...

You get a weekend off after your Monday to friday, assuming you work, are you telling me you have never had something that can be done on Monday instead of rushed on Friday?

Your desires to have this Garda available, at all times, when you want are simply unrealistic

This is my last post on this as you guys havnt even the manners to read all the post before commenting,,,,,When i have a day off there is someone in my place to do the job whilst im not there,,,This is like talking to kids,no surprise here i might add,,,,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

I'm afraid I simply disagree on the last bit....I'm actually of the opinion that given this Country's current status,the Irish Public are getting quite reasonable service from their public servants,including even some Gardai....:eek:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

This is my last post on this as you guys havnt even the manners to read all the post before commenting,,,,,When i have a day off there is someone in my place to do the job whilst im not there,,,This is like talking to kids,no surprise here i might add,,,,,

Beginning to get a picture as to why people weren't jumping to assist you.

AlekSmart wrote: »
    I'm afraid I simply disagree on the last bit....I'm actually of the opinion that given this Country's current status,the Irish Public are getting quite reasonable service from their public servants,including even some Gardai....:eek:

I think individual public servants are doing fine. But the public service as a whole is, in my own experience anyway, very much below the standards you'd receive in other developed countries.

Hi Op, i have read this thread from the start and i have to say that im not surprised gardai got defensive with you.
    the title is 'what do serving guards think of the new rosters'
    the thread is not about this however, obviously any guard reading it expects a discussion on the rosters, what they get though is another dig at them, another garda bashing thread.

your problem is not one about rosters. i will explain, under the old system, lets say the very same guard took a report of burglary from you on say a thurs morn. then that guard goes on his one weekend a month off, so he is due back to work Mon night at 10pm. he then works seven nights in a row finally finishing at 6am the following Mon morn. he then has two rest days to get over the week of nights, finally back to working days on wed at 2pm.

so as you can see, under the old system you could wait one day short of a fortnight to get that guard on day tours again.

im not going to get into the ins and outs of investigating, but i will just point out that gardai are not there to recover property, they investigate crime, catch offenders and bring them to justice. recovering stolen property is an added bonus. it occassionally happens but its not regular. and to be honest if you think that the offender in your case would hold onto cash and tools for over 24 hours, you are very mistaken. cash gone and tools sold almost immediately i would imagine.

im sure this guy will be arrested and hopefully charged, lets hope your willing to go through the court system ( no matter how long, because it could be months or longer ) and not waste the time of the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭unichall

I have read this thread with a smile

As has been stated the OP's problem is not the new roster but the fact that he feels aggrieved by the fact he didn't get his property back when as he stated he was able to give the garda the id of the suspect within 24hours

for the OP - say the garda was still on duty for those four days and not resting he still would not have been able to just go out and pick up your suspect on your id alone, while ur id would help the investigation along there would still be a due process to follow to insure all actions are legal and fair( many people have fingered others for crimes and been wrong or based on revenge, so while your happy you know who it is its the garda who has to be sure) as a result another day or possibly two would be lost here. That is all assuming the garda is able to go straight onto your case. your case is one of stolen property, say the garda is also working on a case of sexual assault or even just assault, which case does he give priority? Something has to give so one case may sit on the backburner for a week or two, at the end of the day he has a good id on your man and he's going no where so he will get him eventually which brings me back to your real problem of not getting your stuff back, annoying and frustrating im sure but even if the garda was working you may not have got it back anyway.

As for your original question, i really like the new roster, i feel the time off gives me proper time to rest so when i do go back to work each week i don't feel drained and mentally and physically im in a good place to get on with things

Finally as for your comment on paying wages, please grow up. You pay tax as does everyone else, me included, does this mean i pay my own wages? As soon as you made this stupid comment you were immediately losing your argument and that of your target audience, i mean you asked the question so why feel the need to aggravate the people you are looking for responses from??? In future keep your silly comments to yourself

Well there is a back log of other stuff

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0712/over-123-000-arrest-warrants-outstanding.html
    Over 123,000 arrest warrants outstanding

Zambia wrote: »

How many are Garda related though? Penal warrants, distress, bench. the numbers arent seperated. Dont get me wrong, its a joke the way these things are dealt with but its not the Gardai that are causing any of these warrants.

Why is bail not lodged instead of being 'owed' via a warrant? Why are fines not taken from welfare or wages isntead og being 'owed' via a warrant?

Why are people with bench warrants even being given bail again?

A joke of a system

In regards the OP, anyone with one ounce of knowledge of police work and the justice system agrees with me and knows why the OP's argument was hollow. his arguement made no sense.

OP, if you by paying tax pay my wages, do you perhaps think that your customers by buying your services / products pay yours or do I and the PS in general get turned off and put into a cupboard at the end of our shifts? Think before you answer.

First aider,
    What exactly do you do and how do you feel qualified to compare the Gardai to the rest of the world? I do NOT question how NAS, DFB, etc go about their business because I do not understand or have experience being a fireman or paramedic. Why you then feel qualified to question how I do my job is beyond me.

Anyway, if I arrived to work to collect and continue a dozen investigations from the previous shift, who would take all the new complaints or walk the beat and man the patrol car?

Now, I'm going to say this once and I want everyone to take a deep breath, read it, read it again, think about it as a victim AND a suspect and then accept its part of a fair justice system. Here it goes:

Gardai are not insurance brokers, debt collectors or repo men. We investigate crime and as part of that we collect evidence and above all else, require Independent evidence or first hand knowledge before arresting people. As Ceaser once said "if Accusation is enough to prove guilt, what of the innocent?"

God help us all ////

clearly you did not post here for any kind of discussion or advise, i tried but unfortunately it seems like a lot of other threads on boards you were just purely on a rant.

im guessing that when the culprit is apprehended and brought to court you will be the very person that turns aound and says you cant be bothered anymore and 'whats the point'

and you wonder about the morale and job satisfaction in An Garda Siochana:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭are you serious

I would have loved to reply during this discussion yesterday when it was boiling over, considering its just about over I will just ad about the warrant issue, its simple, anyone owing money who has not got a job that money should be taken straight from their dole money no matter what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭voter1983

Re: Warrants.

I agree. There is no reason why court fines cant be deducted at source from social welfare payments or be deducted from peoples wages. Instead of people having Garda computer identity numbers they should be recorded by gardai using their PPS numbers. fines are then automatically deducted from payments/wages. this will work in the vast majority of cases in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭talla10

also the people that pay your wages.

This is where i lost all interest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I know this is over, but I want to add my 2 cents for what it's worth.

This is a list of what a front-line Garda has to do:

Mobile patrol
    Foot patrol
    Station Orderly
    Member in charge
    Scene preservation
    Point duty
    Post duty
    Communications
    Files
    Court
    HSE meetings *
    Council meetings *
    Community meetings *
    Prisoner transport
    Out of division court *
    Searches *
    Public order *

That list is not exhaustive but shows the main duties the front-line Garda has to do. And in the interest of fairness it gets rotated so everyone gets their fair share of duties. Now, add 10+ investigations to this, ranging from low priority (most burglaries, public order, traffic) to high priority (most assaults, sexual crimes, child abuse,) and very little time to do them, combined with lack of transport/training, you might get a picture as to why a frontline Garda can't investigate everything immediately. Also, add on that injured parties can be slow to cooperate which slows down all investigations (by wasting time which could be spent on other investigations).

Of that list, a frontline Garda could do the first ten in 6 days, and lately gets less and less time to investigate in an ever increasing busy time with less and less resources. I'm against these new rotas, I'm wrecked on my days off one of which I don't consider a day off as I'm catching up on sleep for the most of it. The 60 hour weeks are, imo, too much to ask of already tired and swamped Gardai. There are less mandatory breaks availed of due to resources, which costs the state and wears down the Garda, and there are daily and numerous breaches of the European Working Time Directive. And, regardless of what you've heard or read, morale in the frontline is at an all time low.

These rotas would work, but not with the current resources. We need more Gardai, and anyone who doesn't see that is either oblivioys to the facts, or anti-Garda. And please don't use Dept of Justice references for morale/figures, or those of any Garda member above the rank of Sergeant, as they are suited to what that idiot Shatter wants to hear. Talk to a Garda, ir the GRA (bless, they're not even that great at the moment). I know plenty of members who would leave if they could.

This is all subjective of course, it may change division to division, or even station to station. But only the frontlibe Gardai can answer the thread question. OP: good attempt at another Garda bashing thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

These rosters would be immensely practical if we operated like many other police forces do.

And that is - appoint a hell of a lot more Detectives to do what they're meant to do which is investigate crime.

A lot of uniform Gardaí spend most of their time trying to investigate and sit down/prepare investigation files. This takes them off the street immediately.

Of course this means recruiting more Gardaí but my own suggestion would never happen anyway.

FGR wrote: »
    These rosters would be immensely practical if we operated like many other police forces do.

And that is - appoint a hell of a lot more Detectives to do what they're meant to do which is investigate crime.

A lot of uniform Gardaí spend most of their time trying to investigate and sit down/prepare investigation files. This takes them off the street immediately.

God help me I do love a sensible dreamer :o