Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why should I pay the few cents over on a petrol pump?

• 08-07-2012 04:56PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭

every friday himself fill,s the car up with petrol (payday) at the same filling station for the last year or so. last friday he went over the amount by 6 cents. in he went to pay 50e,the guy say,s do you have the 6 cent on ya, hubbie didnt have no change on him ,so the guy toke a 20e of him for the 6 cent. surly 6 cent wouldnt break the bank, i know some of you will say if he let of everyone with small change it would add up to big amounts, but if he wanted customers to come back again he should have let it go, i know it was hubbies fault for over filling by 6cent. but in our local shop we bought a few things that came to 10.5e, guess what she let 5c go.that in my book is good to get customers to come back. would be interested to see what you guys think.MODS feel free to move this if posted in wrong place:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,401 ✭✭✭✭L1011

"himself" was attempting to steal 6c worth of fuel. He had to pay, and did pay. What's the point of your post?

The profit for the shop selling the tenners worth of products is FAR higher than for the filing station selling 50 euro of fuel - shop is likely making a 7% margin or more on the products (Depends what products they are) and the filling station 1% on the fuel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,169 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Are you the type of person who would dip their hand into pick n mix and assume "sur it's grand I'm only having the one". :p

Although I would agree that people going over by 6 cent here and there isn't going to break the bank some people just cant be arsed stopping on the EURO and just slap down a 5, 10 or 20 and to hell with the cents.

You take it you buy it. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭P.C.

Did 'himself' expect the cashier on minimum wage to pay the 6c?

Or would 'himself' be happy if the cashier lost their job as their till was short again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

So he got €50.06 worth of fuel and paid for €50.06 worth of fuel

What's the problem?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Can't move for all the high horses in this place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭daltonmd

cats.life wrote: »
    every friday himself fill,s the car up with petrol (payday) at the same filling station for the last year or so. last friday he went over the amount by 6 cents. in he went to pay 50e,the guy say,s do you have the 6 cent on ya, hubbie didnt have no change on him ,so the guy toke a 20e of him for the 6 cent. surly 6 cent wouldnt break the bank, i know some of you will say if he let of everyone with small change it would add up to big amounts, but if he wanted customers to come back again he should have let it go, i know it was hubbies fault for over filling by 6cent. but in our local shop we bought a few things that came to 10.5e, guess what she let 5c go.that in my book is good to get customers to come back. would be interested to see what you guys think.MODS feel free to move this if posted in wrong place:)

My local station has a dish at the till with brown money, it says on it - if you need it take it and if you have it to spare leave it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Jammy Donut

2 or 3 cents yeah, But 6 is a bit much TBH.

I can't understand how anyone can go over by 6cents so they should pay it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Gingernuts31

I work in a filling station. If the customer is only paying for the fuel and they go over by a few cents I won't ask but wont refuse it if they offer it. If the go over on it and get a few bits it all goes in together so the extra few cents are paid. Bear in mind 90% of the customer who get fuel seem to think we can't see the pumps on our till but we can and they won't tell me about the 10 or 20 cents they went over by. As for the 6 cents he went over by yes it was his fault as the OP pointed out but for the sake of a customer who is in every week I would have let the 6 cents go. Breaking a 20 euro note for the 6 cents is just pityful and downright mean on the cashiers part. You will get customers who will tell you to keep the few cents from their change in the till so that makes up the 6 cents.

.............. would be interested to see what you guys think...............

6c is taking the p1ss.
    "himself" should have handed over the €70 and waited for his change, when I worked in a service station people who did that often got one note back, tight bastads who threw the underpay on the counter got asked for the extra few pence.

I'm sure if you spent €49.94 you'd expect the change back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭BRAIN FEEDs

so,if a cat has 9 lives,your suggesting he should have 10:confused:

pay the lady or leave the bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭kerten

Why do we only see posts about petrol station asking money for 2 to 10 cents worth petrol they sold ?

Where are the people who fills 1-20 cents less than 10-20-50 Euro and don't ask change on the same petrol station desk ???

IMHO, If someone thinks that amount is so small to pay then they shouldn't care that much when they need to pay it.

Rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Why did "himself" fill up for €50.06 if "himself" only wanted to spend €50 :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Mully_2011

Why didnt he just pay by laser instead of taking out another 20 ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

6c is a fair bit over. If it was the owner/boss of the filling station I would say it was tight. If it was an employee then they are just trying to do their job correctly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

A regular customer should not be asked for 6 cents imo but big stations do not care for loyal customers.
    If he did it all the time fair enough asking for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

MYOB wrote: »
    "himself" was attempting to steal 6c worth of fuel. He had to pay, and did pay. What's the point of your post?

Jesus, it's a bit OTT to say he attempted to steal the petrol. Fecking off without paying is theft, the man in question presented himself to the counter to pay and paid the full amount when requested. It's hardly theft.

OP: different stations have different policies when it comes to the few cents that somebody goes over, generally speaking 6c is a lot though i stood behind a taxi driver in Castleknock who had gone over by 20c and refused to pay. he was a twat.

Thee cashier is more likely than not an employee and is responsible for the balance of the till at the end of their shift so maybe they thought it best to ask for the 6c.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Anything over 1-2c when I don't have any change on me and I will just fill it up by another €5 or €10 or whatever, your going to use it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,908 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Jaysus, this argument again! Why do people think that they should be let off money when it comes to paying for petrol?

If you got something that was 4.10, would you ask for the 10cent off???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,096 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

My brother got petrol a while back and it came to €50.01
    The guy behind the counter took the 1 cent, bad business IMO as he lost a regular customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

bijapos wrote: »
    Jesus, it's a bit OTT to say he attempted to steal the petrol. Fecking off without paying is theft, the man in question presented himself to the counter to pay and paid the full amount when requested. It's hardly theft.

If he had bought €50 worth of fuel and attempted to take a ten penny bar of chocolate without paying would you feel the same way? Or if he had grabbed a couple of bon-bons from the pick n mix on the way the counter and said nothing? I know its only a small amount and I really dont want to sound like Im trying to be high and mighty, but taking something and not paying for it is theft; whether its 6c or €60.

Generally speaking when it comes to getting petrol I will be pretty pissed off if I am asked for 1-2c over as some pumps are nigh on impossible to get the amount bang on. 6c however is just careless and is a little more than could be attributed to a dodgy pump or simple slip of the hand. Its annoying to be asked to pay for it, especially when it means breaking a large note to cover it, but the shop are well within their rights to ask for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

I work in a filling station. If the customer is only paying for the fuel and they go over by a few cents I won't ask but wont refuse it if they offer it. If the go over on it and get a few bits it all goes in together so the extra few cents are paid. Bear in mind 90% of the customer who get fuel seem to think we can't see the pumps on our till but we can and they won't tell me about the 10 or 20 cents they went over by. As for the 6 cents he went over by yes it was his fault as the OP pointed out but for the sake of a customer who is in every week I would have let the 6 cents go. Breaking a 20 euro note for the 6 cents is just pityful and downright mean on the cashiers part. You will get customers who will tell you to keep the few cents from their change in the till so that makes up the 6 cents.

so you'll take it off the OK guy who offers it but leave off a Gurrier pulling a stroke? Natural Justice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭PammyD

IMHO if its by mistake or not it still has to be paid for, i always have some spare change in the ashtray for parking tickets and d odd overage at the filling station.. In some places the shortages are taken out of the cashiers wages and i sure as hell wudnt like to be partly responsible for that!
    In saying that I work with money and the odd time people are short with change anything up to 20c and I tell them ill get them the next time that its fine and usually most do actually come back with the change the next time their in.. All depends on the cashier and the cirsumstance...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Melion wrote: »
    Can't move for all the high horses in this place

Not stealing or condoning it is beign on a high horse now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,401 ✭✭✭✭L1011

My brother got petrol a while back and it came to €50.01
    The guy behind the counter took the 1 cent, bad business IMO as he lost a regular customer.

If you change stations for 1 cent (on the price of a product you took) on a full transaction, its the person who changes station that has a problem, not the station.

Particularly as most people chose stations based on price at the time and not any loyalty - if you're going to a station regularly its either cheaper or far closer. The fit of pique over a single cent is likely costing your brother far more than a cent every single time in that case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭cats.life

RoverJames wrote: »
    6c is taking the p1ss.
    "himself" should have handed over the €70 and waited for his change, when I worked in a service station people who did that often got one note back, tight bastads who threw the underpay on the counter got asked for the extra few pence.

I'm sure if you spent €49.94 you'd expect the change back.
    no i would not, a few times our local didnt have 0ne cent or two cent in her till and i said dont be worring about it cos she knows i will be back again.:)

What if you had to get petrol a few hundred times a day and 50 garages said they didnt have the 6c?

hondasam wrote: »
    A regular customer should not be asked for 6 cents imo but big stations do not care for loyal customers.
    If he did it all the time fair enough asking for it.
    it only happend the once:),

What if you had to get petrol a few hundred times a day and 50 garages said they didnt have the 6c?
    why would i be getting petrol hundred times a day:D

So that its a valid comparison to what the petrol station has to put up with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Knock off the "high horse" rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

On this note - surely it wouldn't be difficult to introduce a system where you can input the total amount you require on a keypad and the pump will cut off when this amount is filled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Pj! wrote: »
    On this note - surely it wouldn't be difficult to introduce a system where you can input the total amount you require on a keypad and the pump will cut off when this amount is filled.
    I lived in sweeden in 1999 and this system was used then! Stick your money into the pump or your card and it cut off at that ammount

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

Maybe it was nothing to do with your fella, maybe he was just unlucky that the previous customer was one of these guys and the teller had just had enough and put his foot down out of stubbornness

bijapos wrote: »
    i stood behind a taxi driver in Castleknock who had gone over by 20c and refused to pay. he was a twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭pippip

OP heres the other side of the coin -

As the owner of a petrol station I want to ask the public why do some people think it is ok to put 10.12 on a pump , run in to pay (nearly in a sprint) throw 10euro on the counter and take off in Olympic style again, another old fav is while they pump the fuel they send in their usually 4 or 5 year old child to pay while they proceed to put in 5.07 or more and again speed off. The most irritating one is ( and the reason I wrote this) the older woman who today got 50.09 and when I asked her for the 9cent basically exploded on me, stating she always does it in other places and they never ask her for it, I explained that I DO NOT MIND THE 1and 2cents and even 4 or maybe 5cent (which I genuinely do not as most people will pay in full and even give extra which makes up for these people) but when it gets passed 5cent I will ask for , which is embarrassing I might add. This woman also told me on no uncertain terms would she be back again , I explained to her that everyday I am short 3or 4 euro and at the end of the year it adds to 12 or 1300 euro ( family hol or insurance on the car for me) , why do people think its acceptable to do this??.
    And despite what people say "it is factored into the price" or you make it in the shop , at 3.5 cpl max profit , you try and factor this in, at a time when people are obsessed with fuel prices and will drive miles if your competitor is even a
    cent cheaper. It simply is not acceptable to walk into to tesco or wherever and only pay 20euro on your shop which was 20.19 so why is it different at a filling station!!!!!

From http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=79589003&postcount=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

It's easy to argue for forgiveness when it's one customer filling up their tank once a week. However, look at it from the viewpoint of the retailer. It all adds up when there are hundreds of transactions per day, thousands per week and year.

For some reason, there is a mentality that petrol is sold only in round euro numbers, but that really needs to change. You pump it, you pay for it.

I like the system that exists in the US - you insert your credit card and have it pre-authorised for $50 (let's say). You then pump, and the actual amount pumped gets charged to your card. Here, I would pre-auth for €100, and end up paying circa €90 for my tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

My local Tesco has this,you can pay at the pump aswell using laser/credit card

corktina wrote: »
    so you'll take it off the OK guy who offers it but leave off a Gurrier pulling a stroke? Natural Justice!

In a word yes but it depends. If the guy goes over by 6 but comes in and throws the 50 at me and walks off il ask him for it. People like that have no intention of paying it but if you offer it well then you know you must pay for it. At the end of the day if someone goes over by a few cents and you do ask them for it, if they say " Sorry I don't have any chance on me or any more money" I'm not going to ask them can I see their wallet or I just saw you with 50 euro in your hand. No ones till is ever bang on. The most I have ever been under was 50 euro and the most over was 100. but more often than not its over or under by a few euro or few cents. 6 cents by 10 people isn't going to get you sacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,096 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

MYOB wrote: »
    If you change stations for 1 cent (on the price of a product you took) on a full transaction, its the person who changes station that has a problem, not the station.

Particularly as most people chose stations based on price at the time and not any loyalty - if you're going to a station regularly its either cheaper or far closer. The fit of pique over a single cent is likely costing your brother far more than a cent every single time in that case.

No it's not costing him anymore as the station he changed to is the same price. Just to clear that up for ya.

Whats more of a problem now is people coming in and filling up either a can with a fivers worth or a car with 60 euros worth, coming in and saying they have forgotten their wallet or their car is out of juice and everything is in their car. We do ask for them to leave their licence, phone, something they have to come back for. Most do leave something but a few weeks ago a woman came in, got 5 in a can, everything left in her car and when she was up and running she would be passing and she would pop in with the 5. I haven't seen her since and the guards are now involved. Colleuge of mine had to get guards involved to chase a business for 10 euro of petrol from April. The system you talk about is perfect but it costs money to implement and so far the manager, owner has ruled it out which I think is silly as drive off's and over filling, not paying using excuses is getting worse and worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Cillo rs200

6 cents is really taking the p1iss to be fair though, nothing annoys me more than people who go over by a ridiculous amount and then blame the pump for being too fast. And I'm certain if you were a shop owner and everyone that got fuel went "just 6 cents over" you wouldn't be long making your staff ask for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The 2 cheapest places for petrol in my area are prepay only

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Thats why...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056693399

As for the high horses...there's always two sides to the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I love the title of thread "why should I pay few cents over at petrol pump?"

Well answer is very simple: because you put extra few millilitres of petrol in your car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

All these threads about people going over by a couple of cents and grumbling about having to pay the extra. Well heres one for ya....

Pay attention to what ye's are doing and you might not go over so often!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Some neck on "himself". I hate when go I over, searching for that extra cent or 2. I would always put the note and coin on the counter, I took it I pay for it.

What if the pump was broken and left "himself" short 6c of petrol? Would he want his change? Would he forget about it and boast to the lads in the pub what a good man he was letting the poor fecker other side of the counter away with their faulty equipment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Green Diesel

If this kind of thing annoys you OP, why not use a debit/credit card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Foxychick

Not really understanding the problem here.

If he put 50.06 worth of petrol in his car he should pay 50.06, if he put in 49.94 euros worth of petrol in his car im guessing he would be expecting change and would be mad or put out if the person on the till said they didnt have it. Fair enough its up to him to take to take the change or say its only 6 cent dont worry about it or put it into the charity box, (used to beone beside most tills) I would imagine most garages are feeling the recession aswel so imagine if everybody went a 6 cents over on each time they filled their tank due to their own lack of concentration and didnt think they would have to pay. Why should the owner that wound have to cover the cost??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

This is one of the reasons I always fill up to an odd number.

To the OP, next time "himself" is at the pub, let him accept a short measure for full price. It's the same principle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

Did this happen in Cavan by any chance:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I was in my regular s.station(I also do repairs for them) and the girls at the checkout were in really bad form. I asked what was up and they said someone just did a drive off for €200 and that it would be docked from their collective wages - probably a lot more valid gripes on the other side of the counter than someone whinging about 6c. Get over it op, I know it seems tight, but it is probably management policy to charge in full, or else. Cutting the wages seems a lot meaner to me tbh than charging for 6c. Maybe managers have a lot more to answer for! And drive-off merchants/scummers.