Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Colonoscopy

• 08-07-2012 4:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭

Are you getting the camera up the bum treatment soon?

I just got the procedure done and here are my experiences so you don't have to worry.

The preparation to ensure that you are completely empty was a bit of a surprise.
    Three sachets of Pixolax, one taken at 19:00 two days before, one at 15:00 the day before and one at 19:00 the night before.
    The first sachet was dutifully taken, and as much as the manufactures tried to hide the taste with a hint of added
    orange flavour it still tasted like the old Beechams Powders (if you remember them!)
    It was all the flat 7up within 2 hours that was the hard bit.
    After the first dose there was no real sign of anythng happening for a while, but by ten o'clock that night
    I felt a bit of a rumble. I positioned myself on the throne for the action and what happened next could only be described
    as a complete surprise! 100% liquid shot out my arse are a vast rate of knots!
    It just kept coming and coming - I had to do a courtesy flush half way through!
    This episode lasted approx 15 minutes. Forget using absorbent toilet paper - wet wipes is what you need for a clean botty!
    (these do not flush well, so maybe a doggy poo bag is advisable)
    Since the next sachet was due at 3pm next afternoon, the night was spent worrying that I may continue to evacuate my bowels in the bed.
    However, let me reassure you all that this does not happen, so when it is your turn, do not fret or worry and sleep soundly.
    Next morning, a light breakfast, toast with a scrape of butter and a mug of tea.
    The day was spent not straying more than 50 seconds away from a toilet - just in case.
    Luch was a clear soup, but no more food after that.
    Sachet two was taken at precisely 15:00 - and worked precisely at 16:17. Again, 100% liqiud.
    Sachet three was taken at 19:00 - more flat 7 up - more of the same result.
    My last drink of water before the procedure was taken at 23:00 that night - hunger pangs not too bad.

The morning of the procedure and I arrive 1 hour early - other people also had this in mind so I was 3rd in the queue.
    A lovely young nurse handed me one of those robes that no matter what you do will always have your arse showing out the back of it.
    I wasa told to strip off and only wear the robe, take a seat and wait until I was called.
    I was a bit apprehensive, but not worried. I sat there and read the previous days indo and sun. twice.
    Then it was my turn, the lovely young nurse made sure my dignity was kept intact by pulling the robe out from between the
    cheeks of my arse where I have being trying to clamp it shut, I felt a soft pleasing breeze as I was led to the room where
    the procedure was to take place, asked to lie on a bed, blood pressure, pulse and all that was taken - all seemed to be normal.
    I was given a nasal canula for oxygen, I noted with surprise that oxygen has a faint smell.
    The consultant then arrived, introduced himself and chatted for a minute, he then said that he was going to give me a little sedation.

I was woken to a voice calling me by name, and when I opened my eyes there was my missus all ready to bring me home.

And that is how easy a colonoscopy is!
    No pain, no after effects, no discomfort, as easy as lying on a bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭knipex

WOW

Gald to hear. My experience (about 4 years ago) very very very different.

I got 3 packets all to be mixed with 2 lts of water and to be drunk over 24 hours (finishing the night before the visit). I agree it tasted pretty bad but not undrinkable. First 2 ltrs went down fine and I spent the next 24 hours no more than 2 mins from the toilet... Your description is accurate.

Day of the procedure I arrived early, second in the queue but wasnt called till 4pm. Slight sedation that didnt work at all. 30 seconds into the procedure one of the students present asked that perhaps I should be given some more sedation as I was in serious pain (I was in due to bad hemorrhoids which were causing me alot of pain anyway especially after I spent virtually 24 hours on the throne). The student was bluntly told to shut up.

The surgeon also did some banding (without having warned me in advance but apparently it was covered in the consent I signed). One of the most painfull experiences of my life. I was then kept for 2 hours and discharged by the same student who asked about more sedation.

I swore never again.... but since then I have heard similar stoiries about this surgeon and stories like your about other surgeons....

stoneill wrote: »
    Are you getting the camera up the bum treatment soon?

I just got the procedure done and here are my experiences so you don't have to worry.

The preparation to ensure that you are completely empty was a bit of a surprise.
    Three sachets of Pixolax, one taken at 19:00 two days before, one at 15:00 the day before and one at 19:00 the night before.
    The first sachet was dutifully taken, and as much as the manufactures tried to hide the taste with a hint of added
    orange flavour it still tasted like the old Beechams Powders (if you remember them!)
    It was all the flat 7up within 2 hours that was the hard bit.
    After the first dose there was no real sign of anythng happening for a while, but by ten o'clock that night
    I felt a bit of a rumble. I positioned myself on the throne for the action and what happened next could only be described
    as a complete surprise! 100% liquid shot out my arse are a vast rate of knots!
    It just kept coming and coming - I had to do a courtesy flush half way through!
    This episode lasted approx 15 minutes. Forget using absorbent toilet paper - wet wipes is what you need for a clean botty!
    (these do not flush well, so maybe a doggy poo bag is advisable)
    Since the next sachet was due at 3pm next afternoon, the night was spent worrying that I may continue to evacuate my bowels in the bed.
    However, let me reassure you all that this does not happen, so when it is your turn, do not fret or worry and sleep soundly.
    Next morning, a light breakfast, toast with a scrape of butter and a mug of tea.
    The day was spent not straying more than 50 seconds away from a toilet - just in case.
    Luch was a clear soup, but no more food after that.
    Sachet two was taken at precisely 15:00 - and worked precisely at 16:17. Again, 100% liqiud.
    Sachet three was taken at 19:00 - more flat 7 up - more of the same result.
    My last drink of water before the procedure was taken at 23:00 that night - hunger pangs not too bad.

The morning of the procedure and I arrive 1 hour early - other people also had this in mind so I was 3rd in the queue.
    A lovely young nurse handed me one of those robes that no matter what you do will always have your arse showing out the back of it.
    I wasa told to strip off and only wear the robe, take a seat and wait until I was called.
    I was a bit apprehensive, but not worried. I sat there and read the previous days indo and sun. twice.
    Then it was my turn, the lovely young nurse made sure my dignity was kept intact by pulling the robe out from between the
    cheeks of my arse where I have being trying to clamp it shut, I felt a soft pleasing breeze as I was led to the room where
    the procedure was to take place, asked to lie on a bed, blood pressure, pulse and all that was taken - all seemed to be normal.
    I was given a nasal canula for oxygen, I noted with surprise that oxygen has a faint smell.
    The consultant then arrived, introduced himself and chatted for a minute, he then said that he was going to give me a little sedation.

I was woken to a voice calling me by name, and when I opened my eyes there was my missus all ready to bring me home.

And that is how easy a colonoscopy is!
    No pain, no after effects, no discomfort, as easy as lying on a bed

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Had it a while ago, the laxative was fine tbh just took it and brought my laptop to the bog with me.

However.. waking up during the exam is a odd sensation.
    Felt internal pressure but a bit more sedative and it was lights out again.

Thankfully all clear!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

They seem to be moving away from colonoscopy and into colonography (PET scan, done when you're awake, no anaesthetic).

Three days on a gradually reducing diet, last day liquids only; take dye, Picolax, squits, watery squits.

Day of the procedure turn up, get told to robe up, brought into radiation room and climb up on a couch (told "don't bother to take boots off"!!! not great hygiene there!) and they put a needle in your arm with a yoke that gives you stuff to make your intestines relax. They put another yoke in your bottom to blow air in - quite uncomfortable, probably because they didn't leave the intestine-relaxing yoke long enough to work. (As air was blowing in, nurse left the room, which scared the tripes out of me. Imagined I was going to blow up like a balloon, intestines perforate...)

They tell you to lie on your back, nurse goes out and recorded voice tells you to breathe in and hold it a few times while the scanner moves up and down. Then nurse comes back in, tells you to roll onto your stomach, goes out and same procedure - recorded voice, breaths in, etc.

The stuff to relax intestines can make your eyes blurry, so it's a good idea to get a taxi or lift home.

It all takes around 15 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

I woke up half way through mine too, I could feel the camera moving inside me, it didn't hurt though, I shouted to the consultant, "more sedation please!" , he replied with "I've given you the maximim amount I can under law!"...but I drifted off again sonn after. Very strange but totally painless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

I half woke up as well, I could'nt feel anything, but I was able to see a lot of what was happening on the monitor, very interesting.
    The tea and toast with Bandon butter was the best I ever tasted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I had one done about a year ago. Also had a camera down my throat before it too. I woke up heaving violently with the camera down my throat, I was very uncomfortable and sore. I think I was awake for most of it. Drifted back off and woke up again during the colonoscopy....I definitely needed more sedation as I was in agony this time, I could feel every movement of the camera. However, it was over fairly quickly. As somebody said above, I could see the screen so could see everything, it was weird but also interesting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Sounds like mine alright, drank three liters of foul vanilla flavored prep fluid, followed by some tablets.

'...like a hose no one's holding'

I remember little bits of the procedure from fading in and out - and I definitely remembering catching a live glimpse of my insides at one point. Nothing too unpleasant overall, and I got a nice cup of tea and some biccies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

Glad yours went well OP, my grandfathers colonoscopy nearly killed him, they tore his bowel, the emergency surgery nearly kill him, he ended up sh!tting into a bag for months then was a bit touch and go when he had the operation then to repair his bowel so he wouldn't need the bag and would have his dignity back.

Needless to say, I'd be wary of getting it done after seeing him go through that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭OneIdea

Nobody's saying where the procedure took place?

Tallaght Hospital anyone ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

knipex wrote: »
    WOW

The surgeon also did some banding (without having warned me in advance but apparently it was covered in the consent I signed). One of the most painfull experiences of my life. I was then kept for 2 hours and discharged by the same student who asked about more sedation.

It was probably another doctor and not a student that discharged you, I don't think they let students discharge patients.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,306 ✭✭✭MrFrisp

OneIdea wrote: »
    Nobody's saying where the procedure took place?

Tallaght Hospital anyone ?

Got Mine done at the Bons in Cork..

Same result as the OP...No bother at all....Woke up after it,,and home about 30 mins later.

As for another poster here..I also had the Colonography done. That was uncomfortable alright...The air getting blown in hurt a bit. And yes,they defo don't leave in the relaxants long enough before they begin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭johnwest288

Did you lads get it done Public or private. I was at the public doc about 5 months ago (bit of blood in the stools and a history of colon cancer in family) He put me on the waiting list for Connolly Public but aint heard nothing !:confused:
    Thinking i might just pay and have it done privatly might be dodge leaving it wait

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I had it done privately through the VHI and had an appointment within about 3 weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

My grandads was done private

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,306 ✭✭✭MrFrisp

Mine was done public...(Medical card).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 I_am_red

Had one done in Cavan General about 6 months ago, was one of the most painful experiences of my life. Got a jab to relax my bowels alright but no sedative of any sort was offered or given. It felt like i was being stabbed and had 6 polyps removed which made the experience even more uncomfortable. Had a stomach ache for a couple of days after it too.

Was told afterwards that the consultant who did it gives it to nobody. Apparently they can get through more patients as you're not holding up a bed sleeping the sedative off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Isolt

BDJW wrote: »
    I had one done about a year ago. Also had a camera down my throat before it too. I woke up heaving violently with the camera down my throat, I was very uncomfortable and sore. I think I was awake for most of it. Drifted back off and woke up again during the colonoscopy....I definitely needed more sedation as I was in agony this time, I could feel every movement of the camera.
    Glad yours went well OP, my grandfathers colonoscopy nearly killed him, they tore his bowel, the emergency surgery nearly kill him

YIKES!!!

I am having a Colonoscopy and an upper GI Endoscopy done this Tuesday in James' Hospital and am very scared after reading the above. The amount of people who say they woke up during it is crazy!!

Do they ever use a full anaesthetic for this? I ask because my gastroenterologist told me I'd need some biopsies taken during these tests and asked me if I'd had any operations before?

Has anybody any positive experiences of James' Hospital for this type of test?

I am scared!! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Isolt wrote: »
    YIKES!!!

I am having a Colonoscopy and an upper GI Endoscopy done this Tuesday in James' Hospital and am very scared after reading the above. The amount of people who say they woke up during it is crazy!!

Do they ever use a full anaesthetic for this? I ask because my gastroenterologist told me I'd need some biopsies taken during these tests and asked me if I'd had any operations before?

Has anybody any positive experiences of James' Hospital for this type of test?

I am scared!! :o

I've had a the camera go down twice. Once in Ireland in Nenagh Hospital, terrible rough experience and forceful nurses. Other time was in Auckland Hospital, great experience and no probs. Enough to drugs or hardly feel a thing :)
    Had a colonoscopy done in Auckland too, it can be done without drugs if you want. I asked for everything they could give me :) Wasn't too bad, got a sharp jab once and it nearly knocked me off the table. Doctor said sorry, he was going around a bed :eek:
    Also had a Pill Cam done. No probs with that at all. Just wear the little comouter for a day and shave your chest/stomach area and away you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Isolt

Thanks for replying Rabies. I found it really awful.
    I was fast asleep (or at least out of it enough to feel like I was asleep!) for the GI endoscopy so that was easy but I woke up twice during the colonoscopy and it was so freakin' painful. I asked twice for him to give me a break because it felt like my inside were going to burst. They must have given me more sedative after this because I woke up in recovery a while later but was absolutely out of it. Slurring my words and falling over etc.

On top of that when I first woke up I just really wanted to get sick and I was dizzy, like the feeling you get on a boat but they were closing up the ward and I had to get up even though I felt like crap. The nurses were fantastic and one of them held onto me and brought me into a waiting room til the nausea wore off but after waking up during the procedure and feeling so ill when I woke up I could have done without the cleaning guys taking my bed away when I was still so sleepy. Not their fault I suppose, maybe I was taking too long to recover.

My throat is very sore today. Difflam all the way :)

Not something I want to repeat anytime soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Ladjacket

had one last year, woke up mid way through it, puked all over the nurse, went back to 'sleep' again.

Cue a very sheepish LJ apologising to her once the other nurse told him what had happened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭gaelicred

Had one done a few years ago here un the states it was fine better safe than sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

From my experience the colonoscopy is fine (had two) but I hate the gastroscopy (2 as well) they are vile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

I had both camera down and camera up done.

The stuff to 'clean you out' was the worst for me, I was being investigated for irritable bowel and the cleaning out stuff triggered a nasty bout so I went far more often than necessary and was pretty much cramping and dehydrating myself despite gallons of liquids to rehydrate. I also developed the ring of fire, and they told me to use the sudocreme in the loo's for that purpose, but the sudocreme in the loo's was just an open tub that anyones fingers could have been in - massively unhygenic (especially considering where people were putting it!). The loo's in question were a public set of loo's for the ward, outside in a corridor, so there was a chance the cubicles could be full or no loo roll etc... It was awful, stressful, painful.

No recollection of camera down, woke up afterwards with sore throat, that was it.

Camera up, I woke a number of times, I thought I was going to have explosive diarrhea upon one episode of waking because the air blowing in was giving a sensation of pressure. I remember a number of people pushing on me and holding me down which frightened me and caused me to start straining and fighting. I also watched the tv screen with the camera view and apparently asked a few relevant questions.

The next day I was out for a smoke (I smoked at the time) and a student approached me and told me she had been at my procedure and was shocked about me waking up and asked me could I remember anything. When I described my memories she was really shocked because they were accurate recollections. She said they give you an amnesiac and you shouldnt remember anything if you wake up - judging by this thread waking up and remembering is common.

My consultant had told me not to leave the hospital without seeing him and to insist on seeing him but when it was time to discharge they told me he was on holidays and discharged me! So I never did manage to see him and as they found nothing he wrote also discharging me from his care despite not actually diagnosing or fixing anything for me.

I had it done it Vincents - public.

I had a barium x-ray series done the next day before I left and that upset my stomach a lot too and I poo'd white powder for a couple of days after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

In my cases I took the sedation for the colonoscopies but not the gastroscopies. It didn't make any difference to me though as I was watching the whole procedure on the monitor and talking to the consultant at the same time. The only sensations I ever had from the sedation was a slight feeling of not giving a damn but that was all. No black outs, loss of memory or going to sleep.

That's why I'm a bit afraid of going for another gastroscopy again as this time I want the sedation but knowing that it doesn't seem to work on my I don't know what to do.

I also heard about the endoscopy capsule that is a little camera in pill form you can swallow. I read the Mercer Hospital in Cork has a nationwide service for this but I was wondering if any gastroenterologists in Dublin use it as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Had a colonoscopy and a gastroscopy at the same time a few months ago. Prep was most unpleasant part about it, I was out cold for the entire thing.

Got but on a rake load of antibiotics after that and had to go for a barium xray the week after (the day of the UCD ball... fun fun fun), that was easily worse than the prep for the colonoscopy because the barium sulfate you have to drink is the most unpleasant thing I've ever had to ingest. It's this really dense liquid that looks and behaves like tippex (Weird meniscus and all) and has this bizarre flavouring that is presumably supposed to taste like pineapple, but combined with the barium it was just vile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭smallgarden

i got both at same time too.worst bit wax the prep.i hear picolax is better.i had other one.tasted vile. i found it big help to rinse with mouthwash after each drink to help get rid of metallic/clovey taste.also they say have a lunch beforehand. i wouldnt bother as its only going to mean more has to come out. i woke up during the colonoscopy,found it quite interesting to watch it on monitor.it wasnt painful or uncomfortable. the sedative doesnt knock you out completely as you need to be somewhat awake if they tell you to move/adjust during the procedure. i remember bits but very little. i got liver mri same day and that was much worse as dye they pump into liver got pumped into arm instead and felt like arm was on fire and expanded like ninety

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 onewhogroks

I have had several colonoscopies done, both private and public. It was quite nerve racking the first time, considering I was only a kid and having a camera up the arse was not the most pleasant picture.

I had another one around 8 months ago, it was a breeze, brought a book and relaxed a few hours before and after. The worst part is the laxatives and not eating the day before.

For each colonscopy, I was put under a general anesthetic, so I wasn't unconscious, but I have no recollection of any procedure.

I have had several colonoscopies done, both private and public. It was quite nerve racking the first time, considering I was only a kid and having a camera up the arse was not the most pleasant picture.

I had another one around 8 months ago, it was a breeze, brought a book and relaxed a few hours before and after. The worst part is the laxatives and not eating the day before.

For each colonscopy, I was put under a general anesthetic, so I wasn't unconscious, but I have no recollection of any procedure.

How long where you waiting on public? The doc sent away a request for me to connelly about 6 months ago still heard nothing :(

And what have they said when you phone them?

I never understand people who do not follow up on doctors requests/referrals - its always possible for paperwork to get lost or for someone to forget to send you notification of an appointment or any other mishap. You need to keep on top of your medical stuff with phonecalls enquiring whats going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 onewhogroks

The doctor said I should have a colonoscopy in or around five months, a few weeks later I got a letter for my appointment with the procedure booked in for four months from that date. In total, I'd say five months waiting.

There are mountains of paperwork in most departments so there is no harm in giving them a call and see what the story is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Strawberry Fields

I'm waiting for a colonoscopy in tallaght, doctor who saw me was about a month ago, gave blood and stool sample, waiting for appointment. On vhi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭sham69

Having mine done on the 2nd October.
    I can safely say I am ****ting a brick (excuse the pun)
    I am getting top and bottom done in the mater..
    Have been suffering with IBS like symptoms for what will be a year in October.
    I am hoping nothing serious is wrong but can't wait to get the procedure out of the way.
    I don't know if I feel better or worse after reading this....

And what have they said when you phone them?

I never understand people who do not follow up on doctors requests/referrals - its always possible for paperwork to get lost or for someone to forget to send you notification of an appointment or any other mishap. You need to keep on top of your medical stuff with phonecalls enquiring whats going on.

right i got me finger out and rang the doctors office (pardon the pun)

Transpires 8 month waiting list in Connolly for the Colonoscopy. I made the appointment March so they say it should be soon.

right i got me finger out and rang the doctors office (pardon the pun)

Transpires 8 month waiting list in Connolly for the Colonoscopy. I made the appointment March so they say it should be soon.

Ring the hospital itself! They might have lost the referral - it happens.

The girl in the docs office rang the hopspital and rang me back. The hospital will be resending the appointment letter next week. :)
    Cheers for the kick up the posterior

sham69 wrote: »
    Having mine done on the 2nd October.
    I can safely say I am ****ting a brick (excuse the pun)
    I am getting top and bottom done in the mater..
    Have been suffering with IBS like symptoms for what will be a year in October.
    I am hoping nothing serious is wrong but can't wait to get the procedure out of the way.
    I don't know if I feel better or worse after reading this....

Its not so much the procedure that freaks me out.
    Its if there is some sort of bad news.
    I nearly would prefer to live in blissful ignorance but i feel a kind of pain down there and a close relative died from colon cancer.
    So its time to bite the bullet
    At lease after we will have free minds

Cheers for the kick up the posterior

Youre welcome. I once had a referral sent by a doctor and fully THREE YEARS later got a letter from the hospital saying the referral had just been found in a cabinet with lots of other old unopened post and did I still want an appointment.

Its if there is some sort of bad news.
    I nearly would prefer to live in blissful ignorance but i feel a kind of pain down there and a close relative died from colon cancer.

Im the opposite, Id prefer to know the truth and face it head on than die from blissful ignorance. To get investigated means you have a fighting chance so its the right thing to do.

Sorry to hear you feel a kind of pain but it could just as easily be nothing or nothing important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 username369

Hi everyone, i'm a 32 year old female. after reading these posts i'm really worried. I was at the doctor about a week ago he took blood and said he would send a letter to the hospital to get an appointment for a Colonoscopy, he told me I could be waiting 3 to 6 months for an appointment cause i'm a public patient but then a letter from the hospital came today day with an appointment for this Monday, so the Colonoscopy is arranged for less than two weeks from my doctors appointment. I am really great full to get the appointment so fast, but i'm also really scared that it means there could be something really wrong!

Hiya did you here anything yet about your colonoscopy? i'm really worried now. I was at the doctor about a week ago he took blood and said he would send a letter to the hospital to get an appointment for a Colonoscopy, he told me I could be waiting 3 to 6 months for an appointment cause i'm a public patient but then a letter from the hospital came today and i've an appointment for this Monday, so the Colonoscopy is arranged for less than two weeks from my doctors appointment. I am really great full to get the appointment so fast, but i'm also really scared that it means there could be something really wrong! Im only in 32.

Well Can they tell something from Blood:confused:? I have had blood samples taken for different things but not in connection with the colonoscopy and no-one ever said anything to me. Could it be that Im going to a hospital with a VERY long waiting list? Im waiting since jan 14th. I rang them to see if they forgot me they said they would send a letter soon and im on the waiting list 8 months but it should be in the next 2 months ill be seen (so nearly waiting a year)
    Also i bleed quite a lot the other day and have a funny feeling inside. Which hospital? COuld be you were lucky or the doctor was able to zip ya through quick fast :) No need to panic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Emma1980

Hi everyone, i'm a 32 year old female. after reading these posts i'm really worried. I was at the doctor about a week ago he took blood and said he would send a letter to the hospital to get an appointment for a Colonoscopy, he told me I could be waiting 3 to 6 months for an appointment cause i'm a public patient but then a letter from the hospital came today day with an appointment for this Monday, so the Colonoscopy is arranged for less than two weeks from my doctors appointment. I am really great full to get the appointment so fast, but i'm also really scared that it means there could be something really wrong!

Hi there :)

I am also female, 32 yrs old and i had a colonoscopy done last wednesday. I was only waiting about 4 weeks for my appointment too so it was quick enough to have me worried too! Mine turned out to be all clear - which is good in a way as they found nothing but worrying in another way as a year and a half on and i still have no answers to my constipation and stomach pains :(

In all honesty, the worst part is the prep, i had to drink 4 litres of Klean Prep the day before. I managed 3 litres but was crying by the end and throwing up - oh and the headache too as i am a tea addict and couldn't have a cup on the morning of the appointment! My appointment was at 1.30, got called in about 3ish and was home by 530 - if you can, take the following day off too as i was completely out of it for the evening it was done and very tired and crampy the next day but the day after that i was all back to normal....

Try not to worry too much about it - i remember absolutly nothing of it being done thank god!!

Emma1980 wrote: »
    Hi there :)

I am also female, 32 yrs old and i had a colonoscopy done last wednesday. I was only waiting about 4 weeks for my appointment too so it was quick enough to have me worried too! Mine turned out to be all clear - which is good in a way as they found nothing but worrying in another way as a year and a half on and i still have no answers to my constipation and stomach pains :(

In all honesty, the worst part is the prep, i had to drink 4 litres of Klean Prep the day before. I managed 3 litres but was crying by the end and throwing up - oh and the headache too as i am a tea addict and couldn't have a cup on the morning of the appointment! My appointment was at 1.30, got called in about 3ish and was home by 530 - if you can, take the following day off too as i was completely out of it for the evening it was done and very tired and crampy the next day but the day after that i was all back to normal....

Try not to worry too much about it - i remember absolutly nothing of it being done thank god!!

4 weeks Emma was that private? How the hell can i be waiting a year i paid me taxes lol :rolleyes:

no, i'm a public patient in St. James's hospital - maybe mine was so quick because i first went into them in June 2011 with chest pains and stomach pains and they have still to find the cause!! i've had two endoscopys done too, only waiting about a month on each appointment for those too.... getting sick of it at this stage as they can't find what the problem is!

Im going to beaumont maybe your right and the waiting list is shorter. Im not sure if they can tell anything from blood. It was just when the letter came so fast i got a fright.

don't be worrying about it - easier said than done, i know but once its over with you'll wonder why you got yourself in a state about it! as i said, the prep is the worst part - see if you can get something other than klean prep if you can!

Sorry I'm really slow at replying its my first time on this site. Thanks for all your replys hopefully its nothing

I tried to follow up mine from January

Connolly Main Line........... No answer

Oncology Department..........No answer...........

Is it the Oncology department that deals with Colonoscopies?

Its the endoscopy department in st. james's that deal with it....
    What hospital are you going to?

Emma1980 wrote: »
    Its the endoscopy department in st. james's that deal with it....
    What hospital are you going to?

Connolly ..they seem to be shockingly unreliable