Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycling in Ireland

• 05-07-2012 8:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭

Hello everyone - I was referred here from the CTC Forum.

I'll be embarking on a Tour of Ireland in September. I am in the process of plotting out my course (bikeroutetoaster.com for that) and was wondering if I could get advice on the plotted route. I'll be riding solo and plan on camping most of the time.

Would it be alright to post my plotted route to get your advice?

-MC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,828 ✭✭✭meercat

bing-bong

fecksakelads to reception please

fecksakelads to reception:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Post away.
    The Race Around Ireland is in September. You might like to try that, but afaik sleep is not allowed / frowned upon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭mcallaghan

That might be a stretch for me - I'll have just completed a LEJOG and the Lon Las Cymru before I even reach Ireland.

My route is still very much a work in progress. Ullster seems a little more scant as far as campsites go. This is what I have so far:

Day 1: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=424835 (Arrival in Ireland via Holyhead Ferry)
    Day 2: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=424836
    Day 3: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=424843
    Day 4: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=424862
    Day 5: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=424864
    Day 6: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=425268 ferry to http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=425269
    Day 7: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=425270

Day 4 - my thought was to go down to Baltimore and take a ferry over to Cape Clear (Clear Island) and spend the night there. This could potentially change my plans on Day 5 as I would like to go to Mizen Head which could add 20 miles to Day 5.

Day 6 is posted in 2 parts, as bikeroutetoaster can't plot a course using a ferry. I figure I should be able to catch a ferry (hopefully with minimal wait) before doing the second leg.

The planned Hostel in Doolin is only a few minutes away from the Cliffs of Moher. I would like to go to the Aran Isles - I hear its quite nice there - but am not sure if I should make Day 7 more of a rest day, where I explore the Cliffs of Moher on foot before spending the night on one of the Aran Islands - recommendations there?

The planned Day 7 route is short enough that I should be able to visit the Cliffs of Moher in the morning before heading to my Aunts house in Athenry. I'll probably take a full day off with her - hopefully with a hike up Croagh Patrick.

Suggestions for a route from Athenry to Malin Head would greatly help, as would thoughts/suggestions on traversing through N.Ireland on a route back to Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I haven't done a huge amount of touring here in Ireland but the Western Greenway would be worth a look, especially if you're heading to Croagh Patrick, this would leave you at Achill, which may be a bit out of your way.

Cycle NI have a National Cycle Network across Northern Ireland, I haven't been up yet but their website and brochure are impressive. http://www.cycleni.com/national-cycle-network/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭XtotheZ

maybe a stage or two of the junior tour? http://www.juniortourofireland.com/ some brillant scenery on stage 2 and 4!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Muller_1

your route looks good, on the 3d day, you should really try to take in more of the coast, the coast road from Kinsale to Clonakilty and then from Rosscarbery take in Glandore and Union Hall rather than than the N71

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

On the first day, I think you are missing the best of Wicklow by going along the coast. I would map a route through Kilmacanogue, Enniskerry, Roundwood, Laragh, Rathdrum. It will be tougher but the scenery is much nicer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭Flandria

On the first day, I think you are missing the best of Wicklow by going along the coast. I would map a route through Kilmacanogue, Enniskerry, Roundwood, Laragh, Rathdrum. It will be tougher but the scenery is much nicer.

Day 1 – I agree with the other. Man up and take on a few hills in Wicklow. Far more interesting.
    Day 3 – I’d prefer to see a coast run visiting Ardmore and Ballycotton.
    Day 5 – Go left at Kenmare, then Sneem, Waterville, Killorglin, Killarney. (The Ring of Kerry)

Galway then west to Leenane, north to Louisburgh (must visit Old Head nearby), back east to Westport (shown as The Demense (???) on bikerouteroaster, Newport, Achill Island (Dooega), back to Mulranny, north to Bangor (Bangor Erris), west to Ballina, north to Enniscrone (stop for a while, go down to the beach, and pier), Easkey, Sligo, coast road to Donegal (visit the grave of poet W B Yeats in Drumcliffe, just beside the road).
    The road to Letterkenny, then Derry is not too interesting. You might like to take the coastal route.

kincsem wrote: »
    Galway then west to Leenane, north to Louisburgh (must visit Old Head nearby), back east to Westport (shown as The Demense (???) on bikerouteroaster, Newport, Achill Island (Dooega), back to Mulranny, north to Bangor (Bangor Erris), west to Ballina, north to Enniscrone (stop for a while, go down to the beach, and pier), Easkey, Sligo, coast road to Donegal (visit the grave of poet W B Yeats in Drumcliffe, just beside the road).
    The road to Letterkenny, then Derry is not too interesting. You might like to take the coastal route.

Don't forget to take a seaweed bath in Enniscrone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 titanan

The guy in this link did a portion of your route.

http://fullyloadedbiketour.com/live-updates/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

meercat wrote: »
    bing-bong

fecksakelads to reception please

fecksakelads to reception:D
    ok ok it was me but you guys are much better on routes tham me so help the man out;)

Thanks for all the suggestions guys! It looks like I'll have about 3 weeks to complete the entire trip - I was going to lose at least a week after completing the LEJOG, but I've cut that down to 2 - 3 days instead, which bumps everything forward a good deal so I won't be as time-stressed as I thought.

Just watched todays TdF stage, going to head out on a local ride now, will be back around lunchtime at which point I'll sit down and go over everyone's suggestions while looking at Google Maps and BikeRouteToaster to see what these suggestions entail!

mcallaghan wrote: »
    e at which point I'll sit down and go over everyone's suggestions while looking at Google Maps and BikeRouteToaster to see what these suggestions entail!

That's usually about 30 minute before the point where I throw my laptop out the window or storm out of the room!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

This is probably the most scenic route from Dun Laoghaire to RedCross. It's pretty tough but definitely worth it. There are loads of great alternate routes and I can map an easier but not quite as nice route if it doesn't take your fancy.

Wicklow Route 1

Edit: aaaarrggghhh the link didn;t work. Give me 5 minutes.

Edit2:Should be working now.

bikeroutetoaster is a great little site - just make sure to click 'Save as Public' if you want to share - generates a cue sheet AND shows you an elevation profile of the course. I have been taking that into account on the longer routes - too much climbing (since I will be fully loaded - camping gear etc) and I'll divert the course or make it shorter.

A bit cool today, looking like rain as well - I should go out and ride (1 month to go before LEJOG) but I feel more like cleaning my bike instead.

hardCopy wrote: »
    Don't forget to take a seaweed bath in Enniscrone!
    Good idea, followed by a pint up the town.
    You could call into the golf course for lunch.
    And go about 1/4 mile past the pier to Carrowhubbock "beach" - it's thousands of egg-shaped stones of all sizes rolling up and down with the waves.

Gonna scratch the ride and clean the bike instead and look at the map.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭emtroche

kincsem wrote: »
    Post away.
    The Race Around Ireland is in September. You might like to try that, but afaik sleep is not allowed / frowned upon.

As one of the Race Around Ireland organisers i'd just like to clarify that this is not true! Its an ultra-marathon race which is run as a time trial. This means the fastest person to complete the circuit is the winner. It would be impossible without sleep and if competitors are seen to be dangerously fatigued they will be advised to rest. :)

So I've followed some suggestions as posted. I will review and post the update routes tomorrow (head is swimming today).

New routes however pose a slight problem. What is the stance on Wild Camping in Ireland? Can you pitch a tent (relatively) anywhere? My current road block is that there aren't really any campsites between Tralee and Doolin. Ideally, I'd get as close to the Tarbert-Killmer ferry as I can, in order to catch one of the first ferries from Doolin to the Aran Islands. I could then either overnight on the Aran Islands (worth it?) or catch a return ferry in the evening and camp out in Doolin.

Thoughts/Suggestions?

Tralee on the N69 is not good busy road but it is the shortest route from Tralee to listowel, N69 to tarbert is not as bad though.
    if you go to kilrush and take the R483 to Cooraclare there a great pub there that does b/b and great food lovely cycle then on to doolin where theres a campsit or great hostel.be sure to head to spanish point ;)
    the ferry service is spot on you wont have any problems at least thats what the guy that owns the hostel told me;)
    innis more is the biggest of the islands and by all accounts its beautiful and well worth staying the night, you can bypass the galway route at that point get the ferry to roseaveel and on to connemara.cost is 23 euro.

The Updated Route: (or is it easier for everyone if I update the original Route post?)

Day 1: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=425904
    Day 3: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=426000
    Day 4: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=426003
    Day 5: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=426009

Day 1, once again, starts between 12:30 and 1300 as the best ferry for me arrives at 1200. I am hoping that the plotted course is still feasible given that the morning is spent on the Ferry and that I am carrying all my gear with me.

Day 2 is unchanged.

Day 3 takes in the Seaside Recommendations. Looks like a much flatter course, so extended mileage is ok, especially since there seem to be no Campsites located East of Cork City. Again, unsure of Wild Camping (never done it before) so am a little hesitant doing it.

Day 4 gets me to Baltimore, hopefully in time for the last ferry to Cape Clear Island. I then plan to spend the night on the Island, taking earliest ferry back to Baltimore in order to head to Mizen Head.

Day 5 could be a long day based on time spent at Mizen Head. I can cut the last 20 miles off and camp at Eagle Point Camping but I'd like to get at least that far.

Alternate routes/campsites/suggestions all appreciated as well. I don't think I'll do the Ring of Kerry as it doesn't advance me up too far - unless some one can convince me its the a must-ride route.

mizen to glengarriff is handy enough nothing to concern yourself about, the campsite in glengarriff is basic run by the owner bit of a grumpy old man but he's really ok he dried all my cloths on his rad fair play to him :D from glengarriff over the healy pass (must do ) is a tough days cycling
    good climb out of the campsite emm maybe 10 miles to start of healy pass great cycling country really beautiful then into Kerry magic country but take it easy on the long decent because the hills aint over just yet and then on to kenmare and relax.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Stokolan

Looking at your day 2 towards the end from New Ross to Waterford to Tramore Id nearly take the main roads as some of the roads you have marked out are not the best.

http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=426214

The start of your day 3 from Tramore to Dungarvan is perfect apart from being up and down a bit. Its part of the Sean Kelly 90k route that's done in August

The Updated Route: (or is it easier for everyone if I update the original Route post?)

Day 1: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=425904
    Day 3: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=426000
    Day 4: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=426003
    Day 5: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=426009

Day 1, once again, starts between 12:30 and 1300 as the best ferry for me arrives at 1200. I am hoping that the plotted course is still feasible given that the morning is spent on the Ferry and that I am carrying all my gear with me.

Day 2 is unchanged.

Day 3 takes in the Seaside Recommendations. Looks like a much flatter course, so extended mileage is ok, especially since there seem to be no Campsites located East of Cork City. Again, unsure of Wild Camping (never done it before) so am a little hesitant doing it.

Day 4 gets me to Baltimore, hopefully in time for the last ferry to Cape Clear Island. I then plan to spend the night on the Island, taking earliest ferry back to Baltimore in order to head to Mizen Head.

Day 5 could be a long day based on time spent at Mizen Head. I can cut the last 20 miles off and camp at Eagle Point Camping but I'd like to get at least that far.

Alternate routes/campsites/suggestions all appreciated as well. I don't think I'll do the Ring of Kerry as it doesn't advance me up too far - unless some one can convince me its the a must-ride route.
    http://campinmygarden.com/events/willie-clancy-music-festival
    you might be interested in this site.;)

Interesting....I think I may give my go at some wild camping or another B&B for that area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 bikepacker

On my recent E2E of Ireland I met a French cycle camper; we camped together at Corrofin and Salthill. Although his text is in French he is a fluent English speaker and will communicate with you in English.
    His account of the journey is here: http://rando-velo.esaracco.fr/mois/irlande

I certainly can't read French - whats the best way to contact him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 bikepacker

You can google one of the translation services and just copy his text in the site and it will give you an instant translation. You can email him from his website http://www.esaracco.fr/fr/contacter

I will pm you with his other email address as I am not sure if he would like it published.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Or use Google Chrome which will offer you a translation on any web page you visit that is not in your usual language.

I've got exactly a month now before I'll be in the UK to start my long tour.

I am still trying to work out the details of the Ireland trip, while I am also finalizing/putting the finishing touches on my Wales route and accommodations.

I am also trying to debate losing a day (well, adding on a day) to cycle the Beara Way as many people have said its worth doing. If I do the Beara Way, then I will certainly miss out on Healy Pass, which is another thing people have said I should not miss out on.

I am not quite sure how to make them both work...it seems to be a 'one or the other' thing at this point - anyone care to shed some light/insight/thoughts on that part of my route?

I've got exactly a month now before I'll be in the UK to start my long tour.

I am still trying to work out the details of the Ireland trip, while I am also finalizing/putting the finishing touches on my Wales route and accommodations.

I am also trying to debate losing a day (well, adding on a day) to cycle the Beara Way as many people have said its worth doing. If I do the Beara Way, then I will certainly miss out on Healy Pass, which is another thing people have said I should not miss out on.

I am not quite sure how to make them both work...it seems to be a 'one or the other' thing at this point - anyone care to shed some light/insight/thoughts on that part of my route?

the healy pass is a tough climb especally on a loaded touring bike, but if i were in that part of the country again i would most certainly do it again. it's a great bit of cycling country, doing it from glengarriff you will have 3 good climbs to get over to kenmare but yeah well worth the efford.
    no idea how you could adjust your cycling time thats basically down to you, take a look at the link bikepacker posted that will give you some idea and it's a good route .
    enjoy.;)

Alright. Things are starting to get closer and closer to being finished. I've finalized my Lon Las Cymru plans, complete with dates, I've even booked my Ferry from Holyhead over to Ireland. So, date-wise, I know that I will be starting my Irish Tour on September the 5th. Now its a matter of trying to finalize my route.

I am also going over my equipment. Ideally I would leave the camping stove/pots at home (cut down on weight) but I don't fancy having to eat cold meals or be buying Pub food every night (cut down on expenses). So it seems like I'll have to be bringing them - not every campsite has kitchen facilities. Going to try and cut down on them the best I can though - nothing extra!

I'll be posting my finalized planned route here as I plot it, again open to suggestions or alternates. Its more tempered by location of campsites and the like then anything at this point (as far as daily mileage goes).

Revised Route first 4 days:

D1: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=438195
    D2: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=438479
    D3: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=438489
    D4: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=438499

If I want to go to Cape Clear, I have to ride hard on Day 4 to make the 1800 Ferry - should be able to do it since I should have 8 hours or so to cover the 60 odd miles barring any mishaps. Gives me the rest of the evening and to explore the island and I'll probably grab the noon ferry the next day back to Baltimore, Ireland.

This might be a mad suggestion, but if you like I can meet you in Dun Laoghaire and take your luggage to Rathdrum to lighten your load (or to the high point of that section, the Sally Gap crossroads.) My guess is it would take over three hours for that hilly trip (It is similar to part of the old route of the Wicklow 200.)

PM me if you like. PM = private message ... top right of screen.

Thanks for the offer!

That is pretty much my main concern for Day 1 - not sure how the ferry part quite works (customs and all?) as far as how long it'll take to get off the ferry and onto the bike. I'll try and eat some lunch on the ferry, I should think, and get to the campsite as timely as I can - I am not quite sure fast it starts to get dark in Ireland (up here, at this time of year, its light out until 8PM or so before it starts to get dark). I imagine I should be able to manage 10mph or so fully loaded in hilly sections...so call that 4 hours to get to the campsite. Maybe 5. So at the latest, with my plotted route, and saying I don't get started until 1PM, I should make camp by 6PM.

Does that seem to make sense for those who have ridden that hilly course?

I would PM you, but the new little message at top of forums means I have to make another dozen posts or so before I can send a PM. I think my blog is linked in my signature, and I just set up a brand new email address for it (as you can see by my last blog post) so that might be the best way to communicate at this point.

I sent you a PM (private message).

Got it and sent one back.

Also, I will pass up on the Ring of Beara in order to go over Healy Pass (I live in the Rockies, it can't be THAT bad) but I will do the Ring of Kerry instead. This may seem like an idiotic question, but is the Ring of Kerry route simply along the road N70? (as opposed to a bike path).

The N70 is the Ring Of Kerry. The best views are the southern part imo.

Won't be needing a cue sheet for that day then ^-^

Looks like the southern part is also the part with a climb or two?

Tomorrow I'll work on plotting the Galway - Malin - Dublin part of my route and try and come up with a date for a ferry back to Holyhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭route66

Just read in Sunday papers - Aran Islands Ferries not allowing bikes on board . ...

Looks like the H&S police are taking over the world: link

But there are alternatives: link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭mcgratheoin

On your section from New Ross to Waterford - I'd stick to the main roads rather than the route you've suggested there. The N25 has a massive hard shoulder and there are regularly cyclists on it so it'd be a better option than the little back roads you've suggested.

When you arrive over the bridge into Waterford city, don't follow the route as plotted on your map - you're adding in some short steep climbs for no benefit. Take the R680 around the quay - very wide flat road and follow the regular signs for Tramore - again it's a road regularly used by cyclists and would be a much better option than some of the badly surfaced roads you have on your map.

Thanks for the suggestions!

And that is rather interesting...I can't see how its a health/safety issue. Luckily, I was going to use the Doolin ferry which (at this point) still allows bicycles (go figure). I guess I will try my luck - if I can make the ferry on time but they won't allow me on with the bicycle, I will spend the rest of the day in Doolin and explore the Cliffs of Moher on foot. That does put a hole in plans though so lets home that come September the Doolin ferries still carry bikes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I live in Kenmare which nests between the Ring of Beara & Ring of Kerry.

The Ring of Beara is one of the most spectacular cycles anywhere. The Ring of Kerry on the other hand is not even in the top 5 cycle routes in Kerry IMHO.
    The N71 is a truly **** road with some stunning views around Caherdaniel, Glenbeigh and Ladies View - but it is a long a busy road to take injust that.

If it were me I would do Ring of Beara from Glengariff out to Castletown and Allihies and then into Kenmare all along the coast road. From Kenmare go to Molls Gap - Black Valley - Gap of Dunloe & Beaufort.

ROK ON wrote: »
    I live in Kenmare which nests between the Ring of Beara & Ring of Kerry.

The Ring of Beara is one of the most spectacular cycles anywhere. The Ring of Kerry on the other hand is not even in the top 5 cycle routes in Kerry IMHO.
    The N71 is a truly **** road with some stunning views around Caherdaniel, Glenbeigh and Ladies View - but it is a long a busy road to take injust that.

If it were me I would do Ring of Beara from Glengariff out to Castletown and Allihies and then into Kenmare all along the coast road. From Kenmare go to Molls Gap - Black Valley - Gap of Dunloe & Beaufort.

Why do I always read these things _after_ I've booked accomodation?

Luck of the Irish? :P

McGrath - here is my alternate Day 2 route based on your suggestions. I think I plotted it right? http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=439035

EDIT: I've plotted through to Day 10, which gets me to Galway. Doing the Ring of Beara instead of Healy Pass saves me a day (somehow). Unless I am doing my Maths wrong. I think its because cutting out the Ring of Kerry lets me go from Kenmare to (for ease) Listowel instead of doing that over two days. I will double check my dates and post days 5 - 10 here in a few.

Day 5: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=438519
    Day 6: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=439045
    Day 7: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=439047
    Day 8: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=438554
    Day 9: http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=438557

Alright. My maths were right. Skipping the Ring of Kerry and doing the Ring of Beara does save me a day. Days 8 and 9 above were my original Day 9 and Day 10. But this is the 'improved' route.

Day 5 gets me back from Cape Clear and over to Mizen Head (the Schull Ferry doesn't depart Cape Clear until the evening, so is useless - would have saved me some mileage and time) before I make the turn to head North. I think there is a campsite in Dunbeacon (approximately where my course ends) though I might try my hand at Wild Camping that night after pedaling as far as I can that day.

Day 6 is the Ring of Beara. A long day but if I get tired I can take the R571 shortcut if I need to, I should think. This is also why I am thinking of wildcamping the night before, to cover as much distance as I can if I am feeling up for it.

Day 7 is another long day, but looks a bit flatter in parts even with the climbs. That follows the Molls Gap - Gap of Dunloe suggested route. I want to get as close to the Killmere Ferry as I can in an attempt for Day 8 to get to Doolin before the last ferry leaves for Inis Mor around 13:00. At this point, bicycles are still allowed.

Day 8 is the Doolin Race for the Ferry day. Hopefully I can get over to Inis Mor and spend the night on the Island, before taking the earliest ferry back to Doolin in the morning.

Day 9 is the ride along the Cliffs of Moher once arriving by Ferry in Doolin. The end of the day should get me to my Aunts House though I still need to talk to her and get her exact location! The following day will be a deserved Rest Day though I might go climb C. Patrick instead!

Day 10 - rest day.

Day 11 - possibly a second rest day.

Any suggestions for my route heading North to Malin head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭mcgratheoin

Luck of the Irish? :P

McGrath - here is my alternate Day 2 route based on your suggestions. I think I plotted it right? http://bikeroutetoaster.com/Course.aspx?course=439035

Yup - you're not missing any scenery and you'll save yourself a lot of energy by avoiding major hills and sticking to better roads.

Enjoy...