Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much would new car...?

• 02-07-2012 11:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭

How much would brand new car cost in Ireland if there was no VRT on them?
    Does anyone know it?
    It seems that in Ireland all brand new cars start around 20 K for pretty basic spec (Small family car class such as Golf) regardless whether is it a Volkswagen Golf or Hyundai i30?
    Recently I was looking for the prices of brand new cars in central and eastern Europe and there were big difference in prices between different makes.
    For example you could buy brand new Hyundai i30 for around 12K euros and price for Volkswagen Golf was around 18K euros.

So why are in Ireland all compact sized cars starting at around the same price range while in other countries in Europe there are quite a big differences between different makes?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 994 ✭✭✭carbon nanotube

Irish buyers get taken for a ride thats all.

Can anyone give a reason why practically all cars are poverty spec.?

my brother got a 1 year old toyota not long ago, it has no leather, not sure if it has traction control, no sign of sat nav nor cruise control.

the car cost about 15-20k euro also.

my 8 year old accord has so much stuff, its an executive model but its still of higher spec than equivalent Irish ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Irish buyers get taken for a ride thats all.

Can anyone give a reason why practically all cars are poverty spec.?

my brother got a 1 year old toyota not long ago, it has no leather, not sure if it has traction control, no sign of sat nav nor cruise control.

the car cost about 15-20k euro also.

my 8 year old accord has so much stuff, its an executive model but its still of higher spec than equivalent Irish ones.

Not trying to be funny here...but maybe your brother should have held out for a better spec car?
    Some people simply dont care about specs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,123 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

VRT is a percentage of the price. Remove the CO2 loading and that's the price without VRT.

As to why cars are poverty spec. The majority of Irish people are in love with a few square centimetres of plastic and couldn't care less what they drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Bobo78

Yeah I kind of presumed that when you take away the Vrt charge from the actual price of the car you would get what car would originally cost but would that mean that Hyundai gets more charged on Vrt in comparison to the Golf because it seems in Ireland they start at around same price for basic spec comparing to other countries in eastern Europe where there is around 6 k difference in between Golf and i30?
    Was just wondering.

Not trying to be funny here...but maybe your brother should have held out for a better spec car?
    Some people simply dont care about specs.

i was telling him get a mondeo titanium x but he went and got a 1.4 diesel toyota.

each to their own.

do toyota do a 'better spec' car..?

it seems in Ireland everything but electric windows are extras tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

Ireland is about as anti motoring as it gets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Bobo78 wrote: »
    How much would brand new car cost in Ireland if there was no VRT on them?
    Does anyone know it?
    It seems that in Ireland all brand new cars start around 20 K for pretty basic spec (Small family car class such as Golf) regardless whether is it a Volkswagen Golf or Hyundai i30?
    Recently I was looking for the prices of brand new cars in central and eastern Europe and there were big difference in prices between different makes.
    For example you could buy brand new Hyundai i30 for around 12K euros and price for Volkswagen Golf was around 18K euros.

So why are in Ireland all compact sized cars starting at around the same price range while in other countries in Europe there are quite a big differences between different makes?

Just to give an example -

A 2012 Ford Focus ST is €35,170. As it is in band D, 24% VRT applies.

Net of VRT = €28,362

Then you have VAT (23%) which applies to the price of a car net of VRT

Net of VAT & VRT = €23,058

So for a new focus ST €12,112 is paid in tax :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

mmcn90 wrote: »
    Just to give an example -

A 2012 Ford Focus ST is €35,170. As it is in band D, 24% VRT applies.

Net of VRT = €28,362

Then you have VAT (23%) which applies to the price of a car net of VRT

Net of VAT & VRT = €23,058

So for a new focus ST €12,112 is paid in tax :(

Another depressing way to look at your calcs is that they add on 52% tax onto the net price of €23,058 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

i was telling him get a mondeo titanium x but he went and got a 1.4 diesel toyota.

each to their own.

do toyota do a 'better spec' car..?

it seems in Ireland everything but electric windows are extras tbh.

That hasn't been true for years.

The main problem is people plump for the lower spec cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,123 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

The main problem is people plump for the lower spec cars number plate not the car

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Marcin_diy

For some reason In Ireland you can't get now a VW Golf 1.4 TSI
    available versions are 1.2 - 20.000 euro ( In Poland same model cost - 15.5k euro)

1.6tdi - in ireland price is 23.5k euro, in Poland 17.3k euro .....

Irish Car market is very poor. There are so many models and engines not available here :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

It's really easy to blame Irish man for taking paddy spec brand new car, just because of the newer plate, but there's more to it.
    For example of you have 20k eu in England you will get same car with higher spec and if you come to Ireland with 20k, you will get same car, but with way lower spec. So Irish person already overpaying for brandade car and every single extra costs a fortune.
    I am 100% sure I read that Same badge cars in uk will have way more extras then Irish ones. Irish dealers themselfs strip the extras to make vrt lower.
    All in all buying a brand new car in Ireland is just stupidly overpriced, but on the other hand second hand performance and luxo barge stuff is dirt cheap here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,823 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

....well I had the (mis) fortune of having to drive a new 12 D reg Merc from Dublin to Galway yesterday. Jeebus. Slow, plain, noisy, no a/c (!). Paddy spec at it's finest - bar the one saving grace - Auto/tip - but no cruise.

Oh, did I mention it was a 5.5t Sprinter ? :p

So, even in VanWorld Paddy Spec rules. We build bodies on Sprinters for UK market here, and they buy much nicer ones. Bigger engines, a/c, cruise, etc etc.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Marcin_diy wrote: »
    For some reason In Ireland you can't get now a VW Golf 1.4 TSI
    available versions are 1.2 - 20.000 euro ( In Poland same model cost - 15.5k euro)

1.6tdi - in ireland price is 23.5k euro, in Poland 17.3k euro .....

Irish Car market is very poor. There are so many models and engines not available here :(

.... wages etc are comparable too.

my brother got a 1 year old toyota not long ago,....not sure if it has traction control, .

....to be fair, a Corolla is never going to need t/c.... :p

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭cozzie55

Ireland isn't the worst country in europe by a long shot.
    Scandinavia is almost twice as expensive to buy a car in by comparison to ireland all due to taxes

My brother bought a new 3 series over in denmark last year, the list price of a similar car in ireland was 38k, while he ended up paying in the region of 60k for the exact same car with the exact same spec.
    Granted the salaries in denmark are far higher than in ireland so they can afford these kind of things.

But if you take a look at the fleet of cars they have when you are there. You wil notice that there is a load of auld yokes falling to pieces cause people can't afford to buy new cars. There seams to be very few middle of the road cars, along the lines of ford focus's, corrollas etc over there.

AS for the paddy spec side of things, that the irish peoples own fault. most of us would prefer to spend our money on a car with a newer number plate or a bigger model than have a decent spec'd car.

How many people will buy a brand new top of the range focus, when they could have the bigger mondeo with a smaller engine and a tape player and manual windows?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

galwaytt wrote: »
    ....well I had the (mis) fortune of having to drive a new 12 D reg Merc from Dublin to Galway yesterday. Jeebus. Slow, plain, noisy, no a/c (!). Paddy spec at it's finest - bar the one saving grace - Auto/tip - but no cruise.

Oh, did I mention it was a 5.5t Sprinter ? :p

So, even in VanWorld Paddy Spec rules. We build bodies on Sprinters for UK market here, and they buy much nicer ones. Bigger engines, a/c, cruise, etc etc.
    Most lads who but sprinters buy them for an employee to drive so dont really care about extras, lads who drive them themselves tend to get a few nice bits on them. Nearly every vito iv registered this year has had a decent spec because they are mostly owner drivers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭ManMade

If you want to get annoyed you should look at the US car market. All the extras are nearly standard, smaller vat rate and actual competition. And then the standard of their roads and the cost of fuel... makes any irish man with an interest in cars get made at what they could afford over there compared to what they end up with here.

Most lads who but sprinters buy them for an employee to drive so dont really care about extras, lads who drive them themselves tend to get a few nice bits on them. Nearly every vito iv registered this year has had a decent spec because they are mostly owner drivers

..true, true, don't doubt that for a minute. But, cripes, I had to go from Dublin to Galway in melting heat, and no a/c, in a yoke with a restrictor. I got the fright of my life at 90km/h when the thing hit the buffers. I was actually overtaken by not only every bus on the way down, but a bloody Civic...with a horsebox on it, as well ! 'Road Safety' my arse. Lethal, more like.

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Marcin_diy

RoverJames wrote: »

Please.. don't tell me that difference in wages makes VW here 6k more expensive than in Poland.

and if talking about vages - why computers or clothes for example are cheaper in Ireland than Poland?

One more thing that I noticed recently is finance for car.
    For example MAzda CX5 - across all europe Poland, spain, germany, france, UK mazda cx5 is on 5.9%
    Only in ireland it is 11%

Does it also has something to do with wages?

The difference in wages doesn't explain the difference, that was not my point, but a polo is more affordable here as our wages are higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

I have a quote here for a new X5, €45,000 before taxes, €78,000 after taxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,695 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

cozzie55 wrote: »
    Scandinavia is almost twice as expensive to buy a car in by comparison to ireland all due to taxes

My brother bought a new 3 series over in denmark last year, the list price of a similar car in ireland was 38k, while he ended up paying in the region of 60k for the exact same car with the exact same spec.
    Granted the salaries in denmark are far higher than in ireland so they can afford these kind of things.

Your brother's income might be higher than he could earn in Ireland but in general, people in Irelad earn 10% more than in Denmark! Ireland generally punches quite high in median household income surveys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭el diablo

Marcin_diy wrote: »
    Please.. don't tell me that difference in wages makes VW here 6k more expensive than in Poland.

Well, yes it would. Average wages in Ireland are 3.85 times higher than in Poland.

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

RoverJames wrote: »

And cost of living here too. A kebab in Poland won't cost you €7.

.... won't cost you that in most of Ireland either.

The main problem is people plump for the lower spec cars.

if someone wants to spend 20+ grand without a/c, sat nav, traction control and leather as standard thats their problem.

cozzie55 wrote: »

But if you take a look at the fleet of cars they have when you are there. You wil notice that there is a load of auld yokes falling to pieces cause people can't afford to buy new cars. There seams to be very few middle of the road cars, along the lines of ford focus's, corrollas etc over there.

AS for the paddy spec side of things, that the irish peoples own fault. most of us would prefer to spend our money on a car with a newer number plate or a bigger model than have a decent spec'd car.

How many people will buy a brand new top of the range focus, when they could have the bigger mondeo with a smaller engine and a tape player and manual windows?

i don't believe this paddy spec s<it at all.

walk into any forecourt in Ireland, probably 60-70% of the cars have 'paddy spec' (c).

whose fault is this. (assuming new cars), hardly the punter as they are not sold yet.

now, take the same walk into a forecourt in the uk..

helloooooooo

its the dealers mainly taking you for a ride, and over the years it gradually became commonplace.

there's more chance of getting a like from rover james in a post of mine than dealers supplying well equipped cars as standard to the Irish market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

If people wanted and we're prepared to pay for these things they would be on every car. The reality is they don't so why would a business stock items that they won't sell?

The majority of people in this country just want the reg plate and that's it. The dealers are only catering to their market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

i don't believe this paddy spec s<it at all.

walk into any forecourt in Ireland, probably 60-70% of the cars have 'paddy spec' (c).

whose fault is this. (assuming new cars), hardly the punter as they are not sold yet.

They stock what they sell.

If they stocked say a red car with x y and z as options, you can be sure people would want it in blue but without x and z.

The garage has to buy these cars, they want to sell it, not make an ornament out of it.

If people wanted and we're prepared to pay for these things they would be on every car. The reality is they don't so why would a business stock items that they won't sell?

The majority of people in this country just want the reg plate and that's it. The dealers are only catering to their market.

if thats true, its so sad its almost laughable.

the reg plate. ...??

wtf.

TBH its just dragged on now for years and poverty spec mobiles has become the norm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

goz83 wrote: »
    And cost of living here too. A kebab in Poland won't cost you €7.

It does for a higher spec one. Add cheese.