Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cavan V Kildare Match Thread

• 02-07-2012 8:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭

Cavan V Kildare Match Thread (And inevitable Seanie baiting)

Thought we might as well have a thread for this game early as I feel there will be a lot of interest in it... plus we can maybe centralise all the Seanie chat to one place

Match is set to take place at Kingspan Breffni Park on Sunday 15 July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭full_irish

http://www.paddypower.com/bet/gaa-football/sean-johnstone-special?ev_oc_grp_ids=741010

Wear a hurling helmet at 500/1? Wonder what odds for getting hit by one from the crowd...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

Following my Mystic Meg like prediction on yesterdays game, I'll say Cavan to win by 16 points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

full_irish wrote: »
    http://www.paddypower.com/bet/gaa-football/sean-johnstone-special?ev_oc_grp_ids=741010

Wear a hurling helmet at 500/1? Wonder what odds for getting hit by one from the crowd...

1million to one he will get hit by any object from the crowd.

markie29 wrote: »

I think he will be 'hit' with mutual adoration and respect from both set of fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Comfortable Kildare win.

>mod snip<

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

10000/1 to be hurler of the year :pac:
    Johnston should put a score on himself wearing a hurling helmet during the game and stick one on at some stage. That'll help pay for the petrol from Straffan to Cavan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭celt262

It is going to be good craic.

I think Cavan will worry Kildare in this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Cavan will show their true quality and hammer Kildare in this game maybe a 12 point victory for Cavan!!! Just have a feeling their squad will show a scorned Kildare up

Following my Mystic Meg like prediction on yesterdays game, I'll say Cavan to win by 16 points.
    Cavan will show their true quality and hammer Kildare in this game maybe a 12 point victory for Cavan!!! Just have a feeling their squad will show a scorned Kildare up

I see what you're doing there... the classic reverse psychology!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Can't see beyond a Kildare win tbh - Cavan will be pumped up and hopefully will give a good account and finish within 4-5 points of Kildare.

My Seanie prediction - Seanie will be nowhere near Breffni on the day off the game as he won't even been named in the panel.

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Can't see beyond a Kildare win tbh - Cavan will be pumped up and hopefully will give a good account and finish within 4-5 points of Kildare.

My Seanie prediction - Seanie will be nowhere near Breffni on the day off the game as he won't even been named in the panel.
    This!

We won't need him so theres no need to cause a hullabaloo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

The perfect draw for the neutral!!! Everyone outside of the two counties will be watching with delight - and I imagine supporting Cavan.

Being a Rossie I would love to see our fellow division 3 team do well. We played them in the Under 21 semi final and have a similar story as regards underage success v senior problems. Its great to see them with a chance to take a big scalp - especially Kildare for obvious reasons.

They might just do it - they will be seriously up for it.

"In GAA you don't choose your county/club - you inherit it" - that phrase wasn't invented in 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

If McGeeney has any sense at all he will announce his squad early and SJ wont be in it. Not because of how anybody from Cavan will react - we are just glad to be rid of him and can move on with our talented youngsters who have the right attitude - but to avoid the media circus. The last thing Kildare need is more unnecessary attention.

Kildare will beat us, they are a superior team, but I hope our lads give a good account of themselves and that this will would benefit them no end as they develop into serious senior intercounty players.

This!

We won't need him so theres no need to cause a hullabaloo.

Its not about needing him or not - whatever your views on the transfer what good can come of him togging out for his debut in Breffni. Kildare have ambitions to go far this year and I've already said in the Kildare thread before the draw was made that I still think ye will have a big say this summer. Cavan are at the early stages of rebuilding so while we might give ye a good run out it will be no more than that. Leave Seanie out of Breffni altogether and get the day out of the way without the aggro - I'm sure it will be a full house and the craic will be good around the town.

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Its not about needing him or not - whatever your views on the transfer what good can come of him togging out for his debut in Breffni. Kildare have ambitions to go far this year and I've already said in the Kildare thread before the draw was made that I still think ye will have a big say this summer. Cavan are at the early stages of rebuilding so while we might give ye a good run out it will be no more than that. Leave Seanie out of Breffni altogether and get the day out of the way without the aggro - I'm sure it will be a full house and the craic will be good around the town.

Agree tbh if mcgeeney has any sense he won't name Johnston for all involved and particular Johnstons family etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Meath had a grudge with Kildare and nobody gave them any chance before yesterday, and they sent out a pile of young lads who played with real passion and rightfully beat us. Cavan are in the exact same position so I don't think we should be taking anything for granted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Bit early for this thread tbh but it appears that we're all buying into the hype so here goes with my two cents....

I've seen this mentioned as a "grudge match" on a few different occasions now and I'd have to disagree. Kildare and Cavan have rarely met in the championship in recent years and the last time they did was 2008 when Kildare won with a last minute goal. It's funny to think back that McGeeney's career could have been so different had Kildare not scored that goal that day - would Kildare have kept him on after a debut season where they lost to Wicklow and Cavan?

Since then, Kildare have gone from strength to strength and Cavan have gone from one debacle to another. The two teams are at very different levels now. Cavan's last decent year was 2005 when we drew with Tyrone (before losing by 21 points in the replay), beat Donegal and beat Meath before losing to Mayo in Roscommon. Since then, we've won 4 games in six years, all against Division 4 teams (Fermanagh x 2, Antrim and Wicklow). The other worrying statistic is that we're now onto our 5th manager in six seasons (Martin McElhennon, Donal Keoghan, Tommy Carr, Val Andrews and now Terry Hyland). McElhennon, Keoghan and Carr all complained of problems with both motivation and morale with the players after leaving so it appears that Val Andrews was brought in to sort it out, particularly as we had a decent young U21 team coming through and it was hoped that they wouldn't follow the bad habits of their predecessors.

The last year will always be remembered in Cavan football, but, sadly, probably for the wrong reasons. We've had two Ulster U21 successes, a minor Ulster success, a trip to Croke Park for the All-Ireland final with the U21s (alright we were annihilated but we still got there!), a Leinster junior championship after reaching three finals and even the ladies did their part reaching the All-Ireland intermediate final last year. All of that though hasn't received as much media attention as one player who, along with several other established players I might add, was dropped from the panel last September.

I won't go over everything surrounding the transfer again because its been done to death but I will say that I'm sure this is the last draw the lad would have wanted. He's not just coming to his home county. He's a Gaels player so he's coming to his home town. He'll be facing players like Ronan Flanagan who he played with for years for Cavan and DCU, not to mention Pauric O'Reilly and Mark McKeever, who he has been playing with since underage games and played with in the U21 Ulster final against Down in 2005. Then there's his club mates. The Gaels are county champions and not surprisingly have a number of players on the Cavan team - Niall Smith, Robert Maloney Dernham and Kevin Meehan, among others. Hopefully the media circus will be avoided and he'll be left at home, although I'm hearing rumours that there's murmurs in certain parts of Kildare that he should play and prove his loyalty to the Lilywhites.

I don't think Cavan people bear any ill will to Kildare. I've read the reports of a huge cheer going around Brewster when it was announced that Kildare had lost. I think that's more media propaganda to be honest. Yes, a few did cheer but I think their problem is more with the player than the county he has gone to. I think that Cavan people are hoping the player will end up with egg on his face rather than begrudging Kildare.

To look at the two teams, Kildare are clear favourites and its easy to see why. I posted this on the Cavan thread but have a look at the Cavan team that started against Fermanagh:

Cavan -- J Reilly - over 30 - 7th season with seniors;
    D Tighe - 22 - debut championship season,
    K Clarke - 18 - debut championship season,
    P O'Reilly - 25 - 7th season with seniors;
    M McKeever 28 - 7th season with seniors,
    F Flanagan - 20 - 2nd season,
    D Reilly - 23/24 - 2nd season;
    D Givney - 23 - 3rd season,
    T Corr - 25 - second season;
    N Smith - 22 - second season,
    G McKiernan - 22 - second season,
    R Flanagan - 25 - 7th season;
    N McDermott - 21 - 2nd season,
    E Keating - 23 - 4th season,
    J Brady - 20 - debut season.

Average age : 23.4

Subs: K Tierney - 18 - debut season,
    J McLoughlin - 19 - debut season,
    D McKiernan - 23 - debut season,
    K Meehan - 22 - 2nd season,

There are only two players over 25 who played. I had thought yesterday Mossie Corr was older but I'm now informed he's about 25. The vast majority of the players (9 out of the starting 15) are in their first or second season with the seniors. People talk about Cavan giving Kildare a shock but the experience just isn't there. Meath had a number of players with huge experience to support the younger lads they started in Croker on Sunday, Cavan don't have that. Even the last on their 7th season have probably played a maximum of about ten championship games given that we generally play just two a year, at max three. I'm not joking when I say that Dermot Earley and John Doyle have probably played more championship games than that Cavan starting team between them.

Cavan are at the start of what hopefully will be a positive journey for the county under Hyland. With the underage success he has delivered, he certainly deserves his chance and to be given a few years to turn things around. The rapid changing of managers hasn't allowed anyone a decent chance to do the job. Not to mention the rapid changing of players - 74 championship debutants in 12 seasons, that's six a year. With that level of turn around, how is there meant to be any consistency? Hyland has worked with these lads from underage and should be given a chance to develop the panel. Already the captain, Pauric O'Reilly, is talking about a three to four year plan and that's what is needed. The win against Fermanagh was fanastic but Kildare are on a whole new level and McGeeney has been working with them for five seasons now.

Apologies about the long post but I think people need to get an idea of where Cavan football is coming from and, particularly, why certain decisions were made. Cavan have a good young, inexperienced team, with nothing to lose. We played 30 minutes of fanastic football against Fermanagh along with 40 minutes of poor football. Get it right for 70 and we will give Kildare a challenge. That's the best we can hope to do. If we give Kildare a game and are within 5 to 6 points at the end of the match, I'll be a happy man. What I don't want is a drubbing which could see some of these young lads drop the heads for future years. Kildare are 8/1 on I believe to win so its clear they are firm favourites. The bookies got a few wrong on Sunday but Cavan are huge outsiders to pull off a shock AFAIK.

I look forward to welcoming the Kildare supporters to the fine pitch we have in Breffni. I know the Meath and Louth people were impressed with it last year. It's a credit to our county and hopefully a few TV cameras will come along for the first live Cavan game we'll have had in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

Lemlin wrote: »
    Average age : 23.4

There are only two players over 25 who played. I had thought yesterday Mossie Corr was older but I'm now informed he's about 25. The vast majority of the players (9 out of the starting 15) are in their first or second season with the seniors. People talk about Cavan giving Kildare a shock but the experience just isn't there.

Is 23.4 really that young? I would have thought its not that inexperienced, only 3 in first season starting. Considering Cavans recent under 21's success I thought it would be younger than that.

Johnston should play so he gets all the stick he deserves.

What the point in transfering to Kildare and then going into hiding.

Is 23.4 really that young? I would have thought its not that inexperienced, only 3 in first season starting. Considering Cavans recent under 21's success I thought it would be younger than that.

Only 3 starters made their debuts this year but a further six are only in their second season. And the max those lads could have played last year was 2 championship matches, one against Donegal and the debacle against Longford. I would have thought its a very young line up to be honest. Has anyone the stats on the Kildare team that started against Meath? I think the gap would differ hugely.

Someone commented on the Cavan thread that the average age of the Donegal team we played in the Ulster preliminary round was 27 so that shows a difference of 4 years which is huge IMO in terms of experience. Cavan have no senior success to build on so we're starting from the bottom. Look at the 4 years it has taken Glen Ryan to get results with Longford. Cavan is going to take something similar. The young lads coming into the panel have very little experienced support behind them.

As for the U21 success, 8 of that starting 15 played for the U21s either in 2011 or this year. Damien Reilly and Eugene Keating would have just graduated from U21 last year and played in the 2010 Ulster U21 final against Donegal that we lost. So that's ten of that starting fifteen that are either still U21 or only a couple of years max out of the age grade. Add in the subs that came on, and its 14 out of the 19 players.

I'd love to see the average ages for some other counties but I think Cavan's is very young.

Lemlin wrote: »

Damien Reilly and Eugene Keating would have just graduated from U21 last year and played in the 2010 Ulster U21 final against Donegal that we lost.

Just to correct you and it makes no difference to the point you are making but Keating did not/would not play for U-21's that year.

celt262 wrote: »
    Just to correct you and it makes no difference to the point you are making but Keating did not/would not play for U-21's that year.

You are indeed correct. He should have played but did not as he was dropped by Terry.

The story goes that the team had a challenge game and were travelling on a bus to the game. Keating said he would take his own car and bring 3 to 4 players. I don't know the full ins and outs of it but allegedly Keating and the lads he brought were late for the game and it was the final straw for Terry.

Keating was dropped. It was a pity because he was a huge loss for the U21s but Terry was right in what he did. Stuff like that had been allowed to happen for far too long in the senior setup and its the reason why we are at this stage today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

markie29 wrote: »

A million to one? Going by the Kildare standard of shooting last Sunday the odds won't be that good. :) As for Seanie, God knows where he'll be by that time. He might be lining out for the Sligo tiddly winks team.:D

Flukey wrote: »
    A million to one? Going by the Kildare standard of shooting last Sunday the odds won't be that good. :) As for Seanie, God knows where he'll be by that time. He might be lining out for the Sligo tiddly winks team.:D

Was there really a need for a **** comment like that? Yes kildare had an atrocious game but let's not go overboard they are still a very good side and will be fear team for most still!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

celt262 wrote: »
    Johnston should play so he gets all the stick he deserves.

What the point in transfering to Kildare and then going into hiding.

FFS grow up will ya, do you think hes the first player to transfer to another county?
    Get a fcuking grip you and everyone else whining and bitching about a player transfering to another county, its been happening for decades.
    Big deal he played 30 seconds hurling for a club side, if the GAA werent acting like retards about this the lad wouldnt have to.
    This whole scenario is blown out of proportion in a big way,some people are always looking for something/anything to moan and whinge about, its beyond pathetic.

Rant Over :)

Kildare should and i stress should win this but as i said before the Meath game and i was proved right, you just never know what Kildare will show up.
    They thought they just had to turn up on Sunday, that sort of attitude will get them nowhere.
    They have some serious talent, but if we have any real aspirations to succeed we need to have the correct attitude against every team.
    May the best team win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Doubt he'll play as Kildare should have enough quality to be able to bounce back from the Meath loss. If he does play I hardly see a Luis Figo/pig's head situation just a load of verbal abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

As an Kildare fan I hope hes not involved for this game. distracts from the job at hand, and gob forbid if we were to lose after him coming on as some sort of statement...we'd be the laughing stock of the country. for all the hopes and expectation in the county this year, it has the recipe to blow up in our faces.

Hopefully Kildare can get back on track with a good performance, let the johnston circus pass until another day. I wasnt against the transfer, happens all the time as said but the attention now surrounding it has got out of hand and has to be on the back of players minds.

Dcully wrote: »
    FFS grow up will ya, do you think hes the first player to transfer to another county?
    Get a fcuking grip you and everyone else whining and bitching about a player transfering to another county, its been happening for decades.
    Big deal he played 30 seconds hurling for a club side, if the GAA werent acting like retards about this the lad wouldnt have to.
    This whole scenario is blown out of proportion in a big way,some people are always looking for something/anything to moan and whinge about, its beyond pathetic.

No you get a grip if you think Cavan people should not be giving a bit of stick to a Cavan man coming into Kingspan Breffini Park and helping another county knock them out of the Championship.

What are you on about mentioning hurling where did i say anything bout that in this thread?

df1985 wrote: »
    As an Kildare fan I hope hes not involved for this game. distracts from the job at hand, and gob forbid if we were to lose after him coming on as some sort of statement...we'd be the laughing stock of the country. for all the hopes and expectation in the county this year, it has the recipe to blow up in our faces.

Hopefully Kildare can get back on track with a good performance, let the johnston circus pass until another day. I wasnt against the transfer, happens all the time as said but the attention now surrounding it has got out of hand and has to be on the back of players minds.

I agree totally. The whole thing is reaching ridiculous proportions now. Kildare have lost alot of neutral support because of it at this stage. I don't think its unfair to say that Cavan will have the support of the bulk of the country on the day of the match.

I just hope our lads can live up to it and give a decent account of themselves. To even lose to this Kildare team, who IMO are a good team hyped beyond imagination by the media, by a close margin would be a huge plus for our young players.

I love the way alot of Kildare people are saying they wont need him against Cavan. Maybe they dont but they better be ready for the challenge Cavan are going to give them because you might think these lads are young and inexperienced but they will relish this challenge and have experience of winning.

Jaysus lads this thread is moving fast.. :D Lemlin - cracking post at post #19 - sums it up well.. (I won't be bold and quote the whole thing)

To all giving out ****enballs about Johnston remember the lad has family and friends that could be using boards it would be terrible for them to see all this negative crap..

The last thing this thread needs is to become a slagging match I hope u all agree? And I don't think breffni park will be a hostile environment either I'll be bringing my little lad anyways.

This game shouldn't be about Johnston it should only be about the match itself

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

To all giving out ****enballs about Johnston remember the lad has family and friends that could be using boards it would be terrible for them to see all this negative crap..

The last thing this thread needs is to become a slagging match I hope u all agree? And I don't think breffni park will be a hostile environment either I'll be bringing my little lad anyways.

This game shouldn't be about Johnston it should only be about the match itself

irony much? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Greenngold

I would be highly surprised if Johnston feature's against Cavan. Don't think Kildare would even bring him on.

They have some great young forwards in Fogarty and Fionn Dowling who didn't even feature against Meath. Some of the shot taking was fairly erratic against Meath, possibly better options on the bench. I still don't expect them to use Johnston, as it have too much pressure on him to deliver on his debut against his Former team mates and unsettling the team. I hope Cavan can put him up to Kildare, but they will be too strong for us, i'd expect Johnston to play in the next qualifier match, assuming they get past Cavan.

Great win against Fermanagh, but we conceded 15pts, couldn't afford to give away easy scores against a team like Kildare. Talk of Canavan already considering his position after only 1 year.

Greenngold wrote: »

Great win against Fermanagh, but we conceded 15pts, couldn't afford to give away easy scores against a team like Kildare. Talk of Canavan already considering his position after only 1 year.

Hopefully we can help McGeeney on his way out of Kildare also.

Hopefully so, but we would need to a rock solid defence for that to happen..

What sort of injury has Oisin Moynagh got? Would John McCutcheon be back? He has been out 2 months now, Kildare match would probaly be to soon for him. If all were available i would have James McCenroe, Moynagh and John McCutcheon in the starting 15. Rory Dunne would probaly be in too.

McCutcheon expected to play for his club tomorrow night.

Dont know what story is with Moynagh but i seen somewhere McEnroe is not available not in country i think.

Dunne would be good asset also and Josh Hayes seems to be one that will slip in there somewhere also.
    What every about this year if cavan can keep these lads in the country there is exciting times ahead.

Yeah McCenroe is over in London. I think he is only over for the one year. Was hoping to see more of him this year. Hayes is a great player. Player of the year with UCD this year, in a team that had Rory O Carrol, Colin Forde, Craig Dias, Donie kingston. He was excellent with UCD for a few years so about time he got recognition at senior county level.

Some great talent in Cavan. It will take a few years but the future is very bright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭traecy1

Doesn't look like the game is going to be televised as it clashes with the Connacht Football Final and Munster Hurling Final. Maybe it'll be streamed on RTE website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

Dcully wrote: »

can you give an example of a similar profile case then? People have transferred counties if they live elsewhere such as Tompkins, etc but not this way.

Rory Gallagher is a classic example!.

He fell out with Fermanagh and threw his lot with Cavan the following season. He also transferred clubs to Crosserlough. It had nothing to do with him living in Cavan as he wasn't as far as im aware. He was living in Dublin but was working in Cavan for a period during the year, he only played one year with Cavan. He transferred back to St Brigids in Dublin in the same year in order to be eligable for the Dublin Club Champinship. Ironically he returned and play for Fermanagh 3 years later in 2010 and play against Cavan in the ulster championship.

Cavan fans who slagg off Johnston are quick to forget about Gallagher.

He fell out with Fermanagh and threw his lot with Cavan the following season. He also transferred clubs to Crosserlough. It had nothing to do with him living in Cavan as he wasn't as far as im aware. He was living in Dublin but was working in Cavan for a period during the year, he only played one year with Cavan. He transferred back to St Brigids in Dublin in the same year in order to be eligable for the Dublin Club Champinship. Ironically he returned and play for Fermanagh 3 years later in 2010 and play against Cavan in the ulster championship.

Cavan fans who slagg off Johnston are quick to forget about Gallagher

Just because the same happened does not mean people agreed with it or it was right.

Yeah I know that Celt man, wasn't happy with Gallagher playing with Cavan at the time. He clearly hadn't the passion for Cavan. Nesty Smith on the other hand gave his all, he had Cavan connections so that was different,

Cavan fans who slagg off Johnston are quick to forget about Gallagher.

A good bit of your post above is incorrect.
    Gallagher finished playing with Fermanagh of his own accord with Fermanagh in 2003:

http://www.breakingnews.ie/world/kfmhcwgbeyql/

It was believed at the time that he did so to try and get a transfer to Dublin. He was playing with and working for St Brigids in Blanch at the time as a development officer, However, Tommy Lyons didn't want him as he felt Dublin had enough young players coming through.

Gallagher didn't play with Cavan until 2007 (it was not the season after he finished playing with Fermanagh) and was living and working in Cavan town:

http://www.irishabroad.com/news/irishpost/sport/Itsaquestionofloyalties.asp
    Fermanagh’s star forward Rory Gallagher is to play for Cavan this year. The 28-year-old lives and works in Cavan Town and has decided to throw his lot in with the Breffni men in 2007.

Gallagher attempted to transfer to Dublin a number of years ago, but Dublin manager at the time Tommy Lyons refused to pick him on the grounds that there were enough native-born players who should be given a chance within the county.

Gallagher returned to Fermanagh but was frozen out by manager Charlie Mulgrew following his desertion of the county colours and has now opted to transfer to Cavan.

He played for Crosserlough in the intermediate championship in Cavan that year. I'm not sure re the transfer back to Brigids. By 2009, he was playing for St Galls though.

Gallagher moved back to St Brigids around July/August 2007 and thats a fact. Crosserlough weren't intermediate in 2007 either...

While being pedantic, Damian Reilly wasn't u21 in 2010 (24). And Mossie Corr is older than 25.:D sorry lemlin, couldn't resist.

Gallagher moved back to St Brigids around July/August 2007 and thats a fact. Crosserlough weren't intermediate in 2007 either...

If he did, he did. As I said above, I didn't know. Other parts of the above post were incorrect though as I've pointed out. And I don't think it's pedantic to point out that there was a large gap of a few years rather than Gallagher just moving to Cavan the season after he left Fermanagh.

The circumstances surrounding Gallagher are very different to those surrounding Johnston. That said, I'd prefer to talk about the game itself rather than one particular player at this stage.

I wouldn't be all that familiar with Crosserlough club and stand corrected re the intermediate.

While being pedantic, Damian Reilly wasn't u21 in 2010 (24). And Mossie Corr is older than 25.:D sorry lemlin, couldn't resist.

The info re Corr came from a work colleague. As I said in both of my posts I am unsure of his age. Could you enlighten us? I had thought he was 27/28 originally myself.

I was incorrect about Reilly and again stand corrected. I had thought he would have played in that final but mixed him up with T Reilly who played in defence.