Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin (Port) Tunnel Run 10k - Sunday 12 August

• 02-07-2012 01:32PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭

Focus Ireland (along with Clonliffe Harriers) are organising a 10k run through Dublin Port Tunnel on Sunday 12 August at 10am.
    http://www.focusireland.ie/index.php/get-involved/take-part-in-an-event/upcoming-events/dublin-city-tunnel-run-2012

Registration is 25 euro until Friday 20 July, then increases to 30 euro until Friday 27 July.
    The race will have chip timing.

I have heard that the race will have up to 10,000 people!! The (previous/first) Port Tunnel run in December 2006 had a similar number. If I remember correctly it was cold outside the tunnel but roasting once inside. Also, the second half (in the southbound tunnel) was downhill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Lostnfound

I was interested in this if only that it's an unusual race. Looked at the website but couldn't work out the logistics ie where does it start from and finish.

Does it go only one way along the tunnel or do you run there and back?, just thinking about getting to the race, parking and getting back etc.

Looks like a once in a few years opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭maupat

Lostnfound wrote: »
    ... Looked at the website but couldn't work out the logistics ie where does it start from and finish.

Does it go only one way along the tunnel or do you run there and back?, just thinking about getting to the race, parking and getting back etc.

Been wondering the same myself Lostnfound. Be handy to know the start and finish line (no such info available on website). Interesting race surely.

Any more info anyone...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

maupat wrote: »
    Been wondering the same myself Lostnfound. Be handy to know the start and finish line (no such info available on website). Interesting race surely.

Any more info anyone...?

the start/finish will have to be at the port end, the other end has no access apart from motorway and i doubt they will close the M1. I'd imagine it will be Port tunnel North, exit, turn around and back down the southern tunnel. I think the Tunnel is about 4.6k so prob a few hundred meters on either end to round it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭daymobrew

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    the start/finish will have to be at the port end, the other end has no access apart from motorway and i doubt they will close the M1. I'd imagine it will be Port tunnel North, exit, turn around and back down the southern tunnel. I think the Tunnel is about 4.6k so prob a few hundred meters on either end to round it off.
    That is how it was in 2006.
    The run exited the tunnel and turned right into the south bound bore. There were spectators on the bridge at the Coolock exit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Wouldn't mind doing this, I suppose though my garmin would be preety useless on the day though.

Went to register and see they've upped the entrance fee to €30 and at that I'd be saving them the postage costs as its collect only now.

Din't think I'll bother at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭BenMicheal

Went to register and see they've upped the entrance fee to €30 and at that I'd be saving them the postage costs as its collect only now.

The unique route alone has sold it to me in fairness. But Ipresume the 30 euro is to cover the medal/t-shirt and all that other planningjazz as well as a % goes to the charity. So not only are you helping a greatcause but I've heard a number of people mention how the medals in '06 wereamazing looking, favourite in collection etc.

Cheaper entry fees for early entry is to encourage people to sign up early. This helps the organisers plan better. Dublin Marathon goes from 70, to 80 to 90 euro.

Airlines do it, hotels do it, standard practice to get you to buy early.

Having said all that, it is going to be a really really busy route which may take away from the relatively flat route.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I drove through the tunnel a couple of times last weekend and this thread struck my mind. I think it has to be the most incredibly boring race ever imagined, the novelty would wear off after about 100 metres and just generally a terrible place to run in. it's also deceptively up and down as the tunnel goes down towards the middle and obviously has to come back up again.
    Edit, just checked, I think the lowest point is about 100 foot so you'll be doing that twice so in terms of a flat road course it's not that flat.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I drove through the tunnel a couple of times last weekend and this thread struck my mind. I think it has to be the most incredibly boring race ever imagined, the novelty would wear off after about 100 metres and just generally a terrible place to run in.
    In he 2006 DPT run people were cheering and singing and the noise was amazing. QUOTE=ThisRegard;79967971]Edit, just checked, I think the lowest point is about 100 foot so you'll be doing that twice so in terms of a flat road course it's not that flat.[/QUOTE] My second 5k in the 2006 race was considerably faster than the first half - I put some of it down to it being downhill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I dunno, no amount of cheering would make it appeal to me, but then again I'm not a big fan of road races anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭artvandelay48

BenMicheal wrote: »
    The unique route alone has sold it to me in fairness. But Ipresume the 30 euro is to cover the medal/t-shirt and all that other planningjazz as well as a % goes to the charity. So not only are you helping a greatcause but I've heard a number of people mention how the medals in '06 wereamazing looking, favourite in collection etc.

there's no mention of a t-shirt or medal so I presume none are given

Focus Ireland have posted the Competitor Information booklet online.

Basically we assemble at Point Village (behind The O2) and are walked up the road to the start line according to waves (which are based on your estimated finish time). Race numbers will be colour coded by wave.

Those driving are encouraged to use nearby car parks - Point Village (under O2), IFSC, National College of Ireland, Convention Centre, Grand Canal Dock.
    Luas Red Line runs to the Point Village.

daymobrew wrote: »

Basically we assemble at Point Village (behind The O2) and are walked up the road to the start line according to waves (which are based on your estimated finish time). Race numbers will be colour coded by wave.

Those driving are encouraged to use nearby car parks - Point Village (under O2), IFSC, National College of Ireland, Convention Centre, Grand Canal Dock.

Excellent information, that's exactly what I've been trying to find out before deciding whether or not to enter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Paul16

Thanks for the info,any idea how many people will be running on the day?

Paul16 wrote: »
    Thanks for the info,any idea how many people will be running on the day?
    I don't know.
    The early ads were saying up to 10,000 people - though that is probably a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭aktelmiele

Do you think its going to be a bit smoggy in there? I would assume that they are going to have it closed long enough to let the fumes die down / be extracted?

aktelmiele wrote: »
    Do you think its going to be a bit smoggy in there? I would assume that they are going to have it closed long enough to let the fumes die down / be extracted?
    Fans are constantly running to reduce fumes. It will not be a problem.

It will be very warm in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭maupat

Fans are constantly running to reduce fumes. It will not be a problem.

It will be very warm in there.

Uncomfortably warm...? This is my first time doing an "inside" race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

maupat wrote: »
    Uncomfortably warm...? This is my first time doing an "inside" race.

Based on driving through it and the car's thermometer, it's normally around 5 degrees higher than the outside temperature

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Phoole

I ran the 2006 one. It was a very cold and damp December day. By the time we entered the tunnel, people were throwing off their tops because of the heat. Its going to be a lot warmer this time, being August.

That went well for me. I got to start in the second row and had loads of space throughout the race.

The first half was tough with all the climbing. Of course the second half didn't seem to have the equivalent downhill :p

I was delighted with my 19th place and 38m12s. Not a PB but the fastest I've run since 2007.

It was a pity that there weren't any km distance markers, especially as GPS watches wouldn't work in the tunnel.

Having said that, the wave system looked like it worked well. The baggage area was good and having the toilets at the O2 was much better than portaloos.

Fair play to the guy who ran the 10k backwards. He got a world record, prob around 40 or 41 mins,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,445 ✭✭✭fletch

It was a pity that there weren't any km distance markers, especially as GPS watches wouldn't work in the tunnel.
    there were markers however they were difficult to spot. I only saw the 4km marker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Caprica

This was a very well organised race. The way the wave system was organised was very good, there was no chance of getting into the wrong wave. Toilets and baggage are were good.

Dissapointed with my time of around 42mins but it's where I am at the moment. Found the final stretch out of the tunnel at halfway tough from there I struggled a bit, the final stretch out of the tunnel was neverending (or so it seemed). I wonder how many took part? Hopefully they got a good turnout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭ChampionChip

Just sent texts now. Full results in Irish Times Health Supplement on Tuesday.

They've just text me my gun/clock time. Chip time was 30 seconds faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭EireEV

Is everybody going to receive their time by text? Won't be up online?
    Phoole wrote: »
    They've just text me my gun/clock time. Chip time was 30 seconds faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭troy

Not sure about the chip times. I ran 46:34 by my watch. Text said my chip time was 47:00. Friend of mine who started about 20-30 seconds before me a finished about 30 seconds after me got the text saying his time was 44:49!! I'm going to email them to see what they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭EireEV

Will everybody receive their time by text? I haven't received anything.

The times I sent out are guntimes ie from the start signal until you cross the finish line. IAAF Rule 165 says the race starts on the signal not when you cross the start line with the chip. The chip time ie from start mat to finish mat is not official and is for information purposes only.

I will have chip times on my web site later in the week once the Indo has had its print published on Tuesday.

If you have not got a text by now then your number must have been faulty ie incorrect digits or not enough digits.

I checked the database of those we sent and of the 1401 mobile numbers, 12 failed, 19 are still being tried. They were sent at 12:47 today.

The results are still provisional as we had a small batch of names out of sync in the final file from last night but I think we have solved the issue now and thus the results in Indo should be correct. Some of you may have got a text with the the wrong name and time but only a few we think.

troy wrote: »
    Not sure about the chip times. I ran 46:34 by my watch. Text said my chip time was 47:00. Friend of mine who started about 20-30 seconds before me a finished about 30 seconds after me got the text saying his time was 44:49!! I'm going to email them to see what they say.

Better to email me than the organisers who have enough to deal with and will just forward it to me anyway. championchipireland@googlemail.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,445 ✭✭✭fletch

Did the original race back in 2006 and have to say that today's race was WAY better organised although there appeared to be a lot less people at today's race. Only points from me were that the km markers weren't visible enough, a clock at the half way mark would have been a good idea (there may have been one there but I didn't spot it), oh and I like to eat straight after a race and as I was parked in Eastpoint didn't bother walking all the way back to the O2 where the food was.
    The waves worked really well....my residing memory of 2006 was spending the first 4.5kms overtaking stupid women 2-6 abreast holding hands. Today was much better, lots of space and everyone around me seemed to be evenly paced. The fire brigade spraying water at the end was a nice idea....pity the sun didn't make an appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Hmm I did the race back in 2006, I seem to remember a total failure of the whole finishline system, runners started backing up before the finishline and all, and of course no proper results afterwards!!

Obviously wasn't you doing the timing for that Glenn ha :p

IAAF Rule 165 says the race starts on the signal not when you cross the start line with the chip. The chip time ie from start mat to finish mat is not official and is for information purposes only.

I fail to see how someone who completes a 10k in 40 minutes can place behind someone who completes it in 41 minutes, purely based on where you start. Those rules are just plain odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭petermijackson

I fail to see how someone who completes a 10k in 40 minutes can place behind someone who completes it in 41 minutes, purely based on where you start. Those rules are just plain odd.

It's a race not a time trial!!!

I'll be starting right at the front next time. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 AlanPat

Enjoyed this run, posted a PB. Just some observations:
    * Food outside the tunnel would've been better, I didn't head back to the O2.
    * KM markers, failed to see any if they were there.
    * Waves were really well organised.

Ladies who were cheering in the tunnel were great.

Will be back hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Seriously, what difference does it make to people finishing in 40 or 41 minutes? You're not in the prizes. You can compare watch times if you and a mate want to know who is faster.
    Start on the front line of your next 10k and you will piss off a lot of people who have to run around you, and for what? So you can say you finished 347th instead of 368th?

RayCun wrote: »
    Seriously, what difference does it make to people finishing in 40 or 41 minutes? You're not in the prizes. You can compare watch times if you and a mate want to know who is faster.
    Start on the front line of your next 10k and you will piss off a lot of people who have to run around you, and for what? So you can say you finished 347th instead of 368th?

It's none of your business why it makes a difference to me. Prizes are not, placing 347th instead of 368th is as important to me as placing first and second is to the guys right at the front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

It's none of your business why it makes a difference to me. Prizes are not, placing 347th instead of 368th is as important to me as as first and second to the guys right at the front.

Well no, it isn't. The difference between 1st and 10th is more important than the difference between 151st and 160th.

And it becomes the business of everyone faster than you if you line up at the front of your next race.

RayCun wrote: »
    Well no, it isn't. The difference between 1st and 10th is more important than the difference between 151st and 160th.

And it becomes the business of everyone faster than you if you line up at the front of your next race.

Did you even the see the smiley face after I claimed I would start right at the front? I'm hardly going to do that!

The difference between 1st and 10th is of no importance to me. The difference between 230th (where I allegedly finished) and 260th is of importance to me. It's why I enter these races, to get better each time. I couldn't care less about the guys at the front, no more than they care about me.

I do get the point about it being a race and not a time trial, but some races have particularly tight starting points so it makes it very difficult to get in to a good position, giving some an unfair advantage. That's why I believe chip times are better for measuring placings, rather than gun times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,504 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

That's why I believe chip times are better for measuring placings, rather than gun times.
    It's the same set of rules whether you are running the 10k in the Port Tunnel or the marathon in Boston. Gun times are used to establish final race placings. You should bring your complaint to the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF). Here's their feedback form: link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 ruthiexxxxxx

So wait, I assume the times that will be posted in the times will be gun and not chip times? Do we get our chip times? If I'd have known that I would have been pushing to get right to the front!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

So wait, I assume the times that will be posted in the times will be gun and not chip times? Do we get our chip times? If I'd have known that I would have been pushing to get right to the front!!
    I will have chip times on my web site later in the week once the Indo has had its print published on Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭troy

troy wrote: »

Better to email me than the organisers who have enough to deal with and will just forward it to me anyway. [EMAIL="championchipireland@googlemail.com"]championchipireland@googlemail.com[/EMAIL]

Thanks for that. 47:00 sounds right for me by gun time. Clock was around that when I crossed. I had the same thing in other races previously and forgot the reason for the extra time.

I'll send on your email to my friend and see if he wants to contact you about the timing on his chip. Considering its about 3 mins faster than his actual time I don't think he'll be complaining!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Dublinman12

Better to email me than the organisers who have enough to deal with and will just forward it to me anyway. championchipireland@googlemail.com

I have just emailed you there. I crossed the finish line at just under 48 minutes but got a time for 59:54. Now I dont mind a couple of minutes but 12 and just under 60 minutes is way off the mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 romoo

I crossed the finishing mat with 59:XX on the clock but my text stated that I finished in 1:05:06. Anybody else get such a big difference of a result? Kind of annoying.

EDIT/Error was fixed. Speedy reply from chip timing company by email in fairness.

Focus tell me they will have all the times and splits on their site later in the week once the Indo has its turn first. Indo times will be guntimes, the official race times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 romoo

I think it's The Irish Times that will have the race times just in case anyone is going to buy the paper.

Yes sorry my fault its the Irish Times on Tuesday in the Health Supplement.