Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV3 GAA

• 01-07-2012 3:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭

Very annoying that this crowd are showing games. They must think they've become all trendy now with their pitch side analysis topped of with massive headphones and an auld desk with a TV3 logo stamped on it.

The annoying thing is the amount of breaks. Barely on 3 minutes they took heir first break. Came back two minutes later and then after another 3 minutes proceeded to take another break. Jaysus. And then you have Matt Cooper who just seems like a bit of an eejit. He should stick to current affairs. As for the commentators? They leave a lot to be desired for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭STB

Never mind the quality of the dire wide angle camera. Is it a feckin webcam they are using!

Shocking.

How many cliches will the commentator use ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭croker1

Why do TV3 feel the need to have Matt Cooper on EVERYTHING? Possible the most boring man ever to be put on tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Dublin get a goal. No doubt the whole TV3 team are delighted. Even if they're not from Dublin they still seem to have it bread into them to support Dublin. It might have to do with the majority of viewers being from the county but it should still be impartial. Makes viewing even worse when you hear that auld gleeful whine every time something positive happens for Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭thesultan

It's the add breaks that are a disaster. It would be far better if there was less of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

STB wrote: »
    Never mind the quality of the dire wide angle camera. Is it a feckin webcam they are using!

+1 on this - after switching over from the Meath Kildare game on RTE and seeing the difference in picture quality between the two is ridicoulous....

surely TV3 can afford a few decent cameras can they not :confused:

johnmcdnl wrote: »

Probably not they are 150m in debt, 80 of which is parked with the IBRC.

Surely the GAA insist on some sort of quality when they give out the broadcasting rights ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

ESPN of GAA

STB wrote: »

Shocking.

How many cliches will the commentator use ?

Really notice the wide angle there at halftime. All three pundits on screen at once and the whole of the cusack stand in the background! Three ponces in big black jackets and headphones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

If ye think the telly is bad, try watching it on 3 player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

thesultan wrote: »
    It's the add breaks that are a disaster. It would be far better if there was less of them

just had to check what channel I was on as the fecking ads have been on for ages

"We'll be back with a break, right after this break"

I was just thinking here myself that the three player is probably similar in quality. Pixelated sh\te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    +1 on this - after switching over from the Meath Kildare game on RTE and seeing the difference in picture quality between the two is ridicoulous....

Is it not just because the Meath v Kildare match was shown in HD on RTE2... then you switch over to TV3 that's not in HD. The difference in picture quality is huge.

"closest thing to dessie Farrell since...dessie Farrell retired"

Well done tv3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

There coverage is terrible. Constant ad breaks, replays during the game, there panelists are worse than RTE's.

Also, Liam Hayes is worse than Colm O Rourke. He so biased against Dublin.

I remember last year the poll on this forum on which broadcaster do people prefer. RTE got over 90%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Donnchadh1

it's tough watching it on tv3. Must be an easy job as a pundit because they spend most of the time at ad breaks. When not showing adds Hayes is terrible pundit.

Whatever about the pundits but the commentators are shocking bad. One of them speaks like he's asking a question with everything he says...I think he used the phrase worth its weight in gold twice.

I think I'll just start turning off the sound or maybe the GAA will just keep the rights with RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 johnson85

That Liam Hayes made some wally of himself today. Before the game, "he's an average intercounty player"... Man of the Match! "He won't make the difference between winning and losing an All Ireland"... goal v Kerry last year!

Hayes - Dublin have been poor.

Cooper - okaaaay we got to leave it there.

Afraid to let allow criticism of Dublin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭henke

It's a pity TV3 wouldn't just give up on showing GAA and have the extra coverage on RTÉ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Pity they have to break up the ads by showing the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭northernpower

Better than UTV news coverage of the GAA, this evenings report went something like this...

"...disappointing results for all 3 Ulster teams involved in this weekends qualifiers with Armagh beaten by Roscommon, Longford defeating Derry and Fermanagh beaten by Cavan" :confused::confused:

Whatever about the need to constantly refer to the north as ulster when discussing politics at least get the fuppin act together when discussing gaelic games, I mean is it stupidity or just there to wind people up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

The TV3 HQs needs to be bulldozed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,742 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I personally think TV3's coverage is fine.

The ads thing is just pure economics, they get no state funding thus they need those ad breaks to make money.

A big GAA game involving Dublin will really boost their viewing figures so they really have to make hay while the sun shines.

As for their analysis, it's no better of worse than the muck you hear cominmg from Spillane or Brolly.

I watch all RTE2 on HD now so as TV3 are not HD their picture quality will not be a s good, but it's still fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

That Liam Hayes fella is cringeworthy with his comments, a real tool that makes even Brolly look as insightful as Oscar Wilde.

The ads thing is just pure economics, they get no state funding thus they need those ad breaks to make money.

A big GAA game involving Dublin will really boost their viewing figures so they really have to make hay while the sun shines.

As for their analysis, it's no better of worse than the muck you hear cominmg from Spillane or Brolly.

I watch all RTE2 on HD now so as TV3 are not HD their picture quality will not be a s good, but it's still fine.

First person I've ever heard say that they thought TV3's coverage good. I don't think it's even acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 johnson85

Some of it is OK. Darragh O Se is quite good, Senan isn't too bad. Hayes either has a serious chip on his shoulder about Dublin or likes making controversial statements to attract viewers. Commentary is mediocre but God above Ger Canning yesterday was surely no better... number of ads does my head in though and no contest in picture quality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

You wouldn't happen to work for TV3 would you? Surely no one other than an employee would consider their coverage fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Black Suir

TV3's coverage of Gaelic Games is poor. Some of the RTE commentators are poor, but TV3's are a joke. Thank god yesterday ITV4 were showing the Tour de France live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

croker1 wrote: »
    Why do TV3 feel the need to have Matt Cooper on EVERYTHING? Possible the most boring man ever to be put on tv
    Have you seen Des Cahill?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,742 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

johnson85 wrote: »
    Some of it is OK. Darragh O Se is quite good, Senan isn't too bad. Hayes either has a serious chip on his shoulder about Dublin or likes making controversial statements to attract viewers. Commentary is mediocre but God above Ger Canning yesterday was surely no better... number of ads does my head in though and no contest in picture quality.

Same as Brolly then
    You wouldn't happen to work for TV3 would you? Surely no one other than an employee would consider their coverage fine

No, actually I don't even watch TV3, I'm not into soaps, showbiz etc.

TV3 are a commercial station in a small market with none of the resources RTE has.
    That's why they have a lot of ads, you and I are not paying for it, the advertisers are.

As I said their coverage is fine, if you want to sit down and watch a game there you have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Same as Brolly then

Ah but some of his comments arent just controversial, they are downright idiotic. To continue to describe McMenamon as not inter county material through out the entire game and stick to it even after he was man of the match just makes you look like a tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭jacool

...but God above Ger Canning yesterday was surely no better...
    Yeah, and this is Ger back on his more solid footing.
    He was a complete joke for the Euros "Mooler" "Dutch full back line" etc. !

Ger Canning was on RTÉ doing the Euro's. He was shocking. More suited to GAA. He has a voice for it and know all the lingo.

TV3 commentators are full of clichés. Ger would use a few too but TV3 go overboard.

And the rarest thing is that Matt Cooper is part of the setup. He's just there to have a big day out for himself and get to stand on the sideline. That probably excites him to no end!

As I said their coverage is fine, if you want to sit down and watch a game there you have it.

Can understand the whole advertising thing but TV3 milk it. Not doing themselves any favours with their two minutes of analysis and three minute break every five minutes.

The fact that they are showing the game on TV is a great thing, isn't it? Except it's on TV3 which is poor picture quality compared to RTÉ Two HD. Really pixelated stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

That Liam Hayes fella is cringeworthy with his comments, a real tool that makes even Brolly look as insightful as Oscar Wilde.

He is the man that promised us in Carlow when he took over that he'd win us a Leinster within 3 years!!

Won 1 qualifier match in his 2 years, tried blame the jerseys! Never managed anybody since!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

Neeson wrote: »
    Can understand the whole advertising thing but TV3 milk it. Not doing themselves any favours with their two minutes of analysis and three minute break every five minutes.

The fact that they are showing the game on TV is a great thing, isn't it? Except it's on TV3 which is poor picture quality compared to RTÉ Two HD. Really pixelated stuff.

im quite thankful for the 2 minutes of analysis before they go to an ad break especially listening to the fools they have doing the analysis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Apart from the chronic ad breaks I didn't find the coverage too bad. Commentators became a bit grating after a while though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

To be fair RTE aren't much better. Ger Canning is a terrible commentator and Martin Carney is awful!!

Michael Lyster is a boring old fart who has very little Knowledge of the GAA, don't get me started in Marty Morrissey!

George Hamilton and Daragh Maloney are very good, it's a pity they don't do many GAA games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

If only RTE took as many ad breaks their coverage would be great. I'd rather watch 15 minutes of washing powder commercials than listen to Brolly and Spillane speak utter bollocks at half time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

can someone tell me the last time tv3 showed a game that didnt involve dublin??now dont get all worked up im not digging at dublin by saying that but surely showing a game between say mayo and galway or the likes is better than showing dublin either pasting teams early in the summer of just about beating them while in second gear

rpurfield wrote: »
    can someone tell me the last time tv3 showed a game that didnt involve dublin??now dont get all worked up im not digging at dublin by saying that but surely showing a game between say mayo and galway or the likes is better than showing dublin either pasting teams early in the summer of just about beating them while in second gear

Supposedly they show Dublin because of the population leading to more viewers leading to more income from advertising which they do a hell of a lot of!

And they can keep their Dublin matches. Don't want them ruining other county matches.

rpurfield wrote: »
    TV3 GAA Fixtures 2012.

Date : 3/6/2012 Match: Dublin v Louth.
    Competition: Leinster Senior Football Championship quarter-final. LSFC.

Date: 1/7/2012 Match: Dublin v Wexford
    Competition: Leinster Senior Football Championship semi-final. LSFC.

Date: 8/7/2012 Match: TBD
    Competition: Munster Senior Football final. MSFC.

Date: 7/7/2012 Match: TBD
    Competition: Hurling Phase 2 qualifier possible.

Date: 14/7/2012 Match: TBD
    Competition: Hurling Phase 3 / Football Round 2 qualifier possible.

Date: 15/7/2012 Match: TBD
    Competition: Connacht Football final. CSFC.

Date: 21/7/2012 Match: TBD
    Competition: Football Round 3 qualifier possible.

Date: 22/7/2012 Match: TBD
    Competition: Ulster Football final. USFC.

Date: 28/7/2012 Match: TBD
    Competition: All Ireland Football round 4 qualifier.

Date: 29/7/2012 Match: TBD
    Competition: All Ireland Hurling quarter-final. TBC.

Date: 4/8/2012 Match: TBD
    Competition: All Ireland Football quarter-final. TBC.

Date: 9/9/2012 Match: TBD
    Competition: Minor Hurling final. MHC.

Date: 23/9/2012 Match: TBD
    Competition: Minor Football final. MFC.

Ah yeah the funny thing is they don't get the Leinster Final but make the rest of the country suffer by show their provincial finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Oh I would love to be able to, but you can't even watch the 3 player in the north at all! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

They do show other games other than Dublin, they've done the Connacht Final for the last couple of years and will again this year.

But if there's a qualifier or quarter final pick in either hurling or football and Dublin are an option they will pick them every time for advertising reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,484 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

So on Saturday 14th July will the following happen.

RTE will show one of the 2nd Round Football Qulifers (Probly be Cavan vs Kildare or Roscommon vs Tyrone).

TV3 will show one of the Phase 3 Hurling Qulifers (Most likely whoever Limerick are playing).

Or will RTE show the hurling and TV3 the football ???

It would not be fair to not show one of the hurling quilfers like last year (Us Waterford people need to watch to see who we are playing in the Quarter finals)

PTH2009 wrote: »
    So on Saturday 14th July will the following happen.

RTE will show one of the 2nd Round Football Qulifers (Probly be Cavan vs Kildare or Roscommon vs Tyrone).

TV3 will show one of the Phase 3 Hurling Qulifers (Most likely whoever Limerick are playing).

Or will RTE show the hurling and TV3 the football ???

It would not be fair to not show one of the hurling quilfers like last year (Us Waterford people need to watch to see who we are playing in the Quarter finals)
    I think TV3 have priority to show either the football or hurling, I'm guessing they will show the Cavan v Kildare game, that will attract huge viewership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

jacool wrote: »
    He was a complete joke for the Euros "Mooler" "Dutch full back line" etc. !

During one of the matches he actually said "....and now its Ronaldo to take the free in for Portugal" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Hayes just tries to be the Eamon Dunphy of the GAA - say something controversial for the hell of it and build a profile.
    At least with Dunphy and Brolly they don't appear to take themselves particularly seriously and have a rogue-like character that allows them to get away with frequently being completely wrong.

Hayes however has a personality that's about as attractive as Marty Morissey's backside so can't really pull it off. He picked a great day to have a go at Kevin McManamon.

Ciaran Whelan was also particularly inaccurate in his forecasting of how the Dublin Wexford game would go when he confidently predicted an easy 10 point win for Dublin. In fact is there anyone in GAA punditry that is able to call results before the match with any accuracy?

Maybe TV3 or RTE could find out if Paul the Octupus has any surviving offspring that they could add to their punditry panel? The predictions could only get more accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭robbiezero

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Ciaran Whelan was also particularly inaccurate in his forecasting of how the Dublin Wexford game would go when he confidently predicted an easy 10 point win for Dublin. In fact is there anyone in GAA punditry that is able to call results before the match with any accuracy?

No there isn't, if there was, they would clean up at the bookies. I'd rather have a pundit give a clear prediction and the reasons why and get it wrong, than a pundit who sits on the fence.

I thought a comfortable win for Dublin was on the cards also, but they played quite poorly and could have lost had Wexford not done their usual bottling.