Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Match Thread - Dublin v Wexford, Croke Park, Sunday, 4.00pm

• 01-07-2012 2:50pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Live on TV3 today

RTÉ Preview can be found here

Hard to see anything but a Dublin win here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 johnson85

Expect the Dubs to win, probably be close enough though, Wexford have given us plenty of problems the past 2 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

I can see Dublin winning this as we got a lot of fire power for Wexford to handle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Well of course I would be hoping for a dublin win and hope the dubs dont go into the game complacent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Goal for wexford

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

There's some difference between the quality of picture between RTÉ 2HD and TV3

Some difference in commentary too!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 140 ✭✭nizo888

Well, well. Dublin at home again. These Dublin guys should be winning the All Ireland every year, seeing that they have the highest population and more importantly, they are always at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

nizo888 wrote: »
    Well, well. Dublin at home again. These Dublin guys should be winning the All Ireland every year, seeing that they have the highest population and more importantly, they are always at home.

*sigh*

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

H'on Wexford!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭STB

Dublin are the team in Blue for anyone wondering, not Yellow and Purple. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭double GG

Whats the score?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Long Term Louth

1-8 1-5 HT wexford ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,381 ✭✭✭✭km79

The dublin ultras on The Hill are very quiet. Except for the trumpet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

markie29 wrote: »
    nizo888 wrote: »

*sigh*

I know it wouldn't be their home ground but they are technically at home though. I mean it's still in Dublin. Some just have to drive down the road to play in the match.

The argument is about the crowd size and all that but the reality is that they are still at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

MDMA time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

more like MMA there....he definitely stroke the opponent...stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Sean7

Red card, Connolly off for Dublin.

Starting to believe we might swing this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

What a <snip> Connolly is!

That Connolly fella is some eejit. The shape of the jaw on him. Bit of a headbanger. Remember he was off in the semi final against Donegal last year too. Nutter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Connolly is actually stupid, he struck a guy around the head a couple of minutes earlier, it was innocuous enough but he still could have been in trouble. And then he does that straight after....what a fool.

Neeson wrote: »
    That Connolly fella is some eejit. The shape of the jaw on him. Bit of a headbanger. Remember he was off in the semi final against Donegal last year too. Nutter.
    Diarmuid Connolly
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ3eOBWoLIqu1Lpbv66tEAxpzGtQVzcNMBmYj7mJsJx5tOsIEoIbg

Desperate Dan
    DiarmuidConnollyDublin.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

God bless ya Maxi!

"Wexford leading and hill 16 in full voice"

These TV3 crowd really are terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,999 ✭✭✭deisedude

Wexford throwing this away. Dublin probably waiting to peak later in the year, don't look fully sharp

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

4 points in it, that looks like it for Wexford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

If there is one thing this Dublin team has , it's great character!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Drumpot wrote: »
    If there is one thing this Dublin team has , it's great character!

have to credit them that. Wexford were muck, and had the chance to win it. Every year I say that we wont get a better chance to beat Dublin, and yet again I am saying it. I really did not expect us to compete today, but we did, and Dublin were poor, down to 14 men, and we kicked 10 wides or more in the second half. kicked it away. so frustrating to do it again against Dublin. 3 years in a row now we have had them for the taking and could not get over the line.

Fair play to Dublin. Connolly is a clown and sent off again, but the rest of them really lifted a gear after that and put us away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Sean7

Thrown away by Wexford, agree with the comment at the end of the TV3 coverage. They didn't think they could beat Dublin. Not scoring at all for the last part of the match was very disappointing after a great start too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭TopOfTheRight

Has anyone ever seen McMenamin get the ball and not overcarry it?! Gets away with murder that fella

Liam Hayes "he didn't even hit him hard"

Jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

STB wrote: »
    Dublin are the team in Blue for anyone wondering, not Yellow and Purple. :)

Purple and gold ;)

Three years in a row we have had a great chance to beat Dublin and three years in a row we have not taken that chance :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭purplepanda

Footballers are getting like the hurlers, can't keep things simple & start taking too many chances & over relaborate far too often. :rolleyes:

Trying the fancy option is not the best move in a close match, too many wides.the end result.

Wexford GAA needs to find a sports psycologist or similiar to mentor the hurlers & footballers & get this years old problem sorted :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,405 ✭✭✭bren2001

A disappointing performance from the Dublin team especially Connolly. Defence was poor but the lack of movement from the forwards was atrocious. Quite often I'd look and see Connolly and B Brogan within 10 yards of each other and just static. Shooting was terrible particularly B Brogan. But we beat the team but in front of us and thats all that was needed.

Learned nothing about the team from the team, Kilkenny did well when he came on. He should slot into the system no problem, hopefully he gets a good chance now that Connolly will be suspended, granted O'Gara will just get more time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Sean7 wrote: »
    Thrown away by Wexford, agree with the comment at the end of the TV3 coverage. They didn't think they could beat Dublin. Not scoring at all for the last part of the match was very disappointing after a great start too.

Andy Doyle didn't think so anyway. He had his excuses made during the week

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

The Hill really got to Ben Brosnan in the second half. He put over some unbelievable points in the first half yet couldn't hit a barn door in the second.

I really think that, for Dublin's sake, Diarmuid Connolly should be left off the team until he sorts his attitude out. With Donegal last year, Kildare in the O' Byrne Cup this year and now today's incident, it's obvious he has some sort of anger issue. Teams will know that now and rile him up in the hope he'll strike out like today. His behaviour will cost Dublin eventually.

The Hill really got to Ben Brosnan in the second half. He put over some unbelievable points in the first half yet couldn't hit a barn door in the second.

I really think that, for Dublin's sake, Diarmuid Connolly should be left off the team until he sorts his attitude out. With Donegal last year, Kildare in the O' Byrne Cup this year and now today's incident, it's obvious he has some sort of anger issue. Teams will know that now and rile him up in the hope he'll strike out like today. His behaviour will cost Dublin eventually.

He called over the Physio 2 or 3 times when Dublin had the ball, his right foot was bothering him. I doubt a player of Ben Brosnans ability and experience would be bothered by the hill.

Connolly should be left off due to his poor performances! He needs to sort out his attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

bren2001 wrote: »
    He called over the Physio 2 or 3 times when Dublin had the ball, his right foot was bothering him. I doubt a player of Ben Brosnans ability and experience would be bothered by the hill.

Connolly should be left off due to his poor performances! He needs to sort out his attitude.

Why he wasnt moved off the frees earlier if he was injured? Bad management

On McMenamin, yes he does over carry, id be interested so see how many times during the game it is not overcarryed, id say at least 80% of the time more than the regulations steps are taken

True. He seems to have a screw loose somewhere. He'd need to watch out in the future. Players now see that he's not right in the head and has issues and they could well think about having a word with him and making him an angry boy. Someone might even put his jaw on the floor for him - if that was further possible considering he seems to have an issue in that area already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Couldn't believe that Bernard Brogan has never played a Championship match outside Croke Park.

Seriously?:eek:

That's shocking!

Theres a lot more on that Dublin team who have not played outside of Croke Park in the Championship, 37 out of the last 38 for Dublin have been played there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Match thread me arse - just another opportunity to rise the old chestnuts of Connolly & Dubs outside Croker. The understanding of thuggery is shameful - think of that journo attacked and killed in Camden street last week. Objectivity goes out the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,173 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Anyone else having problems trying to get tickets for the Leinster final??

http://www.ticketmaster.ie/event/180048D3C21940D5?artistid=1571917&majorcatid=10004&minorcatid=729

Says 9am but no sign yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

We certainly need improvement for Meath in 3 weeks, very lackluster stuff yesterday but hopefully going forward that game serves us well in terms of highlighting certain issues, any of the elite counties (no disrespect to Wexford) would have left us for dead on that performance.

Nolan, McManamon and MacAuley when he came on made the difference in the end. Connolly needs internal punishment for his actions at this stage before he really ends up costing us.

Was impressed with a few of Meaths youngsters aswell particularly Conor Gillespie in midfield, so Dublin will certainly have it all to do. 1st Leinster final between the two in 11 years, should be a cracking game on the 22nd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Horrific display.What is it about Wexford that Dublin find very hard?I often think they raise their game beyond belief while we totally underperform and yet one has to wonder when they will actually come out on the winning end.

We could have and maybe should have lost yesterday.At the same time, if we took our chances too we could have beaten them by more.A strange game. Connolly was an idiot to do what he did.Kilkenny has to get a starting birth against Meath.Bernard Brogan surely could not be any worse than he was yesterday which was the worst game I seen him in for a long time.

Passengers from yesterday were Flynn,Fennell and Ger Brennan.They went into hiding leaving the likes of Connolly (when he was on) Alan and McMenamon.

If nobody on the Wexford team didn;t get MOTM, it has to go to McMenamon.Thought James McCarthy played well too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,184 ✭✭✭✭listermint

i found it amusing that liam hayes kept on saying that McMenamon wasnt a 'inter county' player.

the lads thought it was hilarious too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

listermint wrote: »
    i found it amusing that liam hayes kept on saying that McMenamon wasnt a 'inter county' player.

the lads thought it was hilarious too.

He's an idiot to be honest, he's always at that shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

blackbelt wrote: »
    Passengers from yesterday were Flynn

Seriously blackbelt? I felt Paul was our man of the match yesterday and a lot of people around me agreed that he, KevMc, Nolan and MDMA helped us over the line yesterday.

Agreed, thought Flynn was one of the better players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

dcr22B wrote: »
    Seriously blackbelt? I felt Paul was our man of the match yesterday and a lot of people around me agreed that he, KevMc, Nolan and MDMA helped us over the line yesterday.

Don't know, I thought he was ok in the first half but was in and out of it.Not up to his usual standard I felt.Thought Bryan Cullens performance was a bit under rated.Fennell actually fielded the ball quite well but his distribution let him down badly and we can't afford that mistake against Meath.

Starting lineup I would go with for the Leinster Final.

1.Cluxton
    2.Philly McMahon
    3.O Carroll
    4.FitzSimons
    5.James McCarthy
    6.Cian O Sullivan
    7.Kevin Nolan
    8.Denis Bastick
    9.MDMA
    10.Flynn
    11.Barry Cahill
    12.Bryan Cullen
    13.Alan Brogan
    14.Bernard Brogan
    15. Kev Mc

Would like to see the two Brogans fit back into the full forward line with Cahill coming in as half forward.McAulay to replace Fennell and O Sullivan in for Ger Brennan.