Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gossip Girl - Season 6 [US] *Spoilers!*

• 26-06-2012 5:59pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭

Sixth and FINAL season....many would say "thank god" ;)

According to Josh Schwartz's Twitter, the season premiere of the final season of Gossip Girl will be titled "Gone Maybe Gone." The episode will be written by Josh Schwartz and Stephanie Savage.

http://twitter.com/JoshSchwartz76/status/217647214359617536

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,195 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Kinda OT but Blake Lively is the new face of Gucci’s latest perfume

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Wtf?.....Barry Watson for Serena??

http://tvline.com/2012/07/09/gossip-girl-barry-watson/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

Haha, lovebirds. Unless used sarcastically, Chair and lovebirds don’t belong in the same sentence.

I don’t know, it makes no sense what so ever, so I’m inclined to believe it’s a Chair wedding. He didn’t want to be Mr Blair Waldorf and she wasn’t enough though, what changed? All cured off camera, amazing. Is there any Blair fans left to even care? Maybe Dan will write his vows and peer into Blair’s soul again. I’m sure Dan is in love with Serena again and DB is long forgotten. It’s cheap and tacky, lowest common denominator television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I've always liked gossip girl, although I must admit I only really watch it out of loyalty to schwartz and savage who I have been a big fan of since the O.C days. I think they have let it go quite a lot but the last season was the best one in few years. Many of the characters I used to like have become boring and never have any good lines anymore, dan for instance has become a boring hipster in need of a haircut.

Leighton Meester really seems to carry the series IMHO, when it started Blake lively was the main female lead and Meester her friend, that really has changed. Have to commend the cast for sticking around and not getting too big for their boots when it was at the height of its popularity, Meester and lively have and I hope will continue to do well for themselves, the lads haven't had much in the same way of success.

Have to admit I really like Dan and Blair, although I think its probably the only combination of the main 5 that they had not explored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

I had absolutely nothing to watch a fair while back so chanced my arm with this. Got halfway through the first episode, switched it off and forgot all about it. I had the same problem about 6 weeks ago so said I'd give it a proper go and here I am :D

Didn't like Chuck at the beginning, that's after turning around completely now :pac: Chuck is probably my favourite character in it (never knew until I just checked Wiki that he was born and grew up in England and that he's going out with Vanessa from the show in real life. From reading around it seems that the majority of the cast have been with each other as much in real life as one the show :pac:). Dan is just annoying now and as mentioned above, needs a haircut. Blake Lively has kept my interest up in the show at times, she's just unreal :pac:

Seasons 1-3 were very good, the first half of season 4 was complete rubbish IMO and the second half slightly improved. Season 5 was entertaining, especially near the end but the twist with
    Bart Bass still being alive
    was a step too far and way too unbelievable, even for someone like him. Yeah it's TV, but at least make it somewhat realistic :pac:

Season 6 is set up nicely I guess and with this being a shortened last season (10 or 11 episodes most likely) it's ending at the right time before it gets dragged on and on.

Wouldn't surprise me at all to see it all end happily with Chuck married to Blair, Dan back with Serena, Jack and Chuck taking back Bass Industries from Bart, Rufus back with Lily after he thwarts the attempts of Ivy to take her down etc etc etc.

Some spoilers here, although the majority of them are speculation/guesses:

http://www.wetpaint.com/gossip-girl/articles/gossip-girl-season-6-spoiler-roundup-july-29

Filming for season 6 has started.

Spoilers I've seen are just more of the same old forced, convoluted nonsense overloaded with pointless guest stars we've had several times already. Enjoyable for Chuck fans only, he's all that matters it seems.
    Paully D wrote: »
    I had absolutely nothing to watch a fair while back so chanced my arm with this. Got halfway through the first episode, switched it off and forgot all about it. I had the same problem about 6 weeks ago so said I'd give it a proper go and here I am :D
    It is probably more enjoyable if watched for superficial reasons. As soon as you get invested and start analyzing the characters and relationships it becomes ridiculous, it will ruin it for you. Better to stay out of the fandom completely.

The level of ‘interpretation’ needed to ship CB and DS, takes the cake for me. Apparently, Serena has to forgive Dan for all he did to her in S5. Blair has to earn and grovel for Charles, to prove she loves him. DS fans are now worst that Chair fans from what I'm seeing. The rationalisation of blatant black and white physical abuse is insulting. The double standards in judging the different characters, Dan is an drunk, evil isolator who hates women, Charles is a sweet misunderstood angel just trying to deal with his parent issues. The worst part is the stupid show rewards it. Retcon everything, use denial and magnetic love to justify their emotionally and physically abusive relationship, destroy Blair's character completely. Have no progress, no issues dealt with. The only reason DB were axed is they were too healthy and real for this stupid show. The faster it's over the better, get the actors free.

Paully D wrote: »
    Some spoilers here, although the majority of them are speculation/guesses:

http://www.wetpaint.com/gossip-girl/articles/gossip-girl-season-6-spoiler-roundup-july-29

Filming for season 6 has started.

If the wedding isnt Chair :( then probably Lily and Bart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    If the wedding isnt Chair :( then probably Lily and Bart

but if it is Lily and Bart why would
    Dan ...
    be at it?

hoodwinked wrote: »
    but if it is Lily and Bart why would
    Dan ...
    be at it?

Good point and doubt Chuck would go also maybe Nate and Lola/Charlie then

Hasn’t it been all but confirmed that the wedding isn’t GG? There is a gay couple wedding apparently in the premier, Blair’s dad maybe? Why would Lily and Bart marry, unless she was just using Rufus all this time, she was in denial too:cool:. Surely Chair fans didn’t want a wedding now anyway, only going one way if they did marry now. The latest is CB are hiding their relationship, reasons to do with Chuck trying to get his business back ie Chuck putting that before Blair again. Blair couldn’t wait to be with Dan in public, hosted a party and all, now she has to hide for his hotel, romantic. In which case, It would be better if it’s Blair looking to hide it now:pac:.

Final season is confirmed as being 10 episodes long:

http://www.rte.ie/ten/2012/0801/gossipgirl.html
    The show which has had between 18 and 25 episodes per season for the last five seasons has been renewed for only 10 for the final installment.

While lovers of the CW show might be disappointed at the short final season, CW President Mark Pedowitz told TV Line that we can expect the final episode to be a retrospective one to allow fans to say a goodbye to their beloved Upper East Siders.

"I'm a big believer in retrospectives and a big believer in allowing the audience to say farewell to their shows. It's important for us on this side of the fence to give a satisfactory ending."

The season premier for the 6th and final season of Gossip Girl is set for October 8.

Very short season but I do like retrospective episodes to finish off shows.

Ausiello at TV Line Spoilers
    Question: Blair has been wearing a ring on a necklace in all the Gossip Girl location pictures this season. Any idea why? —Kayla
    Ausiello: I’m guessing it’s a symbol of the special pact she makes with Chuck in the premiere, but I could be wrong. (In case you’re wondering, said agreement involves them getting their personal crap together before committing to each other for good.)

Question: Gossip Girl fan here asking for scoop about anything Serena. What’s she up to when the season starts? —Raina
    Ausiello: She’s dating Barry Watson's character. Bonus scoop: Rufus is shagging .............

My guess is Rufus
    is shagging Ivy

GG alum to sign up to return to the Upper East Side is none other than schemer Poppy Lifton, played by actress Tamara Feldman. Poppy was last seen attempting to con Serena (Blake Lively) and her family out of money through a Ponzi scheme with the help of her equally manipulative boyfriend Gabriel, played by The Social Network‘s Armie Hammer, only to be revealed by Georgina (Michelle Trachtenberg). A source tells EW that this time, “Poppy shows up in a surprising context to tangle with a new target.”

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Chair bringing sexy back to GG :p

New longer vid with added sexy time! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭coconut5

Little vid about who is Gossip Girl:

Have to say I'm sad it's all over for Dair, but I will watch the last 10 episodes anyway. They have some scenes coming up, and I might as well just enjoy it at this stage!

Still sad too and even more so about the lack of Penn/Leighton bloopers, that was really lousy. I don’t think I can stomach the new season to be honest, I might watch the DB’s scenes on Youtube depending on the reaction they get.

God, those CB scenes are awkward, their chemistry is shot, so forced and fake. Dan the villain might be fun but again it’s only to prop Chuck and Chair so no thanks. Blair running her moms company is okay except for the long arc in s4 about her not wanting that exact thing. But, who remembers what Blair says, she is a prop. Rufus and Ivy, I approve of, Rufus and Lily are only marginally healthier than Chair.

http://hollywoodcrush.mtv.com/2012/10/04/leighton-meester-gossip-girl-movie/
    Leighton continues to be flawless. She does not like CB and it’s not even thinly veiled anymore. Backs up her earlier interviews about liking DB and saying CB has only sex games. I like the part about pandering to the fans, the writers should stay away from twitter. The fact they're about to shoot the series finale doesn't bode well for CB if she is talking like that.

Penn is singing from the same hymn sheet.
    Did you at least enjoy the Dan and Blair storyline last season?
    I did, actually. Well, I didn't like how it ended, because it was just kind of I]draws in breath sharply[/I. But I do like the scenes with Leighton because I get to kind of interact in a fun way with her. When Dan and Blair are together, I think that's him at his brightest, maybe.
    http://www.vulture.com/2012/09/penn-badgley-on-jeff-buckley-and-gossip-girl.html

It's a nice consolation prize that both Penn and Leighton feel the same way DBers do.

I agree the ending to Dair last season was very rushed and stupid tbh Dan was build up as an intellectual equal for Blair and then it was all over and Dan was a prat again
    jeff greene: God, those CB scenes are awkward, their chemistry is shot, so forced and fake.

How can you say Chair's chemistry is fake and forced :confused: Ed and Leighton sizzle on screen imo

It's my opinion based on what I see. The fully clothed sex? I read a comment that Dan will be the last man Blair will see nakedpacman.gif that scene in the promo is worst than their awful piano sex scene in s4. They've gone down hill so fast but can't really blame the actors, their story is so forced and nonsensical. They were good but it's disappeared, it's really sad actually for Chair fans what they did the them, but they'll rationalize everything and bitch and moan until they get they their way so fair play to them. The actors know whats up.

Dan wasn't build up as an intellectual equal to Blair, Dan is a writer, he got into Yale and he has never a prat, he is the heart of the show, the link between the UES and Brooklyn. He has every right to be pissed now after what both Blair and Serena did to him and what Lily did to his father. All they did with DB, was have them spend time together, it was natural, it was subtle and it kind of made a lot of sense. But, that's me, I think Blair should never have had a scene with Chuck after the IP, the face punching incident and a few more things.

All you GG junkies!....final season kicks off tonight!

tumblr_mblu4swGnR1r11dtzo1_500.gif
    tumblr_mblu4swGnR1r11dtzo2_500.gif
    The Dan and Blair scene was good, angsty and tense. Still see it with them and would like to believe it will mean something at the end. Dan says it all basically and Blair is left speechless. The writers know it's messed up, all they've ever did was show us how wrong CB are. Haven't watched it, only their scene on Youtube. By all accounts it's pretty embarrassing though save for Serena, Georgina and Dan.

Gossip Girl returns to UK screens on Wednesday the 17th of October 2012 on ITV2 at 7pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭iffy_2007

About time doughnut got his hair cut!!

Thought it was a good episode. Fast paced, loved the witty banter between D/G & B/G & the sexual tension between CB even after their marathon session ;)!

Blair did have someone who loved her unconditionally but its just a pity she didn't love him back...

The ratings!!!!............:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

http://tvbythenumbers.zap2it.com/2012/10/09/tv-ratings-monday-the-voice-castle-up-revolution-dips-again-mob-doctor-goes-lower/152111/

^ holy batwings that is.........:eek:

Those ratings are abysmal, series low, it will only go downhill from here. I was a tad out on my predication of 3million so, Chair sex and I was always lead to believe DB killed the ratings:rolleyes:.Just another inane Chair argument destroyed.

Having said that, I don't believe couples affect the ratings, the finale killed the show for many. People want coherent story lines and character development.
    iffy_2007 wrote: »
    Blair did have someone who loved her unconditionally but its just a pity she didn't love him back...
    And Blair now has only a ring round her neck, that is love, right? Like Dan said, he only lost her to the idea of Chuck and all they have is excuses. Not that it probably matters but it was said a few times, albeit in convoluted ways, got to read between the lines. Blair face and whole demeanor when she was with Dan was a giveaway anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭iffy_2007

Ugggghhhh I could not be arsed going round in circles with the same stupid argument!!!! Blair treated Dan like crap & then ended up choosing Chuck, Blair & Dan unfortunately for Dair fans are done, finished. You may think that Blair loved Dan, you may also think Leighton enjoyed working with Penn but that really is irrelevant in regards to the direction the show is going now. Try & enjoy the show, you might surprise yourself & actually be happy enough with the direction it's headed!

Heard through the twitter vine that its doing quite well on itunes. EDIT: It's actually number 1 on itunes!

It always did well on iTunes. The rating were the most important thing last season, pipping Chucks growth into second place. It's something DB fans had to deal with, it's a fallacy, same as this notion that everyone wanted CB.

I'm not obliged the enjoy the show, same as you don't have to respond if it's such an annoyance. It's the GG thread and I don't believe I broke any rules. And I quite enjoyed the DB scenes in this ep. What Dan said was great and his line about wanting to spend everyday with her was perfect. Dan should probably move on but nice to hear that.

More sense here.
    “Blair needs to be with someone who hasn’t traded her for a building, nearly physically assaulted her, and psychologically tormented her. I’m sorry, but choosing Chuck isn’t a vote for epic love. It’s a cry for help.”
    http://www.tv.com/news/a-wishlist-for-gossip-girls-final-season-29771/

It always did well on iTunes. The rating were the most important thing last season, pipping Chucks growth into second place. It's something DB fans had to deal with, it's a fallacy, same as this notion that everyone wanted CB.

I'm not obliged the enjoy the show, same as you don't have to respond if it's such an annoyance. It's the GG thread and I don't believe I broke any rules. And I quite enjoyed the DB scenes in this ep. What Dan said was great and his line about wanting to spend everyday with her was perfect. Dan should probably move on but nice to hear that.

More sense here.

http://www.tv.com/news/a-wishlist-for-gossip-girls-final-season-29771/

Ratings are mute at this point, so is iTunes....it's ending, but it's a sad state when a once top rated show has fallen this far :(

Ugggghhhh I could not be arsed going round in circles with the same stupid argument!!!! Blair treated Dan like crap & then ended up choosing Chuck, Blair & Dan unfortunately for Dair fans are done, finished. You may think that Blair loved Dan, you may also think Leighton enjoyed working with Penn but that really is irrelevant in regards to the direction the show is going now. Try & enjoy the show, you might surprise yourself & actually be happy enough with the direction it's headed!

Heard through the twitter vine that its doing quite well on itunes. EDIT: It's actually number 1 on itunes!

I'm 100% sure CHAIR are endgame, but i'd respect Stephanie Savage and the show more if at series end Blair chooses no one, goes off to work in Paris for Vogue to find herself. Meet a nice chap there off screen and have a couple of kids.

Don't care what the others do, celebrity rehad on VH1 or something....:p

Wasn't a bad episode, I will always have a soft spot for GG but it has just gone fairly ****, Dan and Blair was the most exiting thing that they did in years on the show and it actually worked very well, Chuck and Blair have a terrible relationship and he has treated her like dirt. I think they thought Dan and Blair was boring, but that relationship had much more interesting challenges than Chair. Also I think Leighton and Penn have much better chemistry than her with Ed simply because with the latter it has been done to death and Chuck is a very one dimensional character, he bores me, not as much as Nate but still. Also Leighton and Penn have a very good back and forth rapport.

On a brighter note Leighton and Michelle Trachtenberg had me cracking up when they tried to stop ''Sabrinas'' wedding.

About time doughnut got his hair cut!!

Thought it was a good episode. Fast paced, loved the witty banter between D/G & B/G & the sexual tension between CB even after their marathon session ;)!

We all know Dan was better for Blair then Chuck....but love is love and being in love with a douche seems to be Blairs thing.....girls eh?

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    Wasn't a bad episode, I will always have a soft spot for GG but it has just gone fairly ****, Dan and Blair was the most exiting thing that they did in years on the show and it actually worked very well, Chuck and Blair have a terrible relationship and he has treated her like dirt. I think though Dan and Blair was boring, but that relationship had much more interesting challenges than Chair. Also I think Leighton and Penn have much better chemistry than her with Ed simply because with the latter it has been done to death and Chuck is a very one dimensional character, he bores me, not as much as Nate but still. Also Leighton and Penn have a very good back and forth rapport.

On a brighter note Leighton and Michelle Trachtenberg had me cracking up when they tried to stop ''Sabrinas'' wedding.

It should never be an issue but it was used repeatedly for cheap point scoring against db. Add these ratings to what both Penn and Leighton said kind of validates things, we weren't wrong ;)

Ratings are mute at this point, so is iTunes....it's ending, but it's a sad state when a once top rated show has fallen this far :(

Just had to post to say I completely agree, for a show that EVERYWHERE in it's first and second seasons and considered one of the hottest shows on TV. I do find it sad. I think that is the writers fault though, it has been on for 6 years, fans grew up but they show never grew with them, thus people moved on, it didn't gain traction with the younger fans because of wasn't as hot any more. PLL and the like taking over, and in fairness rightly so. It's just the diehards left now.

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    Just had to post to say I completely agree, for a show that EVERYWHERE in it's first and second seasons and considered one of the hottest shows on TV. I do find it sad. I think that is the writers fault though, it has been on for 6 years, fans grew up but they show never grew with them, thus people moved on, it didn't gain traction with the younger fans because of wasn't as hot any more. PLL and the like taking over, and in fairness rightly so. It's just the diehards left now.

And most of the diehards left are of the chair vs. dair variety...which is again the result of setting up stupid shipping wars between groups :rolleyes:

Ah shipping wars, a story as old as BH 90210. I do find it interesting though, I remember in the first episode it was very clear that Blair played second fiddle to Serena, I think it's a testament to Leighton Meester (Who lets face it, has been carrying the show for a very long while), the only thing that people care about is Chair and Dair, I am on team Dair I must say, but in all honesty couldn't care less as long as it's not Chuck. Josh and Stephanie wrote the first episode of this season and I see Stephanie is due to write again later in the season, nice to see them back seeing as Josh hadn't written since Season 2 and Stephanie Season 4. Hope they have a return to some sort of form planned like they did with The O.C.

Some **VERY** spoilery pics and descriptions of the series finale out in the wild today, i won't post links because...well, they give everything away. Tbh from what i've seen read it looks like a highly predictable endgame all round.

I'll tune in for the series finale juts to say goodbye but i bowed out of GG early in season 5....

I can’t believe they filmed it all out in the open and then invited the paps into watch Dan and Serena get married yesterday. No suspense whatsoever going into the series finale and the season just started. Will there be a sting in the tail? Probably not. I still can’t believe they went down this saccharine route to finish it off.

The CB wedding looks so tacky, the gaudy clothes, the cops interrupting it. Why is Dan there, Chuck in white like Louis, good omen. Jack is there also, that should evoke good memories for Blair. It’s all so trashy/disgusting when you consider their history.

It’s a sad, predictable end to what once was a fun, entertaining show. Not predictable in a narrative sense but you have to take your cues for this show from producer interviews etc. Chuck and Blair are never over, they’re epic, it’s not abuse with Chuck and Blair, Dan and Serena are Romeo and Juliet. I don’t understand the message they’re sending, nothing has changed in five years. Give me the journey any day. Comparable, if not less amounts of fanwank needed for me to believe DB end up together. All the crap both endgame couples have to ignore. Might as well ignore s3-s5, actually it might best advised as it will mean those endgames aren’t as pathetic and contrived as they clearly are.

Chair are the absolute pits, no redeemable qualities. Tedious, amoral eyesore that has ruined the show’s most layered character played by the most talented cast member. Blair in s1 to now is actually really sad, all because she has had to carry Chair almost single handily. The s5 finale should have been a watershed, mercifully put Chair out of its misery and give Blair back her self-respect and dignity. DS are there just by default, they were okay in s1, they were harmless, Dan was in love with her and then he got to know her. They spend the last two season using DS to prop DB. They’re not offensive like CB, but in the interest of both characters, it’s not the correct ending.
    Happened to catch 518 on TG4 last night, ie. Dan and Blair having lots of mutually naked sex all over New York. Fun episode. Next week is the actual finale;)

Taylor Momsen and Connor Paolo, aka Jenny Humphrey and Eric van der Woodsen and Katie Cassidy’s Juliet Sharp
    all return at some stage this season

Haha, a lot of people feel like you Jeff. And, of course, there are happy fans out there as well. I am still expecting a sting in the tail for this show, I don't think the writers can resist. So maybe in this case, looks can be deceiving.

I love your optimism. But the s5 finale was worse than it seemed. Remember they invited the paps in to the CB casino shoot that time too. This is even more desperate, they’ve given up completely. They’ve alienated a large portion of the fanbase and are relying on old Chair fans to come back. It wasn’t DB that drove those fans away. And no self respecting Dair fan is going to jump ship now.

I know, they probably can’t pass up a chance to have one last troll. A happily ever after ending fells wrong for this show. My remaining hope is that they address Dan and Blair properly, not sweep it under the carpet or use the sex tape and call it even.

No doubt there are some fans overjoyed, ie the real fans, as they like to refer to themselves as. This is their reward for having to suffer through s4 and s5. It’s well earned too, all the endless campaigns. Hounding the writers, invading comment sections and forums, they bullied their way to endgame. Hope that is not controversial or coming off as a sore loser, Leighton put it almost as bluntly last week.

I'm not really involved with any other online fandom, but this one is vicious. It just gets so nasty between the various fans. It's always entertaining though. I watched the season premiere last night on ITV2, and I still love the show, despite NOTHING going my way. I still think it's a great cast. And there's enough funny moments and silliness to keep me going with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

Some **VERY** spoilery pics and descriptions of the series finale out in the wild today, i won't post links because...well, they give everything away. Tbh from what i've seen read it looks like a highly predictable endgame all round.

I'll tune in for the series finale juts to say goodbye but i bowed out of GG early in season 5....

it might not be though,

conversation references MAJOR FINALE SPOILERS so don't read unless you REALLY want to know. (i know richard above has seen them hence im replying to him)
    Henry might not be their future son, for all we know they could pull a serena had a baby before coming back in s1, or could have had one with dan, or it could just be georginas baby (or another one), could be erics (no idea how but it would be a shock) or Jenny's or another rufus and lily baby put up for adoption they got back somehow
    two impromptu weddings in the finale is ott even for GG i reckon they are just to throw people off.

I wonder will GG do a what if episode
    what if Blair never lost the baby and did get away with Chuck and they got
    married leaving Serena to be with Dan and so on