Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dangerous situation for 2 Gardai

• 25-06-2012 11:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭

Check out the link - 2 Guards dealing with a hostile crowd of gougers and had to use an ASP , well-handled in difficult circumstances I must say.
    I don't think this has been posted here before.

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=514_1340587444

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭Tyron Jara

Got into a situation like this the other night ... thank god it turned out different we did n have to withdraw asps but at one stage I was bracing for a kick to the head off a girl while I had a prisoner restrained.

Bad situation to find yourself in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

dreadful.our country is getting worse by the minute it seems,i heard a guy was murdered in the city centre in the small hours in dublin just the other day..

there is no real punishment for crime these days,it can be argued away simply by the defence or a deal to get off a couple of years on a suspended sentence,or a judge feeling lenient on the day..

and the prisons?gym,library and so on..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭beherenow

10/10 for the two Gardai dealing with that volatile crowd.

Shoulda deployed a canister of pepper spray or two.

Are you watching Martin Callinan, Alan Shatter and Leo Varadkar..

And less Gardai means less back-up for these particular Gardai and less coverage for the decent folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Very hard to make out what's going on with the guy that got a few belts, looks like he was being squeezed in the neck before flipping out though, could it of being handled a little better especially considering the age of the kids involved (15/16?). It looks like he went down on the pavement unconscious after the few slaps to the head with the baton then the Garda tried to drag him by the arm while he was out cold.
    Your man was quite clearly out of order going for the Garda like that but at the same time she could have done him some serious injury with the way she handled him on the ground.
    Would be good to see the whole video, looks like we only got half the story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

If that happened in the USA there would be A: 10 backup police cars screaming around the corner within 1 minute. B: A bullet in that lads stomach.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Motorist

Very hard to make out what's going on with the guy that got a few belts, looks like he was being squeezed in the neck before flipping out though, could it of being handled a little better especially considering the age of the kids involved (15/16?). It looks like he went down on the pavement unconscious after the few slaps to the head with the baton then the Garda tried to drag him by the arm while he was out cold.
    Your man was quite clearly out of order going for the Garda like that but at the same time she could have done him some serious injury with the way she handled him on the ground.

He bought it all on himself. Tough job dealing with a group of animals like that.

Motorist wrote: »
    He bought it all on himself. Tough job dealing with a group of animals like that.

You can't see that from the Video, he was being squeezed hard in the neck by the looks of it. If you do that to someone you should not be anyway surprised if they brake loose and try and take the head off you. There's no way that hold technique was thought in college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

I'd much rather see a thug like that with a serious injury than a Guard - young though he may have been he was bigger than her.

Delancey wrote: »
    I'd much rather see a thug like that with a serious injury than a Guard - young though he may have been he was bigger than her.

He was swingin for a girl, his balls should have been nailed to a tree in the phoenix park. She was lucky she connected properly, looking closely he was about to take her down nearly from the start, he was trying to grab her neck, I'd say it was hard enough to draw the batton to get a crack at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Nice to see the bouncer coming to add numbers once she had the assailant on the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭ivabiggon

to me there seems to be only 3 people involved with the 2 gardaí and not a whole gang, the two directly involved in the fight and the chap in the white t-shirt.

it's obvious they are kids and there is some very young, i estimate about 8 yrs old some of them, so if you were to exclude them really young and the young girls, it only leaves the 3 i mentioned and the adult in the white t shirt is clearly aggrieved by the treatment of the taller garda is dishing out to the teenager he has in a serious head lock

one of them was knocked unconscious, which shouldn't really happen if a member is only aim for the limbs, plus the proper use of the gas they have. i'd like to see the whole video.

First off you can't see what happened to the scumbag, where he was struck and whether he is unconscious or not. Second, he was pulling out of her trying to get involved with the other fella who was arrested. Third he swung at the banner and she did brilliantly in how she dealt with him. You will notice nobody else tried to intervene after that, just shouting. Re the ages, you try deal with a hostile crowd of teenagers a good few your physical match. Then second guess yourself after the event.
    ivabiggon wrote: »
    to me there seems to be only 3 people involved with the 2 gardaí and not a whole gang, the two directly involved in the fight and the chap in the white t-shirt.

it's obvious they are kids and there is some very young, i estimate about 8 yrs old some of them, so if you were to exclude them really young and the young girls, it only leaves the 3 i mentioned and the adult in the white t shirt is clearly aggrieved by the treatment of the taller garda is dishing out to the teenager he has in a serious head lock

one of them was knocked unconscious, which shouldn't really happen if a member is only aim for the limbs, plus the proper use of the gas they have. i'd like to see the whole video.

Have you got proof the fella was knocked unconscious? And the situation was serious enough for the Gardaí involved to call for urgent assistance. That's not something that happens too often.

And re baton strikes, easy to hit the limbs if the person is not trying to drag out of you trying to punch you. And the video does not show the fella getting hit in the head. So maybe wind down your speculation.

Re the spray, wouldn't use it in that situation because there are too many by-standers.

And here is the video from youtube and what I think is the outcome of the assistance call.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

f**king animals. think the female garda did very well in that case. who was the (and i say this lightly) "female" fake tanned bleach headed scroat threatening? she kept shouting "your dead, your dead"

Was she threatening a garda or a bouncer? This kind of threat - drunken or otherwise - shouldnt be taken lightly in today society with jury intimidation etc and someone behaving in that manner deserves to be arrested.

To be honest, that bloke deserved what he got from the female garda and most of those people showed no form of common decency or respect for the gardai who were doing their job.

Videos like this make me despair of the future this once great country faces. Celtic tiger babies, If these retarded excuses for sterilisation's, parents had bothered to raise them properly, with respect and discipline, then I would envisage this kind of incident happening less often.

I sadly think its time to arm the gardai and be damned with the consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

The best sound in the world when you're under pressure, sirens coming from every direction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭ivabiggon

foreign wrote: »
    First off you can't see what happened to the scumbag, where he was struck and whether he is unconscious or not. Second, he was pulling out of her trying to get involved with the other fella who was arrested. Third he swung at the banner and she did brilliantly in how she dealt with him. You will notice nobody else tried to intervene after that, just shouting. Re the ages, you try deal with a hostile crowd of teenagers a good few your physical match. Then second guess yourself after the event.

Have you got proof the fella was knocked unconscious? And the situation was serious enough for the Gardaí involved to call for urgent assistance. That's not something that happens too often.

And re baton strikes, easy to hit the limbs if the person is not trying to drag out of you trying to punch you. And the video does not show the fella getting hit in the head. So maybe wind down your speculation.

Re the spray, wouldn't use it in that situation because there are too many by-standers.

And here is the video from youtube and what I think is the outcome of the assistance call.

the only proof that he was knocked unconscious is the limp body that the garda was trying to pull up, and true, there is no evidence to suggest it was a asp strike that did it, it could very well have been the poor unfortunate falling or tripping while taking a swing that made him stumble precariously to the ground bump his delicate red head!!! like i said i'd like to see the full video??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

One has to wonder what the bloke in the suit wanted.

"Garda can I ask a question"
    "A little f**king busy right now sir"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

While looking at that video, I could not help thinking of a comment which Gerry Ryan 2FM (RIP), made approx 10-12 years ago.

This was ' they have removed corporal punishment and replaced it with nothing'.

While I agree wholly with the removal of corporal punishment, I know that in general the fear of it thought my generation and perhaps a few before me, that important thing called 'respect'.

I might be naive, but I was very surprised to see firstly a man/teenager attack a woman like that, not to mention a Garda.

Society in this country seems to follow what happens in the states, it seems like a shame that law enforcement cannot do this as well. I am not at all blaming The Gardai, it is about bloody time that laws are introduced to protect Gardai. I for one am sick to death of hearing of situations where Gardai are investigated by their Obudsman organisation, just on the word of some low life.

I dread to think what future is ahead of the children in that video, I can see they are being shown a fine example of respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

Well done to that Guard, she handled herself very well. Its very easy to say someone should never be struck on the head with the ASP but in a situation like that in a violent struggle with a moving target it can be easier said than done. It is in no way clear if the ASP did make contact with his head but for her sake I hope it didn't because chances are management won't stand by her and GSOC will be all over it.

Regardless, her actions were completely justified IMO, he was assaulting her. Even if that was a male guard, it would still be a justifiable course of action as far as I'm concerned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

You can't see that from the Video, he was being squeezed hard in the neck by the looks of it. If you do that to someone you should not be anyway surprised if they brake loose and try and take the head off you. There's no way that hold technique was thought in college.

You can apply pressure to the neck to stop someone swallowing drugs, just one example.

It was a very, I repeat very large crowd and the camera does NOT show half of it. They are not nice kids, they are the same 'kids' that have and continue to rob people for their i-phones using their fists or weapons without hesitation. yeah there were 8 year olds watching but there was also 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20 year olds kicking, punching and throwing bricks at the Gardai. You might notice ivabiggin, that on the second video the residents of the apartment block have gone downstairs and locked the bloody doors!

the reason the bouncer got involved was because out of camera shot there was a third male hammering the **** out of a bicycle Garda connecting with at least a dozen punches and the bouncer had to then grab the attacker from behind to save the Garda. the only person knocked out what the male that the bouncer connected with. There were other Gardai on the other side of the street but they couldnt get across to help because they were also dealing with another large gang of scumbags. I know from others stationed there that the bouncer had to leave work for fear of reprisals at the time but on returning had his hand shook by many a mule.

At least 5 people were arrested and luckily for those involved cars from all over responded thus my admittedly late arrival to scene.

Theres more footage of this on youtube, it happened about 40 feet down from the hill 16 pub at the junction of Summerhill and Parnell Street and no Judge or even defence felt it merited to complain about the methods used by the Gardai and I am very shocked that some people here claiming to be members can make such wayward comments about this incident.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Motorist

Watching that blonde scumbag with the black short dress shouting "Yore dead" repeatedly in her horrible accent has made me lose a little more faith in humanity. I feel sorry for gardai who have to deal with these animals on a regular basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭ActingDanClark

these are just animals fed on a diet of benefits drugs and cheap alcohol, they're what make us hesitate to walk up o'connell street, to travel on the red line luas, to use the boardwalk, to bring our kids to sandycove.
    those gardai are working for about €400 a week, not much different than the creatures they're arresting on our behalf are getting in dole, SPA, rent allowance, medical card,allowances for mobile phone credit, the family dog, communions.....oh where do you stop. no wonder these creatures laugh at the guards..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Check out the link - 2 Guards dealing with a hostile crowd of gougers and had to use an ASP , well-handled in difficult circumstances I must say.

Whats an asp?
    (im not a gaurd, obviously :o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Leo Demidov

Whats an asp?

Its a hard, black snake....

Or a generic term used to describe the extending baton carried by gardai as their primary line of defence.

Well done to those involved, not a pleasant situation, very easy for anyone at home to judge the actions of someone who was about to become victim to a serious assault.

Good to see plenty of back up arrived - watching the original shorter video I kept thinking '' where's the back up ? ''
    Eru's comments show just how these videos give only a fraction of the full story.

Whats an asp?
    http://www.blade-empire.com/ASP/16in_Airweight_Expandable_Baton-ASP52212.shtml Extendable baton :)

Good an that banner for defending herself. Its hard to see if she even used the baton on him? I see it after he goes down alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭celticcrash

I Hope they got that blond one that keeps shouting, your dead.
    Hard labour would be nice for these people.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

I Hope they got that blond one that keeps shouting, your dead.
    Hard labour would be nice for these people.

aye... and sterilisation.
    :mad:

I cold be wrong, but it looks like it's the bouncer who knocks the scummer out? He doesn't hit the ground until after the bouncer intervenes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

ivabiggon wrote: »

Are you for real? if you ever had to deal with a public order situation you would realise that 2 can become 8 very quickly and for that reason that garda needed to stay on her feet, she was excellent and tough **** if she didnt get her strikes spot on as per the textbook. There are textbook senarios andf there is reality. There is a small child in the picture and you give the impression its all 8 year olds. Guess its acceptable to attack emergency services so if you are under 18. No wonder this country is in the gutter and half full of scum like in the footage!

Morphéus wrote: »
    aye... and sterilisation.
    :mad:

Indeed , scary to think these sub-human vermin start reproducing in their teens .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭480905

Great work by the two Gardai involved, the rest of the Arseh88les stopped with their sh1te when they saw the Guards meant business. I'm sure the usual doogooders will have their opinions. It's amazing to think that people still reckon that Gardai and Prison Officers are punching bags and they have the right to start abusing them but we don't have the right to defend ourselves. Beggars belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭480905

Unfortunately, Yes. People seem to think that because you wear a uniform for work, you are there to be abused and that they can attack officers at will and that they have no right to defend themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Aquila wrote: »
    Would serving Gardai like to see paramilitary police here like in Spain,France etc?

I think we would like the DPP and the Courts to start backing up the work that we do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I think we would like the DPP and the Courts to start backing up the work that we do.

...or (from my civilian perspective), that judges sentence people in a manner which acts as a deterrent to committing crime, rather than an open invitation to do it again and get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I think you are mixing it up. The fella who was batoned was not the fella being originally restrained. He was the fella who dived at them and started punching the female Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

i believe this fella was only 16 when he stuck a screwdriver through the temple of not one, but two polish lads.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0507/drimnagh.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

I just noticed those 2 videos are 2 years apart in post date. Completely unrelated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭are you serious

At 19seconds you see one secutiry fella go through the crowd, my money is that he is the one who sparked the gouger out, right afterwards the banner comes back into view and she's still trying to properly flick out her asp...

What has already been said, she no, they should have went to town with the pepper spray, and dropped the crowd, there'd be no comeback, anyone giving it loads gets a nice blast of spray, too many afraid to use it and they rather try to grab the asp, its a waste of time going to it first by the time you have it in your hand full extended you could have sprayed 2 or 3 people in that time.

Had a disaster of a moment almost 2 years ago myself, not to far off what happened here, I felt like I had a shower in pepper spray, destroyed in it I was, not good.

That mule should have left the lad he was holding on to though and gave her a dig out.

At 19seconds you see one secutiry fella go through the crowd, my money is that he is the one who sparked the gouger out, right afterwards the banner comes back into view and she's still trying to properly flick out her asp...

What has already been said, she no, they should have went to town with the pepper spray, and dropped the crowd, there'd be no comeback, anyone giving it loads gets a nice blast of spray, too many afraid to use it and they rather try to grab the asp, its a waste of time going to it first by the time you have it in your hand full extended you could have sprayed 2 or 3 people in that time.

Had a disaster of a moment almost 2 years ago myself, not to far off what happened here, I felt like I had a shower in pepper spray, destroyed in it I was, not good.

That mule should have left the lad he was holding on to though and gave her a dig out.

i hope you're not a member with a stupid post like that! You can't use the spray on a crowd just because they are a bunch of noisy scumbags. And why should he have let his prisoner go? For all we know he May have been more violent than the second lad.

Noisy are you serious????? There a voilent crowd and I bet the 2 members felt more than intimidated. I agree 100% the pepper spray should have been used on the crowd they would of backed off then. But maybe she didn't have pepper spray?? I was actually surprised he didn't give her a dig out, but she handled herself well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

If you use pepper spray on a crowd like that you'll just put 2 or 3 out of action and the rest will tear you apart.

2 or 3 out of action and the rest might get the hint!! If not then withdraw the asp and hope for the best. Its better than the rest ripping you apart and that 2 or 3 joining in.

The best weapon is your mouth though. You can always talk people down. Oh and call for backup and pray they will get there before something happens.

However were on individuals and wed all handle this very differently.

Tyron Jara wrote: »
    Noisy are you serious????? There a voilent crowd and I bet the 2 members felt more than intimidated. I agree 100% the pepper spray should have been used on the crowd they would of backed off then. But maybe she didn't have pepper spray?? I was actually surprised he didn't give her a dig out, but she handled herself well.

You cant just spray a crowd with pepper spray and if anyone who has done the traing suggests that then i recommend a refresher course, Its likely in that case the member would also end up with spray on their face and in a worse senario for their own safety depending on the wind direction. The Asp was the correct choice, When you are in these senarios you dont get to press pause like on "you tube" and view the whole picture, this was in real time. Well done to the members again. Its been suggested the male member should have gone to her, but in fairness he was trying to deal with his own scumbag and also go to her and in any event she had her situation dealt with quickly.

Ok maybe I should have worded it slightly better, not the crowd but anyone giving it too much..

As for the mule not helping the banner, his scrote was on the ground when she was getting lamped by the fella, she didnt handle herself at all, if it were not for the intervention of the security lads there's no way she was taking that lad down.

As for suggesting a refresher course, there's a major difference standing there like tools shouting spray spray at each other with no pressure at all and your target the said 2m away from you and not moving or trying to knock you out compared to this situation where there's a lad trying his best to spark you out being egged on by a crowd. Then again she could have asked him to step back the said 2m and then said spray spray spray plus hoped he would stand there and let himself be hit.... :o :eek: reality check that never ever ever happens!

Ok maybe I should have worded it slightly better, not the crowd but anyone giving it too much..

As for the mule not helping the banner, his scrote was on the ground when she was getting lamped by the fella, she didnt handle herself at all, if it were not for the intervention of the security lads there's no way she was taking that lad down.

As for suggesting a refresher course, there's a major difference standing there like tools shouting spray spray at each other with no pressure at all and your target the said 2m away from you and not moving or trying to knock you out compared to this situation where there's a lad trying his best to spark you out being egged on by a crowd. Then again she could have asked him to step back the said 2m and then said spray spray spray plus hoped he would stand there and let himself be hit.... :o :eek: reality check that never ever ever happens!

Or she could have sprayed the crowd as you said and got the small child as well, christ Joe Duffy would have a field day with that one!, should we cancel firearms training cause our members are not being fired upon with live bullets!! trainiing is training, it makes you familar with a procedure even if its not that exciting for you. But I can asure you you were not told in any circumstance to spray a crowd or group of people indiscriminatly.

you obviously didnt read my first line in my response to you then.

plus comparing firearm training with pepper spray course, seriously....???

You are right I was not told to spray a crowd indiscriminately, nor was I or anyone told in training what to do when I'm being attacked by more than one person... You already know what gets thought I don't see how you could back it up or even say its relevant, unless of course you want to spray someone who is not violent and not resisting arrest and stands there allowing you to spray them but then you wouldnt need the spray. . .
    The asp training with the inclusion of the redman is more relevant and practical than the pepper spray course do you not think?

I know you wont agree with me and tbh I dont mind. I know what was needed for that incident, it was spray, if someone standing there shouting and egging on the gougers got backspray then that is tough for them, yeah she would have gotten backspray, but the people she sprayed would have gotten it a lot worse! I dont know if they were juvenile's or not but them lads were bigger and stronger than the banner and spray was the option as she clearly couldn't open the asp on the 1st attempt fully.

you obviously didnt read my first line in my response to you then

I did and then i read the rest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭dyl10

Tyron Jara wrote: »

I wonder if you're serious? You must be crazy if you think it's OK to pepper spray an entire crowd because many are agitated.
    If that was the case, we will never have a police brutality witness again.

Fine, there may be a case here but every situation doesn't glorify the guards and as can be seen in the video, the crowd didn't actually do anything in the end. Just one idiot who was put down pretty quickly. You would have to immediately spray the crowd to stop that guy from charging and that's definitely not OK.