Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F1 2012 Round 8 - European GP (Valencia)

• 20-06-2012 10:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭

Last race ever for Valencia?! The weekend discussion starts now...

So who is a likely winner? Fast circuit, good DRS zone which will probably be the only overtaking area, tyre management is key. interesting to see how many stops are needed for the compounds available.

Enough to talk about but until they run Friday practice, more will become clear. :cool:

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭ratedR

Up there with Abu Dhabi for the worst race award. It'll be a lights to pole procession.

Ross Brawn reckons MS will be quick around here, that we could be on for 8 from 8. If they sort his car out that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Sh1te races are always made sh1ter by Vettel winning, so Vettel for the win here I'd say.

Vettel-Finger5x4jpg_Diashow.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,838 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Button apparently going to use the same set up as Hamilton this weekend, to try work out how to get some performance out of the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭frostie500

Throughout the season we have heard lots of criticism of how tyres are making Formula 1 a lottery and allowing midfield teams to battle for the win.

While it is clear that unfancied teams such as Sauber and Williams have both enjoyed competitive races this year the Pirelli rubber has not actually made a drastic difference to performances during the races.

Only in Malaysia, where the race was run in wet conditions, has the winner come from off the front row of the grid. Looking back over the season and it is clear that there have been some surprising results but, by and large, the competitiveness of teams has been clear throughout each weekend of racing.

William’s Barcelona success, with Pastor Maldonado at the wheel, has been cited numerous times by pundits and writers as a sign that Formula 1 does not reward the best package but rather the most fortunate at any given time.

The Venezuelan however was incredibly competitive all weekend in Spain and he utterly deserved his victory after compiling the most complete weekend of any driver. In qualifying only Lewis Hamilton was faster but with the Englishman relegated to the back of the grid Maldonado thoroughly deserved his pole position. Having trailed Fernando Alonso in the early stages he then made better use of strategy and traffic to take the lead and claim the win.

While many look at seven races and seven different winners as a sign of unpredictability it is in fact a sign of the incredible competitiveness of Formula 1 at present and the big question heading into this weekend is whether we can have yet another first time winner in Valencia…..
    The Valencia Street Circuit
    valencia.png?w=586&h=334
    The inaugural race in Valencia, the 2008 European GP, featured the oddity of zero on track overtaking manoeuvres with pit strategy playing the crucial role in determining the outcome of the race. The following year a superior strategy by Brawn GP helped Rubens Barrichello to outsmart Hamilton for the win.

This weekend however the combination of speed and strategy will be crucial but with overtaking a much easier proposition at present it is clear that Valencia could be in store for much better Grand Prix.

Even though it is a street circuit Valencia has a very high average lap speed with numerous high speed straights and the thrilling final section seeing driver thread the eye of the needle through walls towards the final corner.

With DRS likely to play a key role being able to exploit a strong car under braking will be more important than ever so expect to see the likes of Alonso at the fore once again this weekend.

The difficulties in overtaking however were perfectly explained by Sebastian Vettel:

"In Valencia, we drive an average of more than 200kph, which means it's one of the fastest street circuits in Formula One,” commented the reigning world champion. “Overtaking is possible, but only with some risk. The reason is that the air turbulence created by cars driving closely behind each other doesn't disappear as it normally would due to the high walls around the track; you lose grip and, in some extreme cases, you have to lift the throttle.”

Schumacher and Lotus look for first victory

The Canadian Grand Prix showed, once again, the pace of the Lotus. Romain Grosjean has enjoyed a very successful campaign for the Enstone squad and having claimed two podiums he has shown a tremendous turn of speed while also exhibiting an ability to manage his tyres.

When asked about what he needs to do to put himself into position to win this weekend Grosjean simply said, “Qualify better.”

With his teammate, Kimi Raikkonen, having shown the same blistering pace that marked him as one of the most exciting drivers in Formula 1 history it is clear that his talent is not diminished from his two year exile in rallying. The Finn however has been inconsistent but he seems motivated and eager to prove himself once again.

At Mercedes Michael Schumacher has driven very well this season but ultimately his speed has gone unrewarded. He has had accidents and mechanical woes befall him to a much greater extent than other drivers but the German heads to Spain with high hopes of another strong showing.

"Our entire focus is now on the race in Valencia,” said the German. “I am sure that everybody's motivation is even stronger because the weekend in Canada didn't go as well as we had hoped. Our motto in the last few days has been to roll our sleeves up and focus on the job in hand; everybody in the team has taken that approach to heart, so we can travel to Valencia in an optimistic mood. The harbour area is particularly nice and, given its location, the circuit is also really interesting, so let's see how we can perform there.”
    The likely contenders

The string of different winners has to come to an end at some point in time and Valencia is well placed for the first repeat winner of 2012.
    The Spanish track has been kind to the likes of Hamilton and Vettel in the past but it is impossible to overlook Fernando Alonso.

Racing in front of his home crowd the Spaniard will be a handful for the rest of the field and with the double world champion driving better than ever, and dragging incredible performance from his Ferrari, there is little doubt that he will be in position to challenge over the course of the weekend.

Red Bull has locked out the front row at Valencia for the last two year with Vettel leading the way home on both occasions. Mark Webber claimed a podium last year but it was the year before that Webber really hit the headlines with his aerobatic crash with Heikki Kovalainen.

Having been comprehensively beaten by Vettel last season Webber has been much more competitive thus far in 2012. Having taken time to adjust to the Pirelli tyres he now has a much better understanding of how the Italian rubber works throughout the course of a race and how he needs to manage the tyres.

In addition to this the loss of the exhaust blown diffuser has clearly hampered him less than Vettel and has, in all likelihood, played a key role in closing the gap between the teammates. Coming to Valencia after a disappointing Canadian weekend, qualifying fourth and falling to seventh at the flag, it is imperative that Webber can have a strong weekend.

“Obviously it's very difficult to predict how we might go in Valencia,” commented the Australian. “As we've seen with seven winners and plenty of different podiums. Our main goal is to improve our positions in both championships, so personally for me in the Drivers' Championship and of course the team is looking to keep a good margin in the Constructors'.”
    Another difficult weekend in store for Button

Jenson Button has been suffering a crisis of confidence of late with the McLaren driver having been outpaced and outraced by his teammate, Lewis Hamilton, in the last three Grand Prix.

The season started with such promise for Button with a victory in Australia but since then he has struggled to get to grips with the McLaren while Hamilton has flourished. With Button having admitted that he will use his teammate’s setup as the basis of his Valencia setup it is clear just how far he has fallen in recent months.

The pair employs polar opposite driving styles and their natural setups reflect this. Hamilton can manhandle and bully a car around the track whereas Button has a much more classical and flowing style. The 2009 world champion needs a balanced car that doesn’t break away unexpectedly whereas Hamilton can deal with excessive oversteer very easily.

After the Canadian Grand Prix, where he finished a distant 16th, Button was clearly disconsolate and said:

“I’m pushing the car to its limits and yet I’m so far off the leaders [pace],” said the 32 year old. “It’s a little confusing. Every time you jump in the car you’re excited and confident that it’s going to go well and every time you make changes you think you are going to improve. But it’s not happening. I’m confused and lost and I don’t really understand what is going on at the moment.”

With the Englishman utilising Hamilton’s setup as his starting point this weekend it is clear that it will take some time to adapt it towards his style and as a result it is highly unlikely that he will suddenly regain his form and return to the sharp end of the field.

If however he can start to make progress towards competitiveness then the weekend will have been seen as a success for Jenson.
    Setup challenges facing the teams in Valencia

As with any street circuit the evolution of the track surface will play a key role for teams trying to find the perfect setup for their drivers.
    Valencia however also provides various other issues for teams to overcome.
    Some of Formula 1’s leading engineers were keen to discuss these difficulties in the lead up to the weekend.

"Valencia is a street circuit, but not a typical one, because the surface is very smooth, and the kerbs are not very high,” said Sauber’s Giampaolo Dall’Ara. “In addition, the aerodynamic efficiency is significantly more important than, for example, in Monaco or Singapore, and there are proper run-off areas. Most of the corners are slow, but you cannot ignore the level of top speed. As a result of this layout, braking stability and traction are very important. In Valencia we have to expect high temperatures at this time of the year, so the tarmac can get very hot."

Williams Mark Gallin also went into detail some of the unique challenges provided by Valencia.

“The track layout places a lot of stress on the braking system and the high ambient temperatures, coupled with a lower than average mean speed, forces one to open up the cooling package,” commented the Williams chief operating officer.

The layout of Valencia also offers a challenge for the engine manufacturers within the paddock.

“It's actually a big challenge to get the engine mapping right for Valencia,” said Renault’s Remi Taffin. “The corners are so similar. Ten corners are taken in first, second or third gear, and if you get one corner wrong then you will be at a disadvantage for the rest of the lap.”
    Formula 1 revolves around Pirelli tyres

The work done by Pirelli tyres to spice up the racing in recent years has been crucial in providing Formula 1 with so many different winners this season but Valencia offers numerous subtleties to which the Italian rubber has not encountered thus far in 2012.

Paul Hembery, Pirelli’s motorsport director, knows that the Italian’s rubber will come under scrutiny again this weekend and the strategies employed by the teams will be crucial in the outcome of the race.

"Valencia could not present a bigger contrast to the street circuits that have come before it: the track is faster and the temperatures higher, with plenty of energy going through the tyres,” said the Englishman. “What it has in common with the others is the difficulty of overtaking, which will put the emphasis on qualifying. So we are expecting a fairly straightforward race, with either two or three stops depending on which tactics the teams use - although one team tried a one-stopper last year as well.

"The weather should be consistently warm throughout the weekend, which should lead to fewer variables in terms of temperature, so there probably won't be many big surprises to emerge. We've used the combination of soft and medium tyres more than any other line-up so far this year, as it has shown itself to be a perfect compromise between performance and durability, allowing drivers to show their speed when they need to but also benefit from longer stints in the race."

Weather for the weekend

Mid June in Spain promises blue skies and high temperatures. With the track taking the cars around the port of Valencia a calming sea breeze offers some rest bite from the heat but temperatures in excess of 35C are expected once again on the Eastern coast of Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I fear fronstie's review will be the high point of the weekend, given the usual 'meh' that this track provides.

the only thing worse than no overtaking is utterly false overtaking generated both by some of the DRS setups and useless tyres :( (which this track is sure to provide both of)

Button apparently going to use the same set up as Hamilton this weekend, to try work out how to get some performance out of the car.

Can't see that working out too well for him without quite a lot of adjustments. Real pity to see someone struggle so much with set-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

If I remember correctly there were a good few passes on the last corner in previous years especially towards the end of the race.

Valencia is a meh track .. up there with the UAE and Bahrain. Not its last year though its going to be alternating with Barcelona from now on. Bernie has a thing for Valencia apparently :confused::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I'm over here at the minute. Got talking to one of the force India mechanics and he was saying that its the hottest its ever been. I recorded 42 degrees air temperature on the pit straight, so tyre wear will be a big one. They were working heaving on MS car and kept changing the nose on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭freestyla

antodeco wrote: »
    I'm over here at the minute. Got talking to one of the force India mechanics and he was saying that its the hottest its ever been. I recorded 42 degrees air temperature on the pit straight, so tyre wear will be a big one. They were working heaving on MS car and kept changing the nose on it.

So tyres-gentle drivers, Button and Kimi, could have a better chance for a podium position here I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭-gilly-09-

That Williams is looking very nice at the moment. Very smooth, little or no understeer.

Very strange off for De La Rosa there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Max_Charger

Very strange off for De La Rosa there.

Very weird, some kind of mechanical failure maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

I'm going to the BSB this weekend, so going to miss the race for the first time in a good few years. Can't say I'm too bothered if I'm honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Grim.

I'm going to the BSB this weekend, so going to miss the race for the first time in a good few years. Can't say I'm too bothered if I'm honest.

at knockhill isnt it? you may want to bring a boat :p

Very weird, some kind of mechanical failure maybe?

He said he just made a mistake. Sounds like a Karthekayen situation :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

Grim. wrote: »
    at knockhill isnt it? you may want to bring a boat :p

Tell me about it! I was looking at the weather today and it had averages for each month on the site, July and August have to highest amount of rain for the year in Edinburgh. :eek:

Much cooler and windier here today. A good 15 degrees less than expected for race day. I don't think much useable data was gathered today.

About 15 degrees warmer today. Very little breeze. Williams looking strong and Alonso pushing it for the crowds

Caterham are mad if they don't send Kovalainen out, things are so tight that they could very possibly get ahead of anyone saving the softer tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

I backed Button @10/1, and I was looking at Webber also @10/1. Glad I didn't bother with Webber. He didn't sound right during interviews after Canada.
    Looks like my money will be wasted on Button too....lets see.

Ridiculously close. I'd really like tomorrow if some of the teams who don't end up top 6 or top 8 take a real chance on tyre strategy tomorrow because there's just so little seperating so many. Less than 0.3s from 1st to 13th.

Could see Kobayashi getting towards the front, he's done fewer laps all session and seems to be setting his times earlier than the others.

The top 3 (and Raikkonen by a few thousandths) were the only people who went faster in Q3 than Q2, missed opportunity for quite a few of the drivers out there.

ahh ffs, Vettle from lights to flag tomorrow. I just hope Hamilton gives him a touch or belt of the car and sends him off .....
    I'd love to break his index finger. Don't ask me why, but i just would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,476 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

did look a bit easy for Vettel

interesting to see Williams up there

not a good track for Webber

Poor from Ferrari

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Valencia is a meh track .. up there with the UAE and Bahrain. Not its last year though its going to be alternating with Barcelona from now on. Bernie has a thing for Valencia apparently :confused::rolleyes:

he can park his yacht there ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭De Hipster

cadaliac wrote: »
    ahh ffs, Vettle from lights to flag tomorrow. I just hope Hamilton gives him a touch or belt of the car and sends him off .....
    I'd love to break his index finger. Don't ask me why, but i just would.

David Coultard is that you???!

Speaking of whom...that was a nasty comment he made about Jordan doing quali laps for tv coverage. Man has real issues, several chips on both shoulders!

'mon the finger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

It's lookin good for Vettel now, thank god I voted for him, can't wait to see what Hamilton will do now :-)

I think I can safely say this weekend will be the first repeat winner of the year. Hard to see past Vettel but wouldn't be surprised if Lewis does another charger like Canada. Very poor from Ferrari. JB will be under pressure to secure points tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,397 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Serious rumors that RB are at it again with their exhausts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Ah feck. Vettel on pole :mad:

Can really see this being a tough race to sit through tomorrow, it'll likely be a Vettel-fest as usual here.

Vettel, impressive quali time. I'd imagine the race has been won already.
    Webber again with a car fault, it's never Vettel's car. No hope tomorrow.
    Schumacher 3/10's off Rosbergs time but still no Q3 & no hope for tomorrow.
    Hamilton, did well...but if Vettel retains the lead after the first corner tomorrow Hamilton will just watch him drive into the sunset.
    Button did better than I expected with a foreign car setup. Made the most of it I think.
    Strong showing from Maldonado, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭brownacid

De Hipster wrote: »
    David Coultard is that you???!

Speaking of whom...that was a nasty comment he made about Jordan doing quali laps for tv coverage. Man has real issues, several chips on both shoulders!

'mon the finger!

What did he say about Jordan, I heard him mention something in the pre-quali show about frentzen going around when he was sick, was that it?

I have always wondered what Coulthard's issue with Eddie is, Jake seems to have a bit of a laugh but when old brick head does it it seems very spiteful. Could be just not able to deliver a joke.

brownacid wrote: »
    What did he say about Jordan, I heard him mention something in the pre-quali show about frentzen going around when he was sick, was that it?

I have always wondered what Coulthard's issue with Eddie is, Jake seems to have a bit of a laugh but when old brick head does it it seems very spiteful. Could be just not able to deliver a joke.

I heard him saying that most drivers just 'get on with it' referring to driver sickness. Didn't notice the Jordan thing. Don't' start me on the delight it brings him when Schumacher messes up/has a misfortune.

He's like a schoolyard child at times, seems bitter over the past, & a pompus arrogant gimp into the bargain. I wouldn't even call him a hass-been, because you had to be something in the first place to be a has-been. Sunday driver central.

Eddie & Jake have great banter and are a pleasure to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Bechermann

Alonso will be interesting to watch tomorrow, he'll be on a mission!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

I see what a lot of you are doing there - saying Vettel will win easily just to jinx him. If only that worked in real life.

Lotus probably have the best chance of making it 8 different winners. Grosjean was looking fast in final quali but I think he may have made in a mistake in last run. Not too sure on that though.

Di Resta could have been higher up the grid too but he lost a lot of time in final sector.

recyclebin wrote: »
    I see what a lot of you are doing there - saying Vettel will win easily just to jinx him. If only that worked in real life

If only indeed, I'd bet my own money on him purely to jinx in that case. Nah he's definitely odds on tomorrow, if Hamilton can't catch him at the first corner then the race is effectively over. Easy points.

Twitter reports of Lewis in trouble with stewards for messing up Rosbergs lap...
    I used to hate LH, but now, I have admiration for him and the sport needs him I think. He is an attacking driver, not to mention his skill in the wet. I think everyone loves having a pop at him. Then again if he genuinely fcuked up his lap....meh...??

https://twitter.com/tedkravitz/status/216565185425584128/photo/1

Edit - don't know if that link will work or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

Twitter reports of Lewis in trouble with stewards for messing up Rosbergs lap...
    I used to hate LH, but now, I have admiration for him and the sport needs him I think. He is an attacking driver, not to mention his skill in the wet. I think everyone loves having a pop at him. Then again if he genuinely fcuked up his lap....meh...??

https://twitter.com/tedkravitz/status/216565185425584128/photo/1

Edit - don't know if that link will work or not
    That's 'cos he a spoiled moaning c*nt. :rolleyes:

Daniel S wrote: »

Yeah well, I agree to a point and I don't like his character but i find myself felling
    sorry for him at times.
    Like I said, I like watching him.
    Anyway false alarm about the stewards, no penalty.

He hadn't a patch on Barrichello for moaning, & yet he was never met with the same hostility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

EnterNow wrote: »
    He hadn't a patch on Barrichello for moaning, & yet he was never met with the same hostility.

That's because Barrichello rarely won anything. It was fair enough for him to whinge. Hamilton on the other hand...

So because Barrichello rarely won anything, presumeably excluding his Brawn days, it was ok for him to moan & whinge all the time. And because Hamilton won the championship once in his five years in F1, it doesn't entitle him to moan? Weird logic there man.

Hamilton last year was a driver near rock bottom, & the post Monaco interview was him hitting bottom I think. But he's vastly improved since then, calm, cool, collected & focused. Half the time I just think people are jealous of him or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Grim.

EnterNow wrote: »

Half the time I just think people are jealous of him or something.

lol na its mostly because his a complete dickhead

I just don't see it, never did really. Maybe last year at times yeah, but I'm sure he'd tell you that himself. This year has more than vindicated him for me. People seem so passionate about hating him, has to be more to it than they find him annoying...

I can see why people would see that, but what what i see is a fella who demands perfection from himself and everyone around him,anything less is not good enough. I admire him for it myself.

I think all F1 drivers are like that tbh. They all also think that they are better than the other, hence the "i'm the best" attitude they all seem to have.

Yes you're right,what i should of said was Lewis makes it more publicly know what he asks of people and himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭De Hipster

brownacid wrote: »

He was commenting on (I can't remember who) a driver who had basically missed the cut off in the 1st/2nd quali & was continuing his lap & suggesting that he was showcasing for the sponsors - which was fair point & fair assessment.

He went on to say that he was sure that Eddie as team owner at Jordan would've regularly encouraged parade laps to showcase sponsors & advertise etc. But his tone and turn of phrase basically suggested that was all the Jordan team was good for...

The man really gets on my wick - bitter, twisted, bitchy prick & (as was said before) not even a has-been!

He has serious issues with anyone that he has previously been out performed by & if you're German...:rolleyes:

De Hipster wrote: »
    He has serious issues with anyone that he has previously been out performed by

So basically everyone :D