Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Part Worn Tyres Dublin?

• 17-06-2012 10:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭

Hey All,

Does anyone know of any garages fitting part-worn tyres near Clonskeagh (or anywhere between Ballsbridge - Dundrum)?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Syllabus

heres a part worn that a customer came into me with last week

paid 30 and only on the car a few days. blew out on a straight road at about 50kph

389716_3740726749501_1021237335_n.jpg

527685_3740725229463_312703517_n.jpg

599680_3740725909480_1854199014_n.jpg

paid me 65 yoyos and got a brand new safe tyre

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 994 ✭✭✭carbon nanotube

coco_lola wrote: »
    Hey All,

Does anyone know of any garages fitting part-worn tyres near Clonskeagh (or anywhere between Ballsbridge - Dundrum)?

dont buy part worn tyres, if you cant afford tyres dont drive.

simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭rilly99

Might be worth your while taking the time to go to tyre land they are on swords and off the finglas road - I was doubtful about part worn biut this crowd are not your normal tyre place selling on someone else's rejects - the grade a tyre is around half the the price of a budget tyre elsewhere , and good brands too - just call to them and you will see set up choice etc - not saying its cheap bit you can kit out your car for half the cost - ideal if your happen to live in recessionny times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

simple

Whats better?

New 60 euro yingyong plastic rubber tyre? Or quality Michelin (with 3/4 of the thread left) for less?

I've been using part worns for the last three years. My Father has used them since the early 90's. No problems. None of our heads has fallen off. Buy them from the right people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

BX 19 wrote: »
    Whats better?

New 60 euro yingyong plastic rubber tyre? Or quality Michelin (with 3/4 of the thread left) for less?

I've been using part worns for the last three years. My Father has used them since the early 90's. No problems. None of our heads has fallen off. Buy them from the right people.
    Yingyongs. Deadly tyres.

Interpret 'deadly' however ye like!

At last. A post where I can say exactly what I think, and both agree and disagree with everybody at the same time!

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

simple

Where do you draw the line then? Formula 1 tyres are in the region of a grand each. Technically, anything less than that is a compromise.

I'm just being facetious, but a good part worn is exactly that - part worn. There isn't anything necessarily wrong with it, and one the buyer knows what to look for, they should be fine.

Question....

Why would the original owner get rid of the tyres that go on to be sold as part worn?

I'd understand somebody changing a tyre with a third or less of the tread left, but not one with only a small fraction worn. If they're good enough to be sold on, surely they're good enough to keep...?

Where do you draw the line then? Formula 1 tyres are in the region of a grand each. Technically, anything less than that is a compromise.

I'm just being facetious, but a good part worn is exactly that - part worn. There isn't anything necessarily wrong with it, and one the buyer knows what to look for, they should be fine.

unless you have access to x-ray equipment you have no idea of the internal integrity of a 2nd hand tyre

'part worn' - Pfft. I've part worn on my car now. everyone has part worn tyres. what you're buying is someone elses cast offs - 2nd hands

would you buy part worn condoms or underwear

Anyone who has ever bought a 2nd hand car has probably bought part worns on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

5 cars, about 30 tyres all part worn on property now. Only tyre that ever $hit itself on a pothole was the brand new one. And yes I have too many cars.

I love how the guy in the business of selling new tyres is putting up photos of "something" in the effort to scare up business that coincidentally profits himself.

My latest car has 2 new tyres to pass the MOT (previous owner). Both "Suntekk's". They will be going in the bin ASAP and some 6mm+ thread branded tyres will be going in their place. As noted every time you buy a used car or demo model or used alloys, you are buying part-worns tyres. Its not hard to find a good part worns but its hard to not get offered Chinese plastic crap from nearly every tyre fitter in the country as a super awesome time value alternative.
    endacl wrote: »
    Question....
    Why would the original owner get rid of the tyres that go on to be sold as part worn?
    I'd understand somebody changing a tyre with a third or less of the tread left, but not one with only a small fraction worn. If they're good enough to be sold on, surely they're good enough to keep...?
    Why ask random strangers, some of them with clear bias's, such a question? Ring up Autodepot or Tyreland (/other part worn reseller) and ask them.

Matt Simis wrote: »
    5 cars, about 30 tyres all part worn on property now. Only tyre that ever $hit itself on a pothole was the brand new one. And yes I have too many cars.

I love how the guy in the business of selling new tyres is putting up photos of "something" in the effort to scare up business that coincidentally profits himself.

My latest car has 2 new tyres to pass the MOT (previous owner). Both "Suntekk's". They will be going in the bin ASAP and some 6mm+ thread branded tyres will be going in their place. As noted every time you buy a used car or demo model or used alloys, you are buying part-worns tyres. Its not hard to find a good part worns but its hard to not get offered Chinese plastic crap from nearly every tyre fitter in the country as a super awesome time value alternative.
    Question....
    Why ask random strangers, some of them with clear bias's, such a question? Ring up Autodepot or Tyreland (/other part worn reseller) and ask them.
    Why not ask random strangers? A huge proportion of posts on here are questions to random strangers. I don't really have an opinion myself on part worns. I don't buy them myself, but if you want to save a few quid, rock on.

Untwist your knickers and knock the chip off your shoulder. It was a straightforward question. Do you have a straightforward answer?

its not MY business- i couldnt give a fug tbh. just trying to inform the masses that dont understand the possible issues. you keep buying your used tyres. best of luck to you

the majority of chinese tyres are muck. I know this. but when you've seen the tyres ive seen that people are paying money for that i wouldnt use as a childs swing i would rather have the chinese.

michelins for example - i have regularly seen 10yr old tyres with 6mm of thread that were a rigid as a 2x4 providing zero grip

so you keep buying your used tyres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭aristotle25

I would never buy a part worn tryre because there is a chance the tyre itself has been damaged. There is more to a tyre than just the thread and if something like the sidewall has been damaged you run a risk of a blowout at highspeeds etc.

I have changed tyres with plenty of thread left previously that I damaged by going through a massive pothole than even damaged the steel wheel itself. So you can imagine the damage to the sidewall of the tyre. So it is just too dangerous to be going 120kmph with one of these tyres on your car.

I must admit to being completly clueless about tyres in the past but then you realise the safety aspect of tyres. When you start carrying children (like I soon well be :) ) then you start thinking about safety more. Those 4 tyres are the only thing keeping you car in contact with the road and when the time comes where I need grip at least I know I have decent tyres.

I was reading about rubbish tyres like "Sunny" and the better ones like Mechelin and the difference in braking in the wet from 60mph to 0 is 20 bloody meters!

Why not ask random strangers? A huge proportion of posts on here are questions to random strangers. I don't really have an opinion myself on part worns. I don't buy them myself, but if you want to save a few quid, rock on.

Untwist your knickers and knock the chip off your shoulder. It was a straightforward question. Do you have a straightforward answer?

I already pointed out the danger of asking random people, most of them have agendas on a specific topic forum like this.. Better ask someone with a disclosed background but if you want near pointless answers, rock on. Besides, I gave you the names of two actual professionals who could give you real answers, dont know what your problem is with phones.

Do I have a straightforward answer? Yes, Ive posted it several times as this topic comes up every 3wks. Im sick of repeating it, then it devolving into the same argument with secret tyre sellers flinging mud around with made up horror stories. Instead of asking the same vague open question, how about you just STFA hmm?
    Syllabus wrote: »
    michelins for example - i have regularly seen 10yr old tyres with 6mm of thread that were a rigid as a 2x4 providing zero grip

so you keep buying your used tyres

Lol, thats a lovely story, however the places I go wont sell a tyre over 6years old and besides, the consumer has final say on what they buy.. the tyre age is stamped on the bloody thing, I check age, depth with a thread meter and general conformity. Its not rocket science, its just smart shopping.

Your experiences with morons is your experience, nothing to do with everyone else or part worns.

I already pointed out the danger of asking random people, most of them have agendas on a specific topic forum like this.. Better ask someone with a disclosed background but if you want near pointless answers, rock on. Besides, I gave you the names of two actual professionals who could give you real answers, dont know what your problem is with phones.

Do I have a straightforward answer? Yes, Ive posted it several times as this topic comes up every 3wks. Im sick of repeating it, then it devolving into the same argument with secret tyre sellers flinging mud around with made up horror stories. Instead of asking the same vague open question, how about you just STFA hmm?

Lol, thats a lovely story, however the places I go wont sell a tyre over 6years old and besides, the consumer has final say on what they buy.. the tyre age is stamped on the bloody thing, I check age, depth with a thread meter and general conformity. Its not rocket science, its just smart shopping.

Your experiences with morons is your experience, nothing to do with everyone else or part worns.

so you're saying that random people on here have a more bias opinion then the 2 'professionals' you suggested. it is in their interest to tell you exactly what you want to hear in regards the cond of the scrap tyres they are selling. the fact that you choose to believe is a comment on you yourself. imo

'Matt Simis' - well Mr. Scrap tyre seller, what is the condition of these tyres your selling?

'Mr Scrap tyre seller' - they came off my brothers car yesterday. only 5k miles on them. only used to the shop and back

'Next customer' - well Mr. Scrap tyre seller, what is the condition of these tyres your selling?

'Mr Scrap tyre seller' - they came off my brothers car yesterday. only 5k miles on them. only used to the shop and back

as i said - best of luck to you

not just with the tyres, but with life in general. you come across as someone who needs all the luck you can get

I would never buy a part worn tryre because there is a chance the tyre itself has been damaged. There is more to a tyre than just the thread and if something like the sidewall has been damaged you run a risk of a blowout at highspeeds etc.

I have changed tyres with plenty of thread left previously that I damaged by going through a massive pothole than even damaged the steel wheel itself. So you can imagine the damage to the sidewall of the tyre. So it is just too dangerous to be going 120kmph with one of these tyres on your car.

I must admit to being completly clueless about tyres in the past but then you realise the safety aspect of tyres. When you start carrying children (like I soon well be :) ) then you start thinking about safety more. Those 4 tyres are the only thing keeping you car in contact with the road and when the time comes where I need grip at least I know I have decent tyres.

I was reading about rubbish tyres like "Sunny" and the better ones like Mechelin and the difference in braking in the wet from 60mph to 0 is 20 bloody meters!

Great. So yourself is advocating cheap chinese rubbish over decent partworns? 20 meters is length of two Dublin Buses. That is a lot.

Tell me, Syllabus? What sort of tyre did you sell your friend for 65 euros? Triangle, Sunny? You're not getting much more then that for 65 euros for a low profile tyre.

so you're saying that random people on here have a more bias opinion then the 2 'professionals' you suggested. it is in their interest to tell you exactly what you want to hear in regards the cond of the scrap tyres they are selling. the fact that you choose to believe is a comment on you yourself. imo

'Matt Simis' - well Mr. Scrap tyre seller, what is the condition of these tyres your selling?

'Next customer' - well Mr. Scrap tyre seller, what is the condition of these tyres your selling?

as i said - best of luck to you

not just with the tyres, but with life in general. you come across as someone who needs all the luck you can get

Well reading may not be your forte, but try harder. I said it better to ask an opinion of someone with a disclosed agenda than ask a stranger with a high chance of hidden bias.

Gripping drama writing there too, you should try expand on it when you arent pawning Triangles and Suntekks to newbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭aristotle25

Great. So yourself is advocating cheap chinese rubbish over decent partworns?

No, thats not what I am saying so I am not sure how you read that from my post. Quite the opposite. Cheap chinese tyres are to be avoided at all costs as they are very poor in braking tests etc.

Part-worns are very risky in my opinion and I'd rather a new tyre given how important tyres are to safety.

My concern is people buying part-worn tyres just because they are cheaper and not understanding potential safety issues in buying second hand tyres that may or may not have been damaged. You don't know what you are buying when you buy a second had tyre and to me it is not worth the risk.

Well in that case, just find a reputable seller. Buy a decent name. Look for the date of manufacture. Look for any signs of damage, bulging, scuffs, even thread and other signs of abuse.

Job done. The fellow I buy them off only sells part worns imported from germany and only imports names like Verdstein, Dunlop, Contis, Michelin etc and entourages you to examine the tyres (he will even lend you a tyre wear guage).

Simples

Well reading may not be your forte, but try harder. I said it better to ask an opinion of someone with a disclosed agenda than ask a stranger with a high chance of hidden bias.

Gripping drama writing there too, you should try expand on it when you arent pawning Triangles and Suntekks to newbs.

a disclosed agenda is STILL an agenda:confused: and just to make it clear to the more simple minded tyre buyers, that agenda is to sell you SCRAP TYRES

we dont sell Triangles or Suntekks

BTW - the price you pay for your scrap tyres is MORE than I pay for my brand new ones:D

Hi OP. This seems to have strayed a little way off your original question....

A quick google reveals there doesn't seem to be much in the vicinity you specified. A lot on the northside, and http://redcowtyres.com/contact-us/ is just a short hop over the M50 from Dundrum.

I'm starting to shift my opinion on part worns though. I've very recently noticed that people who advocate them seem a bit............... :eek:

.....sure you probably read the posts yourself!

Buy new tyres, I think. It must be the fumes from the part worn rubber....

Well in that case, just find a reputable seller. Buy a decent name. Look for the date of manufacture. Look for any signs of damage, bulging, scuffs, even thread and other signs of abuse.

Job done. The fellow I buy them off only sells part worns imported from germany and only imports names like Verdstein, Dunlop, Contis, Michelin etc and entourages you to examine the tyres (he will even lend you a tyre wear guage).

Simples

as i have said in previous threads like this, those types of tyres are the ONLY second hands Id even consider.

my issue with scrap tyres being resold is that the majority of people that buy them do not do so from the types of places you suggest. nor do they care about the cond or possible issues with said tyres. all they care about is 'saving money'

Great. So yourself is advocating cheap chinese rubbish over decent partworns? 20 meters is length of two Dublin Buses. That is a lot.

Tell me, Syllabus? What sort of tyre did you sell your friend for 65 euros? Triangle, Sunny? You're not getting much more then that for 65 euros for a low profile tyre.

no friend of mine - customer as i said

the customer got a Hankook from me

BTW - the price you pay for your scrap tyres is MORE than I pay for my brand new ones:D
    Than you pay or you sell? If you mean your employee discount, thats wonderful, very handy, but no more useful than mentioning anyone else's job perk.

Incidentally if I had a normal A:B type car(s) then I wouldnt be so hot for part-worns. Its when you are putting 245 to 285s, 17 to 18" and branded where the traditional tyre places and new tyres start to cost hundreds per tyre vs the flat rate of say EUR60 for a part worn that it becomes interesting.

Part worns are also great for trying out tyre types you wouldnt buy at full fat rates, such as winter tyres.

Part-worns are very risky in my opinion and I'd rather a new tyre given how important tyres are to safety.

I should also point out that if you're that worried about part worns, that you should never travel on a Coach or a Dublin Bus. Or drive on roads when lorries are about. Loads of them are running on part worns tryes and remolds even. Look at any dublin bus tyre and you will see "Suitable for Remold" wrote on the side.

@Syllabus

What size? 65 is a very good price for a Hankook tyre.

I should also point out that if you're that worried about part worns, that you should never travel on a Coach or a Dublin Bus. Or drive on roads when lorries are about. Loads of them are running on part worns tryes and remolds even. Look at any dublin bus tyre and you will see "Suitable for Remold" wrote on the side.

@Syllabus

i did him a deal for various reasons

think it was either 1956515 or 2055516

cant remember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

Simples

There is nothing worse than folks coming on here scaremongering the general public that may also have hidden agendas when it comes to selling something, especially tyres.

I would ALWAYS buy part worns as they represent GREAT value for money, usually 1/4 the price of a new premium brand and is a great alternative to any chinese ditch finder tyre that has up to TWICE, yes up to TWICE the breaking distances.

Personally I would love to look inside tyres when there is roughly 10k miles left on them to show any internal damage which is impossible on new tyres that could be on the car for 20K miles plus. You simply dont know what damage is inside halfway through a new tyres life. This is a major advantage when buying part-worns.

My rules of shopping for part-worns are:

Buy in pairs.
    Buy only a premium brand. Make sure the model names are the same
    Buy less than 3 years old
    Buy minimum 5mm thread
    Make sure thread is worn evenly
    Inspect both sides of the side wall and bead-rims for any damage.
    Mount tyre. Inflate to 3 bar. Look for any bulges/leaks
    Deflate to 2.2 bar.
    Fit to car.
    Enjoy cheap premium tyres.

Tell me what would you prefer on your car? Part worns that you inspected before mounting? or chinese ditchfinders?

mullingar wrote: »
    There is nothing worse than folks coming on here scaremongering the general public that may also have hidden agendas when it comes to selling something, especially tyres.

I would ALWAYS buy part worns as they represent GREAT value for money, usually 1/4 the price of a new premium brand and is a great alternative to any chinese ditch finder tyre that has up to TWICE, yes up to TWICE the breaking distances.

Personally I would love to look inside tyres when there is roughly 10k miles left on them to show any internal damage which is impossible on new tyres that could be on the car for 20K miles plus. You simply dont know what damage is inside halfway through a new tyres life. This is a major advantage when buying part-worns.

My rules of shopping for part-worns are:

Buy in pairs.
    Buy only a premium brand. Make sure the model names are the same
    Buy less than 3 years old
    Buy minimum 5mm thread
    Make sure thread is worn evenly
    Inspect both sides of the side wall and bead-rims for any damage.
    Mount tyre. Inflate to 3 bar. Look for any bulges/leaks
    Deflate to 2.2 bar.
    Fit to car.
    Enjoy cheap premium tyres.

Tell me what would you prefer on your car? Part worns that you inspected before mounting? or chinese ditchfinders?

very few people get the chance to inspect the tyres before purchasing.

i, personally, am NOT trying to scare monger. i will not buy scrap tyres. i would not advise anyone to buy scrap tyres after what ive seen. you scrap tyre lovers can buy all the scrap you want. makes absolutely no difference to my life.

i know what ive seen and you can dismiss it as lies or scare tactics all you like, it doesnt make it so

BTW - you do realise the braking distance of your premium scrap tyres is NOT the same as when they are new with 8mm of thread. so the braking distance difference of 20-25m from new between the cheapos and premimum is NOT the same as the braking distance difference between your favoured scrap tyres and a New cheapo

AGAIN - my issue is with the general public that have no interest in anything only saving a few quid to spend in the pub. the scrap tyres i have seen on cars that people have paid actual money for:eek:
    i wish you could see some of these for yourselves so you could see im not telling porkies

BTW - you do realise the braking distance of your premium scrap tyres is NOT the same as when they are new with 8mm of thread. so the braking distance difference of 20-25m from new between the cheapos and premimum is NOT the same as the braking distance difference between your favoured scrap tyres and a New cheapo

BS.

In the dry a 8mm or a 4mm premium tyre braking distance will be 100% identical.
    In the wet the only difference is a higher risk of aquaplaning, but this mainly happens at <4mm thread. Good thread design for water dispersion is also an important factor.

Its the quality of the rubber to grip the asphalt thats the all important.

Are you trying to tell me that a Continental with 5mm thread has roughly the same braking distance in the wet as a Chinese ditchfinder with 8mm??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Incidentally if I had a normal A:B type car(s) then I wouldnt be so hot for part-worns. Its when you are putting 245 to 285s, 17 to 18" and branded where the traditional tyre places and new tyres start to cost hundreds per tyre vs the flat rate of say EUR60 for a part worn that it becomes interesting.

Part worns are also great for trying out tyre types you wouldnt buy at full fat rates, such as winter tyres.

This.

New Contis for my car are the guts of €300 a corner. I got part worns (at most 25% ware) for €80 a corner fitted. Had a number of sets to choose from and was given time to inspect them. Very happy with them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 994 ✭✭✭carbon nanotube

Yingyongs. Deadly tyres.

Interpret 'deadly' however ye like!

At last. A post where I can say exactly what I think, and both agree and disagree with everybody at the same time!

:cool:

if you are driving a $hit mobile i guess part worn tyres would be ok, but id not use them on my accord ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Op Id recommend these guys, dont think there are any part worn tyre place around dublin 14, nearest is probably tallaght or walksinstown, see below link, my bro has used tyreland before, but they are an ordeal to get to from D.14. I used autodepot on saturday, have to say got an excellent service and price on x 2 Continental Supersport 3 tyres, 235/25/19, loads of thread left and cost was E160, for supply, fitting, balancing and disposal of old tyres...

http://www.autodepot.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Rob32

@Syllabus

They actually say suitable for rethread on them not remould.

on point, the only inherent issue with part worns is that you cant tell if theres internal damage to the radials etc. Generally though if you have a good look over the tyre and ensure theres no rips, tears, impact damage or bulges etc you should be ok. the problem with alot of part worns is there taken off because of damage either by punctures or kerbs. Id also suggest checking the inside of the tyres for any cracking or peeling rubber that would indicate its over heated due to driving on it punctured. Also i would suggest NEVER buying part worn run flats. The majority of them are taken off as they were punctured and arent supposed to be repaired, some companys have been known to repair them and sell on. The issue is there refinforced sidewalls begin to break down while being driven on flat and are only designed to last 100 miles which means your buying a tyre where the sidewall has already begun to detiorate. also run flats cannot be fitted to non runflat rims. There is a difference. Run flat rims have a special lip on them to stop the tyre unmounting during run flat operation( no air) normal rims dont.

And yes im in the business and unlike the majority of tyre fitters im actually certified to do my job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭coco_lola

Wow I came back to this thread and thought "so many helpful boardsies!". It's just a lot of arguing :D

Thanks to everyone for the advice, I was getting part-worns on the basis that it would be from someone reputable and one of the top brands like Michelin etc.

However if it's going to be easier to just get new tyres I guess that's what I'm looking at! So new question now! Does anyone know any where that does reasonable prices on new tyres in the Clonskeagh - Ballsbridge area, and tracking for a decent price? My car's two front tyres are almost bald on the inside :(

coco_lola wrote: »
    Wow I came back to this thread and thought "so many helpful boardsies!". It's just a lot of arguing :D

Thanks to everyone for the advice, I was getting part-worns on the basis that it would be from someone reputable and one of the top brands like Michelin etc.

However if it's going to be easier to just get new tyres I guess that's what I'm looking at! So new question now! Does anyone know any where that does reasonable prices on new tyres in the Clonskeagh - Ballsbridge area, and tracking for a decent price? My car's two front tyres are almost bald on the inside :(

try ronnie or adam in united tyres across for the millrace pub on dundrum road or firststop across from the goat or advance beside uncle toms

afaik firststop are the only one of them that have 4 wheel alignment gear if thats what you need

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Part worn tyres makes sense on lots of vehicles. I want performance tyres, and if I bought new ones I would double the value of my car :pac: Even to put good budget tyres on my car would cost over 600 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

If someone has the knowledge and motivation they can definitely pick up a bargain with part worns.

However most Irish motorists have neither and so get sold complete crap.

A guy came into our place recently for a service. He mentioned that he had recently gotten a set of tyres for €130 fitted (195/65 15) So naturally I was interested to see what he got for his €130. What did I find? Four odd winter tyres with about 3-4mm left on them and that is being generous. What a bargain :rolleyes:

Might have a look in tyreland later in the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

It's actually frightening that someone working in the tyre trade has such little clue what he's talking about.

Half the posters in this topic seem to work in the tyre trade, though some seem much more rational than others.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

The tires are what holds you to the road, I would never compromise on some cheap chinese junk or remolds. However a quality branded tyre with 3/4's thread would be ok, but what I ask is why is the owner selling them which once again may be suss. I have always gone for quality tyres and have had Michelin and Dunlop which were both good tyres on the car when I got bought it 2nd hand, the Dunlop on the rear subsequently shredded and blew out at 90mph on the Motorway one day, but having 3 other good tires, good non panicy reactions I controlled the car and had no problems. On my car now I have Firestones on the front and BFGoodrich on the back (RWD - BMW).

I am purchasing a 2nd hand car from the UK next month as I will have a long commute of 900kms a week in the Autumn so if the tyres on it are not quality brands I will swap them out and keep the best for the spare wheel.

Cheap tyres are a false economy and could kill you, Would you trust a Lidl condom? same thing imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭coco_lola

I went onto the Tyreland website and they look really good, they are in Swords and I live in Clontarf so it's doable on a weekend to head out there. My mechanic is only up the road from them so he could do the tracking if necessary. Will wait to see what quote I get back from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I'm on the fence here :)

I've never bought part worns before and I've never bought Chinese sh1te tyres either. Before considering buying part worns, I'd like to see one question answered:

Where do these high end part worn tyres come from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

unkel wrote: »
    I'm on the fence here :)

I've never bought part worns before and I've never bought Chinese sh1te tyres either. Before considering buying part worns, I'd like to see one question answered:

Germany has much stricter rules about tyre thread etc. I think a lot of the decent ones come from there.

The fellow I buy them off says them come from Germany. I've never seen any proof of this, but I've heard plenty of other anecdotal evidence that plenty of other places buy them from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I think mostly it's they're bought in bulk from mainland/eastern Europe, also Germany would be a big supplier. Also any country that requires that all cars change to winter tyres, I think tyre fitters just keep the part worn summer tyres and sell them in bulk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

barura wrote: »
    Germany has much stricter rules about tyre thread etc.

Do they? I thought there was a European wide standard (is it 1.6mm?). But really many part worns mentioned here are 5-6mm. Surely they wouldn't be called worn in any rule anywhere in the world?
    any country that requires that all cars change to winter tyres, I think tyre fitters just keep the part worn summer tyres and sell them in bulk.

First half convincing argument yet :)

Although it doesn't make sense to me why people would give away their nearly new summer tyres when they are fitting winter tyres. Makes more sense to have 2 sets of wheels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

Do they? I thought there was a European wide standard (is it 1.6mm?). But really many part worns mentioned here are 5-6mm. Surely they wouldn't be called worn in any rule anywhere in the world?

First half convincing argument yet :)

Although it doesn't make sense to me why people would give away their nearly new summer tyres when they are fitting winter tyres. Makes more sense to have 2 sets of wheels.
    Afaik 3mm is the legal depth in Germany. Since they don't like to play dice with the amount of high speeds that they do on their motorways I would be willing to say they just change tyres earlier. Sure 1.6mm is a joke at any rate (I'm sure it was figured out by engineers and is safe up to a certain speed, I'm not dismissing how it is come to), people just don't want to take the chance.

In fairness, our disposable way of thinking about cars is silly. It's for another thread, I know... But still. Part worn rubber is okay here for day to day stuff if it checks out. If you're serious about sticking to the road you will know where to do research, like many have mentioned in this thread (and others) already.

I agree with the idea that if you want to test a type of tyre, part worn is a good idea. Similar to renting a car before purchasing a new one.

I thought it they were sourced from Scandinavia, Germany & Alpine countries that have a legal requirement to swap to Winters and they just dont refit the summers as they can well afford it.

http://www.monstertyres.com/tires-export_preise-lang=en#Gebrauchtreifen pkw_5_8

I would be very doubtful that eastern European countries would export half used premium summer tyres as their tyre laws would not be as strict.

Anyway,

Why do people compare part-worn tyres with condoms? Its a stupid comparison. I'd like to see them going a few million revolutions with 0.05mm thread before it wears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭mitchaul

simple

Rubbish, not sure about Clonskeagh but I got some from a tyre depot on the Walkinstown Road, €25 each and they are fine.